Partners in Action!

Read all about it! Get the latest news on the AQHI

Tweets, widgets and blogs! Get informed and have your say.

Get short timely tweets by joining one of the following health and AQHI related twitter websites. The Canadian Lung Association and Asthma Society of Canada twitter websites offer up to date news on lung and asthma health.

Download the following widgets or applications (Windows 7, Mac OSX, iphone/ipad): These widgets and applications report the current and forecasted AQHI and associated health messages. Some of them even allow you to set your own risk thresholds and notifies you when it is exceeded.

You can also download the Asthma Society's AsthmaToday Widget and stay informed with weather, asthma news and the AQHI.

Do you feel like you have more to say? Then join the online Asthma's Society AQHI discussion blog. You can also leave a message on the Asthma Society AQHI audio blog by dialling 1-866-787-4050.

Are you up for the Clean Air Game challenge?

Visitors take a break to play the Clean Air Game at the Ontario Science Centre, Toronto during Science and Technology Week, October, 2009.

Innisdale Secondary SchoolEnvironment Canada promotes the Air Quality Health Index (AQHI) to elementary and secondary students by initiating discussions of the importance of protecting the atmosphere and helping students understand the sources of pollution and their impact on human and environmental health.

Visitors at the Ontario Science Centre

Grade 11 students from Innisdale Secondary School in Barrie wait for their classmate to answer a question on how we can do our part in helping clean up our air (above). Jenny and Vinson (right).

© Environment Canada, 2009.

 Environment Canada at Earth Day

Earth Day at Todmorden Mills

Environment Canada promotes the Air Quality Health Index (AQHI) to museum-goers at Todmorden Mills Heritage Museum and Arts Centre in scenic and historic Don Valley, Toronto on Earth Day, April 19, 2009.

© Environment Canada, 2009.

Get to Know it!Get to Know it!

An Air Quality Health Index (AQHI) bus shelter poster on Summit Dr. in sunny Kamloops, BC.  This is one of the many installed at transit stops in the Lower Mainland and throughout British Columbia. The transit posters are part of a province wide outreach and advertising campaign led by the BC Government in partnership with Health Canada, Environment Canada, the BC Lung Association, Metro Vancouver and the Fraser Valley Regional District.

© Communications Solutions Inc, 2008.

The Healthy Living Expo

Thompson Rivers University students and BC communication campaign manager at the Health Living Expo in KamloopsThompson Rivers University Respiratory Therapy program partnered with the AQHI at the first annual Kamloops Healthy Living Expo September 21, 2008, to promote lung health programs in conjunction with the AQHI. Pictured here are TRU students Fernanda and Danny with Jennifer Muir, right, AQHI BC communication campaign manager.

Thompson Rivers University students at the Healthy Living Expo in Kamloops

Second year students (Fernanda and Eleanor) from Thompson Rivers University Respiratory Therapy program talk about the AQHI to visitors of the Healthy Living Expo hosted in Kamloops September 21, 2008.

© Communications Solutions Inc, 2008.

 Casa Dona Juana at senior residence

Casa Dona Juana

Casa Dona Juana is promoting the Air Quality Health Index to Toronto’s Spanish speaking community through radio shows on Voices Latinas, workshops with senior’s residences and outreach at community events.

Casa Dona Juana’s “live and dream” workshops at Toronto senior’s home (left).

Casa Dona Juana AQHI outreach at the Inti Raymi celebration (sun celebration) at Christie Pit Park (right).

© Casa Dona Juana, 2008; photos by Rocio Arguelles and Carmen Miloslavich.

 Casa Dona Juana at Inti Raymi

Toronto Chinese for Ecological Living

Toronto Chinese for Ecological Living at outreach eventPacific Mall, Markham (April 12, 08).  Toronto Chinese for Ecological Living (TCEL) conducting a survey to assess the level of understanding of air quality and the various air quality related indexes.  The survey was conducted in Chinese (right).

Today's AQHI : L’Amoreaux Park, Toronto (May 10, 08).  Members of the Chinese community holding up the current AQHI reading at a tree planting event.  This event was organized by the City of Toronto and Evergreen. Toronto Chinese for Ecological Living (TCEL) assisted in helping the Chinese community to get involved. Other than learning about the AQHI, participant planted close to 300 trees that day to improve local air quality! (below).

© TCEL, 2008; photos by William To.

Toronto Chinese for Ecological Living at Treeplanting event

 Participants at BC stairclimb

Stair Climb for Clean Air!

Participants show off their AQHI-sponsored participant bags at the 7th Annual Climb the Wall: The Stairclimb for Clean Air in Vancouver Feb. 17, 2008. The BC Lung Association fundraiser, which has raised more than $100,000 for programs and research, showcases lung health and air-quality initiatives such as the new Air Quality Health Index.

© BC Lung Association, 2008.

Partenaires dans l’action!

Lisez tout à ce sujet! Recevez les dernières nouvelles sur la CAS

Tweets, widgets et blogues! Soyez informés et ayez votre mot à dire.

Recevez des tweets courts et pertinents axés sur la santé et la Cote air santé (CAS) en vous inscrivant à l’un des sites Twitter suivants. Le site de l’Association pulmonaire du Canada et le site de la Société canadienne de l'asthme. Ils vous proposent des nouvelles à jour sur la santé des poumons et de l'asthme. (disponible en anglais seulement)

Téléchargez les widgets suivants (Windows 7, Mac OSX, iphone/ipad) : Ces widgets donnent, en temps réel, la CAS actuelle et prévue ainsi que les messages de santé qui y sont associés. Certains permettent même d’identifier votre seuil de risque et vous avise lorsquecelui-ci est dépassé.

Restez informé de la température, des nouvelles en matière d’asthme et de la CAS en téléchargeant dans votre ordinateur le widget AsthmaToday de la Société canadienne de l’asthme. (disponible en anglais seulement)

Vous avez le goût d'en parler davantage? Joignez-vous alors au blogue de discussion sur la CAS de la Société de l'asthme. Vous pouvez aussi laisser un message sur le blogue audio sur la CAS de la Société de l'asthme en composant le 1-866-787-4050. (disponible en anglais seulement)

Êtes-vous prêts à relever le défi du Jeu de l’air pur?

Des visiteurs s’arrêtent pour jouer au Jeu de l’air pur, au Centre des sciences de l’Ontario, à Toronto, au cours de la Semaine de la science et de la technologie, en octobre 2009.

l’école secondaire InnisdaleEnvironnement Canada fait la promotion de la cote air santé (CAS) auprès des élèves des écoles primaires et secondaires en déclenchant des discussions sur l’importance de protéger l’atmosphère et en aidant les élèves à comprendre les sources de pollution et leurs effets sur la santé humaine et de l’ environnement.

Des visiteurs au Centre des sciences de l’Ontario

Des élèves de 11e année, de l’école secondaire Innisdale à Barrie, attendent que leurs condisciples répondent à la question sur la façon dont nous pouvons contribuer à purifier l’air que nous respirons. (ci-dessus).  Jenny et Vinson (à droite).

© Environnement Canada, 2009.

 Jour de la terre à Todmorden Mills

Jour de la terre à Todmorden Mills

Le 19 avril dernier, Jour de la terre, Environnement Canada a fait la promotion de la Cote air santé (CAS) auprès des visiteurs du musée et centre des arts Todmorden Mills Heritage, un site historique et panoramique à Don Valley à Toronto.

© Environment Canada, 2009.

« Découvrez l’air! »

« Découvrez l’air! »Ci-dessous, on voit, par une journée ensoleillée, une affiche sur la Cote air santé (CAS) apposée dans un abribus sur la rue Summit à Kamloop, en Colombie-Britannique. Cette affiche est l’une des nombreuses qui ont été posées dans les arrêts de transport en commun dans les basses-terres continentales et partout en Colombie-Britannique.Cette affiche d’abribus fait partie de la campagne de sensibilisation et de publicité mise en place par le Gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique en partenariat avec Santé Canada, Environnement Canada, l’Association pulmonaire de la Colombie-Britannique, Metro Vancouver et le District régional de Fraser Valley.

© Communications Solutions Inc, 2008.

« Healthy Living Expo » à Kamloops

L’université de Thompson Rivers et gestionnaire de la campagne de communication de la CAS en Colombie-Britannique à  ‘’Healthy Living Expo’’ à  KamloopsAfin de promouvoir ses programmes de santé et de thérapeutique pulmonaire, l’université de Thompson Rivers, a conjointement présenté la CAS le 21 septembre 2008 lors de la première tenue annuelle de « Healthy Living Expo » à Kamloops. Sur la photo, on aperçoit Fernanda et Danny,  étudiants de l’université de Thompson Rivers, avec Jennifer Muir, à droite, gestionnaire de la campagne de communication de la CAS en Colombie-Britannique.

L’université de Thompson Rivers à ‘’Healthy Living Expo’’ à Kamloops

Des étudiants en deuxième année (Fernanda et Eleanor) du programme de thérapeutique pulmonaire de l’université de Thompson River discutent de la CAS avec des visiteurs de « Healthy Living Expo » à Kamloops le 21 septembre 2008.

© Communications Solutions Inc, 2008.

 Casa Dona Juana at senior residence

Casa Dona Juana

La Casa Doña Juana, met la CAS de l'avant auprès des hispanophones de Toronto par des émissions de radio sur << Voces Latinas >>, des ateliers dans les maisons de retraite et par des présentations lors d'activités culturelles.

À gauche, un atelier << Live and Dream >> de la Casa Doña Juana dans une maison de retraite de Toronto.

Sensibilisation à la CAS par la Casa Doña Juana à l'occasion d' << Inti Raymi >>, (fête du soleil) au parc Christie Pit (photo de droite).

© Casa Dona Juana, 2008; photos de Rocio Arguelles et Carmen Miloslavich

 Casa Dona Juana at Inti Raymi

Le groupe << Toronto Chinese for Ecological Living >>

Toronto Chinese for Ecological Living at outreach eventPacific Mall, Markham (le 12 avril 2008). Le groupe TCEL (Toronto Chinese for Ecological Living) effectue un sondage en chinois pour déterminer le niveau des connaissances en matière de qualité de l'air et des différents indices qui s'y rattachent (photo de droite).


La CAS pour aujourd'hui : L'Amoreaux Park, Toronto (le 10 mai 2008). Des membres de la communauté chinoise nous montrent la CAS à l'occasion d'une plantation d'arbres organisée par la ville de Toronto et Evergreen. Le TCEL a facilité la présence de la communauté chinoise à cet événement. Ce jour-là, les participants ont non seulement pris connaissance de la cote air santé mais ils ont aussi planté près de 300 arbres afin d'améliorer la qualité de l'air à l'échelle locale (photo ci-dessous).

© TCEL, 2008; photos de William To.

Toronto Chinese for Ecological Living at Treeplanting event

 Participants à la montée d’escalier pour la qualité de l’air à Vancouver.

On monte un escalier pour promouvoir l'air pur!

Le 17 février 2008, des participantes montrent fièrement leurs sacs CAS, lors de la septième reprise annuelle de ''Climb the Wall'', où l'on grimpe un escalier pour promouvoir l'air pur. Par cette activité, l'Association pulmonaire de la Colombie-Britannique a collecté plus de $100 000 pour ses programmes, sa recherche et mettre en vedette la santé pulmonaire ainsi que des initiatives relatives à la qualité de l'air, telles que la CAS.

© BC Lung Association, 2008.