Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

The Third Generation Atmospheric General Circulation Model

Canadian Centre for Climate Modelling and Analysis

The third-generation AGCM(McFarlane et al. 2005, Scinocca et al. 2008) shares many basic features with the CCC second generation model The Second Generation Atmospheric General Circulation Model(McFarlane et al. 1992). As in AGCM2, the spectral transform method is used to represent the horizontal spatial structure of the main prognostic variables while the vertical representation is in terms of rectangular finite elements defined for a hybrid vertical coordinate as described by Laprise and Girard (1990).

The spectral representation currently used in AGCM3 corresponds to a higher horizontal resolution than that used in AGCM2, being comprised of a 47 wave triangularly truncated (T47) spherical harmonic expansion. The vertical domain of AGCM3 is deeper than in AGCM2 and the vertical resolution is also higher. The third-generation model domain extends from the surface to the stratopause region (1hPa, approximately 50km above the surface).This region is spanned by 32 layers. The mid point of the lowest layer is approximately 50 meters above the surface at sea level. Layer depths increase monotonically with height from approximately 100 meters at the surface to 3km in the lower stratosphere.

The treatment of many of the parameterized physical processes in the third-generation model is qualitatively similar to AGCM2. However, the are some key features that are new to the third generation model. These include the introduction of CLASS, a new module for treatment of the land surface processes (Verseghy et al, 1992). This new land surface scheme is considerably more comprehensive than the simple single soil layer scheme used in AGCM2. In particular, the new scheme includes 3 soil layers, a snow layer where applicable, and a vegetative canopy treatment. Both liquid and frozen forms of soil moisture are carried as prognostic variables. Soil surface properties such as surface roughness heights for heat and momentum (which differ from each other in general), and surface albedos are taken to be functions of the soil and vegetation types and soil moisture conditions within a given grid volume.

Surface exchanges of heat moisture and momentum in AGCM3 are formulated following Abdella and McFarlane(1996). The treatment of turbulent transfer within the planetary boundary layer is similar in form to that in AGCM2 except that an additional direct non-local mixing of heat and moisture is carried out in circumstances where the buoyancy flux at the surface is upward. In these cases it is assumed that the boundary layer will tend to become well mixed to a depth that is determined to be such that the virtual potential temperature of the mixed layer does not exceed that of the layer directly above it. In practice this mixed layer is always comprised of the lowest model layer and an integral number of adjacent layers, rarely more than one or two.

In the AGCM3 the moist convective adjustment algorithm that was used in AGCM2 has been replaced by the cumulus parameterization of Zhang and McFarlane (1995). This parameterization is a bulk mass flux scheme which includes a representation of convective scale updrafts and downdrafts and is designed to account for the effects of penetrative convection in a manner that is more physically sound than is the moist convective adjustment scheme.

Solar radiative heating in AGCM3 is computed using an improved version of the scheme used in AGCM2. This newer version employs (4) bands in the visible and near infrared region. Cloud cover is specified as a function of the local relative humidity and the liquid water content of the clouds is taken to be proportional to the adiabatic value obtained by lifting a parcel through a specified depth, as in AGCM2. The optical properties of the clouds are parameterized in terms of the liquid water/ice content. The treatment of terrestrial radiation is similar to that used in AGCM2 but with improved treatment of broad band emissivities and the water vapour continuum.

A significant difference between the second and third generation models is in the treatment of water vapour transport. While the spectral transport algorithm is retained as in the earlier generation models, the quantity that is transported is the hybrid moisture variable proposed by Boer (1995). Use of this variable alleviates to a considerable extent the undesirable effects that accompany the development of unphysical negative values in association with spectral transport of specific humidity. A semi-Lagrangian transport algorithm also exists in AGCM3 as an option for transport of moisture and other trace constituents.

Since the current version of the CMAM does not have an active chemical source of water vapour, moisture (in terms of the hybrid variable) is not evaluated prognostically above the 25hPa level. For the purpose of evaluating radiative heating rates in the region of the model that is above this level the water vapour content is specified.

References:

Abdella, K. , and N.McFarlane, 1996, Parameterization of the Surface-Layer Exchange Coefficients for Atmospheric Models., B. Layer Met., 80, 223-248.

Boer, G.J., 1995: A hybrid moisture variable suitable for spectral GCMs. Research Activities in Atmospheric and Oceanic Modelling. Report No. 21, WMO/TD-No. 665, World Meteorological Organization, Geneva.

Laprise, R. and C. Girard, 1990: A spectral general circulation model using a piecewise-constant finite element representation on a hybrid vertical coordinate system. J. Climate, 3, 32-52

McFarlane, N.A., G.J. Boer, J.-P. Blanchet, and M. Lazare, 1992: The Canadian Climate Centre second-generation general circulation model and its equilibrium climate. J. Climate, 5, 1013-1044.

McFarlane, N.A., J. F. Scinocca, M. Lazare, R. Harvey, D. Verseghy, and J. Li, 2005: The CCCma third generation atmospheric general circulation model. CCCma Internal Rep., 25 pp.

Scinocca, J. F., N. A. McFarlane, M. Lazare, J. Li, and D. Plummer, 2008: The CCCma third generation AGCM and its extension into the middle atmosphere. Atmos. Chem. and Phys., 8, 7055-7074.

Verseghy, D.L., N.A. McFarlane, and M. Lazare, 1993: A Canadian Land Surface Scheme for GCMs:II. Vegetation model and coupled runs. Int. J. Climatol., 13, 347-370.

Zhang, G.J. and N. A. McFarlane, 1995: Sensitivity of climate simulations to the parameterization of cumulus convection in the CCC GCM. Atmos.-Ocean, 33, 407-446.

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Modèle de circulation générale de l'atmosphère de troisième génération

Centre canadien de la modélisation et de l'analyse climatique

Le modèle de circulation générale de troisième génération (McFarlane et al. 2005, Scinocca et al. 2008) partage de nombreuses caractéristiques de base avec le modèle de deuxième génération (Modèle de circulation générale de l'atmosphère de deuxième génération ), décrit par McFarlane et al. (1992). Tout comme dans le MCGA2, on utilise la méthode des transformées spectrales afin de représenter les structures spatiales horizontales des principales variables pronostiques, alors que la représentation verticale se fait en termes d'éléments finis rectangulaires définis pour un système de coordonnées verticales hybrides, décrit par Laprise et Girard (1990).

La représentation spectrale couramment utilisée dans le MCGA3 correspond à une résolution horizontale supérieure à ce qui est utilisé dans le MCGA2 et comprend un développement en harmoniques sphériques avec troncature triangulaire au nombre d'onde 47 (T47). Dans le MCGA3, le domaine vertical est plus profond que dans le MCGA2, et la résolution verticale est également plus grande. Le domaine du modèle de troisième génération s'étend de la surface de la Terre jusqu'à la région de la stratopause (1 hPa, soit environ 50 km au-dessus de la surface). Cette région est scindée en 32 niveaux. Le point médian du niveau le plus bas est à environ 50 mètres au-dessus de la surface au niveau de la mer. L'épaisseur des niveaux augmente de façon monotone avec l'altitude, passant d'environ 100 mètres à la surface à 3 km dans la basse stratosphère.

Dans le modèle de troisième génération, le traitement de nombreux processus physiques paramétrisés est, du point de vue qualitatif, similaire à ce que l'on retrouve dans le MCGA2. Toutefois, certaines caractéristiques importantes sont nouvelles dans le modèle de troisième génération. Mentionnons l'introduction du module CLASS, un nouveau module qui permet de traiter les processus à la surface terrestre (Verseghy et al., 1992). Ce nouveau schéma de paramétrisation de la surface terrestre est beaucoup plus exhaustif que le mécanisme simple à couche de sol unique utilisé dans le MCGA2. En effet, ce nouveau schéma comporte 3 couches de sol et une couche de neige là où il y a lieu, et il peut traiter la couverture végétale. En outre, les formes liquide et gelée de l'eau du sol sont considérées comme des variables pronostiques. Les propriétés de la surface de la surface, notamment les hauteurs caractéristiques de la rugosité du sol pour la chaleur et la quantité de mouvement (qui diffèrent l'une de l'autre en général), ainsi que les albédos de surface dépendent des types de sol et de végétation et des conditions d'humidité du sol, dans un même volume de grille.

Dans le MCGA3, les équations décrivant les échanges d'humidité d'origine thermique et de quantité de mouvement sont formulées selon les indications d'Abdella et McFarlane(1996). La transmission de la turbulence au travers de la couche limite planétaire est traitée de manière similaire, dans sa forme, à ce que l'on retrouve dans le MCGA2, sauf que l'on tien compte en plus, maintenant, du mélange non local direct de la chaleur et de l'humidité, lorsque le flux de poussée à la surface est ascendant. Dans ces cas, on suppose que la couche limite aura tendance à bien se mélanger jusqu'à une profondeur qui est déterminée de telle façon que la température potentielle virtuelle de la couche mélangée ne dépasse pas celle de la couche qui se trouve directement au-dessus. Dans la pratique, cette couche mélangée est toujours composée de la couche la plus basse dans le modèle et d'un nombre entier de couches adjacentes, jamais plus d'un ou deux.

L'algorithme d'ajustement de la convection humide qui était utilisé dans le MCGA2 a été remplacé dans le MCGA3 par la paramétrisation des cumulus, formulée par Zhang et McFarlane (1995). Cette paramétrisation consiste en un schéma de flux massique qui comprend une représentation des courants ascendants et descendants à l'échelle convective, et vise à tenir compte des effets de la convection pénétrante d'une manière physiquement plus réaliste que ce que permet le processus d'ajustement de la convection humide.

Le réchauffement radiatif solaire dans le MCGA3 est calculé au moyen d'une version améliorée du processus utilisé dans le MCGA2. Cette nouvelle version utilise quatre bandes dans le visible et le proche infrarouge. La nébulosité est spécifiée en fonction de l'humidité relative locale, et l'on considère que la teneur en eau liquide des nuages est proportionnelle à la valeur adiabatique obtenue par l'ascension d'une particule sur un intervalle de hauteur donné, tout comme dans le MCGA2. Les propriétés optiques des nuages sont paramétrisées en fonction de la teneur en eau liquide/glace. Enfin, le traitement du rayonnement terrestre est similaire à ce que l'on utilise dans le MCGA2, mais on a amélioré le traitement de l'émissivité sur large bande et du continuum de la vapeur d'eau.

Ce qui démarque beaucoup les deux modèles (deuxième et troisième générations), c'est le traitement du transport de la vapeur d'eau. Si on conserve dans la troisième version l'algorithme de transport spectral, la quantité transportée est toutefois la variable d'humidité hybride proposée par Boer (1995). L'utilisation de cette variable annule dans une grande mesure les effets indésirables des valeurs négatives n'ayant aucune signification physique, et que l'on obtient lorsque l'on calcule le transport spectral de l'humidité spécifique. Le MCGA3 offre également un algorithme de transport semi-lagrangien comme option pour calculer le transport de l'humidité et des autres constituants trace.

Comme la version actuelle du CMAM ne comporte pas de source chimique active de vapeur d'eau, l'humidité (en termes de variable hybride) n'est pas évaluée de manière pronostique au-delà du niveau de 25 hPa. Enfin, pour évaluer les taux de réchauffement radiatif dans la région du modèle au-dessus de ce niveau, on précise la teneur en vapeur d'eau.

Références

Abdella, K. , and N.McFarlane, 1996, Parameterization of the Surface-Layer Exchange Coefficients for Atmospheric Models., B. Layer Met., 80, 223-248.

Boer, G.J., 1995: A hybrid moisture variable suitable for spectral GCMs. Research Activities in Atmospheric and Oceanic Modelling. Report No. 21, WMO/TD-No. 665, World Meteorological Organization, Geneva.

Laprise, R. and C. Girard, 1990: A spectral general circulation model using a piecewise-constant finite element representation on a hybrid vertical coordinate system. J. Climate, 3, 32-52

McFarlane, N.A., G.J. Boer, J.-P. Blanchet, and M. Lazare, 1992: The Canadian Climate Centre second-generation general circulation model and its equilibrium climate. J. Climate, 5, 1013-1044.

McFarlane, N.A., J. F. Scinocca, M. Lazare, R. Harvey, D. Verseghy, and J. Li, 2005: The CCCma third generation atmospheric general circulation model. CCCma Internal Rep., 25 pp.

Scinocca, J. F., N. A. McFarlane, M. Lazare, J. Li, and D. Plummer, 2008: The CCCma third generation AGCM and its extension into the middle atmosphere. Atmos. Chem. and Phys., 8, 7055-7074.

Verseghy, D.L., N.A. McFarlane, and M. Lazare, 1993: A Canadian Land Surface Scheme for GCMs:II. Vegetation model and coupled runs. Int. J. Climatol., 13, 347-370.

Zhang, G.J. and N. A. McFarlane, 1995: Sensitivity of climate simulations to the parameterization of cumulus convection in the CCC GCM. Atmos.-Ocean, 3, 407-446.