Northwest Territories

In the Northwest Territories, more than 12 million hectares (8.9% of the territories as of 2010) are designated as protected. Environment Canada maintains 5 protected areas in the Northwest Territories, all Migratory Bird Sanctuaries (MBSs), comprising more than 2 million hectares of the territories' protected lands and waters. Although currently there are no National Wildlife Areas (NWAs), a number of candidate sites are under evaluation.

Further information on candidate protected areas is available on the Northwest Territories Protected Areas Strategy website.

Map of Environment Canada's Protected Areas in the Northwest Territories

Map showing the number of Environment Canada’s protected areas in the Northwest Territories – 5 Migratory Bird Sanctuaries (MBSs). Details can be found below. (5) Kendall Island MBS (1) Anderson River Delta MBS (4) Cape Parry MBS (2) Banks Island No. 1 MBS (3) Banks Island No. 2 MBS

List of Protected Areas in the Northwest Territories

The table below contains information about the MBSs shown on the map above. In addition to the name, year of establishment, and size of each protected area, the table indicates how these sites fit into national and international networks of conservation areas. The following entities may be noted:

Ramsar: Wetland of International Importance
IBA: Important Bird Area
WHSRN: Western Hemisphere Shorebird Reserve Network
MAB: Biosphere reserve of the UNESCO Man and Biosphere Programme

This table provides information on migratory bird sanctuaries such as the name of sanctuary, the year it was established, the size in hectares and notes.

Migratory Bird Sanctuaries
No.NameYear established Size in hectares Notes
1Anderson River Delta MBS1961118,417
2Banks Island No. 1 MBS19612,019,997
3Banks Island No. 2 MBS196114,302
4Cape Parry MBS1961227
5Kendall Island MBS196161,241
Total:2,214,184 


Access and Permitting

Although access to NWAs is not restricted, the primary purpose of these areas is to protect and conserve wildlife and their habitats, and therefore most NWAs are not equipped with facilities to accommodate public visitation. Unless otherwise posted, all recreational activities are prohibited within NWAs.

Although access to most MBSs is not restricted either, the primary intent of these sanctuaries is to protect migratory birds, and therefore hunting, as well as disturbing or molesting migratory birds, their eggs, nests or habitat, is prohibited.

A permit may be obtained from the Minister of Environment authorizing the conduct of certain activities in an NWA or MBS, if the Minister or delegate is of the opinion that the proposed activity:

  • will not interfere with the conservation of wildlife; or
  • is consistent with the purpose for which the protected area was established; and
  • is consistent with the most recent management plan for the protected area.

Contact Information

Additional information on entry, prohibited activities and permits in Environment Canada's protected areas is provided in the Management and Activities web pages of the National Wildlife Areas and Migratory Bird Sanctuaries. For more information on Environment Canada's protected areas in the Northwest Territories, please contact the regional Environment Canada office:  

Environment Canada - Prairie and Northern Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas & Stewardship
Western Arctic Unit
P.O. Box 2310
5019 52nd Street,4th Floor
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
X1A 2P7
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, environ 12 millions d'hectares de terrain (8,9 % de la province en 2010) sont protégés. Environnement Canada régit 5 aires protégées dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, soit 5 refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM), lesquels totalisent plus de 2 millions d'hectares des terres et eaux protégées des territoires. Bien qu'il n’y ait aucune réserve nationale de faune (RNF) dans les territoires, un certain nombre de sites candidats sont examinés actuellement.

Il est possible d'obtenir davantage de renseignements sur les aires protégées candidates sur le site Web de la stratégie des Territoires du Nord-Ouest pour les aires protégées (The Northwest Territories Protected Areas Strategy)

Carte des aires protégées d'Environnement Canada aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Carte géographique montrant les aires protégées d’Environnement Canada aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest soit  5  refuges d’oiseaux migrateurs (ROM). Vous trouverez des informations détaillées ci-dessous. (5) ROM de l'Île Kendall (1) ROM du delta de la rivière Anderson (4) ROM du cap Parry (2) ROM No. 1 de l'Île Banks (3) ROM No. 2 de l'Île Banks

Liste des aires protégées dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Le tableau ci-dessous renferment des renseignements sur les ROM illustrés sur la carte qui précède. En plus de fournir le nom, l'année d'établissement et la taille de chacune des aires protégées, le tableau indique comment ces sites s’intègrent à certains réseaux d’aires de conservation nationaux et internationaux. Les entités suivantes peuvent être mentionnées:

Ramsar : Zones humides d'importance internationale
ZICO : Zone importante pour la conservation des oiseaux
RRORHO : Réseau de réserves pour les oiseaux de rivage de l’hémisphère occidental
MAB : Réserve de la biosphère du Programme sur l'homme et la biosphère de l'UNESCO

Ce tableau fournit l'information sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. Elle fournit le nom du refuge, l'année de création, la taille en hectares et des notes.

Refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs
No.NomAnnée de création Taille en hectares Notes
1ROM du delta de la rivière Anderson1961118 417
2ROM No. 1 de l'Île Banks19612 019 997
3ROM No. 2 de l'Île Banks196114 302
4ROM du cap Parry1961227
5ROM de l'Île Kendall196161 241
Total:2 214 184 

 

Accès et obtention de permis

Bien que l'accès aux RNF ne soit pas restreint, ces endroits visent la protection et la conservation des espèces sauvages et de leurs habitats. Par conséquent, la plupart des RNF ne disposent pas d’installations pour recevoir les visiteurs. À moins d’avis contraires affichés, toute activité récréative est interdite dans les RNF.

Bien que l'accès à la plupart des ROM ne soit pas non plus restreint, ces refuges visent avant tout la protection des oiseaux migrateurs. Par conséquent, il est interdit de chasser les oiseaux migrateurs, de les déranger ou de les maltraiter, ainsi que de malmener leurs œufs, leurs nids ou leur habitat.

Il est possible d'obtenir, auprès du ministre de l'Environnement, un permis autorisant la tenue de certaines activités dans une RNF ou un ROM, si le ministre ou un délégué estime que l'activité proposée :

  • ne nuira en rien à la conservation des espèces sauvages; ou
  • est conforme aux objectifs pour lesquels l'aire protégée a été établie; et
  • est conforme au plan directeur de l'aire protégée.

 

Coordonnées

Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements sur l'accès, les activités interdites et l’obtention de permis pour les aires protégées d'Environnement Canada, visitez la section Gestion et activités des pages Web des réserves nationales de faune et des refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. Pour en savoir plus sur les aires protégées d'Environnement Canada dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau régional du Ministère :

Environnement Canada - Région des Prairies et du Nord
Service canadien de la faune
Aires protégées et intendance
Unité arctique occidentale
5019, 52e rue, 4e étage, C.P. 2310
Yellowknife (Territoires du Nord-Ouest
X1A 2P7
Ligne sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca