PCB Labelling

Objectives of the PCB Regulations

The PCB Regulations SOR/2008-273 came into force on September 5, 2008. The most recent amendments to the regulations came into force on January 1, 2015. The purpose of the regulations is to protect the health of Canadians and the environment by preventing the release of polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs) to the environment, and by accelerating the phasing out of these substances.

Labelling (Sections 29-32)

Labelling - General Information

Labels are required for PCBs and products containing PCBs. Labels can be affixed in a readily visible location by the owner of the PCBs no later than 30 days after the PCBs cease to be used.

Label Specifications

Labels attached to PCB equipment and containers must measure at least 150 mm by 150 mm and must state: "ATTENTION Contains 50 mg/kg or more of PCBs / contient 50 mg/kg ou plus de BPC" in black lettering on a white background, in a font of 36 points or greater (Figure 1). For smaller equipment that cannot be fitted with labels of 150 mm and for capacitors, labelling dimensions may be reduced to a minimum dimension of 76 mm by 76 mm. Equipment that cannot be fitted with either of the above labels must be stored in a labelled container.

Figure 1: Labelling and notice requirements for equipment and containers for which no extension has been granted.

Labelling and notice requirements for equipment and containers for which no extension has been granted.

Storage Sites - Labelling and Notice Requirements

A location is considered a storage site when a solid or liquid product containing PCBs in a concentration of 50 mg/kg or more is stored in an amount of:

  • 100 L or more for liquids
  • 100 kg or more for solids
  • a lesser amount if the product contains 1 kg or more of PCBs

Each piece of equipment and products containing PCBs in a concentration of 50 mg/kg or more located at a storage site (excluding transfer sites and destruction facilities) must bear a label that also includes: "Date of Commencement of Storage / Date de début de stockage" (Figure 2). This also applies to equipment or containers that possess a label indicating the presence of PCBs on September 5, 2008. Furthermore, a label (Figure 2) must be affixed to equipment or containers that will be stored on site for longer than 30 days after the equipment is withdrawn from use.

Figure 2: Labelling and notice requirements for equipment and containers in storage.

Labelling and notice requirements for equipment and containers in storage

Transfer Sites and Destruction Facilities - Labelling and Notice Requirements

(Figure 1) illustrates the label specifications required on any equipment or container that is in a fixed position (e.g., bulk tank) at a transfer or destruction facility for storage of PCBs in a concentration of 50 mg/kg or more. A label (Figure 1) must also be placed in a readily visible location near the entrance of the site.

Exceptions to Labelling Requirements

  1. An additional label (Figure 2) is not required on equipment or containers already bearing a label indicating the presence of PCBs on September 5, 2008.
  2. Equipment containing PCBs that has been granted an extension under section 17 of the regulations must be labelled while in use, and must have a unique identification number as indicated in the end-of-use extension from Environment and Climate Change Canada (Figure 3).

    Figure 3: Labelling and notice requirements for equipment and containers for which an extension has been granted.

    Labelling and notice requirements for equipment and containers for which an extension has been granted.

  3. Labels are required, when equipment is in use, on accessible parts of cables, pipelines or associated equipment; or a notice must be placed, in a readily visible location at the entrance of a room, tunnel or facility in which the cables, pipelines or associated equipment are located, and must measure at least 150 mm by 150 mm (Figure 1). If part of a cable, pipeline or associated equipment is dismantled, a label must be affixed on each dismantled part.
  4. If equipment is too small to bear a label (e.g., lamp ballasts), the container in which PCBs are stored must bear a label as described above (Figure 1).

 

Retention of Labels

The person who is required to affix a label must ensure that the product or container bears an appropriate label for the duration of the time that the person possesses the product or container.

Contraventions Regulations

Tickets can be issued by Environment and Climate Change Canada enforcement officers for various sections of the PCB Regulations. In addition to warnings, directions and environmental protection compliance orders, tickets are one of several enforcement responses that officers can take.

Ticketable offences are those with minimal or no threat to the environment or human life or health, such as failure to report on time, and will involve a maximum fine of $500. A new ticket can be issued, each day, until the compliance requirements are met. To consult the list of ticketable violations and corresponding fines for the PCB Regulations, please refer to Part XVIII of Schedule I.3 of the Contraventions Regulations. For general information on enforcement responses, please refer to the Compliance and Enforcement Policy for CEPA 1999.

For more information

PCB Website
ePCB Website

Contacts
RegionemailTelephone
National Capital Regionec.bpc-pcb.ec@canada.ca1-844-815-6418
Atlanticec.bpcatlpcb.ec@canada.ca1-800-668-6767
Quebecec.bpcqc-pcbqc.ec@canada.ca514-283-5350
Ontarioec.onpromotiondelaconformite-oncompliancepromotion.ec@canada.ca1-800-668-6767
Prairies and NorthernPNRCompliancePromotion@ec.gc.ca204-983-1906
Pacific and Yukonec.bpcrpy-pcbpyr.ec@canada.ca604-666-9100

The guidance contained in this document should be used for informational purposes only and should not be interpreted as legal guidance, since it does not reflect all the requirements of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 or the PCB Regulations. Thus should there be any discrepancy between this document and the Act or the regulations, the Act and the regulations will prevail. For the purpose of interpreting and applying the regulations,users must consult the regulations on Justice Canada’s website.

Date modified:

Étiquetage des BPC

Objectifs du Règlement sur les BPC

Le Règlement sur les BPC (DORS/2008-273, le Règlement) est entré en vigueur le 5 septembre 2008. La plus récente modification réglementaire est entrée en vigueur le 1er janvier 2015. Ce Règlement vise à améliorer la santé des Canadiens et à protéger l'environnement du Canada, en minimisant le risque de rejet des biphényles polychlorés (BPC) dans l'environnement tout en accélérant l'élimination progressive de ces substances.

Étiquetage (articles 29 - 32)

Étiquetage - Renseignements généraux

Les BPC et les produits contenant des BPC doivent porter une étiquette. Ces étiquettes doivent être apposées par le propriétaire des BPC à un endroit bien en vue au plus tard 30 jours après que les BPC ont cessé d'être utilisés.

Caractéristiques techniques des étiquettes

Les étiquettes apposées sur les contenants et les pièces d'équipement contenant des BPC doivent être d'une dimension minimale de 150 mm sur 150 mm et porter la mention « ATTENTION -- contains 50 mg/kg or more of PCBs / contient 50 mg/kg ou plus de BPC », inscrite en caractères d'au moins 36 points, en noir sur fond blanc (figure 1). Cependant, pour les pièces d'équipement trop petites pour apposer des étiquettes de 150 mm et pour les condensateurs, la dimension d'étiquetage peut être réduite jusqu'à la dimension minimale de 76 mm sur 76 mm. Les pièces d'équipement sur lesquelles on ne peut apposer aucune étiquette doivent être stockées dans un contenant étiqueté.

Figure 1 : Exigences en matière d’étiquetage et d’affichage pour les pièces d’équipement et les contenants pour lesquels aucune prolongation n’a été accordée.

Labelling and notice requirements for equipment and containers for which no extension has been granted.

Dépôts de BPC - Exigences en matière d'étiquetage et d'affichage

Un emplacement est considéré comme étant un dépôt de BPC lorsqu'un produit solide ou liquide contenant des BPC en une concentration égale ou supérieure à 50 mg/kg y est stocké :

  • en quantité égale ou supérieure à 100 L dans le cas d'un produit liquide
  • en quantité égale ou supérieure à 100 kg dans le cas d'un produit solide
  • en quantité moindre si ces produits renferment 1 kg ou plus de BPC

Les pièces d'équipement et les produits contenant 50 mg/kg ou plus de BPC qui sont stockés dans un dépôt de BPC (à l'exception des centres de transfert et de destruction) doivent porter une étiquette qui comporte en plus la mention : « Date of Commencement of Storage / Date de début de stockage» (figure 2). Cette exigence s'applique également aux pièces d'équipement et aux contenants qui portaient, en date du 5 septembre 2008, une étiquette indiquant la présence de BPC. De plus, une étiquette (figure 2) doit être apposée sur les pièces d'équipement ou les contenants qui seront stockés sur place pendant plus de 30 jours après la mise hors service de l'équipement.

Figure 2 : Exigences en matière d’étiquetage et d’affichage pour les pièces d’équipement et les contenants stockés.

Labelling and notice requirements for equipment and containers in storage

Centres de transfert et de destruction - Exigences en matière d'étiquetage et d'affichage

La figure 1 illustre les caractéristiques techniques des étiquettes devant être apposées sur les pièces d'équipement ou les contenants placés dans une position fixe (p. ex. réservoir de stockage en vrac) dans un centre de transfert ou de destruction où sont stockés des BPC en concentration égale ou supérieure à 50 mg/kg. Une étiquette (figure 1) doit également être placée à un endroit bien en vue près de l'entrée du centre.

Exceptions aux exigences en matière d'étiquetage

  1. Il n'est pas nécessaire d'apposer une étiquette supplémentaire (figure 1) sur les pièces d'équipement et les contenants qui portaient déjà, le 5 septembre 2008, une étiquette indiquant la présence de BPC.
  2. Les pièces d'équipement contenant des BPC qui ont obtenu une prolongation de la date de fin d'utilisation en vertu de l'article 17 du Règlement doivent être étiquetées pendant leur utilisation et doivent présenter le numéro d'identification unique qui apparaît dans la prolongation accordée par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (figure 3).

    Figure 3 : Exigences en matière d’étiquetage et d’affichage pour les pièces d’équipement et les contenants pour lesquels une prolongation a été accordée.

    Labelling and notice requirements for equipment and containers for which an extension has been granted.

  3. Lorsque les pièces d'équipement sont en usage, les étiquettes doivent être apposées sur les parties accessibles des câbles, des pipelines ou de l'équipement connexe ou bien une affiche doit être placée à un endroit bien en vue à l'entrée de la pièce, du tunnel ou de l'installation dans lesquels se trouvent les câbles, les pipelines ou l'équipement connexe, et elle doit être d'une dimension minimale de 150 mm sur 150 mm (figure 3). Si une partie d'un câble, d'un pipeline ou de l'équipement connexe est désassemblée, une étiquette doit être apposée sur cette partie.
  4. Lorsque la pièce d'équipement est trop petite pour porter une étiquette (p. ex. les ballasts de lampes), le contenant dans lequel les BPC sont stockés doit porter l'étiquette décrite précédemment (figure 1).

Conservation des étiquettes

La personne qui a l'obligation d'apposer une étiquette doit veiller à ce que le produit ou le contenant porte l'étiquette appropriée en tout temps pendant que le produit ou le contenant est en sa possession.

Règlement sur les contraventions

Des contraventions peuvent être émises par les agents de l'autorité d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada pour divers articles du Règlement sur les BPC. En plus des avertissements, des directives et des ordres d'exécution en matière de protection de l'environnement, les contraventions constituent l'une des mesures dont les agents disposent pour faire appliquer la loi.

Les infractions passibles d'une contravention sont celles présentant une menace minime ou nulle pour l'environnement, la vie ou la santé humaine - comme l'omission de présenter un rapport à temps. Elles entraînent une amende maximale de 500 dollars. Une nouvelle contravention peut être donné, chaque jour, jusqu'au respect des exigences. Pour consulter la liste des infractions passibles d'une contravention et des amendes correspondantes pour le Règlement sur les BPC, veuillez consulter la Partie XVIII de l'annexe I.3 du Règlement sur les contraventions. Pour obtenir des renseignements généraux sur les mesures d'application de la loi, veuillez consulter la Politique d'observation et d'application de la LCPE (1999).

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Site web des BPC
Site web du eBPC

Personnes-ressources
RégionCourrielTéléphone
Région de la capitale nationaleec.bpc-pcb.ec@canada.ca1-844-815-6418
Atlantiqueec.bpcatlpcb.ec@canada.ca1-800-668-6767
Québecec.bpcqc-pcbqc.ec@canada.ca514-283-5350
Ontarioec.onpromotiondelaconformite-oncompliancepromotion.ec@canada.ca1-800-668-6767
Prairies et NordPNRCompliancePromotion@ec.gc.ca204-983-1906
Pacifique et Yukonec.bpcrpy-pcbpyr.ec@canada.ca604-666-9100

Les conseils contenus dans ce document ne doivent servir qu’à titre d’information et ne doivent pas être considérés comme des conseils juridiques, puisqu’ils ne reflètent pas toutes les exigences de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999) ou du Règlement sur les BPC. Par conséquent, en cas de divergence entre ce document et la Loi ou le Règlement, la Loi et le Règlement auront préséance. Aux fins d’interprétation et d’application du Règlement, les utilisateurs doivent consulter le Règlement sur le site web de Justice Canada.

Date de modification :