This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Second Generation Coupled Global Climate Model

Canadian Centre for Climate Modelling and Analysis

The second version of the Canadian Centre for Climate Modelling and Analysis (CCCma) Coupled Global Climate Model (CGCM2), is based on the earlier The First Generation Coupled Global Climate Model , but with some improvements aimed at addressing shortcomings identified in the first version. In particular, the ocean mixing parameterization has been changed from horizontal/vertical diffusion scheme to the isopycnal/eddy stirring parameterization of Gent and McWilliams (1990), and sea-ice dynamics has been included following Flato and Hibler (1992). In addition, some technical modifications were made in the ocean spinup and flux adjustment procedure. A description of CGCM2 and a comparison, relative to CGCM1, of its response to increasing greenhouse-gas forcing can be found in Flato and Boer (2000). CGCM2 has been used to produce ensemble climate change projections using the older IS92a forcing scenario, as well as the newer IPCC SRES A2 and B2 scenarios. CGCM2 results were used in the recent Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, Third Assessment Report (2001) and in the ongoing Arctic Climate Impact Assessment. Some selected results are briefly summarized here.

Surface air temperature change graph

Figure 1: Global annual average surface temperature change, relative to 1900-1929 average as produced by the Fisrt and Second Generation Coupled Global Climate Models for various forcing scenarios.

Figure 1 shows the global, annual mean surface air temperature change simulated by CGCM1 and CGCM2, when forced with the widely-used "IS92a" (1% per year increase) scenario. The two models agree rather closely in terms of their global mean response. Also shown in the figure are time series obtained using the newer IPCC SRES "A2" and "B2"forcing scenarios.

Surface air temperature change colourmap

Figure 2: Annual mean surface air temperature change, 1971-1990 to 2041-2060 as projected by the First Generation Coupled Global Climate Model (upper panel) and Second Generation Coupled Global Climate Model (lower panel).

Figure 2 shows the annual mean surface air temperature change between 1971-1990 and 2041-2060 obtained with the two models and the "IS92a"forcing scenario. Here one can see differences which result largely from the change in ocean mixing parameterization. Most notable is the north/south asymmetry in warming apparent in the CGCM1 result (qualitatively similar to many such models), and the more symmetrical pattern produced by CGCM2. This difference arises from a change in the depth and vigor of vertical mixing in the Southern Ocean.

CGCM2 has also been used to perform simulations of the climate during the Last Glacial Maximum (LGM) some 18,000 years ago (Kim et al. (2002a;b)).

Acknowledgements

The development of CGCM2 was a team effort involving G.M. Flato and G.J. Boer along with W.G. Lee and S. Tinis.

References:

Flato, G.M. and G.J. Boer, 2001: Warming Asymmetry in Climate Change Simulations. Geophys. Res. Lett., 28, 195-198.

Flato, G.M. and Hibler, W.D. III, 1992: Modelling Pack Ice as a Cavitating Fluid. J. Phys. Oceanogr., 22, 626-651.

Gent, P.R. and J.C. McWilliams, 1990: Isopycnal Mixing in Ocean Circulation Models. J. Phys. Oceanogr., 20, 150-155.

IPCC, 2001: Climate Change 2001: The Scientific Basis. J.T. Houghton et al. (eds.), Cambridge University Press, 881pp.

Kim, S.-J., G.M. Flato, G.J. Boer and N.A. McFarlane, 2002a: A coupled climate model simulation of the Last Glacial Maximum, Part 1: transient multi-decadal response. Climate Dynamics, 19, 515-537.

Kim, S.-J., G.M. Flato, G.J. Boer, 2002b: A coupled climate model simulation of the Last Glacial Maximum, Part 2: approach to equilibrium Climate Dynamics, in press.

Date modified:

La deuxième génération du modèle couplé climatique global

Centre canadien de la modélisation et de l'analyse climatique

La deuxième génération du modèle couplé climatique global (MCCG2), est basée sur la version antérieure du modèle La première génération du modèle couplé climatique global. Les principales modifications apportées concernent d'une part, le changement du paramétrage de mélange océanique d'un schéma de diffusion horizontale et verticale à un schéma de mélange tourbillonaire et isopycnal selon Gent et McWilliams (1990); et d'autre part, une dynamique de glace de mer implémentée suivant Flato et Hibler (1992). De plus, certaines modifications techniques ont été apportées à la procédure de mise à l'équilibre du modèle océanique, ainsi qu'à la procédure d'ajustement des flux de surface. Une description du MCCG2 ainsi qu'une comparaison avec le MCCG1, par rapport à leur réponse respective à l'augmentation du forçage de gaz à effet de serre, est donnée par: Flato et Boer (2000). MCCG2 a été utilisé pour produire des projections d'ensemble du changement climatique en utilisant l'ancient scénario de forçage IS92a, ainsi que les nouveaux scénarios SRES A2 et B2. Les résultats du MCCG2 ont été utilisé dans le récent troisième rapport d'évaluation du GIEC (GIEC, 2001) et dans le programme continu de "Arctic Climate Impact Assessment". Certain résultats sont brièvement discutés ici.

Température à la surface de renouvellement d'air graph

Figure 1: Moyenne annuelle globale du changement de température en surface par rapport à la moyenne de la période 1900-1929, selon la première et deuxième génération du modèle couplé climatique global pour divers scénarios de forçage.

La figure 1 illustre la moyenne annuelle du changement de la température de l'air en surface telle que simulé par le MCCG1 et MCCG2 ; les deux modèles sont forcés par le populaire scénario "IS92a"(augmentation de 1% par année) de l'GIEC. Manifestement, les deux modèles indiquent une réponse globale semblable. Des séries temporellles, obtenues à partir des scénarios de forçage plus récents "A2" et "B2" GIEC SRES, sont également illustrées sur la figure.

Température à la surface de renouvellement d'air colourmap

Figure 2:Moyenne annuelle du changement de température en surface, 1971-1990 et 2041-2060, telle que simulée par la première génération du modèle couplé climatique global (panneau supérieur) et la deuxième génération du modèle couplé climatique global (panneau inférieur).

La figure 2 montre la moyenne annuelle du changement de température en surface entre les périodes 1971-1990 et 2041-2060 obtenus à partir des deux modèles forcés par le scénario "IS92a". On remarque ici des différences entre les deux modèles, principalement causées par le changement du paramétrage de mélange océanique. La distribution asymétrique nord-sud du réchauffement observée dans la simulation du MCCG1 (résultat qualitativement en accord avec d'autres modèles semblables), devient d'avantage symétrique dans la simulation du MCCG2. Cette différence est issue d'un brassage vertical plus vigoureux et à une plus grande profondeur dans l'Océan Austral.

MCCG2 a aussi été utilisé pour produire des simulations du climat pendant le dernier maximum glaciaire il y a environ 18 000 ans (Kim et al. (2002a;b)).

Remerciements

Le développement du MCCG2 fut la réalisation d'un travail d'équipe où participèrent G.M. Flato et G.J. Boer, avec l'aide de W.G. Lee et S. Tinis.

Références

Flato, G.M. and G.J. Boer, 2001: Warming Asymmetry in Climate Change Simulations. Geophys. Res. Lett., 28, 195-198.

Flato, G.M. and Hibler, W.D. III, 1992: Modelling Pack Ice as a Cavitating Fluid. J. Phys. Oceanogr., 22, 626-651.

Gent, P.R. and J.C. McWilliams, 1990: Isopycnal Mixing in Ocean Circulation Models. J. Phys. Oceanogr., 20, 150-155.

IPCC, 2001: Climate Change 2001: The Scientific Basis. J.T. Houghton et al. (eds.), Cambridge University Press, 881pp.

Kim, S.-J., G.M. Flato, G.J. Boer and N.A. McFarlane, 2002a: A coupled climate model simulation of the Last Glacial Maximum, Part 1: transient multi-decadal response. Climate Dynamics, 19, 515-537.

Kim, S.-J., G.M. Flato, G.J. Boer, 2002b: A coupled climate model simulation of the Last Glacial Maximum, Part 2: approach to equilibrium Climate Dynamics, in press.