Echo 67

New

Echo 67

© Keith Clark, Hamilton, Canada, 1967

To mark the centennial of Canada’s Confederation, Montreal hosted a big celebration and invited the whole world. In six months, 50 million people passed through the turnstiles of the Universal Exposition, located on St. Helen’s Island and Notre-Dame Island.

Everything was good in ’67! Various means of transportation such as the Metro, a train called Expo Express, a monorail system, a tour boat, pedicabs and even a hovercraft shuttled visitors from site to site and reduced the event’s ecological footprint. Eight hundred unique and futuristic-looking buildings also appeared in the Montreal cityscape. Each pavilion displayed its country’s technological advances, culture and food. Some topics created a buzz, such as the space race, communications of the future, other countries’ cultures, and the environment and sustainable development. In six months, Montreal opened up to the world and to major global issues.

Fifty years later, Echo 67 looks back at the environmental and cultural legacy of the international fair. Expo 67 was one of the first events to discuss environmental issues, and the geodesic dome that surrounds the Biosphere is one of the rare Expo 67 pavilions still standing. The dome, designed by Buckminster Fuller, a forefather of sustainable development, has become an enduring symbol of the exposition. 

Pictures, stories, anecdotes and artifacts from the event will make older visitors nostalgic and inspire younger ones.

 

Date modified:

Écho 67

Nouveau - À partir du 27 avril 2017

Écho 67

© Keith Clark, Hamilton, Canada, 1967

Pour marquer le centenaire de la Confédération canadienne, Montréal devient l’hôte d’une grande fête où le monde entier est convié. Cinquante millions de personnes franchissent les tourniquets de l’Exposition universelle, située sur l’île Ste-Hélène et l’île Notre-Dame.

En 67 tout était beau! Des moyens de transport diversifiés tels que le métro, un train appelé « Expo-Express », des monorails, un bateau-mouche, des PediCab et même un aéroglisseur facilitaient les déplacements et diminuaient l’empreinte écologique de l’évènement. De plus, 800 bâtiments uniques aux allures futuristes s’élevaient dans le paysage montréalais. Chaque pavillon illustrait les avancées technologiques, la culture et la gastronomie du pays qu’il représentait. Certains sujets étaient sur toutes les lèvres comme la course à l’espace, les communications du futur, les cultures d’ailleurs ainsi que l’environnement et le développement durable. En six mois, Montréal s’ouvre sur le monde et ses enjeux de taille.

Cinquante ans plus tard, Écho 67 porte un regard sur l’héritage environnemental et culturel de cette fête internationale. Découvrez, entre autres, comment l’Expo 67 a été un précurseur en ce qui concerne les enjeux reliés à l’environnement. D’ailleurs, le dôme géodésique qui entoure la Biosphère est l’un des rares pavillons d’Expo 67 encore présents dans le paysage montréalais. Imaginée par Buckminster Fuller, un des pères du développement durable, cette structure est devenue, au fil des années, le symbole marquant de l’évènement. 

Des images, des témoignages, des anecdotes et des objets de l’époque réveilleront la nostalgie des plus vieux et inspireront les plus jeunes.

Date de modification :