+ 1°C : What difference does it make?

Common questions about the climate change

© Environment Canada, 2011

What will happen if temperatures rise by 1°C? How can we anticipate what temperatures will be a hundred years from now? It’s cold today, so why are we talking about global warming? Scientists answer these questions through life-sized video presentations and demystify concepts that are often complex but essential for a clearer understanding of the phenomenon.

This exhibition takes a scientific approach to answering several common questions about one of the 21st century’s key issues: climate change.

Magic planet, the interactive digital earth globe in QuebecLife-sized videos

© Environment Canada, 2011

The “Magic Planet”, measuring 1.2 m in height and the only such interactive digital Earth globe in Quebec, is the centrepiece of one of the exhibition’s five stations. Through satellite imagery, this globe allows visitors to observe natural, meteorological and climatic phenomena such as ocean currents and hurricanes. This impressive sphere will also enable you to learn more through a selection of available multimedia presentations.

Visitors will also be exposed to the testimony of scientists and experts who were amongst the first to intervene during the June 2013 floods in southern Alberta. Both the causes and the consequences of this natural disaster are explored in this documentary, in order to help prepare people to deal with and adapt to extreme weather events. The final segment of the exhibition introduces visitors to several citizens across Canada who have found creative ways to tackle climate change.

Come and see what a difference 1°C makes!

Date modified:

+ 1°C : Qu’est-ce que ça change?

Questions fréquentes sur les changements climatiques

© Environnement Canada, 2011

Cette nouvelle exposition à saveur scientifique propose quelques réponses aux questions populaires liées à l’un des grands enjeux planétaire du 21e siècle : les changements climatiques.

Quel est l’impact d’une augmentation de température 1 °C? Comment prévoit-on la température qu’il fera dans 100 ans? Il fait froid aujourd’hui, pourquoi parle-t-on de réchauffement planétaire? Des scientifiques répondent à ces questions par l’entremise de capsules vidéo grandeur nature et démystifient les notions souvent complexes mais nécessaires à une meilleure compréhension du phénomène.

« Magic Planet », ce globe terrestre numérique et interactif unique au QuébecVidéos grandeur nature

© Environnement Canada, 2011

Unique au Québec, le « Magic Planet », globe terrestre numérique et interactif de 1,2 mètre de haut, compte parmi les attraits de l’exposition, laquelle est constituée de cinq stations. Grâce à des images satellites, ce globe permet d’observer des phénomènes naturels, météorologiques et climatiques, tels que les courants marins et les ouragans. Cette impressionnante sphère vous permettra également d’en apprendre davantage grâce à des présentations multimédias que vous pourrez sélectionner à votre guise.

Les visiteurs seront également touchés par les témoignages de scientifiques et d’experts qui étaient en première ligne d’intervention lors des inondations survenues dans le sud de l’Alberta en juin 2013. Tant les causes que les conséquences de cette catastrophe naturelle sont abordées dans ce documentaire, afin de pouvoir s’adapter aux phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes. Puis, la dernière partie de l'exposition présente le portrait de citoyens canadiens ayant trouvé des moyens créatifs pour lutter contre les changements climatiques.

Venez donc voir ce que + 1°C change!

Haut de la page

Date de modification :