Homogenized Surface Wind Speed Data

Long-term homogenized surface wind speeds (at standard 10 m level) have been specifically developed for climate research in Canada. The data consist of hourly and monthly mean surface wind speeds for more than 100 locations. Series start from 1953 or later and all stations have at least 45 years of continuous observations.

The original data includes hourly surface wind speeds extracted from the National Climate Data Archive of Environment Canada. There are no joined stations.

Surface wind speeds were homogenized in two steps. First, metadata and a logarithmic wind profile were used to adjust hourly wind speeds measured from non-standard to the standard 10 m height. Then, the monthly mean wind speeds were tested for homogeneity using a technique based on regression models (Wang, 2008). Homogeneous monthly mean geostrophic wind speeds, derived from homogenized sea level pressure, were used as reference series.

The homogenization methodology involves the identification of shifts in the wind speed time series due to changes in anemometer height, site exposure, location, instrumentation and anemometer type. Monthly adjustments were derived from the regression models (Wan et al., 2009). Hourly data were adjusted from non-standard to the standard 10 m height. Whenever possible, the main causes of the identified inhomogeneities were retrieved through historical evidence such as the inspection reports.

References

Wan, H., X. L. Wang, V. R. Swail, 2009: Homogenization and trend analysis of Canadian near-surface wind speeds. J. Clim., 23, 1209-1225.

Wang, Xiaolan, 2008: Accounting for autocorrelation in detecting mean-shifts in climate data series using the penalized maximal t or F test. J. Appl. Meteor. Climatol., 47 (No. 9), 2423-2444.

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Données homogénéisées de la vitesse du vent de surface

Des données à long terme de vitesse du vent homogénéisée (au niveau standard de 10 m) ont été spécifiquement conçues pour les recherches climatiques au Canada. Les données se composent de la vitesse du vent horaire et des moyennes mensuelles pour plus que 100 emplacements. Les séries commencent à partir de 1953 ou plus tard et toutes les stations ont au moins 45 ans d'observations continues.

Les données originales incluent la vitesse du vent horaire extraite à partir des Archives des données climatiques nationales d'Environnement Canada. Il n'y a aucune station jointive.

La vitesse du vent a été homogénéisée dans deux étapes. D'abord, des métadonnées et le profil logarithmique du vent ont été utilisés pour ajuster la vitesse du vent horaire mesurée à partir de la hauteur non standard à la hauteur standard de 10 m. Après, la vitesse du vent moyenne mensuelle a été examinée pour l’homogénéité en utilisant une technique basée sur des modèles de régression (Wang, 2008). La moyenne mensuelle de la vitesse du vent géostrophique a été utilisée comme série de référence (dérivée de la pression au niveau de la mer homogénéisée).

La méthodologie d'homogénéisation comporte l'identification des sauts dans la série chronologique de vitesse du vent souvent causés par les changements de la hauteur de l'anémomètre, de l'endroit des instruments et du type d'anémomètre. Des ajustements mensuels ont été dérivés des modèles de régression (Wan et al., 2009). Des données horaires ont été ajustées à la hauteur standard de 10 m. Autant que possible, les causes principales des hétérogénéités identifiées ont été retrouvées dans les documents historiques tels que les rapports d'inspecteur.

Références

Wan, H., X. L. Wang, V. R. Swail, 2009: Homogenization and trend analysis of Canadian near-surface wind speeds. J. Clim., 23, 1209-1225.

Wang, Xiaolan, 2008: Accounting for autocorrelation in detecting mean-shifts in climate data series using the penalized maximal t or F test. J. Appl. Meteor. Climatol., 47 (No. 9), 2423-2444.