This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Planning for a Sustainable Future:
A Federal Sustainable Development Strategy for Canada
2013–2016

Sustainable Development Office
Environment Canada

November 2013


Advancing the government's sustainable development approach in the second cycle

Plan, do, check, improve

The three-year cycle of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy (FSDS) is grounded in the commitment to identify opportunities to improve subsequent strategies with the aim of making environmental decision making more transparent and accountable to Parliament.

The three-year cycle establishes a system of "Plan, do, check, improve" that supports change over time. Successive strategies will review gaps and reflect policy changes supported by improved transparency. A great deal has already been accomplished, and work will continue in this and future cycles of the FSDS.

The second three-year cycle of the FSDS, which covers the period 2013–2016, provides a key opportunity to build on the three key improvements made in the first cycle and continue to improve the transparency and accountability of environmental decision making.

A best practice in sustainable development is public engagement, which is integral to the FSDS approach and essential to the success of the "Plan, do, check, improve" system.

Figure 3 – The "Plan, do, check, improve" model

The figure illustrates the cyclical "Plan, Do, Check, Improve" model (long description is located below the image).

Long description

Figure 2 illustrates the cycle "Plan, do, check, improve" model of continuous improvement used to improve the FSDS. Each element of the FSDS "Plan, do, check and improve" model is represented by an arrow completing a circular pattern. The arrow representing the "Plan –Define change and approach" component of the model, focuses on developing the FSDS, consulting with other government departments, key stakeholders and public and establishing committees and working groups. The arrow representing the "Do –Implement the approach" component, includes tabling the FSDS, and developing processes to implement the approach such as the Management Framework, Measurement Framework and Departmental guidance (Reports on Plans and Priorities, Departmental Performance Reports and Strategic Environmental Assessment). The arrow representing the "Check –Analyze the results, evaluate progress and identify lessons learned" component, involves delivering the Progress Report, identifying gaps and areas for improvement and applying SMART (specific, measurable, achievable, relevant and time-bound) criteria. Finally, the arrow representing the "Improve –Take action based on results and lessons learned" component, involves sharing the results of progress made towards meeting the goals and targets, and applying SMART (specific, measurable, achievable, relevant and time-bound) criteria. This component also involves refining implementation processes and taking action to fill gaps and make improvements.

Stakeholder feedback and how it was used

In recognition of the importance of consultation, and in accordance with the Act, development of the final 2013–2016 FSDS was informed by a 120-day public consultation period. From February to June, 2013, the government received significant input on the strategy from the Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development (CESD), the Sustainable Development Advisory Council (SDAC), Parliamentarians, provincial and territorial governments, First Nations, municipalities, non-governmental organizations, professional and industry associations, and Canadians. A full consultation synthesis report can be found on Environment Canada's website. This feedback has informed the development and finalization of the 2013–2016 FSDS.

Public and stakeholder comments indicated support for the whole-of-government FSDS approach and acknowledged significant improvements since the 2010–2013 FSDS. These include adding a target on climate change adaptation; presenting indicators in the strategy; providing a more balanced and effective framing of sustainable development; and better articulating FSDS themes on protecting nature (Theme III) and greening government operations (Theme IV). The final 2013–2016 FSDS builds on the strengths noted in stakeholder comments by, for example, expanding the range of departments and agencies that contribute to the strategy and increasing environmental issue coverage.

The following sections identify key comments and observations that have emerged over the course of the first FSDS cycle and in the recent second cycle public consultation period, and summarize how they have influenced the final 2013–2016 FSDS.

General comments and advice

In finalizing the 2013–2016 FSDS, the government received comments emphasizing the importance of the environment and sustainable development, and on specific environmental issues. Stakeholders and Canadians also provided advice and recommendations for new programs, new policies, scientific research, new collaborations, and other initiatives. Policy advice addressed issues such as climate change adaptation, greenhouse gas emission reduction, air and water quality, nature, and government procurement. While the second strategy continues to reflect existing federal environmental decision making, general comments and advice have been provided to relevant departments and agencies for consideration in future policy and program development.

Improving targets and implementation strategies

In response to comments noting the potential for improvement in the specificity, measurability, and achievability of some FSDS targets, ten targets have been improved by, for example, adding baseline information, quantitative benchmarks, and timelines. Examples include targets on air pollutants (Target 2.1); on-reserve First Nations water and wastewater systems (Target 3.1); Great Lakes Canadian Areas of Concern (Target 3.3); and sustainable aquaculture (Target 5.2).

In addition, a number of implementation strategies have been elaborated more fully to clarify their meaning, add relevant information, and ensure they can be assessed, including Implementation strategies 1.1.2, 2.1.9 (which now includes an example of a program to advance clean technologies); 3.12.7 (which now includes more information on federal involvement in domestic and international water boards); and 4.3.4 (which now includes more information on habitat protection).

Improving coverage of environmental issues

In response to gaps noted by stakeholders, the final 2013–2016 FSDS includes greater coverage of environmental issues and relevant federal priorities, as well as an expanded whole-of-government picture that includes more federal departments and agencies.

The government has broadened existing FSDS targets and implementation strategies to increase coverage and provide a more complete account of relevant federal actions in several horizontal priorities. For example, since the FSDS 2013–2016 Consultation Paper was released in February, the number of federal departments and agencies that have been identified as contributing to the target on environmental disasters, incidents and emergencies has increased from three to twelve. The strategy now also provides a more comprehensive picture of actions on federal contaminated sites (see Implementation strategies 4.8.1 and 4.8.2).

The 2013–2016 FSDS increases the number of departments responsible for implementation strategies in Themes I–III from 17 in the first cycle to 26. This is attributable in part to participation in the FSDS by seven federal organizations not bound by the Act: Statistics Canada (Implementation strategies 2.2.2, 3.12.5, 4.3.8), National Research Council (Implementation strategy 2.2.3), Canadian Food Inspection Agency (Implementation strategies 4.6.2, 4.6.7, 4.6.8, 4.6.9, 4.6.10, 4.6.11), Royal Canadian Mounted Police (Implementation strategy 4.8.1), Correctional Service of Canada (Implementation strategy 4.8.1), Standards Council of Canada (Implementation strategy 1.2.5), and the National Energy Board (Implementation strategy 4.7.6). The government will continue to promote voluntary participation and ensure all relevant federal actions are reflected in future strategies.

The final 2013–2016 FSDS improves the strategy's coverage of issues cited by stakeholders such as health, energy, responsible resource development, environmental assessment, and agriculture. Since the release of the consultation draft, the link between environmental quality and human health has been reinforced in the strategy by expanding Theme III (Protecting nature and Canadians) to include protecting Canadians' health as well as protecting nature. The strategy now presents a clearer picture of federal action on sustainable energy (including renewable energy, energy efficiency, and clean technology). It also reflects the government's commitment to put in place a comprehensive environmental monitoring program in the oil sands by including two new implementation strategies on this topic (Implementation strategies 3.12.3 and 4.3.10). The strategy now outlines recent changes to environmental assessment (see Strategic Environmental Assessment (SEA) and decision-making) and adds more detail on the role of agriculture in environmental sustainability (for example, through protection of riparian areas – see Theme II, and Target 5.4). Finally, the 2013–2016 FSDS now identifies implementation strategies that support the government's Responsible Resource Development initiative, a federal priority with strong environmental sustainability dimensions (see "The continued importance of sustainable development" and Implementation strategies 4.7.6 and 3.8.3).

Recognizing collaboration

In response to comments emphasizing the importance of non-federal actors in achieving environmental results, the 2013–2016 FSDS acknowledges the contributions of provincial and territorial governments, Aboriginal governments, municipalities, industry, international organizations, and Canadians to achieving its goals and targets. To clarify the importance of collaboration, the second strategy includes a section for each of the first three themes giving a brief overview of the roles of others in achieving environmental outcomes.

The strategy also includes multiple implementation strategies that highlight ways in which the federal government is working with other governments and stakeholders to achieve results. Examples include implementation strategies on working collaboratively with provinces, territories and stakeholders to implement the Air Quality Management System (2.1.19), restoring aquatic ecosystems in Lake Simcoe/South-eastern Georgian Bay and Lake Winnipeg (3.6.1 and 3.7.1), providing support to co-operatives (1.1.10), and supporting the development of Aboriginal knowledge and expertise in dealing with species at risk (4.1.3).

Social and economic dimensions of sustainable development

In response to comments received, the 2013–2016 FSDS better incorporates social and economic dimensions while maintaining a focus on environmental decision making. For each of its environmental sustainability themes (Addressing climate change and air quality; Maintaining water quality and availability; and Protecting nature and Canadians), the strategy provides information on the social and economic drivers and effects of environmental change as well as on how federal environmental action can result in social and economic benefits (see Themes I-III).

It also includes environmental indicators with social and economic aspects. These include indicators of air-quality related health outcomes (Theme I); drinking water advisories (Theme II); water quality and soil quality agri-environmental performance metrics (Theme II); level of exposure to substances of concern (Theme III); and the extent to which aquaculture is managed under a science-based environmental regulatory frame (Theme III).

The 2013–2016 FSDS also continues the government's ongoing efforts to apply the FSDS goals and targets in SEAs to inform decision makers of the potential effects of proposed policies, plans and programs (including those with a social or economic focus) on achieving the government's environmental objectives. Through the ongoing application of the federal Policy on Green Procurement, combined with enhanced targets to reduce the environmental footprint of government operations, the 2013–2016 FSDS also continues to integrate environmental considerations into decision making on procuring goods and services.

Communication

In response to comments recommending increased clarity and readability, the second strategy improves communication of environmental issues and priorities by providing or linking to definitions of key terms – for example, sustainable development (see The Government of Canada's sustainable development approach), beneficial use impairment (in relation to Great Lakes areas of concern – see Theme II), and sustainable forest management (see Theme III).

Following public consultations for the 2013–2016 FSDS, implementation strategy categories have been added under Target 1.1 (Climate change mitigation), enabling Canadians to quickly identify implementation strategies related to clean technology and industry, clean transportation, energy efficiency and renewable energy, and international work on climate change.

Where appropriate, implementation strategies have also been revised for clarity – examples include, under Target 2.1 (Outdoor air pollutants), Implementation strategy 2.1.13, which has been revised for wording and readability; and implementation strategies under Target 4.1 (Species at risk), which have been consolidated to reduce duplication.

Measurability

In response to comments recommending steps to increase measurability (the ability to determine progress on and achievement of the FSDS goals and targets), a number of targets have been revised. These include 3.1 (On-reserve First Nations water and wastewater systems), which now includes baseline information and specific percentage improvement objectives to be achieved by 2015; and 3.3 (Great Lakes Canadian areas of concern), which now specifies the number of Canadian areas of concern to be delisted by 2018.

While the 2013–2016 FSDS will continue to use environmental outcome indicators to measure progress on the goals and targets, complementary information on departments' and agencies' specific FSDS commitments is available through departmental planning and reporting. Departmental planning and reporting on the second strategy will begin in 2014.

Future considerations

The government is committed to ensuring that each subsequent cycle of the FSDS builds on lessons learned, in keeping with the "Plan, do, check, improve" approach. Accordingly, the government will consider stakeholder comments when planning future cycles.

Future considerations raised during the public consultation period included increasing the number of departments and agencies that contribute to FSDS Themes I–III, strengthening links between human health and the environment, providing financial information in the FSDS, increasing the number of departments systematically tracking integrated decision making, expanding the social and economic aspects of the FSDS, adding more implementation strategies on ecosystem services and protected areas, and obtaining third-party verification of CESI data.

All of these issues will be considered in the development of the 2016–2019 FSDS; however, progress on several is already underway. For example, since 2010, departments and agencies have made progress toward aligning their FSDS commitments with their respective Program Alignment Architectures, resulting in improved linkages between sustainable development reporting and core departmental reporting.



Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Planifier un avenir durable :
Stratégie fédérale de développement durable pour le Canada
2013-2016


Bureau du développement durable
Environnement Canada

Novembre 2013


Promouvoir l'approche de développement durable du gouvernement dans le deuxième cycle

Planification, exécution, vérification et amélioration

Le cycle triennal de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable (SFDD) est fondé sur l'engagement à déterminer les possibilités d'améliorer les stratégies subséquentes dans le but de rendre les décisions environnementales plus transparentes et de faire en sorte qu'on soit tenu d'en rendre compte devant le Parlement.

Le cycle triennal établit un système de « planification, exécution, contrôle et amélioration » qui entraînera des changements au fil du temps. Les stratégies successives examineront les lacunes et mettront en évidence les changements stratégiques soutenus par une transparence améliorée. Beaucoup a déjà été fait, et le travail se poursuivra au cours de ce cycle et des prochains cycles de la SFDD.

Le deuxième cycle triennal de la SFDD, qui porte sur la période de 2013 à 2016, fournit une occasion de miser sur les trois principales améliorations apportées dans le premier cycle et de continuer à améliorer la transparence et la responsabilisation du processus décisionnel en matière d'environnement.

Une pratique exemplaire du développement durable réside dans la mobilisation publique, laquelle fait partie intégrante de l'approche de la SFDD et est essentielle au succès du système « planification, exécution, contrôle et amélioration. »

Figure 3 – Le système de « planification, exécution, contrôle et amélioration »

La figure illustre le modèle cyclique d'amélioration continue « Planification, exécution, contrôle et amélioration » (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image).

Description longue

La figure 2 illustre le modèle cyclique d'amélioration continue « Planification, exécution, contrôle et amélioration » utilisé pour améliorer la SFDD. Chaque élément du système de planification, exécution, contrôle et amélioration de la SFDD est représenté par une flèche représentant un motif circulaire. La flèche représentant la composante « planification –définir le changement et l’approche » du modèle comprend l'élaboration de la SFDD, la consultation avec les autres ministères, intervenants clés, la population ainsi que l’établissement de comités et des groupes de travail. La flèche représentant la composante « exécution –mise en œuvre de l’approche » comprend le dépôt de la SFDD et l’élaboration des processus pour mettre en œuvre l’approche comme le cadre de gestion, le cadre de mesure du rendement, ainsi que les directives ministérielle (Rapports sur les plans et les priorités, Rapports ministériels sur le rendement et l’évaluation environnementale stratégique). La flèche représentant la composante « contrôle –analyser les résultats, évaluer le progrès et identifier les leçons apprises » comprend la remise du rapport d'étape, l’identification des lacunes et des zones d’améliorations ainsi que l’application des critères SMART (spécifique, mesurable, atteignable, réaliste et limité dans le temps). Enfin, la flèche représentant la composante « amélioration –prendre des mesures en fonction des résultats et des leçons apprisses » comprend la diffusion des résultats des progrès réalisés en vue d'atteindre les objectifs et les cibles et dans l’application des critères SMART (spécifique, mesurable, atteignable, réaliste et limité dans le temps). Cette composante comprendre également d’affiner les processus et de prendre les mesures pour combler les lacunes et faire les améliorations.

Observations des différents acteurs et manière dont elles ont été utilisées

Compte tenu de l'importance de la consultation et conformément à la Loi, l'élaboration finale de la SFDD 2013-2016 a été guidée par une période de consultation publique de 120 jours. En effet, de février à juin 2013, le gouvernement a bénéficié d'une importante contribution sur la stratégie de la part du Commissaire à l'environnement et au développement durable (CEDD), du Conseil consultatif sur le développement durable (CCDD), des parlementaires, des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, des Premières Nations, des municipalités, des organisations non gouvernementales, des associations professionnelles et industrielles et des Canadiens. Un rapport de synthèse complet sur les consultations peut être consulté sur le site Web d'Environnement Canada. Ces observations ont éclairé l'élaboration et le parachèvement de la SFDD 2013-2016.

Les observations du public et des différents acteurs ont exprimé le soutien pour l'approche pangouvernementale de la SFDD et reconnu l'existence d'améliorations importantes depuis la SFDD 2010-2013. Il s'agit notamment de l'ajout d'une cible sur l'adaptation aux changements climatiques; de la présentation d'indicateurs dans la stratégie; de la mise en place d'un cadre de développement durable plus efficace et mieux équilibré; et de la formulation supérieure des thèmes de la SFDD sur la protection de la nature (Thème III) et de l'écologisation des opérations gouvernementales (Thème IV). La SFDD finale 2013-2016 s'appuie sur les points forts relevés dans les observations des différents acteurs en élargissant, notamment, la gamme de ministères et organismes qui contribuent à la stratégie et en augmentant la couverture des enjeux environnementaux.

Les sections suivantes font état des commentaires et des observations clés qui sont ressortis du premier cycle de la SFDD et au cours de la récente période de consultation publique du second cycle, et résument la mesure dans laquelle ils ont influé sur la SFDD finale 2013-2016.

Observations et avis généraux

Dans le parachèvement de la SFDD 2013-2016, le gouvernement a reçu des observations soulignant l'importance de l'environnement et du développement durable, ainsi que sur des enjeux environnementaux particuliers. Les différents acteurs et les Canadiens ont également fourni des conseils et des recommandations sur les nouveaux programmes, les nouvelles politiques, la recherche scientifique, les nouvelles collaborations et d'autres initiatives. Les conseils stratégiques portaient sur des questions comme l'adaptation aux changements climatiques, la réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre, la qualité de l'air et de l'eau, la nature et les achats gouvernementaux. Bien que la deuxième stratégie continue d'indiquer les décisions environnementales fédérales existantes, des observations et des conseils généraux ont été fournis aux ministères et organismes concernés à des fins d'examen dans l'élaboration future des politiques et des programmes.

Amélioration des cibles et des stratégies de mise en œuvre

En réponse aux observations soulignant le potentiel d'amélioration de la spécificité, de la mesurabilité et de la faisabilité de certaines cibles de la SFDD, dix cibles ont été améliorées, par exemple par l'ajout de données de base, de repères quantitatifs et d'échéanciers. Les exemples comprennent notamment les cibles sur les polluants atmosphériques (cible 2.1); les Systèmes d'approvisionnement en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations dans les réserves (cible 3.1); les secteurs préoccupants canadiens liés aux Grands Lacs (cible 3.3); et l'aquaculture durable (cible 5.2).

En outre, un certain nombre de stratégies de mise en œuvre ont été plus largement détaillées afin de clarifier leur sens, d'ajouter des renseignements pertinents et de veiller à ce qu'elles puissent être évaluées, y compris les stratégies de mise en œuvre 1.1.2, 2.1.9 (qui comprennent maintenant un exemple d'un programme de promotion des technologies propres ); 3.12.7 (qui englobe maintenant des renseignements supplémentaires sur la participation du Fédéral aux activités des offices nationaux et internationaux des eaux); et 4.3.4 (qui comprend maintenant des renseignements additionnels sur la protection de l'habitat).

Amélioration de la couverture des enjeux environnementaux

En réponse aux lacunes relevées par les différents acteurs, la SFDD 2013-2016 finale comprend une plus grande couverture des enjeux environnementaux et les priorités fédérales pertinentes, ainsi qu'un portrait pangouvernemental élargi qui englobe un plus grand nombre de ministères et organismes fédéraux.

Le gouvernement a élargi les objectifs et les stratégies de mise en œuvre existants de la SFDD afin d'accroître la couverture et de fournir un compte rendu plus détaillé des mesures fédérales pertinentes associées à plusieurs priorités horizontales. À titre d'exemple, depuis la publication, en février, du document consultation sur la SFDD 2013-2016, le nombre de ministères et organismes fédéraux qui ont été reconnus comme contribuant à la cible touchant les catastrophes, les urgences et les incidents environnementaux est passé de trois à douze. La stratégie présente maintenant aussi un portrait plus détaillé des mesures prises sur les sites contaminés fédéraux (se reporter aux stratégies de mise en œuvre 4.8.1 et 4.8.2).

La SFDD 2013-2016 augmente le nombre de ministères responsables des stratégies de mise en œuvre associées aux Thèmes I à III de 17 dans le premier cycle à 26. Cela est attribuable en partie à la participation à la SFDD de sept organisations fédérales non visées par la Loi : Statistique Canada (stratégies de mise en œuvre 2.2.2, 3.12.5, 4.3.8), le Conseil national de recherches (stratégie de mise en œuvre 2.2.3), l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (stratégies de mise en œuvre 4.6.2, 4.6.7, 4.6.8, 4.6.9, 4.6.10, 4.6.11), la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (stratégies de mise en œuvre 4.8.1), le Service correctionnel du Canada (stratégie de mise en œuvre 4.8.1), le Conseil canadien des normes (stratégie de mise en œuvre 1.2.5), et l'Office national de l'énergie (stratégie mise en œuvre 4.7.6). Le gouvernement continuera à promouvoir la participation volontaire et s'assurera que toutes les mesures fédérales pertinentes sont prises en compte dans les stratégies futures.

La SFDD finale 2013-2016 améliore la couverture des enjeux de la stratégie cités par les différents acteurs, tels que la santé, l'énergie, le développement responsable des ressources, l'évaluation environnementale et l'agriculture. Depuis la publication de l'ébauche de consultation, le lien entre la qualité de l'environnement et la santé humaine a été renforcé dans la stratégie grâce à l'élargissement du Thème III (Protéger la nature et les Canadiens) afin d'y inclure la protection de la santé des Canadiens ainsi que la protection de la nature. La stratégie présente maintenant un portrait plus précis de l'action fédérale sur l'énergie durable (y compris les énergies renouvelables, l'efficacité énergétique et les technologies propres). Elle reflète également l'engagement du gouvernement à mettre en place un programme exhaustif de surveillance de l'environnement rattaché aux sables bitumineux en incluant deux nouvelles stratégies de mise en œuvre sur ce sujet (stratégies de mise en œuvre 3.12.3 et 4.3.10). La stratégie décrit maintenant les récentes modifications à l'évaluation environnementale (se reporter à l'Évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) et processus décisionnel) et donne plus de détails sur le rôle de l'agriculture dans la durabilité de l'environnement (notamment grâce à la protection des zones riveraines – se reporter au Thème II et à la cible 5.4). Enfin, la SFDD 2013-2016 cerne maintenant les stratégies de mise en œuvre qui soutiennent l'initiative de Développement responsable des ressources du gouvernement, une priorité fédérale véhiculant de solides dimensions de durabilité de l'environnement (se reporter à L'importance continue du développement durable et les stratégies de mise en œuvre 4.6.7 et 3.8.3).

Reconnaissance de la collaboration

En réponse aux observations soulignant l'importance des acteurs non fédéraux dans l'obtention des résultats environnementaux, la SFDD 2013-2016 reconnaît les contributions des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, des administrations autochtones, des municipalités, de l'industrie, des organisations internationales et des Canadiens à l'atteinte de ses objectifs et de ses cibles. Pour clarifier l'importance de la collaboration, la deuxième stratégie comporte une section pour chacun des trois premiers thèmes donnant un bref aperçu des rôles des autres acteurs dans l'obtention des résultats environnementaux.

La stratégie comprend également de multiples stratégies de mise en œuvre qui mettent en relief les façons dont le gouvernement fédéral collabore avec d'autres gouvernements et différents acteurs pour obtenir des résultats. Au nombre des exemples, mentionnons les stratégies de mise en œuvre sur la collaboration avec les provinces, les territoires et les différents acteurs pour mettre en œuvre le Système de gestion de la qualité de l'air (2.1.19), la restauration des écosystèmes aquatiques du lac Simcoe / sud-est de la baie Georgienne et du lac Winnipeg (3.6.1 et 3.7.1) la fourniture d'un soutien aux coopératives (1.1.10), et soutenir le développement des connaissances et de l'expertise autochtone dans le traitement des espèces en péril (4.1.3).

Dimensions sociales et économiques du développement durable

En réponse aux observations reçues, la SFDD 2013-2016 intègre mieux les dimensions sociales et économiques tout en accordant une attention particulière à la prise de décisions environnementales. Pour chacun de ses thèmes de durabilité de l'environnement (relever les défis des changements climatiques et de la qualité de l'air; maintenir la qualité et la disponibilité de l'eau; et protéger la nature et les Canadiens), la stratégie fournit de l'information sur les facteurs sociaux et économiques et les effets des changements environnementaux, ainsi que sur la façon dont les mesures environnementales du gouvernement fédéral peuvent procurer des avantages économiques et sociaux (se reporter aux Thèmes I à III).

Elle comprend également des indicateurs environnementaux véhiculant des aspects sociaux et économiques. Il s'agit notamment des indicateurs air-santé (Thème I); des avis sur l'eau potable (Thème II); des paramètres de rendement agro-environnementaux de la qualité de l'eau et de la qualité des sols (Thème II); du niveau d'exposition aux substances préoccupantes (Thème III); et la mesure dans laquelle l'aquaculture est gérée en vertu du cadre de réglementation environnementale fondé sur la science (Thème III).

La SFDD 2013-2016 poursuit également les efforts continus du gouvernement d'appliquer les objectifs et les cibles de la SFDD dans les EES afin d'informer les décideurs des effets potentiels des politiques, des plans et des programmes proposés (y compris ceux à vocation sociale ou économique) sur la réalisation des objectifs environnementaux du gouvernement. Grâce à l'application continue de la Politique d'achats écologiques du Fédéral, jumelée au renforcement de cibles pour réduire l'empreinte environnementale des opérations gouvernementales, la SFDD 2013-2016 continue aussi d'intégrer les facteurs environnementaux au processus décisionnel sur l'acquisition de biens et de services.

Communication

En réponse aux observations recommandant plus de clarté et de lisibilité, la deuxième stratégie améliore la communication des priorités et des enjeux environnementaux en fournissant les définitions des termes clés - par exemple, le développement durable (se reporter à L'approche du gouvernement du Canada en matière de durabilité de l'environnement), la dégradation des utilisations bénéfiques (par rapport aux secteurs préoccupants des Grands Lacs – se reporter au Thème II), et la gestion durable des forêts (voir Thème III).

À la suite des consultations publiques sur la SFDD 2013-2016, des catégories de stratégie de mise en œuvre ont été ajoutées sous la cible 1.1 (atténuation des changements climatiques), permettant ainsi aux Canadiens de cerner rapidement les stratégies de mise en œuvre liées aux technologies et aux industries propres, au transport écologique, à l'efficacité énergétique et aux énergies renouvelables, sans oublier le travail international sur les changements climatiques.

Lorsqu'il était approprié de le faire, les stratégies de mise en œuvre ont également été révisées pour plus de clarté – parmi les exemples, mentionnons, sous la cible 2.1 (polluants atmosphériques extérieurs), la stratégie de mise en œuvre 2.1.13, qui a été révisée aux fins de son libellé et de sa lisibilité; et les stratégies de mise en œuvre de la cible 4.1(Espèces en péril), qui ont été regroupées afin de réduire les dédoublements.

Mesurabilité

En réponse aux observations recommandant des actions pour accroître le caractère mesurable (la capacité à déterminer les progrès vers la réalisation des objectifs et des cibles de la SFDD), un certain nombre de cibles a été révisé. Il s'agit notamment de la cible 3.1 (systèmes d'approvisionnement en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations dans les réserves), qui comprend maintenant des renseignements de base et des objectifs d'amélioration particuliers exprimés en pourcentage à atteindre d'ici 2015; et de la cible 3.3 (domaines de préoccupation canadiens concernant les Grands Lacs), qui précise maintenant le nombre de secteurs préoccupants canadiens à être retirés de la liste d'ici 2018.

Bien que la SFDD 2013-2016 continue d'utiliser des indicateurs de résultats environnementaux pour mesurer les progrès vers l'atteinte des objectifs et des cibles, un complément d'information sur les engagements particuliers des ministères et des organismes à l'égard de la SFDD est disponible par le truchement des mécanismes ministériels de planification et de production de rapports. La production de rapports ministériels sur la deuxième stratégie s'amorcera en 2014.

Considérations futures

Le gouvernement s'est engagé à veiller à ce que chaque cycle subséquent de la SFDD s'appuie sur les leçons apprises, dans le respect de l'approche « planification, exécution, contrôle et amélioration ». En conséquence, le gouvernement tiendra compte des observations des différents acteurs dans la planification des cycles futurs.

Les considérations futures soulevées durant la période de consultation publique comprenaient l'augmentation du nombre de ministères et d'organismes qui contribuent aux Thèmes I à III de la SFDD, le renforcement des liens entre la santé humaine et l'environnement, la fourniture de renseignements financiers dans la SFDD, l'augmentation du nombre de ministères qui suivent de façon systématique la prise de décisions intégrées, l'élargissement des aspects sociaux et économiques de la SFDD, l'ajout de stratégies de mise en œuvre sur les services écosystémiques et les aires protégées, et la vérification par une tierce partie des données sur les ICDE.

Toutes ces questions seront examinées dans l'élaboration de la SFDD 2016-2019; toutefois, des progrès sur plusieurs de ces questions sont déjà réalisés. Par exemple, depuis 2010, les ministères et organismes ont réalisé des progrès vers l'harmonisation de leurs engagements à l'égard de la SFDD avec leurs architectures d'alignement des programmes respectifs, ce qui s'est traduit par une amélioration des liens entre la production de rapports sur le développement durable et les principaux rapports ministériels.


Date de modification :