10 Great Places to Connect with Nature

Canada's 54 National Wildlife Areas (NWA) protect approximately 1 million hectares (ha) of nationally significant land and marine habitats. Now 10 of these NWAs closer to urban areas are getting public access facelifts so that more people can spend a day witnessing the wildlife.

  1. Alaksen NWA (35 km from Vancouver, BC) is part of the Fraser River delta, an area of roughly 67,000 ha recognized as an internationally important migration stop-over and wintering area for a large number of migratory birds along the Pacific coast. Consisting of a mosaic of estuarine habitats, remnant wetlands, riparian forests, agricultural areas, and urbanized zones, the delta attracts up to 1.4 million birds from Siberia to South America each year.

    Visitors can enjoy walking a network of trails, wildlife watching, and interpretive programming for groups of all ages.

    Alaksen National Wildlife Area

    Photo: © Environment and Climate Change Canada

  2. Vaseux-Bighorn NWA (80 km from Kelowna, BC) provides significant habitat to federally listed species at risk, many species of migratory birds and other wildlife including the charismatic California bighorn sheep. This NWA is a dynamic natural system influenced by erosion, flooding, fire, grazing, and other natural processes.

    Visitors can follow a short boardwalk through the NWA and be rewarded with magnificent views of the beautiful landscape from the wildlife viewing tower. Don't forget your camera!

    Vaseux-Bighorn NWA, California Bighorn Sheep

    Photo: Neil Dawe © Environment and Climate Change Canada.

  3. Last Mountain Lake National Wildlife Area (140 km from Regina and Saskatoon, SK) has two main factors contributing to the wealth of birdlife in the area: its good habitats, as one of the most productive lakes in southern Saskatchewan; and its strategic location in the heart of the central flyway of North America. Spectacular populations of migrating ducks, geese, Sandhill Cranes and other birds use the area as they travel across the Great Plains, between their northern breeding grounds and southern wintering grounds

    Visitor can take a driving tour with interpretive stops, explore some walking trails, get a birds-eye view of extensive wetlands and prairies from an observation tower, fish, hunt, canoe, hike and of course bird-watch and wildlife photography.

    Last Mountain Lake NWA landscape

    Photo: John Dunlop © Environment and Climate Change Canada

  4. Big Creek and Long Point National Wildlife Area (67 km from Woodstock, ON) is home to a wealth of wildlife, including birds, frogs, turtles, amphibians, insects and many other species, all of which rely on wetland habitats. The extensive marshes at the mouth of Big Creek are remarkably undisturbed compared to other Great Lakes coastal wetlands. Located at the base of the Long Point peninsula, the Big Creek NWA marshes are a major staging area for waterfowl and more than 200 bird species use the area during their spring and fall migrations.

    Visitors will enjoy beautiful views of wildlife and their habitat atop one of the two viewing towers.

    Big Creek and Long Point NWA

    Photo: © Environment and Climate Change Canada

  5. Prince Edward Point NWA (70 km from Belleville, ON) has a unique geographic location and diversity of habitats causing a spectacular number of migratory passerine birds to concentrate at the tip of the peninsula. Also, large numbers of diurnal and nocturnal raptors pass through the area during spring and fall migration. There is no other location on the Canadian side of Lake Ontario with such a density of birds during migration. More than 300 species of birds have been recorded on the point, including songbirds, waterfowl, owls and hawks.

    Visitors can pack a picnic, swim at one of several small unsupervised gravel beaches or register for one of the various interactive programs that are offered seasonally. You can also explore the small network of hiking trails to enjoy the sights and sounds of the local wildlife and their habitat.

    Prince Edward Point NWA, Lake Ontario beach

    Photo: Jeff Robinson © Environment and Climate Change Canada

  6. The Cap Tourmente National Wildlife Area (50 km from Quebec City, QC) made up of marshland, plains and forests, is located on the north shore of the St. Lawrence River. This NWA's purpose is to protect the American Bulrush marshes that serve as the primary habitat of the Greater Snow Goose during migration periods. The territory offers contrasting landscapes shaped by the meeting of the river, large coastal marshes, plains and mountains, and features a multitude of habitats that are home to a wide diversity of animal and plant species. The wildlife area is home to more than 325 bird species, 30 mammal species, 22 types of forest stands and 700 plant species. Many of these species are at risk, including the Peregrine Falcon, the Bobolink, and the Butternut.

    Visitors can enjoy hiking, geocaching, wildlife observation, photography or one of the various interactive programs that are offered seasonally.

    The Cap Tourmente NWA

    Photo: © Environment and Climate Change Canada.

  7. Lac Saint François NWA (120 km from Montreal, QC) is made up mainly of swamps and marshes consisting of Carex and Typha plant communities as well as wooded wetlands populated by Red Maple stands and well-drained dry woods featuring communities dominated by hawthorn, hickory and maple. The biodiversity of the area is among the most remarkable in Quebec, as it is home to more than 287 animal species and 547 plant species, many of which are at risk.

    Visitors can enjoy the visitor's centre, guided tours (on foot or in a rabaska canoe), geocaching, fall waterfowl hunting, and seasonally offered outreach activities.

    Lac Saint François NWA, rivière aux saumons.

    Photo: Sylvain Giguère © Environment and Climate Change Canada

  8. Cape Jourimain National Wildlife Area (95 km from Moncton, NB; 70 km from Charlottetown, PEI) encompasses an extraordinary variety of ecosystems that include salt marshes, brackish marshes, fresh water wetlands, barrier beach, sand dune and upland. The area functions as a refuge for about 170 species of native and migratory birds. Its value to wildlife includes provision of nesting, rearing and migration habitat for several bird species in addition to waterfowl and shorebirds like the Osprey, which uses the area's nesting platforms.

    Visitors can enjoy a network of well-marked and accessible trails, educational programs as well as tours offered by the Cape Jourimain Nature Centre. This centre also includes a full-service restaurant, interpretation centre and day camp programming for children.

    Cape Jourimain NWA

    Photo: © Environment and Climate Change Canada

  9. Shepody NWA (46 km from Moncton, NB) wetlands have been recognized as having international significance because it supports large numbers of mud shrimp, the principle food source for millions of fall migrating shorebirds to Central and South America; primarily the Semipalmated Sandpiper. The impounded wetlands of Shepody NWA provide important production, staging and migration habitat for waterfowl while the freshwater wetlands further provide some of the best nesting habitat in the Atlantic Provinces for a variety of marsh birds.

    Visitors can enjoy hiking, wildlife observation, and photography especially in the spring and fall when huge numbers of shorebirds pass through the NWA. Interpretation programming is offered at the interpretation centre during the spring, summer, and fall.

    Shepody National Wildlife Area, aerial view

    Photo: Colin MacKinnon © Environment and Climate Change Canada

  10. Chignecto NWA (200 km from Halifax, NS, 80 km from Moncton) has a wide diversity of habitats due partly to the area's karst geology caused by localized gypsum deposits and subsequently more alkaline soils. An impressive variety of birds can be found on the NWA including waterfowl such as the Mallard, Black Duck, Northern Pintail, and Ring-necked Duck. A wide variety of mammals can also be found including the Masked Shrew, Northern Flying Squirrel, Star-nosed Mole, Red Fox, Snowshoe Hare and Woodchuck among others.

    Visitors can enjoy hiking trails, wildlife observation and photography.

    Chignecto NWA, aerial view

    Photo: D. MacKinnon © Environment and Climate Change Canada

Kids! Unlock a few of nature’s mysteries by using your Nature Biokit. Print one here before your next visit.

Top of Page

Date modified:

10 endroits pour renouer avec la nature

Cinquante-quatre des réserves nationales de faune protègent environ 1 million d'hectares (ha) d'habitats terrestres et marins importants sur le plan national. Parmi ces réserves, 10 sont situées près des zones urbaines et leurs installations publiques se refont une beauté afin que plus de gens puissent passer une journée à observer la faune.

Photo des RNFs

Réserve nationale de faune Alaksen

  • Alaksen National Wildlife Area
    Photo : © ECCC
    clique sur l'image pour l'agrandir

La réserve nationale de faune d'Alaksen (à 35 km de Vancouver, C.-B.) fait partie du delta du Fraser, une région d'environ 67 000 ha qui est mondialement reconnue comme une importante halte migratoire et aire d'hivernage pour de nombreux oiseaux qui fréquentent la côte du Pacifique. Véritable mosaïque d'habitats estuariens, de milieux humides restants, de forêts ripariennes, de régions agricoles et de zones urbaines, le delta attire chaque année jusqu'à 1,4 million d'oiseaux venant de Sibérie jusqu'à l'Amérique du Sud.

Les visiteurs de la réserve peuvent profiter d'un réseau de sentiers, observer la faune et assister à des activités d'interprétation qui s'adressent à tous les groupes d'âge.

Réserve nationale de faune de Vaseux-Bighorn

  • Photo de RNF de Vaseux-Bighorn
    Photo : Neil Dawe © ECCC
    clique sur l'image pour l'agrandir

La réserve nationale de faune de Vaseux-Bighorn (à 80 km de Kelowna, C.-B.) offre un habitat important aux espèces inscrites par le gouvernement fédéral sur la liste des espèces en péril, à beaucoup d'espèces d'oiseaux migratoires et à d'autres animaux sauvages, y compris le charismatique mouflon d'Amérique (var. californiana). Cette Réserve nationale de faune est un milieu naturel dynamique sur lequel agissent l'érosion, les inondations, les incendies, les herbivores et d'autres processus naturels.

Les visiteurs de la réserve peuvent suivre un court trottoir en bois et avoir le plaisir d'admirer de magnifiques paysages à partir de la tour d'observation. N'oubliez pas votre appareil photographique!

Réserve nationale de faune du lac de la Dernière-Montagne

  • Photo de RNF du lac de la Dernière-Montagne
    Photo : John Dunlop © ECCC
    clique sur l'image pour l'agrandir

La réserve nationale de faune du lac de la Dernière-Montagne (à 140 km de Regina et Saskatoon, Sask.) bénéficie de deux facteurs contribuant à la richesse de la faune aviaire dans la région : ses bons habitats, en raison des lacs les plus productifs du sud de la Saskatchewan; et de son emplacement stratégique au cœur de la voie migratoire centrale de l'Amérique du Nord. Des populations spectaculaires de canards, d'oies, de grues du Canada et d'autres oiseaux utilisent la région au cours de leur voyage dans les grandes plaines, entre leurs aires de reproduction au nord et d'hivernage au sud.

Les visiteurs peuvent faire une visite avec des haltes d'interprétation, explorer des sentiers, avoir, à partir d'une tour d'observation, une vision à vol d'oiseau des vastes milieux utiles et prairies, ainsi que pêcher, chasser, faire du canot, de la randonnée pédestre et, bien sûr, observer les oiseaux et photographier la faune.

Réserve nationale de faune du Ruisseau-Big

  • Photo de RNF du Ruisseau-Big
    Photo : © ECCC
    clique sur l'image pour l'agrandir

La réserve nationale de faune du Ruisseau-Big, à la pointe Long (à 67 km de Woodstock, Ont.) abrite une faune riche, y compris des oiseaux, des grenouilles, des tortues, des amphibiens, des insectes et beaucoup d'autres espèces, qui dépendent toutes d'habitats humides. Les vastes marais à l'embouchure du ruisseau Big Creek sont restés remarquablement intacts comparativement à d'autres terres humides riveraines des Grands Lacs. Situés à la base de la péninsule Long Point, les marais de la Réserve nationale de faune de Big Creek sont une importante aire de repos pour les oiseaux aquatiques et plus de 200 espèces d'oiseaux fréquentent la région au cours du printemps et pendant les migrations d'automne.

Les visiteurs pourront y admirer la faune et les habitats du haut de l'une des deux tours d'observation.

Réserve nationale de faune de Prince Edward Point

  • Photo de RNF de Prince Edward Point
    Photo : Jeff Robinson © ECCC
    clique sur l'image pour l'agrandir

La réserve nationale de faune de Prince Edward Point (à 70 km de Belleville, Ont.) renferme des habitats ayant des emplacements et une diversité uniques, ce qui fait qu'un nombre spectaculaire de passereaux migrateurs se concentrent à la pointe de la péninsule. De plus, un grand nombre de rapaces diurnes et nocturnes passent à travers la région lors des migrations du printemps et de l'automne. Aucun autre endroit situé sur le côté canadien du lac Ontario a une telle densité d'oiseaux pendant la migration. Plus de 300 espèces d'oiseaux ont été observées à la pointe, y compris des oiseaux chanteurs, de la sauvagine, des chouettes et des buses.

Les visiteurs peuvent faire un pique-nique, nager à l'une des plages de gravier non surveillées ou s'inscrire à divers programmes interactifs qui sont offerts sur une base saisonnière. Vous pouvez également explorer le petit réseau de sentiers de randonnée pour profiter de la vue et des sons de la faune locale ainsi que les habitats.

Réserve nationale de faune de Cap-Tourmente

  • Photo de RNF de Cap-Tourmente
    Photo : © ECCC.
    clique sur l'image pour l'agrandir

La réserve nationale de faune de Cap-Tourmente (à 50 km de Québec, Qué.), qui est composée de marais, de plaines et de forêts, est située sur la rive nord du fleuve Saint-Laurent. Cette Réserve nationale de faune a pour objet de protéger le marais à Scirpe d'Amérique qui est le principal habitat de la grande Oie des neiges au cours des périodes de migration. Le territoire offre des paysages contrastés qui sont formés par la rencontre du fleuve, des grands marais côtiers, des plaines des montagnes, et il présente une multitude d'habitats pour une grande diversité d'espèces animales et végétales. La réserve de faune abrite plus de 325 espèces d'oiseaux, 30 espèces de mammifères, 22 types de peuplements de forêts et 700 espèces végétales. Beaucoup de ces espèces sont en péril, y compris le faucon pèlerin, le goglu des prés et le noyer cendré.

Les visiteurs peuvent y faire de la randonnée pédestre, géocaches, observer la faune, faire de la photographie et participer aux nombreuses activités interactives qui sont offertes sur une base saisonnière.

Réserve nationale de faune du lac Saint-François

  • Photo de RNF du lac Saint-François
    Photo : Sylvain Giguère © ECCC
    clique sur l'image pour l'agrandir

La réserve nationale de faune du lac Saint-François (à 120 km de Montréal, Qué.) comprend surtout des marécages et des marais constitués de groupements végétaux à carex et à typha ainsi que quelques boisés en milieu humide composés d'érablières rouges, et de boisés au sol bien drainé occupés par des groupements dominés par des aubépines, des caryers et des érables. La biodiversité de la réserve est l'une des plus remarquables au Québec, car elle abrite 287 espèces animales et 547 espèces végétales, dont beaucoup sont en péril.

Les visiteurs peuvent s'informer au Centre des visiteurs, faire des visites guidées (à pied ou en rabaska), géocaches, chasser la sauvagine à l'automne et participer à des activités de sensibilisation.

Réserve nationale de faune de Cap-Jourimain

  • Photo de RNF de Cap-Jourimain
    Photo : © ECCC
    clique sur l'image pour l'agrandir

La réserve nationale de faune de Cap-Jourimain (95 km de Moncton, N.-B.; 70 km de Charlottetown, Î.-P.-É.) englobe une variété extraordinaire d'écosystèmes, notamment des marais salés et saumâtres, des terres humides d'eau douce, un cordon littoral, des dunes et des hautes terres. La réserve sert de refuge à environ 170 espèces d'oiseaux indigènes et migrateurs. Pour la faune, il procure un habitat de nidification, d'élevage et de migration pour plusieurs espèces d'oiseaux en plus de la sauvagine et des oiseaux de rivage, notamment le Balbuzard pêcheur qui utilise les plateformes de nidification de la réserve.

Les visiteurs peuvent profiter d'un réseau de sentiers accessibles et bien indiqués, d'activités éducatives ainsi que de visites offertes par le Centre de la nature. Ce centre propose également un restaurant à service complet, un centre d'interprétation et un programme de camp de jour pour les enfants

Réserve nationale de faune de Shepody

  • Photo de RNF de Shepody
    Photo : Colin MacKinnon © ECCC
    clique sur l'image pour l'agrandir

La réserve nationale de faune de Shepody (à 46 km de Moncton, N.-B.) dont les terres ont été reconnues comme étant d'importance internationale, car elle abrite de nombreuses crevettes fouisseuses, la principale source de nourriture pour des millions d'oiseaux de rivage en migration automnale vers l'Amérique centrale et l'Amérique du Sud, principalement les Bécasseaux semipalmés. Les terres humides endiguées de la Réserve nationale de faune de Shepody fournissent un important habitat de production, de rassemblement et de migration pour la sauvagine, alors que les terres humides d'eau douce fournissent un des meilleurs habitats de nidification dans les provinces de l'Atlantique pour diversité d'oiseaux des marais.

Les visiteurs peuvent faire de la randonnée pédestre, observer la faune, faire de la photographie, particulièrement au printemps et à l'automne lorsqu'un grand nombre d'oiseaux de rivage traversent la Réserve nationale de faune. Des activités d'interprétation sont offertes au centre d'interprétation au cours du printemps, de l'été et de l'automne.

Réserve nationale de faune de Chignecto

  • Photo de RNF de Chignecto
    Photo : D. MacKinnon © ECCC
    clique sur l'image pour l'agrandir

La réserve nationale de faune de Chignecto (à 200 km de Halifax, N.-É., 80 km de Moncton) a une grande diversité d'habitats qui sont dus en partie à la topographie karstique et géologique causée par des dépôts de gypse localisés et, ultérieurement par plus de sols alcalins. On trouve une diversité impressionnante d'oiseaux dans le Réserve nationale de faune, y compris de la sauvagine, comme le canard colvert, noir, pilet, et le filigule à collier. On peut également y trouver une grande diversité de mammifère, comme la musaraigne cendrée, le grand polatouche, la taupe à nez étoilé, le renard roux, le lièvre d'Amérique et la marmotte commune.

Les visiteurs peuvent apprécier les sentiers de randonnée, observer la faune et faire de la photographie.

Hey les enfants!

Élucidez quelques mystères de la nature au moyen de la BioTrousse Nature.

Faites-la imprimer avant votre prochaine visite!
Couverture du BioTrousse Nature

Date de modification :