Île à la Brume Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary | Access and Activities | Map of the Area | Summary Table | Contact Information

Île à la Brume Migratory Bird Sanctuary
Photo: Patrick Labonté © Environment and Climate Change Canada. Île à la Brume Migratory Bird Sanctuary.

The Île à la Brume Migratory Bird Sanctuary (MBS) is located on the north shore of the Gulf of St. Lawrence, east of the village of La Romaine. The MBS contains dozens of islands, islets and emergent rocks, and also includes Île à la Brume, located further offshore. It encompasses waters within a 3 km radius surrounding the island and extends beyond this reach to the north.

Established in 1925 to safeguard an important nesting site for the Common Eider, this 3789 hectare protected area consists mainly of marine waters. The landscape of the terrestrial part of this site is tundra with stunted conifers and rocky outcrops. Several small ponds help to diversify the area. Being continually windswept, Île à la Brume has very little vegetation.

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary

The Île à la Brume MBS is an essential nesting site for a variety of seabirds. According to 2010 inventories, the nesting population of Common Eider was estimated at approximately 800 pairs, making this the most common species found in the sanctuary. The same census marked the Herring Gull (422 pairs) as the second most sighted bird. Smaller numbers of other species also use the protected area during nesting season. These species include the Great Black-backed Gull, Ring-billed Gull, Black Guillemot, Razorbill, Red-Throated Loon, and Common and Arctic Terns. The Île à la Brume MBS remains the only site in the province where the endangered Caspian Tern regularly nests, albeit more sporadically since the 1990s.

Access and Activities

MBSs are established for the protection and conservation of migratory birds. Activities that could harm migratory birds, their nests or their eggs are prohibited.

MBSs can be and have been established on private, provincial, territorial and federally owned lands. Access to each MBS varies by site and is at the discretion of the landowner and land manager.

Where MBSs are located on federal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the management and protection of migratory birds, nests, eggs and habitat. Where MBSs are located on provincial land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests, while the chief game officer of the province is responsible for the management of habitat. Where MBSs are located on private or municipal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests. Habitat management is the responsibility of the landowner.

The standard prohibitions under the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations apply to Île à la Brume MBS: hunting migratory birds is prohibited, and no person shall disturb, destroy or take the nest of a migratory bird or have in his or her possession a live migratory bird, or a carcass, skin, nest or egg of a migratory bird, except under the authority of a permit issued by Environment and Climate Change Canada or unless specifically authorized by the Regulations. Possession of firearms or other hunting appliances is prohibited, and dogs and cats must not be allowed to run at large.

For more information on entry, activities and permits in MBSs, please visit the Management and Activities section of the Migratory Bird Sanctuaries website. For more information on protected areas managed by Environment and Climate Change Canada in Quebec, please contact the regional office.

For greater certainty, nothing in this document shall be construed so as to abrogate or derogate from the protection provided for existing Aboriginal or treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada by the recognition and affirmation of those rights in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

Map of the Area

Long description for the Map

Map showing the location of l'Île-à-la-Brume Migratory Bird Sanctuary relative to Quebec, La Romaine, Île-à-la-Brume, Île Ten Kauitshiht, Havre Bluff and the Gulf of St. Lawrence. The map shows the boundaries of the sanctuary, which covers Île-à-la-Brume and ÎleTen Kauitshiht as well as a portion of the surrounding water. The scale of the map is in kilometers.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Île à la Brume Migratory Bird Sanctuary can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Summary table

Summary Table for Île à la Brume Migratory Bird Sanctuary
CategoryInformation
Protected Area designationMigratory Bird Sanctuary
Province or territoryQuebec
Latitude/longitude50° 10' 10" N 60° 30' 15" W
Size in hectares (ha)3789 ha
Date created (Gazetted)1925
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) management categoryIa - Strict Nature Reserve
Additional designationsNone
Main habitat typeTundra and stunted conifers
Key bird speciesCommon Eider, Herring Gull, Caspian Tern, Ring-billed Gull, Great Black-backed Gull, Razorbill, Common Tern, Arctic Tern and Red-Throated Loon
Listed species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)None
Management agencyCanadian Wildlife Service, Quebec Region

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Quebec Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas Unit
801-1550, avenue d'Estimauville
9250 - 49th Street
Québec, Quebec G1J 0C3
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date modified:

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'Île-à-la-Brume

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs | Accès et activités | Carte du refuge | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Photographie de Une des deux Îles aux Marmettes du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Gros-Mécatina
Photo : Patrick Labonté © Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'Île-à-la-Brume.

Le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) de l'Île-à-la-Brume se situe sur la côte nord du golfe du Saint-Laurent, à l'est du village de La Romaine. Le ROM comprend quelques dizaines d'Îles, Îlots et rochers émergents ainsi que l'Île à la Brume, plus au large. Sont comprises dans ce refuge les eaux se trouvant dans un rayon de 3 kilomètres de cette Île, sauf au nord où la distance y est plus grande.

Créée en 1925 dans le but de protéger un site de nidification important pour l'Eider à duvet, cette aire protégée d'une superficie de 3789 hectares couvre majoritairement une zone marine. Sur la partie terrestre de ce refuge, on trouve surtout de la toundra, des conifères rabougris et des affleurements rocheux. Quelques étangs de faible diamètre diversifient le milieu. Continuellement balayée par les vents, la composition floristique de l'Île-à-la-Brume se résume à peu de choses.

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs

Le ROM de l'Île-à-la-Brume représente une aire de nidification importante pour différentes espèces d'oiseaux marins. Lors d'inventaires effectués en 2010, la population nicheuse d'Eider à duvet était estimée à près de de 800 couples, confirmant cette espèce comme étant la plus abondante du refuge. Ce même recensement place au deuxième rang le Goéland argenté, puisque plus de 422 individus ont été observés. D'autres espèces dont les effectifs sont de moindre importance utilisent également ce territoire protégé en période de nidification. Parmi ces espèces, on note le Goéland marin, le Goéland à bec cerclé, le Guillemot à miroir, le Petit Pingouin, le Plongeon catmarin et les Sternes pierregarin et arctique. Le refuge de l'Île-à-la-Brume demeure le seul site de la province où la Sterne caspienne, une espèce menacée au Québec, niche régulièrement bien que de façon plus sporadique depuis les années 1990.

Accès et activités

Les ROM ont pour objet la protection et la conservation des oiseaux migrateurs. Les activités qui pourraient nuire aux oiseaux migrateurs, à leurs nids ou à leurs œufs sont interdites.

Les ROM ont pu, et c'est encore le cas aujourd'hui, être créés sur des terres de propriété privée, provinciale, territoriale ou fédérale. Les conditions d'accès aux refuges varient d'un site à l'autre et sont établies par le propriétaire et le gestionnaire des terres.

Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial fédéral, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la gestion et de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs, de leurs nids, de leurs œufs et de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial provincial, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids, tandis que le garde chasse en chef de la province est responsable de la gestion de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur des terres de propriété privée ou municipale, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids et la gestion de l'habitat relève du propriétaire des terres.

Les interdictions générales relatives au Règlement sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs s'appliquent au ROM de l'Île-à-la-Brume: à moins de détenir un permis délivré par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ou que la réglementation l'autorise spécifiquement, la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs est interdite et nul ne peut déranger, détruire ou prendre leurs nids, et nul ne peut avoir en sa possession un oiseau migrateur vivant ou mort, ou le nid ou l'œuf d'un oiseau migrateur. La possession d'armes à feu ou d'engin de chasse est interdite et les chiens et les chats ne doivent pas être laissés en liberté.

Pour obtenir plus d'information concernant l'accès, les activités interdites et les permis dans les ROM, consultez la page Gestion et activités de la section Refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. De plus amples informations sur les aires protégées administrées par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada au Québec peuvent être obtenues en communiquant avec le bureau de la région.

Il est entendu que ce document ne porte pas atteinte à la protection des droits existants -- ancestraux ou issus de traités -- des peuples autochtones du Canada découlant de leur reconnaissance et de leur confirmation au titre de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

Carte du refuge

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte indiquant l'emplacement du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'Île à la Brume par rapport au Québec, à la La ROM aine, à l'Île à la Brume, à l'Î le Ten Kauitshiht, à Havre Bluff et au golfe du Saint-Laurent. La carte indique les limites du refuge, qui renferme l'Î le à la Brume et l'Î le Ten Kauitshiht ainsi qu'une partie des eaux environnantes. L'échelle de la carte est en kilomètres.

Cette carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne doit pas être utilisée pour définir les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'Î le-à-la-Brume(en anglais seulement). Notez cependant que Google Maps est une source d'information complémentaire et ne remplace en aucun cas ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire du Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'Î le-à-la-Brume
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRefuge d'oiseaux migrateurs
Province ou territoireQuébec
Latitude/longitude50° 10' 10" N 60° 30' 15" O
Superficie en hectares (ha)3789 ha
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1925
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)Ia - Réserve naturelle intégrale
Désignations supplémentairesAucune
Type d'habitat principalToundra et conifères rabougris
Espèces clés d'oiseauxEider à duvet, Goéland argenté, Sterne caspienne, Goéland à bec cerclé, Goéland marin, Petit Pingouin, Sterne pierregarin, Sterne arctique et Plongeon catmarin
Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)Aucune
Organisme de gestionService canadien de la faune, Région du Québec

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - région du Québec
Service canadien de la faune
Unité des Aires protégées
801-1550, avenue d'Estimauville
Québec (Québec) G1J 0C3
Sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :