Montmagny Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary | Access and Activities | Map of the Area | Summary Table | Contact Information

Photo of Marsh habitat in the Montmagny Migratory Bird Sanctuary
Photo: Matthieu Allard © Environment and Climate Change Canada. Marsh habitat in the Montmagny Migratory Bird Sanctuary.

The Montmagny Migratory Bird Sanctuary (MBS) borders the south shore of the St. Lawrence River in Montmagny. Located in the Upper Estuary of the St. Lawrence, the sanctuary is bordered to the north and the south by the high and low water lines and to the east by the Rivière Du Sud. Tides have a major impact on the vegetation of the sanctuary.

Established in 1986, this 122 hectare protected area is defined mainly by wetlands and brackish water. The substantial accumulation of sediment in this area has led to the formation of large mudflats and the development of both aquatic and terrestrial herbaceous habitats. Although the aquatic herbaceous habitat consists predominantly of American Bulrush, other species, notably Wild Rice, Water Parsnip and Arrowhead, are also present. Closer to the shore, Giant Bur-reed, Joe-pye Weed, Purple Loosestrife and Reed Canarygrass are examples of other established herbaceous plants.

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary

The Montmagny MBS is recognized as an important staging area for the Greater Snow Goose and several species of duck. Surveys carried out during the fall migrations of 1999 and 2001 recorded numbers of between 15 000 and 37 000 Greater Snow Geese and close to 1000 dabbling ducks. Aside from the Greater Snow Goose, the Northern Pintail is the most abundant species, followed by the American Black Duck and the Green-winged Teal. Other species of waterfowl found in the sanctuary, albeit in smaller numbers, include Mallards, Blue-winged Teals, Ring-necked Ducks and Canada Geese. Several species of shorebirds also use the site during migration. In addition, Semipalmated Sandpipers, Dunlins, Spotted Sandpipers, Lesser Yellowlegs and White-Rumped Sandpipers have been observed in the Montmagny area.

Species such as the Green-winged Teal, American Black Duck and Mallard use the sanctuary during breeding season.

Access and Activities

MBSs are established for the protection and conservation of migratory birds. Activities that could harm migratory birds, their nests or their eggs are prohibited.

MBSs can be and have been established on private, provincial, territorial and federally owned lands. Access to each MBS varies by site and is at the discretion of the landowner and land manager.

Where MBSs are located on federal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the management and protection of migratory birds, nests, eggs and habitat. Where MBSs are located on provincial land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests, while the chief game officer of the province is responsible for the management of habitat. Where MBSs are located on private or municipal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests. Habitat management is the responsibility of the landowner.

The standard prohibitions under the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations apply to Montmagny MBS: hunting migratory birds is prohibited, and no person shall disturb, destroy or take the nest of a migratory bird or have in his or her possession a live migratory bird, or a carcass, skin, nest or egg of a migratory bird, except under the authority of a permit issued by Environment and Climate Change Canada or unless specifically authorized by the Regulations. Possession of firearms or other hunting appliances is prohibited, and dogs and cats must not be allowed to run at large.

Access denial or restrictions imposed by the owners of land within the MBS may also apply.

For more information on entry, activities and permits in MBSs, please visit the Management and Activities section of the Migratory Bird Sanctuaries website. For more information on protected areas managed by Environment and Climate Change Canada in Quebec, please contact the regional office.

For greater certainty, nothing in this document shall be construed so as to abrogate or derogate from the protection provided for existing Aboriginal or treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada by the recognition and affirmation of those rights in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

Map of the Area

Long description for the Map

Map showing the location of Montmagny Migratory Bird Sanctuary relative to Quebec, Montmagny, Rivière du Sud and the St. Lawrence River. The map shows the boundaries of the sanctuary, which runs along the coast near Montmagny and extends into the St. Lawrence River. The scale of the map is in hundreds of meters.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Montmagny Migratory Bird Sanctuary can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Summary table

Summary Table for Montmagny Migratory Bird Sanctuary
CategoryInformation
Protected Area designationMigratory Bird Sanctuary
Province or territoryQuebec
Latitude/longitude46° 59' 30" N 70° 33' 30" W
Size in hectares (ha)122 ha
Date created (Gazetted)1986
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) management categoryIII - Natural Monument or Feature
Additional designationsMontmagny Important Bird Area
Main habitat typeHerbaceous meadows
Key bird speciesGreater Snow Goose
Other speciesBirds: Semipalmated Sandpiper, Northern Pintail, Spotted Sandpiper, Lesser Yellowlegs, White-rumped Sandpiper, Green-winged Teal, American Black Duck and Mallard Plants: American Bulrush, Wild Rice and Arrowhead
Listed species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)None
Management agencyCanadian Wildlife Service, Quebec Region

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Quebec Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas Unit
801-1550, avenue d'Estimauville
9250 - 49th Street
Québec, Quebec G1J 0C3
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date modified:

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Montmagny

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs | Accès et activités | Carte du refuge | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Photo Batture du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Montmagny
Photo : Matthieu Allard © Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Batture du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Montmagny.

Le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) de Montmagny se situe en bordure de la rive sud du fleuve Saint-Laurent à Montmagny. Localisé dans l'estuaire moyen du Saint-Laurent, le refuge est délimité au nord et au sud par les lignes de hautes et de basses eaux et, à l'est, par la rivière du Sud. La marée exerce une influence majeure sur la végétation de ce refuge.

Créée en 1986, cette aire protégée de 122 hectares se caractérise principalement par la présence de milieux humides d'eau saumâtre. L'accumulation importante de sédiments dans ce secteur a permis la formation de larges vasières et l'établissement d'herbaçaies aquatique et terrestre. Bien que l'herbaçaie aquatique soit dominée par le scirpe d'Amérique, d'autres espèces comme la zizanie aquatique, la berle douce et des sagittaires s'y retrouvent. Plus près de la rive, le rubanier à gros fruits, l'eupatoire maculée, la salicaire pourpre et le phalaris roseau figurent aussi parmi les plantes herbacées.

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs

Le ROM de Montmagny est reconnu comme halte migratoire importante pour la Grande Oie des neiges et quelques espèces de canards. Des nombres se situant entre 15 000 et 37 000 Grandes Oies des neiges et près de 1000 canards barboteurs ont été répertoriés lors d'inventaires effectués au cours des migrations automnales de 1999 et 2001. Outre la Grande Oie des neiges, le Canard pilet représente l'espèce la plus abondante, suivi du Canard noir et de la Sarcelle d'hiver. D'autres espèces de sauvagine comme le Canard colvert, la Sarcelle à ailes bleues, le Fuligule à collier et la Bernache du Canada sont également des espèces qui fréquentent le territoire, mais en nombre plus restreint. Le site est aussi fréquenté par plusieurs espèces de limicoles lors des migrations. Le Bécasseau semipalmé, le Bécasseau variable, le Chevalier grivelé, le Petit Chevalier ainsi que le Bécasseau à croupion blanc ont déjà été observés dans le secteur de Montmagny.

En période de nidification, des espèces comme la Sarcelle d'hiver, le Canard noir et le Canard colvert utilisent le refuge.

Accès et activités

Les ROM ont pour objet la protection et la conservation des oiseaux migrateurs. Les activités qui pourraient nuire aux oiseaux migrateurs, à leurs nids ou à leurs œufs sont interdites.

Les ROM ont pu, et c'est encore le cas aujourd'hui, être créés sur des terres de propriété privée, provinciale, territoriale ou fédérale. Les conditions d'accès aux refuges varient d'un site à l'autre et sont établies par le propriétaire et le gestionnaire des terres.

Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial fédéral, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la gestion et de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs, de leurs nids, de leurs œufs et de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial provincial, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids, tandis que le garde chasse en chef de la province est responsable de la gestion de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur des terres de propriété privée ou municipale, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids et la gestion de l'habitat relève du propriétaire des terres.

Les interdictions générales relatives au Règlement sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs s'appliquent au ROM de Montmagny : à moins de détenir un permis délivré par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ou que la réglementation l'autorise spécifiquement, la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs est interdite et nul ne peut déranger, détruire ou prendre leurs nids, et nul ne peut avoir en sa possession un oiseau migrateur vivant ou mort, ou le nid ou l'œuf d'un oiseau migrateur. La possession d'armes à feu ou d'engin de chasse est interdite et les chiens et les chats ne doivent pas être laissés en liberté.

Des interdictions ou des restrictions d'accès par le ou les propriétaires des terres incluses dans ce ROM peuvent également s'appliquer.

Pour obtenir plus d'information concernant l'accès, les activités interdites et les permis dans les ROM, consultez la page Gestion et activités de la section Refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. De plus amples informations sur les aires protégées administrées par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada au Québec peuvent être obtenues en communiquant avec le bureau de la région.

Il est entendu que ce document ne porte pas atteinte à la protection des droits existants -- ancestraux ou issus de traités -- des peuples autochtones du Canada découlant de leur reconnaissance et de leur confirmation au titre de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

Carte du refuge

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte indiquant l'emplacement du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Montmagny par rapport au Québec, à Montmagny, à la rivière du Sud et au golfe du Saint-Laurent. La carte indique les limites du refuge, qui longe de la côte près de Montmagny s'étend jusqu'au fleuve Saint-Laurent. L'échelle de la carte est en centaines de mètres.

Cette carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne doit pas être utilisée pour définir les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Montmagny(en anglais seulement). Notez cependant que Google Maps est une source d'information complémentaire et ne remplace en aucun cas ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire du Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Montmagny
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRefuge d'oiseaux migrateurs
Province ou territoireQuébec
Latitude/longitude46° 59' 30" N 70° 33' 30" O
Superficie en hectares (ha)122 ha
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1986
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)III - Monument ou élément naturel
Désignations supplémentairesZone importante pour la conservation des oiseaux Montmagny
Type d'habitat principalHerbaçaies
Espèces clés d'oiseauxGrande Oie des neiges
Autres espècesOiseaux : Bécasseau semipalmé, Canard pilet, Chevalier grivelé, Petit Chevalier, Bécasseau à croupion blanc, Sarcelle d'hiver, Canard noir et Canard colvert Plantes: scirpe d'Amérique, zizanie aquatique et sagittaires
Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)Aucune
Organisme de gestionService canadien de la faune, Région du Québec

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - région du Québec
Service canadien de la faune
Unité des Aires protégées
801-1550, avenue d'Estimauville
Québec (Québec) G1J 0C3
Sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :