Renewable Energy : Time to Decide

Room's exposition about renewable energies

© Environment Canada, 2014

The “Renewable Energy: Time to Decide” exhibit presents the global energy issues of the 21st century. Come discover the technologies behind today’s renewable energies, as well as how they are implemented at municipal and global levels. Come reflect on the question: Is it possible to have a world working 100% on renewable energy by 2050?

There are many options when it comes to renewable energy technologies. Wind turbines, wave energy, hydroelectric dams, tidal energy, geothermics, photovoltaics, solar thermal energy technologies and plant biomass systems are some of the alternatives presented in the interactive modules designed for the whole family to enjoy. Light up a light bulb and operate a fan by transforming physical effort into energy!

Come see the Möbius strip illustrating a timeline of solar annuities from yesterday to tomorrow and view the video vignettes on strategies for replacing fossil fuels with renewable energy sources.

 

Lookout view

© Environnement Canada, 2015

wind turbineGreen roof

© Vista Photo, 2010

The exhibition room opens onto the lookout, which offers a panoramic view of the Island of Montreal and the St. Lawrence River. From the platform, you can also familiarize yourself with the green technologies used by the Biosphere: green roof systems, wind turbines, wastewater treatment wetlands and a geothermal system.

Date modified:

Énergies renouvelables : L'heure des choix

Visiteur dans la salle de l'exposition des énergies renouvelables

© Environnement Canada, 2014

L’exposition  « Énergies renouvelables : L’heure des choix » présente les enjeux de l’énergie au XXIe siècle, à l’échelle de l’humanité. Venez découvrir les technologies de production d’énergies renouvelables, leurs modalités d’implantation à l’échelle de la ville puis du monde. Venez réfléchir à cette question : un monde 100 % énergies renouvelables pour 2050, est-ce possible?

Les options d’énergies renouvelables sont multiples! Les éoliennes, les houlomotrices, les barrages hydroélectriques, les marémotrices, la géothermie, la photovoltaïque, l’énergie solaire thermique et la biomasse végétale sont les alternatives mises de l’avant dans les modules interactifs qui plairont à toute la famille. Venez alimenter une ampoule électrique et faire fonctionner un ventilateur en transformant votre travail physique en énergie!

Découvrez aussi le ruban de Möbius illustrant une ligne du temps de la rente solaire d’hier à demain. Puis, écoutez les capsules vidéo pour comprendre les stratégies de remplacement des carburants fossiles par des énergies renouvelables.

 

Vue du belvédère

© Environnement Canada, 2015

ÉolienneToit vert

© Vista Photo, 2010

De plus, cette salle d’exposition donne accès au belvédère offrant une vue panoramique sur l’île de Montréal et le fleuve Saint-Laurent. À partir de cette plateforme, vous pourrez également vous familiariser avec les écoénergies qu’utilise la Biosphère, soit les toits verts, les éoliennes, les marais d’épuration des eaux usées et le système géothermique.

Date de modification :