Import and Export of PCBs

Four regulations, described below, control the import and export of polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs). This fact sheet outlines the requirements for importing and exporting PCBs.

PCB Regulations

The purpose of the regulations is to protect the health of Canadians and the environment by preventing the release of PCBs to the environment and by accelerating the phasing out of these substances. Among other requirements, the PCB Regulations prohibit the export and import of PCBs in concentrations of 2 mg/kg or more unless it is a permitted activity under these regulations or if the export or import is controlled by the PCB Waste Export Regulations or the Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations.

PCB Waste Export Regulations, 1996

These regulations establish controls on the export of PCB waste in concentrations of 50 mg/kg or more. Export is permitted only for thermal or chemical destruction in authorized facilities located in the United States. The export of PCBs to countries other than the United States is prohibited. However, since 1997 the United States has prohibited the import of waste containing PCBs in concentrations of 2 mg/kg or more, unless specific conditions are met.

Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations (EIHWHRMR)

The purpose of these regulations is to control hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material that are transported across international borders so that they are managed in a way that protects the environment and human health. The export, import or transport through Canada of such waste or recyclable material may require a permit. The EIHWHRMR allow for the import, export and transit of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material with a PCB concentration of 50 mg/kg or more, if a permit is obtained and if other requirements are met.

Export of Substances on the Export Control List Regulations (ESECLR)

The ESECLR govern the export of substances included in Schedule 3 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999(CEPA 1999), which is also known as the Export Control List. One of the aims of these regulations is to ensure that Canada meets its international obligations regarding exports, established under international treaties such as the Stockholm Convention on Persistent Organic Pollutants and the Rotterdam Convention on the Prior Informed Consent Procedure for Certain Hazardous Chemicals and Pesticides in International Trade. PCBs are included in Schedule 3 of CEPA 1999, and their export is controlled by the ESECLR regardless of concentration.

Export and Import of PCBs

The flow chart below summarizes whether the import or export is regulated or prohibited and which regulations apply.

Flowchart summarizing regulated or prohibited imports and exports

Is import or export regulated or prohibited and which regulations apply?

Do you want to export or import PCBs?
Export:
What is the concentration of PCBs?
Less than 2 mg/kg: Subject to the Export of Substances on the Export Control List Regulations.
2 mg/kg or more and less than 50 mg/kg: Prohibited by the PCB Regulations. Export of PCBs may be permitted under the PCB Regulations for activities such as laboratory analysis; communication, navigation, electronic control equipment and cables contained in aircrafts, ships, trains and other vehicles; and colouring pigments; however, these activities may still be regulated by the Export of Substances on the Export Control List RegulationsFootnote 1 .
50 mg/kg or more: Is the export for the purpose of destruction?
If yes, is the United States the importer? The United States currently prohibits the import of wastes containing PCB concentrations of 2 mg/kg or more, unless specific conditions are met. If the United States is not the importer, then prohibited by the PCB Waste Export Regulations.
If no, prohibited by the PCB Waste Export RegulationsFootnote 2
Import: What is the concentration of PCBs?
Less than 2 mg/kg: Not subject to the PCB Regulations, the Export of Substances on the Export Control List Regulations, the Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations and the PCB Waste Export Regulations
2 mg/kg or more and less than 50 mg/kg: Prohibited by the PCB Regulations. Import of PCBs may be permitted under the PCB Regulations for activities such as laboratory analysis; communication, navigation, electronic control equipment and cables contained in aircrafts, ships, trains and other vehicles; colouring pigments; and fusion sealed capacitors for use in relation to communication tactical equipment or electronic control tactical equipment.Footnote 3
50 mg/kg or more: Is the import for the purpose of recycling or destruction?
If yes, subject to the Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations.
If no, prohibited by the PCB RegulationsFootnote4.

Unless the PCB Waste Export Regulations 1996, the EIHWHRMR, or an exemption applies, the PCB Regulations prohibit the export and import of PCBs in concentrations of 2 mg/kg or more. The EIHWHRMR allow the import of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material with a PCB level of 50 mg/kg or more if a permit is obtained and if other requirements are met. The PCB Waste Export Regulations 1996 prohibit the export of waste containing PCBs in concentrations of 50 mg/kg or more to any country, except to the United States, but only for the purpose of destruction. However, since 1997, the United States has prohibited the import of waste containing PCBs in concentrations of 2 mg/kg or more, unless specific conditions are met. PCBs in concentrations of less than 2 mg/kg can be exported to the United States and other countries, depending on the legislation in the country of final destination. PCBs are included in Schedule 3 of CEPA 1999 and their export is controlled by the ESECLR regardless of concentration.

For More Information

PCB Regulations

Regulations
Website
Tel.: 844-815-6418 (toll-free)
Email: ec.bpc-pcb.ec@canada.ca

PCB Waste Export Regulations

Regulations
Website
Tel.: 844-524-5295 (toll-free)
Email: ec.mt-tm.ec@canada.ca

Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations (EIHWHRMR)

Regulations
Website
Tel.: 844-524-5289 (toll-free)
Email: ec.mt-tm.ec@canada.ca

Export of Substances on the Export Control List Regulations (ESECLR)

Regulations
Website
Tel.: 819-938-4228
Email: ec.substancedexportationcontrolee-exportcontrolledsubstance.ec@canada.ca

Other Information on PCB Regulations

PCB Website
ePCB Website

Contacts
RegionemailPhone number
National Capital Regionec.bpc-pcb.ec@canada.ca1-844-815-6418
Atlanticec.bpcatlpcb.ec@canada.ca1-800-668-6767
Quebecec.bpcqc-pcbqc.ec@canada.ca514-283-5350
Ontarioec.onpromotiondelaconformite-oncompliancepromotion.ec@canada.ca1-800-668-6767
Prairies and NorthernPNRCompliancePromotion@ec.gc.ca204-983-1906
Pacific and Yukonec.bpcrpy-pcbpyr.ec@canada.ca604-666-9100

The guidance contained in this document should be used for informational purposes only and should not be interpreted as legal guidance, since it does not reflect all the requirements of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 or the PCB Regulations. Thus, should there be any discrepancy between this document and the Act or the regulations, the Act and the regulations will prevail.

For the purpose of interpreting and applying the regulations, users must consult the regulations on Justice Canada's website.

Photos: © Environment and Climate Change Canada

Date modified:

Importation et exportation de BPC

Quatre règlements, résumés ci-dessous, contrôlent l'importation et l'exportation des biphényles polychlorés (BPC). Le présent feuillet d'information donne un aperçu des exigences relatives à l'importation et à l'exportation des BPC.

Règlement sur les BPC

Le Règlement vise à améliorer la santé des Canadiens et à protéger l'environnement du Canada, en minimisant le risque de rejet des BPC dans l'environnement tout en accélérant l'élimination progressive de ces substances. Entre autres exigences, le Règlement sur les BPC interdit l'exportation et l'importation de BPC d'une concentration égale ou supérieure à 2 mg/kg, à moins qu'il ne s'agisse d'une activité autorisée en vertu de ce Règlement ou que l'exportation ou l'importation ne soit contrôlée par le Règlement sur l'exportation de déchets contenant des biphényles polychlorés ou le Règlement sur l'exportation et l'importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses.

Règlement sur l’exportation de déchets contenant des BPC (1996)

Le Règlement établit des contrôles sur l'exportation de déchets contenant des BPC en une concentration égale ou supérieure à 50 mg/kg. L'exportation est autorisée uniquement pour la destruction thermique ou chimique dans des installations autorisées situées aux États-Unis. Il est interdit d'exporter des BPC vers des pays autres que les États Unis. Toutefois, depuis 1997, les États-Unis ont interdit l'importation de déchets contenant des BPC en une concentration égale ou supérieure à 2 mg/kg, à moins que des conditions particulières ne soient satisfaites.

Règlement sur l'exportation et l'importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses(REIDDMRD)

Le Règlement vise à contrôler les déchets dangereux et les matières recyclables dangereuses qui traversent les frontières internationales afin de pouvoir les gérer de manière à protéger l'environnement et la santé humaine. L'exportation, l'importation ou le transport au Canada de ces déchets ou de ces matières recyclables peut nécessiter un permis. Le REIDDMRD permet l'importation, l'exportation et le transit de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses dont la concentration en BPC est égale ou supérieure à 50 mg/kg, si un permis est obtenu et si d'autres exigences sont satisfaites.

Règlement sur l’exportation des substances figurant à la Liste des substances d’exportation contrôlée(ESLSEC)

Le RESLSEC régit l'exportation de substances figurant à l'annexe 3 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)], également appelée Liste des substances d'exportation contrôlée. Un des buts de ce Règlement est de s'assurer que le Canada respecte ses obligations internationales en matière d'exportation, établies en vertu de traités internationaux comme la Convention de Stockholm sur les polluants organiques persistants et la Convention de Rotterdam sur la procédure de consentement préalable en connaissance de cause applicable à certains produits chimiques et pesticides dangereux. Les BPC sont inscrits à l'annexe 3 de la LCPE (1999), et leur exportation est contrôlée par le RESLSEC, peu importe leur concentration.

L’exportation et l’importation de BPC

L’organigramme suivant résume si l’importation ou l’exportation est réglementée ou interdite ainsi que le règlement qui s’applique.

L’organigramme résume si l’importation ou l’exportation est réglementée ou interdite

L’importation ou l’exportation est-il réglementée ou interdite ainsi que le règlement qui s’applique?

Voulez-vous exporter ou importer des BPC?
Exporter : Quelle est la concentration en BPC?
Moins de 2 mg/kg. Assujetti au Règlement sur l’exportation des substances figurant à la Liste des substances d’exportation contrôlée.
Égale ou supérieure à 2 mg/kg et inférieure à 50 mg/kg. Interdit par le Règlement sur les BPC. L’exportation de BPC peut être permise en vertu du Règlement sur les BPC pour des activités telles que les analyses de laboratoire; l’équipement de communication ou de navigation ou de commande électronique ou les câbles contenus dans les aéronefs, les navires et les trains et autres véhicules; et les pigments pour la coloration; toutefois, ces activités peuvent quand même être réglementées par le Règlement sur l’exportation des substances figurant à la Liste des substances d’exportation contrôléeNote de bas de page1.
Égale ou supérieure à 50 mg/kg. L’exportation vise-t-elle le recyclage ou la destruction? Si oui, les États-Unis sont-ils les importateurs? Si oui, assujetti au Règlement sur l’exportation des substances figurant à la Liste des substances d’exportation contrôlée, au Règlement sur l'exportation et l'importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses et au Règlement sur l’exportation de déchets contenant des BPC. Si les États-Unis ne sont pas les importateurs, Interdit par le Règlement sur l’exportation de déchets contenant des BPCNote de bas de page2.
Importer : Quelle est la concentration en BPC? Moins de 2 mg/kg. Non assujetti au Règlement sur les BPC, au Règlement sur l’exportation des substances figurant à la Liste des substances d’exportation contrôlée, au Règlement sur l'exportation et l'importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses et au Règlement sur l’exportation de déchets contenant des BPC (1996).
Égale ou supérieure à 2 mg/kg et inférieure à 50 mg/kg. Interdit par le Règlement sur les BPC. L’exportation de BPC peut être permise en vertu du Règlement sur les BPC pour des activités telles que les analyses de laboratoire; l’équipement de communication ou de navigation ou de commande électronique ou les câbles contenus dans les aéronefs, les navires et les trains et autres véhicules; et les pigments pour la coloration; toutefois, ces activités peuvent quand même être réglementées par le Règlement sur l’exportation des substances figurant à la Liste des substances d’exportation contrôléeNote de bas de page3.
Égale ou supérieure à 50 mg/kg. L’exportation vise-t-elle le recyclage ou la destruction? Si oui, les États-Unis sont-ils les importateurs? Si oui, assujetti au Règlement sur l'exportation et l'importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses.
Si non, Interdit par le Règlement sur le BPCNote de bas de page4.

À moins que le Règlement sur l'exportation des déchets contenant des BPC (1996), le REIDDMRD ou une exemption ne s'applique, le Règlement sur les BPC interdit l'exportation et l'importation des BPC à une concentration égale ou supérieure à 2 mg/kg. Le REIDDMRD permet l'importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses contenant des BPC à une concentration supérieure à 50 mg/kg si un permis est obtenu et si d'autres exigences sont satisfaites. Le Règlement sur l'exportation des déchets contenant des BPC (1996) interdit l'exportation de déchets contenant des BPC à une concentration égale ou supérieure à 50 mg/kg de n'importe quel pays, sauf des États Unis, mais uniquement à des fins de destruction. Toutefois, les États-Unis interdisent, depuis 1997, l'importation de déchets contenant des BPC à une concentration égale ou supérieure à 2 mg/kg, à moins de satisfaire à certaines conditions spécifiques. Il est possible d'exporter des BPC à une concentration égale ou supérieure à 2 mg/kg aux États-Unis et dans d'autres pays, selon la législation en vigueur dans le pays destinataire final. Les BPC sont inscrits à l'annexe 3 de la LCPE (1999), et leur exportation est contrôlée par le RESLSEC, peu importe la concentration.

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Règlement sur les BPC

Règlement
Site Web
Courriel : ec.bpc-pcb.ec@canada.ca
Tél. : 844-815-6418 (sans frais)

Règlement sur l’exportation des déchets contenant des BPC

Règlement
Site Web
Courriel : ec.mt-tm.ec@canada.ca
Tél. : 844-524-5295 (sans frais)

Règlement sur l'exportation et l'importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses(REIDDMRD)

Règlement
Site Web
Courriel : ec.mt-tm.ec@canada.ca
Tél. : 844-524-5289 (sans frais)

Règlement sur l’exportation des substances figurant à la Liste des substances d’exportation contrôlée(ESLSEC)

Règlement
Site Web 
Courriel : ec.substancedexportationcontrolee-exportcontrolledsubstance.ec@canada.ca
Tél. : 819-938-4228

Autres renseignements sur le Règlement sur les BPC

Site web sur les BPC
Site web du eBPC 

Personnes-ressources
RégionCourrielTéléphone
Région de la capitale nationaleec.bpc-pcb.ec@canada.ca1-844-815-6418
Atlantiqueec.bpcatlpcb.ec@canada.ca1-800-668-6767
Québecec.bpcqc-pcbqc.ec@canada.ca514-283-5350
Ontarioec.onpromotiondelaconformite-oncompliancepromotion.ec@canada.ca1-800-668-6767
Prairies et NordPNRCompliancePromotion@ec.gc.ca204-983-1906
Pacifique et Yukonec.bpcrpy-pcbpyr.ec@canada.ca604-666-9100

Les conseils contenus dans ce document ne doivent servir qu'à titre d'information et ne doivent pas être considérés comme des conseils juridiques, puisqu'ils ne reflètent pas toutes les exigences de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) ou du Règlement sur les BPC. Par conséquent, en cas de divergence entre ce document et la Loi ou le Règlement, la Loi et le Règlement auront préséance. Aux fins d'interprétation et d'application du Règlement, les utilisateurs doivent consulter le Règlement sur le site Web de Justice Canada.

Photos : © Environnement et Changement climatique Canada

Date de modification :