This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

How the Seabirds Can Help Detect Ecosystem Change in the Artic

Common MurreArctic marine resources are of vital importance to all Canadians and especially to northern and indigenous communities whose physical and cultural health and well-being are rooted in their dependence on living marine resources.  Climate change that has been ongoing in the Arctic for several decades is causing and will cause shifts in marine resources that will affect traditional harvesting practices.  These environmental transitions will present extreme challenges but opportunities can arise through proper planning for future adaptation using information on ocean-climate variability and change in marine ecosystems. The primary objective of our International Polar Year project is to use seabirds to detect climate-induced biological changes throughout the eastern Canadian Arctic extending from the Nunavut via the Labrador Current through to Labrador and Newfoundland.  Research centers on key forage species (Arctic cod, capelin, lantern fish, crustacea) and their seabird predators.  Simultaneous research in the Nunavut and in Low Arctic waters off Newfoundland and Labrador is integrated through the Labrador Current that provides a ‘downstream’ link to evaluate influences of Arctic climate on marine life in downstream ecosystems.  In collaboration with Inuit and Newfoundland hunters and fishers, we use seabirds to sample the marine environment over multiple regional and ocean-basin scales.

This project forms part of the larger IPY-endorsed consortium “Ecosystem Studies of Sub-Arctic and Arctic Regions” (ESSAR) which stresses comparisons between High and Low-Arctic sites. 

Our study involves avian predators that cover the full ranges of body sizes (important for energetic considerations), population sizes (important for estimates biomass consumption) and trophic levels(important for sampling diversity).  Observations and collections of nestling diets made at major colonies of Thick-billed and Common murres (fish can be identified as they are delivered), Northern fulmars (regurgitations), Black-legged kittiwakes (regurgitations), Leach’s storm-petrels (regurgitations) and Northern gannets (regurgitations).  Adult Thick-billed murres and Northern fulmars will be collected at sea on their feeding grounds and information on adult diets will be assessed from stomach content analysis.  Tissues from the collected birds and feather samples from other adults and chicks will be analysed for stable isotope ratios of carbon and nitrogen which give further dietary information within and outside of the breeding season. Specimens will also be analysed for parasites.

"A Tale of Two Seabird Colonies" CBC video with EC scientist Tony Gaston.

IPY Seabirds Project website


Project Team
NameAffiliation
W.A. Montevecchi, Principal InvestigatorMemorial University of Newfoundland
A.J. GastonNWRC (Environment Canada)
G.K. DavorenUniversityof Manitoba
H.G. GilchristNWRC (Environment Canada)
M. MalloryCWS (Environment Canada)
K. HobsonEnvironment Canada
J.F. RailCWS (Environment Canada)
A. HeddMemorial University
C. BurkeMemorial University
G. RobertsonEnvironment Canada
S. GartheFTZ, University of Kiel, Germany
D. FifieldEnvironment Canada, part-time graduate student
R.A. PhillipsBritish Antarctic Survey, UK
A. BurenMemorial University
K. WooConsultant
A. BrownMemorial University
P. RegularMemorial University
J. AllenUniversity of Manitoba
K. ElliottUniversity of Manitoba
J. ProvencherUniversity of Victoria
J. AkeearokEnvironment Canada
Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Comment les oiseaux de mer peuvent aider à détecter les variations des écosystèmes de l’Arctique

Guillemot marmetteLes ressources marines de l’Arctique sont d’une importance cruciale pour tous les Canadiens, mais particulièrement pour les membres des collectivités du Nord et autochtones dont la santé physique et culturelle et le bien­être sont axés sur leur dépendance aux ressources marines vivantes. Les changements climatiques qui s’opèrent dans l’Arctique depuis plusieurs décennies provoquent et provoqueront des changements dans les ressources marines qui auront une incidence sur les pratiques des prises traditionnelles. Ces transitions environnementales soulèveront des défis extrêmes, mais elles pourraient également donner lieu à de nouvelles possibilités advenant une planification adéquate pour l’adaptation future à l’aide d’information sur la variabilité climatique de l’océan et sur le changement dans les écosystèmes marins. L’objectif principal de notre projet dans le cadre de l’Année polaire internationale est de se servir des oiseaux de mer pour détecter les changements biologiques provoqués par le climat dans l’est de l’Arctique canadien, allant du Nunavut par le courant du Labrador jusqu’au Labrador et à Terre­Neuve. Les recherches s’articulent autour des principales espèces proies (la morue polaire, le capelan, le poisson lanterne, les crustacés) et les oiseaux de mer qui en sont les prédateurs. Une recherche est menée simultanément au Nunavut et dans les eaux du Bas­Arctique au large de Terre­Neuve et du Labrador afin d’évaluer les influences du climat arctique sur la vie marine dans les écosystèmes en aval, et ce, par l’entremise du courant du Labrador, qui crée un lien « en aval ». En collaboration avec des Inuits et des chasseurs et des pêcheurs de Terre­Neuve, nous utilisons des oiseaux de mer pour échantillonner l’environnement marin à de multiples échelles, tant régionales qu’à celles des bassins océaniques.

Le projet fait partie du consortium général entériné par l’API intitulé « Études des écosystèmes du Bas­Arctique et des régions arctiques » qui met l’accent sur les comparaisons entre les sites du Haut-Arctique et du Bas­Arctique.

Notre étude comporte des prédateurs aviaires qui couvrent la gamme compète des tailles corporelles (important pour les considérations énergétiques), des tailles de populations (important pour les estimations de la consommation de biomasse) et des niveaux trophiques (important pour la diversité de l’échantillonnage). Les observations et les collections des régimes alimentaires des oisillons ont été réalisées dans les grandes colonies de Guillemots de Brünnich et de Guillemots marmettes (les poissons peuvent être identifiés alors qu’ils sont livrés aux oisillons), de Fulmars boréals (régurgitations) de Mouettes tridactyles (régurgitations), d’Océanites cul-blanc (régurgitations) et de Fous de Bassan (régurgitations). Les Guillemots de Brünnich et les Fulmars boréals seront recueillis en mer sur leur territoire d’alimentation et l’information sur les régimes alimentaires des adultes seront évalués à partir de l’analyse du contenu des estomacs. Les tissus des oiseaux collectés et les échantillons de plumes des autres adultes et des oisillons seront analysés pour établir des rapports isotopiques stables du carbone et de l’azote qui fourniront d’autres informations sur le régime alimentaire au cours de la saison de reproduction et à l’extérieur de celle­ci. Les spécimens seront aussi analysés pour déceler les parasites.

Vidéo de la CBC "A Tale of Two Bird Colonies avec le scientifique d’EC Tony Gaston

Site Web de l’IPY Seabirds Project.

 

Équipe du projet
NomAffiliation
W.A. Montevecchi, chercheur principalMemorial University de Terre­Neuve
A.J. GastonCentre national de la recherche faunique (Environnement Canada)
G.K. DavorenUniversité du Manitoba
H.G. GilchristCentre national de la recherche faunique (Environnement Canada)
M. MalloryService canadien de la faune (Environnement Canada)
K. HobsonEnvironnement Canada
J.F. RailService canadien de la faune (Environnement Canada)
A. HeddMemorial University
C. BurkeMemorial University
G. RobertsonEnvironnement Canada
S. GartheFTZ, Université de Kiel, Allemagne
D. FifieldEnvironnement Canada, étudiant de troisième cycle à temps partiel
R.A. PhillipsBritish Antarctic Survey, R.­U.
A. BurenMemorial University
K. WooConsultant
A. BrownMemorial University
P. RegularMemorial University
J. AllenUniversité du Manitoba
K. ElliottUniversité du Manitoba
J. ProvencherUniversité du Victoria
J. AkeearokEnvironnement Canada
Date de modification :