This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Investigations of the Depletion of Ozone and Mercury over the Arctic Ocean (OASIS-CANADA) Brochure

Every year when the sun rises in the Arctic spring, the potent greenhouse gas, ozone and the toxic chemical, mercury disappear from the air near the ground along the coast of the frozen ocean. It is thought that this is caused by a combination of sunlight, snow and ice, and the low temperature over the frozen ocean.  With the OASIS project we hope to learn what truly causes the disappearing act” of these two polluting chemicals, and whether the disappearing mercury ends up in the marine food chain.

OASIS is an international research program that studies how chemicals move between the Ocean, the Atmosphere, the Sea Ice and the Snow pack. OASIS-Canada is the Canadian part of OASIS-international.

OASIS Ocean Atmosphere Sea Ice Snowpack:

BACKGROUND

OASIS Canada location of research sites | Photo: ECAnyone who looks at a map of the world can easily see that the Arctic is located far away from the pollution created by cities, factories and farms. It is therefore often assumed that the Arctic is a pristine environment free from pollutants. In reality we now know that this is not the case. any harmful chemicals that are foreign to the natural environment are found in the Arctic. We need to know from where these chemicals come, how they find their way to the Arctic and if the Arctic environment will tolerate these chemicals. Moreover, the effects of climate change in the Arctic are no longer theoretical, changes are happening today and these changes will also affect how these polluting chemicals travel around the Arctic and where they end up. The goal of the OASIS scientific research program is part of this enterprise. In particular, such questions will be addressed as how chemicals like ozone and mercury in the air behave over the frozen Arctic Ocean, and what the resulting impact on the Arctic will be.

OASIS is an international research program that studies how chemicals move between the Ocean, the Atmosphere, the Sea Ice and the Snow pack. OASIS-CANADA is the Canadian part of OASIS-international.

INTRODUCTION

Every year when the sun comes up in the Arctic spring, the potent greenhouse gas OZONE and the toxic chemical MERCURY disappear from the air near the ground along the coast of the frozen ocean. It is thought that this is caused by a combination of sunlight, snow and ice, and the low temperature over the frozen ocean. With this project we hope to learn what truly causes the "disappearing act" of these two polluting chemicals, and whether the disappearing mercury ends up in the animals living in the marine world. Moreover, we hear yearly that the ice cover over the Arctic Ocean is decreasing, and we don't know what this will mean for this disappearing act. We can not answer that question until we know how it happens.

Until now all studies were taking place at the coast by the Ocean. The project will take these studies over the ocean onto the ice.

Our planned research will take place in the following areas:

  • On the Beaufort Sea on the icebreaker CCGS Amundsen
  • On the Beaufort Sea and Hudson Bay using special ocean buoys left out on the ice to travel by themselves
  • Over most of the Arctic Ocean on a drifting French sailboat named TARA
  • Over the Arctic Ocean at an ice camp near Barrow, Alaska
  • On Hudson Bay, accessed from Kuujjuarapik/Whapmagoostui, Quebec

OBJECTIVES

Our plan is to take samples of air from the research sites during the activities described under (Field Research Studies for OASIS-CANADA) and use the results from these samples to findout what causes ozone and mercury to disappear from the surface air.

WHY IS THIS IMPORTANT TO KNOW?

Once we understand what makes the ozone and mercury disappear we can, with the help from other scientists, answer these broader questions:

  • Does the mercury that disappears from the air end up in the Arctic food chain?
  • There is pollution in the Arctic spring coming from down south. What will happen to this pollution if there is less ozone in the air?
  • What will happen to the ozone and mercury if the ice goes away with global warming? Will this make things better or worse?

FIELD RESEARCH STUDIES FOR OASIS-CANADA

Circumpolar Flaw Lead Study (CFL)

The Canadian Research Icebreaker CCGS Amundsen | Photo: Environment CanadaWe are participating in the CFL study on board the Canadian Amundsen ice breaker so we can collect air samples to measure mercury and ozone right on the Beaufort Sea. There will be many scientists on this ship collecting other types of samples and we will work with them to meet our common objectives.

OOTI (Out On The Ice)

The OOTI (Out On The Ice) sled and instruments to measure chemicals in air, ice and snow on the Arctic Ocean| Photo: Environment CanadaAn Arctic sled has been outfitted with sophisticated hi-tech equipment to measure how fast chemicals move between the air, and the snow and ice. This sled will sit right on the ice and samples will be collected and analyzed on the spot. To make this possible all the instruments on the OOTI sled are battery operated and samples can be taken when nobody is present. To
help us keeping an eye out on what is going on, the instruments are supervised via a Web camera. These pictures, and the analysis results are sent directly by long range radio contact to a building at the coast, or to the icebreaker. The sled will be moved from one spot to the next close to open water and measure for a day or two at a time.

Ozone-buoys or (O-buoys)

Schematic diagram of the O-buoy, an ocean buoy that will  be deployed in the frozen ocean to measure concentrations of ozone, carbon dioxide and other chemicals in the air over periods of up to one year over the ice in Hudson Bay and the Beaufort Sea | Photo: D. Perovich, CRREL, (O-buoy consortium)We will design and construct ocean buoys that house instruments to measure year-long concentrations of ozone, carbon dioxide and other chemicals. These
O-buoys will be released into the ocean at several spots and left to collect air samples as they travel with the sea ice and ocean currents. The data will be retrieved via satellites and the instruments will be powered with solar panels and batteries.


COBRA (Combined iodine and bromine release on the arctic atmosphere)Drilling into sea ice in Hudson Bay near Kuujjuarapik/Whapmagoostui, Quebec for COBRA(combined iodine and bromine release to the atmosphere) | Photo: L., Carpenter, University of York, UK

COBRA is a research project led by British scientists at Kuujjuarapik/Whapmagoostui, Quebec and we will join them on this study. The goal of this project is to understand how chemicals in sea salts (iodine and bromine) from the water in the Hudson Bay affect the disappearance of chemicals like ozone and mercury from the air. Moreover, scientists from Montreal plan to determine what happens with mercury once it has disappeared from the air.

TARA

The French sailboat Tara drifting in the Arctic Ocean since 2006 to sample ozone in the air | Photo: G. Redvers, TARAWe are sampling ozone in the air from the French sailboat TARA, which has been drifting in the frozen Arctic Ocean since September 2006. We will also collaborate with many other OASIS scientists in a study called "OASIS-09" which will take place at Barrow Alaska, and the nearby US Navy Ice camp. Other venues in the planning stage include participation on the cruise of the Swedish Icebreaker Oden (summer 2008), and the North Pole Environmental Observatory (NPEO - spring 2009).

Download this brochure as PDF: (Download free reader)

OASIS International website

BACKGROUNDER - Environment Canada-led Arctic Ocean research expedition to study air pollutants

GATINEAU, February 26, 2009 – Environment Canada is leading an expedition of 10 Canadian scientists onto the frozen Arctic Ocean to learn more about how pollutants move from the air, to the ice and ultimately into the northern ecosystem. 

The research is taking place near Barrow, Alaska, as part of one of the last major expeditions during the International Polar Year (IPY).  The Canadian component of this international expedition, OASIS-Canada (Ocean-Atmosphere-Sea Ice-Snowpack), will focus on mercury, a chemical affecting the health of northern residents. It will also focus on ground-level ozone, which is both a smog pollutant and a greenhouse gas. 

“We’re trying to find out how these chemicals get there, how the Arctic tolerates their intrusion and what possible impacts there will be to the ecosystem should the Arctic Ocean melt,” says Jan Bottenheim, Senior Research Scientist with Environment Canada and lead on the OASIS-Canada project.

In the late 1980s, Environment Canada scientists were the first to discover that unusual chemical reactions take place on the surface of the Arctic ice and snow during the early spring sunrise in the Polar Regions.  These reactions remove all of the ground-level ozone and most of the mercury from the air.  This seems to speed up the movement of mercury and other air pollutants from the air into the snowpack and the ocean, where they can readily enter the ecosystem, and eventually the human population.  The impacts of this process on the Arctic ecosystem are unknown, however recent evidence indicates that climate change is already having a significant effect.

In Alaska, the Canadian scientists will use a small, sophisticated, fully-automated chemical laboratory, developed by Environment Canada researchers, which can operate in the extreme Arctic conditions, where temperatures can plunge below - 40° C.   The “Out On The Ice” lab or OOTI, consists of several sensitive measuring instruments, mounted on a specially-built sled.  The sled will be drawn onto the frozen ocean by snowmobile where it will record detailed information about the movement of air pollutants and other chemicals from the air into the Arctic ice and snow. 

“While the conditions are tough to work under, the environment is breathtaking,” says Sandy Steffen, Environment Canada Research Chemist. “The air is dry and crisp and when the sun is out it reflects brightly on all the ice and snow across the frozen Arctic Ocean,” she added.

The Canadian study, funded by the Canadian IPY Federal Program Office, is part of an international research campaign organized by the OASIS program.  The Canadian effort includes scientists from Environment Canada, York University, the University of Toronto, and McGill University.   The study also includes researchers from American and European universities and from the National Center for Atmospheric Research in Boulder, Colorado. 

NOTE : 

Project lead : Dr. Jan Bottenheim, senior research scientist, Environment Canada

Websites : 

OASIS - CANADA 2009 Video

International Oasis Project

 

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Enquêtes sur l’appauvrissement de l’ozone et sur le mercure au­dessus de l’océan Arctique (OASIS-CANADA)

À chaque année, lorsque se lève le soleil au cours du printemps arctique, les puissants gaz à effet de serre, l’ozone et les substances chimiques toxiques telles que le mercure disparaissent de l’atmosphère près de la terre, le long de la côte de l’océan gelé. On croit que ce phénomène est provoqué par la combinaison de la lumière du soleil, de la neige et de la glace et par la faible température au­dessus de l’océan gelé. Grâce au projet OASIS, nous espérons apprendre ce qui cause réellement la disparition de ces deux produits chimiques polluants et déterminer si le mercure qui disparaît aboutit dans la chaîne alimentaire marine.

OASIS est un programme de recherche international qui étudie comment les substances chimiques se déplacent entre l’océan, l’atmosphère, la glace de mer et le stock nival. OASIS-Canada est le volet canadien de OASIS-international.

OASIS Océan, atmosphère, glace de mer et manteau neigeux :

CONTEXTE

Emplacement des sites de recherche d’OASIS Canada. | Photo : ECQuand on regarde une mappemonde, il est clair que l'Arctique est situé loin de la pollution créée par les villes, les usines et les exploitations agricoles. On pourrait facilement en conclure que c'est un environnement immaculé, exempt de tout polluant. En fait, on sait maintenant que ce n'est pas du tout le cas. En effet, on trouve dans l'Arctique de nombreuses substances chimiques dangereuses étrangères à son environnement naturel. Il nous faut donc savoir d'où elles proviennent, par quelles voies elles sont arrivées dans l'Arctique et si l'environnement pourra les y tolérer. De plus, les effets du changement climatique dans l'Arctique ne relèvent plus de l'hypothèse; ils se produisent d'ores et déjà, et vont influer sur la façon dont les substances chimiques polluantes se déplaceront à l'extérieur de l'Arctique et sur l'endroit où elles aboutiront. C'est dans ce contexte que s'inscrit l'objectif du programme de recherche scientifique OASIS. En articulier, le programme se penchera sur des questions telles que la manière dont des substances comme l'ozone et le mercure présents dans l'air se comportent au-dessus des glaces de l'océan Arctique, et quel en sera l'impact sur l'Arctique.

OASIS est un programme de recherche international qui étudie la manière dont les substances chimiques se déplacent entre l’océan, l’atmosphère, la glace de mer et le manteau neigeux. OASIS-CANADA est le volet canadien d’OASIS-international.

INTRODUCTION

Chaque année, lorsque le Soleil se lève au printemps de l'Arctique, l'OZONE, un puissant gaz à effet de serre, et le MERCURE, une substance chimique toxique, disparaissent de l'air situé près de la surface sur la côte de l'océan gelé. On pense que cet état de choses est dû à la combinaison du rayonnement solaire, de la neige et de la glace avec les basses températures au-dessus de l'océan englacé. Nous espérons, grâce à ce projet, découvrir les véritables causes de la « disparition » de ces deux substances polluantes, et déterminer si le mercure qui disparaît se retrouve dans les animaux marins. De plus, nous entendons dire chaque année que la couverture de glace sur l'océan Arctique rétrécit, et nous ne savons pas quelles en seront les conséquences sur la disparition de ces deux polluants. Il est impossible de répondre à la question tant que nous ne comprenons pas le phénomène.

Jusqu'ici, toutes les études ont été menées sur la côte. Avec le projet OASIS-CANADA, elles seront effectuées sur la glace de l'océan.

Les recherches prévues se dérouleront aux endroits suivants :

  • sur la mer de Beaufort, à bord du brise-glace NGCC Amundsen;
  • sur la mer de Beaufort et dans la baie d'Hudson, à l'aide de bouées océaniques spéciales déposées sur la glace et se déplaçant avec elle;
  • sur la plus grande partie de l'océan Arctique, à bord de Tara, un voilier français à la dérive;
  • sur l'océan Arctique, à un camp de glace situé près de Barrow, en Alaska;
  • dans la baie d'Hudson, à partir de Kuujjuarapik/Whapmagoostuui, au Québec.

OBJECTIFS

Notre plan est de prélever des échantillons d'air aux sites de recherche pendant les activités décrites à la rubrique Activités de recherches de terrain pour OASIS-CANADA et en utiliser les résultats pour trouver les causes de la disparition de l'ozone et du mercure de l'air en surface.

EN QUOI CES CONNAISSANCES SONT-ELLES IMPORTANTES?

Une fois que nous aurons compris ce qui fait disparaître l'ozone et le mercure, nous pourrons, avec l'aide d'autres scientifiques, répondre à quelques questions plus vastes :

  • Est-ce que le mercure qui disparaît de l'air se retrouve ensuite dans la chaîne alimentaire de l'Arctique?
  • Au printemps de l'Arctique, il y a de la pollution qui arrive du sud. Qu'adviendra-t-il de cette pollution s'il y a moins d'ozone dans l'air?
  • Qu'arrivera-t-il à l'ozone et au mercure si le changement climatique fait réduire la quantité de glace? L'effet sera-t-il positif ou négatif?

ACTIVITÉS DE RECHERCHES DE TERRAIN POUROASIS-CANADA

Étude circumpolaire des chenaux de séparation (CFL)

Le brise-glace de recherche canadien NGCC Amundsen. | Photo: ECNous participons à cette étude à bord du brise-glace canadien Amundsen de manière à pouvoir recueillir des échantillons d'air pour y mesurer le mercure et l'ozone présents directement sur la mer de Beaufort. Il y aura à bord de ce navire un grand nombre de scientifiques qui recueilleront d'autres types d'échantillons, et nous collaborerons avec eux pour atteindre nos objectifs communs.

OOTI (Out On The Ice - sur la glace)

Le OOTI (sur la glace) sur glace en traîneau et des instruments météorologiques | Photo: Environnement Canada | Photo : ECOn a installé sur un traîneau arctique de l'équipement de haute technologie pour mesurer à quelle vitesse les substances chimiques circulent entre l'air, d'une part, et la glace et la neige, d'autre part. Le traîneau sera posé directement sur la glace, et les échantillons recueillis et analysés sur place. C'est pourquoi tous les instruments embarqués sur l'OOTI fonctionnent sur batteries et que les échantillons peuvent être prélevés même s'il n'y a personne à proximité. Nous pourrons garder un oeil sur ce qui se passe grâce à une caméra web qui supervise les instruments. Ses images et les résultats des analyses sont envoyés directement par radio longue portée à un bâtiment situé sur la côte ou au brise-glace. Le traîneau sera déplacé d'un endroit proche de l'eau libre à l'autre, pour y faire des mesures pendant un ou deux jours d'affilée.

Ozonobouées (ou O-bouées)

Schéma de la O-bouée, une surveillance de l'environnement bouées océaniques de la baie d'Hudson | Photo: ECNous allons concevoir et construire des bouées océaniques contenant des instruments pour mesurer toute l'année les concentrations d'ozone, de dioxyde de carbone et d'autres substances chimiques. Ces bouées seront déployées dans l'océan à divers endroits et recueilleront des échantillons d'air en suivant la glace de mer et les courants océaniques. Les données seront captées par des satellites et les instruments alimentés par des batteries et panneaux solaires.

COBRA (rejet combiné d'iode et de brome dans l'atmosphère de l'Arctique)La glace de mer forage dans la baie d'Hudson pour le projet COBRA | Photo: EC

COBRA est un projet de recherche mené par des scientifiques britanniques à Kuujjuarapik/Whapmagoostuui, au Québec, auxquels nous nous joindrons pour cette étude. L'objectif du projet est de comprendre comment les substances chimiques présentes dans les sels marins (iode et brome) des eaux de la baie d'Hudson influent sur la disparition de l'air de substances telles que l'ozone et le mercure. De plus, des scientifiques de Montréal ont l'intention de déterminer ce qu'il advient du mercure une fois qu'il a disparu de l'air.

TARA

Le voilier français Tara dans l'océan Arctique depuis 2006 surveillance de l'ozone | Photo: ECNous prélevons des échantillons d'air à partir du voilier français Tara, qui dérive dans l'océan Arctique englacé depuis septembre 2006. Nous allons aussi collaborer avec de nombreux autres scientifiques d'OASIS pour une étude dite « OASIS-09 », qui sera menée à Barrow, en Alaska, et au camp de glace de la marine des États-Unis situé à proximité. Parmi les autres activités en cours de planification figurent la participation à une campagne du brise-glace suédois Oden, à l'été 2008, et à l'observatoire de l'environnement du pôle Nord (OEPN), au printemps 2009.

Site Web d'OASIS-international

FICHE D'INFORMATION - Une expédition de recherche dans l’océan Arctique dirigée par Environnement Canada vise à étudier les polluants atmosphériques

GATINEAU, le 26 février 2009 – Environnement Canada dirige une expédition à laquelle participent dix scientifiques canadiens. Sur la banquise de l’océan Arctique, ils étudieront le cheminement des polluants, qui passent de l’atmosphère à la glace, puis de la glace à l’écosystème du Nord canadien.

Ces recherches, qui auront lieu près de Barrow, en Alaska, seront menées dans le cadre de l’une des dernières expéditions importantes à avoir lieu au cours de l’Année polaire internationale (API). Le volet canadien de cette expédition internationale, surnommé OASIS-Canada (OASIS est l’acronyme formé des termes anglais pour les mots suivants : océan, atmosphère, glace de mer et manteau neigeux), centrera ses recherches sur le mercure, substance chimique qui nuit à la santé des résidents du Nord, ainsi que sur l’ozone troposphérique, polluant générateur de smog et gaz à effet de serre.

« Nous tentons de déterminer comment ces substances chimiques aboutissent dans l’océan Arctique, comment celui-ci réagit à leur intrusion et quelles seraient les répercussions éventuelles sur l’écosystème de la fonte des banquises de l’océan Arctique », explique M. Jan Bottenheim, chercheur scientifique principal à Environnement Canada et chef du projet OASIS-Canada.

À la fin des années 1980, les scientifiques d’Environnement Canada ont été les premiers à déceler des réactions chimiques inhabituelles qui se produisaient à la surface des banquises de l’océan Arctique au retour du soleil dans les régions polaires, au début du printemps. Ces réactions font disparaître de l’atmosphère l’ozone troposphérique et presque tout le mercure.Ce phénomène semble accélérer le passage du mercure et d’autres polluants de l’atmosphère au manteau neigeux et à l’océan, où ils peuvent ensuite facilement intégrer l’écosystème puis, éventuellement, pénétrer dans le corps humain. Les répercussions de ce phénomène sur l’écosystème de l’Arctique sont inconnues, mais des données récentes indiquent que le changement climatique a déjà une incidence considérable sur celui-ci.

En Alaska, les scientifiques canadiens utiliseront un petit laboratoire de chimie haut de gamme et entièrement automatisé qui a été créé par des chercheurs d’Environnement Canada. Ce laboratoire OOTI (Out On The Ice, ou « sur la glace ») leur permettra de travailler dans les conditions météorologiques extrêmes de l’Arctique, où les températures peuvent chuter au-dessous de la barre des -40 ºC, et sera équipé de plusieurs instruments de mesure sensibles installés sur un traîneau spécialement conçu. Ce traîneau sera tiré sur les banquises par une motoneige, et le laboratoire recueillera des données détaillées sur le passage de l’atmosphère à la glace et à la neige de l’Arctique des polluants atmosphériques et d’autres substances chimiques.

« Les conditions de travail ne sont pas toujours faciles, mais l'environnement, lui, est extraordinaire, affirme Mme Sandy Steffen, chimiste de recherche à Environnement Canada. L'air est sec et vivifiant et, lorsqu'il fait soleil, celui-ci illumine toute la glace et la neige des banquises de l'océan Arctique. »

L'expédition de recherche canadienne, financée par le Bureau du programme canadien de l'API, est menée dans le cadre d'un projet de recherche international organisé par le programme OASIS. Des scientifiques canadiens d'Environnement Canada, de l'Université York, de l'Université de Toronto et de l'Université McGill y prendront part, ainsi que des chercheurs d’universités américaines et européennes et du Centre national de recherche atmosphérique de Boulder, au Colorado.

REMARQUE : 

Chef de projet : M. Jan Bottenheim, chercheur scientifique principal, Environnement Canada

Sites Web :

OASIS - CANADA 2009 vidéo

Site Web du projet OASIS-international

 

Date de modification :