Betchouane Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary | Access and Activities | Map of the Area | Summary Table | Contact Information

Îles Innu within Betchouane Migratory Bird Sanctuary
Photo: Jean-François Rail © Environment and Climate Change Canada. Îles Innu within Betchouane Migratory Bird Sanctuary.

The Betchouane Migratory Bird Sanctuary (MBS) lies on the north coast of the Gulf of St. Lawrence, approximately 25 kilometres east of Havre-Saint-Pierre. The sanctuary encompasses a group of islands, islets and rocks as well as 500 metres of surrounding marine waters, excluding any part of the mainland that falls within this perimeter (Île à la Chasse). The MBS is part of the Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve of Canada.

Established in 1925 to protect an essential nesting site for Common Eider and other seabirds, the MBS covers an area of 462 hectares and is formed of rocky outcrops, woodlands, shrubs and grasses. Île Innu (formerly Île au Bois) supports forests of spruce-balsam fir trees, reaching only around ten metres in height, and a fen in which shallow puddles are regularly formed. Île à Calculot des Betchouanes (formerly Île aux Perroquets/Île Saint-Charles) is treeless and covered by grasses up to two metres high, including species such as Purplestem Angelica, Cow-parsnip, Canadian Burnet, Bog Aster and a variety of bramble and goldenrod. The abundance of lichens and shrubs in the moors contribute to the northern character of the sanctuary.

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Several species of seabirds use the islands during nesting season. Eight of the eleven species found on the Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve nest in the Betchouane MBS. Although the Common Eider is the most abundant species, the site also supports large numbers of Razorbills, Atlantic Puffins, Herring Gulls and Great Black-backed Gulls. This protected area is home to other species as well, among them the Black-legged Kittiwake and Black Guillemot. Surveys done over time confirm the presence of shorebirds, such as the Semipalmated Sandpiper. According to surveys carried out in 2010, an estimated 3000 pairs of Common Eider were recorded in the MBS, representing approximately 7.5 of the population nesting in the Estuary and in the Gulf of St. Lawrence. The presence of such a significant number of bird pairs is testimony to the importance of the site as a protected area for this species.

Access and Activities

MBSs are established for the protection and conservation of migratory birds. Activities that could harm migratory birds, their nests or their eggs are prohibited.

MBSs can be and have been established on private, provincial, territorial and federally owned lands. Access to each MBS varies by site and is at the discretion of the landowner and land manager.

Where MBSs are located on federal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the management and protection of migratory birds, nests, eggs and habitat. Where MBSs are located on provincial land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests, while the chief game officer of the province is responsible for the management of habitat. Where MBSs are located on private or municipal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests. Habitat management is the responsibility of the landowner.

The standard prohibitions under the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations apply to Betchouane MBS: hunting migratory birds is prohibited, and no person shall disturb, destroy or take the nest of a migratory bird or have in his or her possession a live migratory bird, or a carcass, skin, nest or egg of a migratory bird, except under the authority of a permit issued by Environment and Climate Change Canada or unless specifically authorized by the Regulations. Possession of firearms or other hunting appliances is prohibited, and dogs and cats must not be allowed to run at large.

Access denial or restrictions imposed by the owners of land within the MBS may also apply. For more information on entry, activities and permits in MBSs, please visit the Management and Activities section of the Migratory Bird Sanctuaries website. For more information on protected areas managed by Environment and Climate Change Canada in Quebec, please contact the regional office.

For greater certainty, nothing in this document shall be construed so as to abrogate or derogate from the protection provided for existing Aboriginal or treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada by the recognition and affirmation of those rights in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

Map of the Area

Long description for the Map

Map showing the location of Betchouane Migratory Bird Sanctuary relative to Quebec, Île à la Chasse, Île Innu, Île à Calculot des Betchouanes and the Gulf of St. Lawrence. The map shows the boundaries of the sanctuary, which covers Île Innu and Île à Calculot des Betchouanes as well as a portion of the surrounding waters. The scale of the map is in hundreds of meters.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Betchouane Migratory Bird Sanctuary can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Summary Table

Summary Table for Betchouane Migratory Bird Sanctuary
CategoryInformation
Protected Area designationMigratory Bird Sanctuary
Province or territoryQuebec
Latitude/longitude50° 11' 51 " N 63° 12' 27 " W
Size in hectares (ha)462 ha
Date created (Gazetted)1925
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) management categoryIa - Strict Nature Reserve
Additional designations
Main habitat typeRocky outcrops, woodland, herbaceous meadows
Key bird speciesCommon Eider, Atlantic Puffin and Herring Gull
Other speciesBirds: Razorbill, Black-legged Kittiwake, Great Black-backed Gull, Ring-billed Gull and Common Murre
Plants: Balsam Fir, Purplestem Angelica, Cow-parsnip, Canadian Burnet and Bog Aster
Listed species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)None
Management agencyCanadian Wildlife Service, Quebec Region

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Quebec Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas Unit
801-1550, avenue d'Estimauville
9250 - 49th Street
Québec, Quebec G1J 0C3
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date modified:

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Betchouane

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs | Accès et activités | Carte du refuge | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Photographie de l'Îles Innu dans le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Betchouane.
Photo : Jean-François Rail © Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Îles Innu dans le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Betchouane.

Le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) de Betchouane se situe sur la côte nord du golfe du Saint-Laurent à environ 25 kilomètres à l'est de Havre-Saint-Pierre. Le refuge comprend un regroupement d'Îles, d'Îlots et de rochers ainsi qu'une zone de 500 mètres autour, sauf là où la terre ferme se trouve à moins de cette distance (Île à la Chasse). Le refuge fait partie de la réserve de parc national du Canada de l'Archipel-de-Mingan.

Créée en 1925 dans le but de protéger un important site de nidification pour l'Eider à duvet et plusieurs autres oiseaux marins, cette aire protégée d'une superficie de 462 hectares se compose essentiellement d'affleurements rocheux, de boisés, d'arbustes et d'herbacées. L'Île Innu (auparavant l'Île au Bois) abrite une forêt d'épinettes à sapin baumier n'atteignant qu'une dizaine de mètres de hauteur, de même qu'une tourbière à l'intérieur de laquelle de petites mares d'eau peu profonde se créent régulièrement. Dépourvue de milieu forestier, l'Île à Calculot des Betchouanes (auparavant l'Île aux Perroquets/Île Saint-Charles) est recouverte par une végétation herbacée atteignant une hauteur de deux mètres et caractérisée par des espèces comme l'angélique noire-pourprée, la berce très grande, la sanguisorbe du Canada, l'aster des bois et diverses espèces de ronce et de verge d'or. L'abondance de lichens et d'arbustes dans les landes donne un aspect nordique à ce refuge.

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs

Plusieurs espèces d'oiseaux marins utilisent ces Îles durant la période de nidification. Parmi les 11 espèces qui nichent dans la réserve de parc national de l'Archipel-de-Mingan, 8 de celles-ci utilisent le ROM de Betchouane à cet effet. Bien que l'espèce la plus abondante du refuge soit l'Eider à duvet, le site accueille également un nombre important de Petits Pingouins, de Macareux moines, de Goélands argentés et de Goélands marins. D'autres espèces, comme la Mouette tridactyle et le Guillemot à miroir, sont également présentes dans ce territoire protégé. Les inventaires effectués au fil des ans ont aussi permis de confirmer la présence d'oiseaux de rivage comme le Bécasseau semipalmé dans ce secteur. En 2010, des inventaires ont permis d'estimer que 3000 couples d'Eider à duvet étaient présents dans le refuge, ce qui représente près de 7,5 de la population de cette espèce nichant dans le golfe et l'estuaire du Saint-Laurent. Ce nombre appréciable de couples confirme l'importance de ce territoire protégé pour cette espèce.

Accès et activités

Les ROM ont pour objet la protection et la conservation des oiseaux migrateurs. Les activités qui pourraient nuire aux oiseaux migrateurs, à leurs nids ou à leurs œufs sont interdites.

Les ROM ont pu, et c'est encore le cas aujourd'hui, être créés sur des terres de propriété privée, provinciale, territoriale ou fédérale. Les conditions d'accès aux refuges varient d'un site à l'autre et sont établies par le propriétaire et le gestionnaire des terres.

Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial fédéral, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la gestion et de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs, de leurs nids, de leurs œufs et de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial provincial, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids, tandis que le garde chasse en chef de la province est responsable de la gestion de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur des terres de propriété privée ou municipale, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids et la gestion de l'habitat relève du propriétaire des terres.

Les interdictions générales relatives au Règlement sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs s'appliquent au ROM de Betchouane : à moins de détenir un permis délivré par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ou que la réglementation l'autorise spécifiquement, la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs est interdite et nul ne peut déranger, détruire ou prendre leurs nids, et nul ne peut avoir en sa possession un oiseau migrateur vivant ou mort, ou le nid ou l'œuf d'un oiseau migrateur. La possession d'armes à feu ou d'engin de chasse est interdite et les chiens et les chats ne doivent pas être laissés en liberté.

Des interdictions ou des restrictions d'accès par le ou les propriétaires des terres incluses dans ce ROM peuvent également s'appliquer. Pour obtenir plus d'information concernant l'accès, les activités interdites et les permis dans les ROM, consultez la page Gestion et activités de la section Refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs.

De plus amples informations sur les aires protégées administrées par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada au Québec peuvent être obtenues en communiquant avec le bureau de la région.

Il est entendu que ce document ne porte pas atteinte à la protection des droits existants -- ancestraux ou issus de traités -- des peuples autochtones du Canada découlant de leur reconnaissance et de leur confirmation au titre de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

Carte du refuge

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte indiquant l'emplacement du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Betchouane par rapport au Québec, à l'Île à la Chasse, à l'Île Innu, à l'Île à Calculot des Betchouanes au golfe du Saint-Laurent. La carte indique les limites du refuge, qui renferme l'Île Innu, l'Île à Calculot des Betchouanes et une partie des eaux environnantes. L'échelle de la carte est en centaines de mètres.

Cette carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne doit pas être utilisée pour définir les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Betchouane (en anglais seulement). Notez cependant que Google Maps est une source d'information complémentaire et ne remplace en aucun cas ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire du Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Betchouane
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRefuge d'oiseaux migrateurs
Province ou territoireQuébec
Latitude/longitude50° 11' 51" N 63° 12' 27" O
Superficie en hectares (ha)462 ha
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1925
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)Ia - Réserve naturelle intégrale
Désignations supplémentaires
Type d'habitat principalAffleurements rocheux, boisés et herbaçaies
Espèces clés d'oiseauxEider à duvet, Macareux moine et Goéland argenté
Autres espècesOiseaux : Petit Pingouin, Mouette tridactyle, Goéland marin, Goéland à bec cerclé et Guillemot marmette
Plantes: sapin baumier, angélique noire-pourprée, berce très grande, sanguisorbe du Canada et aster des bois
Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)Aucune
Organisme de gestionService canadien de la faune, Région du Québec

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - région du Québec
Service canadien de la faune
Unité des Aires protégées
801-1550, avenue d'Estimauville
Québec (Québec) G1J 0C3
Sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :