Christie Islet Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary | Access and Activities | Map of the Area | Summary Table | Contact Information

Christie Islet Migratory Bird Sanctuary: landscape
Photo: © R. Butler. Christie Islet Migratory Bird Sanctuary: landscape.

Description

Christie Islet Migratory Bird Sanctuary (MBS) is situated in Howe Sound, 1 km south of Anvil Island, approximately 30 km north of Vancouver, British Columbia. Christie Islet is a small mass of solid rock rising steeply from the sea to a height of about 20 m. The rock is weathered on the surface, forming numerous crevices and gullies where grasses and serviceberry have taken foothold. The islet is devoid of trees.

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Christie Islet MBS is the only site in the Vancouver area and in all of Howe Sound where substantial numbers of seabirds nest. Pelagic Cormorants, Glaucous-winged Gulls and Double-crested Cormorants are known to nest on the islet. Birds usually observed on or in the vicinity of the islet include Black Oystercatchers, Pigeon Guillemot, Northwestern Crow, Surf Scoters, Harlequin Ducks, Canada Geese and Bald Eagles. Harbour Seals also frequent the surrounding waters.

Access and Activities

MBSs are established for the protection and conservation of migratory birds. Activities that could harm migratory birds, their nests or their eggs are prohibited.

MBSs can be and have been established on private, provincial, territorial and federally owned lands. Access to each MBS varies by site and is at the discretion of the landowner and land manager.

Where MBSs are located on federal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the management and protection of migratory birds, nests, eggs and habitat. Where MBSs are located on provincial land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests, while the chief game officer of the province is responsible for the management of habitat. Where MBSs are located on private or municipal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests. Habitat management is the responsibility of the landowner.

The standard prohibitions under the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations apply to Christie Islet MBS: hunting migratory birds is prohibited, and no person shall disturb, destroy or take the nest of a migratory bird or have in his or her possession a live migratory bird, or a carcass, skin, nest or egg of a migratory bird, except under the authority of a permit issued by Environment and Climate Change Canada or unless authorized by the Regulations. Possession of firearms or other hunting appliances is prohibited. Dogs and cats must not be allowed to run at large.

Access prohibitions or restrictions by the MBS landowner (private) may also apply.

For more information on entry, activities and permits in MBSs, please visit the Management and Activities section of the Migratory Bird Sanctuaries website. For more information on Environment and Climate Change Canada's protected areas, please contact the regional office.

For greater certainty, nothing in this document shall be construed so as to abrogate or derogate from the protection provided for existing Aboriginal or treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada by the recognition and affirmation of those rights in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

Map of the Area

Long description for the Map

Map showing the location of Christie Islet Migratory Bird Sanctuary relative to British Columbia, the Strait of Georgia, Anvil Island, Christie Islet and Gambier Island. The map shows the boundaries of the sanctuary, which covers Christie Islet. The scale of the map is in hundreds of meters.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Christie Islet MBS can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Summary Table

Summary Table for Christie Islet Migratory Bird Sanctuary
CategoryInformation
Protected Area designationMigratory Bird Sanctuary
Province or territoryBritish Columbia
Latitude/longitude49°30' N, 123°18' W
Size in hectares (ha)1.23 ha
Date created (Gazetted)1962
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Management CategoryN/A
Additional designationsNone
Main habitat typeBarren rock (75%), shrub (25%)
Key bird speciesPelagic Cormorant, Glaucous-winged Gull, Double‑crested Cormorant, Pigeon Guillemot, Northwestern Crow, Black Oystercatcher, Surf Scoter, Harlequin Duck, Canada Goose and Bald Eagle
Other speciesMammals: Harbour Seal
Listed species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)None
Management agencyCanadian Wildlife Service, Pacific and Yukon Region
LandownerPrivate

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Pacific and Yukon Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Ecosystem Conservation
5421 Robertson Road
Delta BC V4K 3N2
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date modified:

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'îlot Christie

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs | Accès et activités | Carte du refuge | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'îlot Christie – Paysage
>Photo : © R. Butler. Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'îlot Christie : Paysage.

Description

Le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) de l'îlot Christie est situé dans la baie Howe, à 1 km au sud de l'île Anvil et à 30 km au nord de Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique). L'îlot Christie est une petite masse de roche solide qui se dresse abruptement de la mer à une hauteur d'environ 20 mètres. La roche est altérée à la surface, formant de nombreuses crevasses et ravines où des graminées et des amélanchiers ont commencé à pousser. L'îlot est dépourvu d'arbres.

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs

Le ROM de l'îlot Christie est le seul site dans la région de Vancouver et dans l'ensemble de la baie Howe où nichent un nombre important d'oiseaux de mer. Les Cormorans pélagiques, les Goélands à ailes grises et les Cormorans à aigrettes sont connus pour nicher sur l'îlot. Habituellement, les oiseaux observés sur ou à proximité de l'îlot incluent l'Huîtrier de Bachman, le Guillemot colombin, la Corneille d'Alaska, la Macreuse à front blanc, l'Arlequin plongeur, la Bernache du Canada, et le Pygargue à tête blanche. Des phoques communs fréquentent également les eaux environnantes.

Accès et activités

Les ROM ont pour objet la protection et la conservation des oiseaux migrateurs. Les activités qui pourraient nuire aux oiseaux migrateurs, à leurs nids ou à leurs œufs sont interdites.

Les ROM ont pu, et c'est encore le cas aujourd'hui, être créés sur des terres territoriales, fédérales et privées. Les conditions d'accès aux refuges varient d'un site à l'autre et sont établies par le propriétaire et le gestionnaire des terres.

Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial fédéral, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la gestion et de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs, de leurs nids, de leurs œufs et de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial provincial, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids, tandis que le garde-chasse en chef de la province est responsable de la gestion de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur des terres de propriété privée ou municipale, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids et la gestion de l'habitat relève du propriétaire des terres.

Les interdictions générales relatives au Règlement sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs s'appliquent ROM de l'îlot Christie : à moins de détenir un permis délivré par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ou que la réglementation l'autorise spécifiquement, la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs est interdite et nul ne peut déranger, détruire ou prendre leurs nids, et nul ne peut avoir en sa possession un oiseau migrateur vivant ou mort, ou le nid ou l'œuf d'un oiseau migrateur. La possession d'armes à feu ou d'engin de chasse est interdite et les chiens et les chats ne doivent pas être laissés en liberté.

Des interdictions ou restrictions d'accès imposées par le propriétaire foncier du ROM (privé) peuvent également s'appliquer.

Afin d'obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'accès, les activités et les permis dans les ROM, veuillez consulter la section Gestion et activités du site Web Refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. Afin d'obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les aires protégées d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau régional.

Il est entendu que le présent document ne porte pas atteinte à la protection des droits existants -- ancestraux ou issus de traités -- des peuples autochtones du Canada découlant de leur reconnaissance et de leur confirmation au titre de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

Carte du refuge

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte indiquant l'emplacement du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'îlot Christie par rapport à la Colombie-Britannique, au détroit de Georgia, à l'île Anvil, à l'îlot Christie et à l'île Gambier. La carte indique les limites du refuge, qui renferme l'îlot Christie. L'échelle de la carte est en centaines de mètres.

Cette carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne doit pas être utilisée pour définir les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'îlot Christie (en anglais seulement). Notez cependant que Google Maps est une source d'information complémentaire et ne remplace en aucun cas ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Summary Table

Tableau sommaire du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'îlot Christie
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRefuge d'oiseaux migrateurs
Province ou territoireColombie-Britannique
Latitude/longitude49° 30' N, 123° 18' O
Superficie en hectares (ha)1,23 ha
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)N/A
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada Modified em to cite tag)1962
Désignations supplémentairesAucune
Type d'habitat principalRoche stérile (75 %), arbustes (25 %)
Espèces clés d'oiseauxCormoran pélagique, Goéland à ailes grises , Cormoran à aigrettes, Guillemot colombin, Corneille d'Alaska, Huîtrier de Bachman, Macreuse à front blanc, Arlequin plongeur, Bernache du Canada et Pygargue à tête blanche
Autres espècesMammifères : phoque commun
Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)Aucune
Organisme de gestionService canadien de la faune, région du Pacifique et du Yukon
Propriétaire des terresPropriétaire privé

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - Région du Pacifique et du Yukon
Service canadien de la faune
Conservation des écosystèmes
5421, chemin Robertson
Delta (Colombie-Britannique)
V4K 3N2
Sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :