This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Addressing environmental emergencies

Target 6.5: Managing threats to ecosystems – Reduce the frequency and consequences of environmental emergencies that affect Canada.

Since 2003, Canada has administered the Environmental Emergencies Regulations under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999. These regulations seek to reduce the frequency and consequences of uncontrolled, unplanned or accidental releases of hazardous substances into the environment. Under this Act, companies undertake proper environmental emergency planning to prevent, prepare for, respond to and recover from an environmental emergency. Amendments introduced in 2011 enhance the existing protection by adding 41 substances to the regulations that are flammable or otherwise hazardous, and strengthening the requirements of regulatees to inform the public of the measures that they will take and what the public should do in the event of an environmental emergency.

In 2011, Canada also implemented legislation and entered into agreements with some provinces and territories to improve Canada's overall level of emergency preparedness. The Environmental Emergencies Notification System maintains a 24-hour alerting system for the public and polluters to report spills to provincial and federal authorities. This enhances coordination between authorities and aids in oversight of the response.

For additional information on the implementation strategies that support this target, please consult the following websites: Environment Canada and Natural Resources Canada.

Progress towards Target 6.5: environmental emergencies

Options for an indicator that tracks environmental emergencies are being assessed and will be reported on at a later date.


Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Traiter les urgences environnementales

Cible 6.5 : Gestion des menaces pour les écosystèmes – Réduire la fréquence et les conséquences des urgences environnementales qui frappent le Canada.

Depuis 2003, le Canada a géré le Règlement sur les urgences environnement en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnementales (1999). Ces règlements visent à réduire la fréquence et les conséquences des rejets non contrôlés, imprévus ou accidentels de substances dangereuses dans l'environnement. En vertu de cette loi, les entreprises prennent des mesures pour assurer une bonne planification des urgences environnementales, les prévenir, s'y préparer, y répondre et s'en remettre. Les modifications introduites en 2011 renforcent la protection actuelle en ajoutant au règlement 41 substances qui sont inflammables ou autrement dangereuses et en renforçant les exigences des entités réglementées afin d'informer le public des mesures qu'elles prendront et de ce qu'il doit faire en cas d'urgence environnementale.

En 2011, le Canada a également mis en œuvre des lois et signé des accords avec certaines provinces et certains territoires afin d'améliorer le niveau de préparation aux situations d'urgence dans l'ensemble du Canada. Le système de déclaration des urgences environnementales tient à jour un système d'alerte sur 24 heures pour que le public et les pollueurs signalent les déversements aux autorités provinciales et fédérales. Cela améliore la coordination entre les autorités et les auxiliaires dans la surveillance de la réponse.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les stratégies de mise en œuvre qui appuient cette cible, veuillez consulter les sites Web suivants :Environnement Canada et Ressources naturelles Canada

Progrès réalisés en vue d'atteindre la cible 6.5 : Suivi des urgences environnementales

On a commencé à évaluer des options pour établir un indicateur de suivi des urgences environnementales; on rendra compte de cette évaluation à une date une date ultérieure.


Date de modification :