Polar Bear Pass National Wildlife Area

Polar bearPhoto: © Environment and Climate Change Canada. Polar Bear

Related Documents

Description

Polar Bear Pass National Wildlife Area (NWA) is located on Bathurst Island, in the heart of the Canadian Arctic archipelago. The NWA is one of the largest in Canada comprising over 260 000 hectares (ha). The NWA features unusual concentration and diversity of wildlife and species for its latitude. Consisting of a valley bordered by low hills up to 240 metres high, the area features extensive wetlands where polygons and other phenomena induced by frost and thaw cycles abound. A relatively thick mat of Lichens, Mosses, Sedges, Grasses, flowering plants, and dwarf shrubs cover the floor of the valley. The surrounding ridges are basically desert, like approximately 95% of the Canadian High Arctic.

Several studies conducted by High Arctic field research station serves as the source of much scientific information on Arctic flora and fauna. From 1968-1993, the National Museum of Natural Sciences has operated a research station and conducted studies on the life histories and behavioral adaptations of arctic animals at Polar Bear Pass. As a result of this research, the Bracebridge-Goodsir Inlet area was first identified for protection under the International Biological Program (IBP) in the 1970's. The Area was declared a Wetland of International Importance under the Ramsar Convention in 1982. Extensive consultations with industry, native groups, public and other interested parties culminated in the designation of Polar Bear Pass as a NWA in September, 1986.

The NWA supports at least 54 species of birds that include 30 breeding species, particularly waterfowl and shorebirds. Red Phalarope are probably the most abundant nesting species. Brant also breed here, but this population migrates over Greenland to winter in Ireland. Various species of mammals occur in the NWA including the Arctic Fox and Wolf, Lemmings, Muskoxen and the Peary Caribou, an endangered species under the Species at Risk Act, its populations having fluctuated dramatically over the years. As the NWA name implies, Polar Bears pass through the area in spring and summer on their way to Graham Moore Bay, to the southwest, an important feeding area where they find Walrus and Ringed Seals.

More information is provided on Polar Bear Pass NWA in the summary table below.

Top of Page

Management

NWAs are protected and managed according to the Wildlife Area Regulations under the Canada Wildlife Act. The primary purpose of NWAs is the protection and conservation of wildlife and their habitat. For this purpose, and according to the legislation, Environment and Climate Change Canada can prohibit all activities in a NWA that could interfere with the conservation of wildlife. Consequently, most NWAs are not accessible to the public and all activities are prohibited. Nonetheless, Environment and Climate Change Canada has the ability to authorize some activities, whether through public notice or the issuance of permits, as long as these are consistent with the management plan goals for the NWA. For more information, consult the NWAs Management and Activities section.

In the Nunavut territory, Nunavut beneficiaries, as per the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement (NLCA), can harvest wildlife (including collecting migratory bird eggs and feathers) for their economic, social and cultural needs (Article 5 of the NLCA). Polar Bear Pass NWA, as per the NLCA and Inuit Impact and Benefit Agreement for conservation areas, is managed in partnership by Environment and Climate Change Canada with the Area Co-management Committee (ACMC) of Resolute Bay, Nunavut.

Access to Polar Bear Pass NWA is restricted except for Nunavut beneficiaries. For all non-beneficiaries, a permit must be obtained to either access or conduct any type of activity in the NWA. Activities that may be permitted will be in accordance with the conservation objectives of the NWA management plan.

More information on access and permitting for Polar Bear Pass NWA can be obtained by contacting the Environment and Climate Change Canada regional office.

Top of Page

Map of the Area

  • Bear Pass NWA boundaries.
Long description for the Map

Map showing a portion of Bathhurst Island, Nunavut, between Queens Channel and Graham Moore Bay. The boundaries of Nanuit Itillinga NWA are indicated. The protected area covers the portion of land between the two channels and the bay as well as a small portion of the adjacent waters. The scale on the map is in kilometers. Permanent water is indicated on the map. A small inset national map situates the NWA in Canada.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Polar Bear Pass NWA can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Top of Page

Summary Table

This table provides summary information for the Polar Bear Pass NWA
CategoryInformation
Protected Area designationNWA
Province/territoryNunavut
Latitude/longitude75°43' North / 98°40'West
Size263,648 ha
Reason for creation of protected areaSupports regionally significant wildlife populations and a substantial number of archaeological sites.
Date created (Gazetted)1985 - Legal Description
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Management Category1a - Strict Nature Reserve
Additional designations
  • International Biological Programme Site (IBP)
  • Ramsar Site
Keystone or flagship speciesPolar Bear, Peary Caribou.
Listed Species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)Peary Caribou, Polar Bear, Ringed Seal.
Main habitat typeWetlands, low hills and a small marine portion.
Invasive speciesNone recorded
Additional links

Birds: Red Phalarope.

Mammals: Wolf, Lemming, Muskoxen, Walrus, and Ringed Seal.

Main threats and challengesIncreased shipping for hydrocarbon exploration (threat of oil spills), development and cruise ships.
Management AgencyEnvironment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Wildlife Service)
Public access and usageNone except for Nunavut beneficiaries and people with appropriate permits.

Note: If there is a discrepancy between the information presented on this web page and any notice posted at the NWA site, the notice prevails as it is the legal instrument authorizing the activity.

Top of Page

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Prairie and Northern Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas and Stewardship
Eastern Arctic Unit
P. O. Box 1714
Iqaluit, Nunavut
X0A 0H0
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca

Top of Page

Date modified:

Réserve nationale de faune de Polar Bear Pass

Description | Gestion | Carte de la réserve | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Ours polairePhoto : © Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Ours polaire

Documents connexes

Description

La Réserve nationale de faune (RNF) de Polar Bear Pass est située sur l'île Bathurst, au cœur de l'archipel Arctique canadien. Cette RNF est l'une des plus grandes au Canada, avec une superficie de plus de 263 648 hectares (ha). La réserve de faune présente une concentration et une diversité d'espèces sauvages qui sont exceptionnelles pour sa latitude. Composée d'une vallée bordée de basses collines s'élevant jusqu'à 240 mètres, la région comporte de vastes terres humides où les polygones et autres phénomènes causés par le cycle de gel et de dégel abondent. Un tapis relativement épais de lichens, de mousses, de carex, de graminées, de plantes à fleurs et d'arbustes nains couvre le sol de la vallée. Les crêtes environnantes sont fondamentalement désertes, tout comme environ 95 % de l'Extrême-Arctique canadien.

Plusieurs études menées sur le terrain par la station de recherche de l'Extrême-Arctique servent de source à une grande partie des renseignements scientifiques concernant la flore et la faune arctiques. De 1968 à 1993, le Musée canadien de la nature a exploité une station de recherche et mené des études sur les cycles biologiques et les adaptations comportementales des animaux arctiques dans la région de Polar Bear Pass en septembre 1986.

La RNF abrite au moins 54 espèces d'oiseaux, dont 30 espèces nicheuses, en particulier de la sauvagine et des oiseaux de rivage. Le Phalarope à bec large est probablement l'espèce nicheuse la plus abondante. La Bernache cravant y niche également, mais cette population migre du Groenland jusqu'en Irlande au cours de l'hiver. Diverses espèces de mammifères se trouvent dans la RNF, notamment le renard arctique et le loup, les lemmings, le bœuf musqué et le caribou de Peary, une espèce en voie de disparition en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, dont la population a fluctué de façon spectaculaire au fil des ans. Comme le nom de la RNF l'indique (Polar Bear Pass), des ours blancs traversent la région au printemps et à l'été sur la route les menant au sud-ouest vers la baie Graham Moore, une importante zone d'alimentation où ils trouvent des morses et des phoques annelés.

Pour plus d'information sur la RNF de Polar Bear Pass, consultez le tableau sommaire ci-dessous.

Gestion

Les RNF sont protégées et gérées conformément au Règlement sur les réserves d'espèces sauvages en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces sauvages du Canada. Le but premier des RNF est la protection et la conservation des espèces sauvages et de leur habitat. À cet effet, et selon la législation, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada à le pouvoir d'interdire toute activité dans une RNF qui pourrait nuire à la conservation des espèces sauvages. En conséquence, la plupart d'entre elles ne sont pas accessibles au public et toute activité y est interdite. Le Ministère peut cependant autoriser la tenue de certaines activités, soit par des avis publics ou par l'émission de permis, tant que ces activités sont compatibles avec les buts de conservation du plan de gestion pour la RNF. Pour plus d'information, consulter la section sur la gestion et activités de la section Web des RNF.

Dans le territoire du Nunavut, les bénéficiaires du Nunavut, en vertu de l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut (ARTN), peuvent chasser les espèces sauvages (y compris la cueillette des œufs et des plumes d'oiseaux migrateurs) pour leurs besoins économiques, sociaux et culturels (article 5 de l'ARTN). La RNF de Polar Bear Pass, en vertu de l'ARTN et de l'Entente sur les répercussions et les avantages pour les Inuit ARTN pour les zones de conservation, est gérée en partenariat avec le Comité de gestion conjointe de la réserve de Resolute Bay au Nunavut.

L'accès à la RNF de Polar Bear Pass est limité, excepté pour les bénéficiaires du Nunavut. Tous les non-bénéficiaires doivent obtenir un permis pour accéder à la RNF ou y effectuer tout type d'activité. Les activités pouvant être autorisées devront être conformes aux objectifs de conservation inscrits dans le plan de gestion de la RNF.

De plus amples informations sur l'accès et l'émission de permis pour la RNF de Polar Bear Pass peuvent être obtenues en contactant le bureau d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada de la région.

Carte de la réserve

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte montrant une partie de l'île Bathhurst au Nunavut, entre le canal Queens et la baie Graham Moore. Les limites de la RNF de Nanuit Itilinga sont indiquées. L'aire protégée recouvre une partie des terres entre les deux canaux et la baie, ainsi qu'une petite portion des eaux environnantes. L'échelle de la carte est en km. Les eaux permanentes sont indiquées sur la carte. Un petit encart montre l'emplacement de la RNF dans le Canada.

Cette carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne doit pas être utilisée pour définir les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer la reserve national de faune de Polar Bear Pass. Notez cependant que Google Maps est une source d'information complémentaire et ne remplace en aucun cas ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire de la RNF de Polar Bear Pass
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRNF
Province/territoireNunavut
Latitude/longitude75°43' Nord / 98°40' Ouest
Superficie263 648 ha
Raison pour la désignation de l'aire protégéeAbrite des populations de faune régionalement siginificatives et un nombre substantiel de sites archéologiques.
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1985 - Description légale
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)Ia - Réserve naturelle intégrale
Désignations supplémentaires
Espèces vedettes ou pharesOurs blanc, Caribou de Peary.
Espèces inscrites sous la Loi surles espèces enpéril (LEP)Caribou de Peary, ours blanc.
Type d'habitat principalTerres humides, collines basses et une petite portion d'habitat marin.
Espèces envahissantesAucune enregistrée
Liens additionnels

Oiseaux : Phalarope à bec large.

Mammals: Loup, lemmings, bœuf musqué, morse, phoque annelé.

Défis et pressionsNavigation accrue pour l'exploration d'hydrocarbure (danger de déversement de pétrole), le développement et les bateaux de croisière.
Organisme de gestionEnvironnement et Changement climatique Canada (Service canadien de la faune)
Accès public et utilisationAucun accès public sauf pour les bénéficiaires du Nunavut.

Remarque : En cas d'incompatibilité entre les renseignements présentés sur cette page web et l'avis affiché sur le site de la RNF, l'avis prévaudra à titre d'instrument juridique autorisant l'activité.

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - Région des Prairies et du Nord
Service canadien de la faune
Aires protégées et intendance
Casier postal 1714
Iqaluit, Nunavut
X0A 0H0
Ligne sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :