This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Why it matters

Nature provides the essentials of life: biological systems clean the air and water, and provide food. Natural ecosystems also underpin economic activity such as pulp, timber, fishing and recreational activities.

In 2010, Canada supported the 2011–2020 United Nations Convention on Biological Diversity Strategic Plan, a globally aspirational, non-binding, flexible framework of goals and targets to halt the loss of biodiversity, and committed to developing domestic biodiversity targets adapted to the Canadian context.

Canada's renewable natural resource industries comprise an important part of the Canadian economy. An estimated 80,000 Canadians make their living directly from fishing and related activities, and seafood is one of the largest commodity exports. Canada's forest industry employs about 236,000 people, largely in harvesting, milling, processing and manufacturing jobs. The Canadian agriculture, agri-food and agri-based products sector generates more than 2 million jobs and over 8% of GDP. Tourism is also important to the Canadian economy, with Parks Canada sites alone receiving more than 20 million person-visits annually, resulting in visitors spending $2.7 billion and supporting more than 41,000 jobs.

The government works with provinces and territories to monitor and conserve wildlife, habitat and ecosystems, and to manage Canada's biological resources. In 2011, the government announced its commitment to develop a National Conservation Plan through engagement with a broad range of stakeholders. This plan will work towards conserving Canada's natural spaces, connecting Canadians with nature, connecting habitats and ecosystems through stewardship efforts, and encouraging actions to restore degraded ecosystems and recover species at risk.

Wildlife and ecosystem/habitat conservation and protection

Canada contains large areas of intact ecosystems. Many are globally significant, notably: 30% of the world's boreal forests; 20 to 30% of freshwater wetlands and grasslands; vast Arctic, coastal and marine areas; and many lakes and rivers. These ecosystems support a diversity of life with more than 70,000 known species that perform critical roles, such as maintaining the healthy functioning of ecosystems on which humans and all other organisms depend for water and air purification, fertile soil, pollination, and many other benefits. Maintaining healthy populations of species is important, particularly in species that have experienced serious population declines as a result of pressures on their habitat. In some cases, this has resulted in species being protected under Species at Risk Act. As of 2011, 616 species of animals and plants in Canada were classified as "Endangered," "Threatened," or of "Special Concern" under SARA.

Ecosystems and the species that are part of them face many pressures. Agricultural, urban and industrial developments have put pressure on Canada's ecosystems, leading to the loss, fragmentation and degradation of habitat, particularly grasslands, wetlands and southern forests in Canada. Human action is the leading cause of biodiversity loss around the world.

Other threats such as climate change, pollution and invasive alien species affect Canada's ecosystems and wildlife. Climate change leads to shifts in growing seasons and changes in the range of species, among other effects, which will lead to economic and ecological impacts. For example, partially as a result of milder winters and warmer summers that increase climatic suitability for infestation, the range of the mountain pine beetle is expanding in forests of western North America. The beetle outbreaks have cascading effects on other wildlife species and forest fire patterns. Invasive species act as predators, competitors, parasites, hybridizers, and diseases to Canada's native and domestic plants and animals.

Spills of hazardous substances into the environment from industrial or transportation-related accidents can cause immediate and often prolonged damage to the environment and human health. Every year there are around 20,000 spills of hazardous substances in Canada, although the vast majority are minor spills with a minimal impact on the environment. While larger spills occur much less frequently, they are very expensive to clean up and can have devastating effects on the environment, local economies and human health.

Protection of ecologically valuable areas and stewardship of working landscapes is key to preserving habitat and wild species. Protected areas 1and other conservation measures can help protect terrestrial and marine environments from future degradation, protect resilience to stressors such as climate change, and/or restore lands and oceans to a more natural state.

Biological resources

Sustainable management and harvest of Canada's forestry and fisheries resources protect species from overexploitation or poor management practices. Overexploitation of a resource can lead to economic and social hardship, such as the collapse of the Atlantic cod fishery in the early 1990s. Other industrial activities, such as mining, transportation, hydroelectric dams and oil/gas extraction, and climate change may also place pressure on Canada's economically valuable natural resources.

1 A protected area is defined by the International Union for the Conservation of Nature as a clearly defined geographical space, recognized, dedicated and managed, through legal or other effective means, to achieve the long-term conservation of nature with associated ecosystem services and cultural values.


Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Pourquoi est-ce important?

La nature nous procure les notions de base de la vie : les systèmes biologiques purifient l'air et l'eau et offrent de la nourriture. Les écosystèmes naturels soutiennent également l'activité économique, comme les usines de pâtes, de bois d'œuvre, la pêche et les loisirs.

En 2010, le Canada a appuyé le plan stratégique de la Convention des Nations Unies sur la diversité biologique 2011-2020, un cadre de travail ambitieux à l'échelle mondiale, non contraignant et flexible qui fixe des objectifs et des cibles pour freiner la perte de biodiversité et qui engage à établir des objectifs en matière de biodiversité nationale adaptés au contexte canadien.

Les industries de ressources naturelles renouvelables du Canada représentent une part importante de l'économie canadienne. On estime qu'environ 80 000 Canadiens vivent directement des activités de pêche et activités connexes; et les fruits de mer sont l'un des biens les plus exportés. L'industrie forestière du Canada emploie environ 236 000 personnes, en grande partie pour la récolte, les opérations de broyage, la fabrication et la transformation. Les secteurs canadiens de l'agriculture, de l'agroalimentaire et des produits basés sur l'agriculture génèrent plus de deux millions d'emplois et plus de 8 % du produit intérieur brut. Le tourisme représente également une part importante de l'économie canadienne, les sites de Parcs Canada recevant à eux seuls plus de 20 millions de visiteurs par an, qui dépensent 2,7 milliards de dollars et soutiennent plus de 41 000 emplois.

Le gouvernement travaille avec les provinces et les territoires afin de surveiller et de protéger les espèces sauvages, les habitats et les écosystèmes, et de gérer les ressources biologiques du Canada. En 2011, le gouvernement a annoncé son engagement à élaborer un plan de conservation national par l'entremise de son engagement avec une grande variété d'intervenants. Ce plan de travail vise à assurer la conservation des espaces naturels du Canada, à renouer les liens entre les Canadiens et la nature, à relier les habitats et les écosystèmes grâce à des efforts d'intendance et à encourager les mesures visant à restaurer des écosystèmes dégradés et à rétablir des espèces en péril.

Conservation et protection des écosystèmes/habitats et de la faune

Le Canada contient de grandes aires d'écosystèmes intacts. Bon nombre d'entre elles sont importantes à l'échelle mondiale, notamment : 30 % des forêts boréales mondiales; 20 à 30 % des terres humides d'eau douce et prairies, la vaste région de l'Arctique; les zones côtières et marines et de nombreux lacs et rivières. Ces écosystèmes assurent une diversité de la vie avec plus de 70 000 espèces connues qui jouent des rôles essentiels, comme le maintien du fonctionnement sain des écosystèmes sur lesquels les humains et tous les autres organismes dépendent pour la purification de l'eau et de l'air, un sol fertile, la pollinisation, ainsi que de nombreux autres avantages. Le maintien de populations d'espèces saines est important, en particulier chez les espèces qui ont connu un important déclin de leur population en raison de pressions sur leur habitat. Dans certains cas, des espèces sont passées sous la protection de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Depuis de 2011, 616 espèces d'animaux et de plantes au Canada ont été classées comme « espèces en voie de disparition », « espèces menacées » ou « espèces préoccupantes » en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril.

Les écosystèmes et les espèces qui font partie de ces catégories sont confrontés à de nombreuses pressions. Le développement des activités agricoles, urbaines et industrielles a exercé une pression sur les écosystèmes du Canada, ce qui a entraîné la perte, la fragmentation et la dégradation de l'habitat, notamment des prairies, des terres humides et des forêts du sud du Canada. L'action humaine est la cause principale de la perte de la biodiversité dans le monde entier.

D'autres menaces, telles que les changements climatiques, la pollution et les espèces exotiques envahissantes, ont une incidence sur les écosystèmes et la faune. Les changements climatiques entraînent des changements dans la saison de croissance et des changements dans l'aire de répartition des espèces, parmi d'autres effets, ce qui entraînera des répercussions économiques et écologiques. Par exemple, en partie en raison des hivers plus doux et des étés plus chauds qui augmentent la sensibilité climatique à l'infestation, l'aire de répartition du dendroctone du pin ponderosa s'étend vers les forêts de l'ouest de l'Amérique du Nord. Les infestations du dendroctone ont à leur tour des répercussions sur d'autres espèces sauvages et sur les schémas des incendies de forêt. Les espèces envahissantes agissent comme des prédateurs, des compétiteurs, des parasites, des hybrideurs et des maladies pour les animaux et les plantes indigènes du Canada.

Les déversements de substances dangereuses dans l'environnement provenant d'accidents industriels ou liés au transport peuvent causer des dommages immédiats et souvent prolongés à l'environnement et la santé humaine. Chaque année, il y a environ 20 000 déversements de substances dangereuses au Canada, bien que la vaste majorité soit mineure avec une incidence minimale sur l'environnement. Alors que les plus grands déversements surviennent beaucoup moins fréquemment, ils sont très dispendieux à nettoyer et peuvent avoir des effets dévastateurs sur l'environnement, sur les économies locales ainsi que sur la santé humaine.

La protection des zones écologiquement précieuses et l'intendance des paysages fonctionnels sont essentielles à la préservation de l'habitat et des espèces sauvages. Les aires protégées1 et autres mesures de conservation peuvent aider à protéger les milieux terrestres et marins de la dégradation future, à protéger la résilience aux facteurs de stress tels que les changements climatiques ou à restaurer des terres et des océans à un état plus naturel.

Ressources biologiques

La gestion et la récolte durables des ressources forestières et halieutiques du Canada protègent les espèces de la surexploitation ou des mauvaises pratiques de gestion. La surexploitation d’une ressource peut entraîner des difficultés économiques et sociales, comme l’effondrement de la pêche de la morue de l’Atlantique au début des années 1990. D’autres activités industrielles, telles que l’exploitation minière, les transports, les barrages hydroélectriques et l’extraction de pétrole ou de gaz, ainsi que les changements climatiques, peuvent également exercer une pression sur les ressources naturelles économiquement précieuses du Canada.

1 Le Canada reconnaît la définition de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature, que voici : «Un espace géographique clairement défini, reconnu, consacré et géré, par tout moyen efficace, juridique ou autre, afin d'assurer à long terme la conservation de la nature ainsi que les services écosystémiques et les valeurs culturelles qui lui sont associés ».


Date de modification :