Terra Nova Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary | Access and Activities | Map of the Area | Summary Table | Contact Information

Male Common Goldeneye
Photo: © Thinkstockphotos.ca. Male Common Goldeneye.

Terra Nova Migratory Bird Sanctuary (MBS) is situated in the Bonavista Bay region of northeastern Newfoundland, adjacent to Terra Nova National Park. The sanctuary consists of the upper portions of two tidal inlets that are nearly totally enclosed by lands within the Terra Nova National Park. The northern portion consists of Broad Cove and Southwest Arm, which are separated by a causeway and bridge. The other section is the most westerly portion of Newman Sound. The areas are relatively shallow tidal inlets with intertidal flats in their upper reaches, the largest being the Big Brook Tidal Flats at the head of Newman Sound. The two bodies of water form part of the northeastern shoreline of Terra Nova National Park. The shoreline is characterized by small gravel beaches or pockets of large rounded boulders and, in places, cliffs steeply rising to the adjoining wooded upland. The two inlets are rich marine environments, with Newman Sound being recommended as an ecological reserve under the International Biological Program.

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Nearly half of the birds on the list of species recorded at Terra Nova National Park have been observed in or over the Terra Nova MBS. The main species groups are shorebirds, waterfowl and seabirds. A few hundred Canada Geese, American Black Ducks, Common Goldeneye and mergansers use the sanctuary during fall migration, and shorebirds frequent the tidal flats during summer and early fall. While the overall numbers of migratory birds using the site are not large, the number of species is impressive. Around 30 species are recorded regularly within Newman Sound and Southwest Arm.

The actual sanctuary portion of the Southwest Arm freezes during the winter months, which precludes the sanctuary from being an important overwintering area for many of the wintering waterfowl in the area. Newman Sound, by contrast, is an important area for waterfowl species throughout the year.

Access and Activities

MBSs are established for the protection and conservation of migratory birds. Activities that could harm migratory birds, their nests or their eggs are prohibited.

MBSs can be and have been established on private, provincial, territorial and federally owned lands. Access to each MBS varies by site and is at the discretion of the landowner and land manager.

Where MBSs are located on federal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the management and protection of migratory birds, nests, eggs and habitat. Where MBSs are located on provincial land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests while the chief game officer of the province is responsible for the management of habitat. Where MBSs are located on private or municipal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests. Habitat management is the responsibility of the landowner.

Public access to Terra Nova MBS is not restricted. The standard prohibitions under the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations apply to this site: hunting migratory birds is prohibited, and no person shall disturb, destroy or take the nest of a migratory bird or have in his or her possession a live migratory bird, or a carcass, skin, nest or egg of a migratory bird, except under the authority of a permit issued by Environment and Climate Change Canada or unless authorized by the Regulations. Possession of firearms or other hunting appliances is prohibited. Dogs and cats must not be allowed to run at large.

For more information on entry, activities and permits in MBSs, please visit the Management and Activities section of the Migratory Bird Sanctuaries website. For more information on Environment and Climate Change Canada's protected areas, please contact the regional office.

For greater certainty, nothing in this document shall be construed so as to abrogate or derogate from the protection provided for existing Aboriginal or treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada by the recognition and affirmation of those rights in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

Map of the Area

Long description for the Map

Map showing the location of Terra Nova Migratory Bird Sanctuary in relation to Newfoundland, Traytown, Broad Cove and Bonavista Bay. The map shows the boundaries of the sanctuary, which is separated into two areas. One section follows the shorelines and encompasses a portion of Bonavista Bay, while the second section follows the shorelines and encompasses a portion of Broad Cove. The scale of the map is in kilometers.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Terra Nova MBS can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Summary Table

Summary Table for Terra Nova Migratory Bird Sanctuary
CategoryInformation
Protected Area designationMigratory Bird Sanctuary
Province or territoryNewfoundland and Labrador
Latitude/longitude48°34' N, 53°57' W (Inner Newman Sound); 48°38' N, 53°56' W (Southwest Arm)
Size in hectares (ha)1178 ha
Date created (Gazetted)1967
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) management categoryII - National Park
Additional designationsNone recorded
Main habitat typeOpen water (91%), tidal flats (9%)
Key bird speciesCanada Goose, American Black Duck, Common Goldeneye and Common Merganser
Listed species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)None
Management agencyCanadian Wildlife Service, Atlantic Region
LandownerProvince of Newfoundland and Labrador

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Atlantic Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas Program
17 Waterfowl Lane
Sackville NB E4L 1G6
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date modified:

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Terra-Nova

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs | Accès et activités | Carte du refuge | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Garrot à œil d'or mâle
Photo : © Thinkstockphotos.ca. Garrot à œil d'or mâle.

Le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) de Terra-Nova est situé dans la région de la baie de Bonavista du nord-est de Terre-Neuve, à proximité du parc national Terra-Nova. Le refuge se compose des parties supérieures de deux passages de marée qui sont presque entièrement délimités par les terres du parc national Terra-Nova. La partie nord est composée de Broad Cove et du bras Southwest qui sont séparés par un pont-jetée et un pont. L'autre section est la partie située le plus à l'ouest du détroit de Newman. Les zones sont des passages de marée relativement peu profonds avec des battures dans leur partie supérieure; les plus importants sont les estrans du ruisseau Big en avant du détroit de Newman. Les deux plans d'eau font partie de la rive nord-est du parc national Terra-Nova. Le littoral est caractérisé par de petites plages de gravier ou des poches de grands rochers arrondis et, à certains endroits, des falaises escarpées s'élèvent jusqu'aux hautes terres boisées contiguës. Les deux passages sont des milieux marins riches, et le détroit de Newman est recommandé à titre de réserve écologique dans le cadre du Programme biologique international.

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs

Près de la moitié des oiseaux inscrits sur la liste des espèces enregistrées au parc national Terra-Nova a été observée dans le ROM de Terra-Nova ou au-dessus de celui-ci. Les principaux groupes d'espèces sont les oiseaux de rivage, les sauvagines et les oiseaux marins. Quelques centaines de Bernaches du Canada, de Canards noirs, de Garrots à œil d'or et de Harles utilisent le refuge au cours de leur migration d'automne, et les oiseaux de rivage fréquentent les estrans au cours de l'été et au début de l'automne. Bien que le nombre total d'oiseaux migrateurs utilisant le site ne soit pas important, le nombre d'espèces est impressionnant. On a observé environ 30 espèces régulièrement dans le détroit de Newman et le bras Southwest.

La partie du bras Southwest qui passe dans le refuge gèle pendant les mois d'hiver; le refuge n'est donc pas une aire d'hivernage importante pour un grand nombre d'espèces de sauvagine en période d'hivernage dans la région. En revanche, le détroit de Newman est une aire importante pour les espèces de sauvagine tout au long de l'année.

Accès et activités

Les ROM ont pour objet la protection et la conservation des oiseaux migrateurs. Les activités qui pourraient nuire aux oiseaux migrateurs, à leurs nids ou à leurs œufs sont interdites.

Les ROM ont pu, et c'est encore le cas aujourd'hui, être créés sur des terres territoriales, fédérales et privées. Les conditions d'accès aux refuges varient d'un site à l'autre et sont établies par le propriétaire et le gestionnaire des terres.

Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial fédéral, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la gestion et de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs, de leurs nids, de leurs œufs et de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial provincial, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids, tandis que le garde-chasse en chef de la province est responsable de la gestion de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur des terres de propriété privée ou municipale, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids. La gestion de l'habitat est la responsabilité du propriétaire foncier.

L'accès public au refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Terra-Nova n'est pas restreint. Les interdictions générales relatives au Règlement sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs s'appliquent à ce site : à moins de détenir un permis délivré par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ou que la réglementation l'autorise spécifiquement, la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs est interdite et nul ne peut déranger, détruire ou prendre leurs nids, et nul ne peut avoir en sa possession un oiseau migrateur vivant ou mort, ou le nid ou l'œuf d'un oiseau migrateur. La possession d'armes à feu ou d'engin de chasse est interdite et les chiens et les chats ne doivent pas être laissés en liberté.

Afin d'obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'accès, les activités et les permis dans les ROM, veuillez consulter la section Gestion et activités du site Web Refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. Afin d'obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les aires protégées d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau régional.

Il est entendu que le présent document ne porte pas atteinte à la protection des droits existants -- ancestraux ou issus de traités -- des peuples autochtones du Canada découlant de leur reconnaissance et de leur confirmation au titre de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

Carte du refuge

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte indiquant l'emplacement du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Terra Nova par rapport à Terre-Neuve, à Traytown, à Broad Cove et à la baie Bonavista. La carte indique les limites du refuge, qui est divisé en deux zones. Une des zones suit les littoraux et referme une partie de la baie Bonavista, tandis que la deuxième zone suit les littoraux et renferme une partie de Broad Cove. L'échelle de la carte est en kilomètres.

Cette carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne doit pas être utilisée pour définir les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Terra-Nova (en anglais seulement). Notez cependant que Google Maps est une source d'information complémentaire et ne remplace en aucun cas ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Terra-Nova
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRefuge d'oiseaux migrateurs
Province ou territoireTerre-Neuve-et-Labrador
Latitude/longitude48° 34' N, 53° 57' O (intérieur du détroit de Newman); 48° 38' N, 53° 56' O (bras Southwest)
Superficie en hectares (ha)1178 ha
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1967
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)II - Parc national
Désignations supplémentairesAucune consignée
Type d'habitat principalEau libre (91 %), estrans (9 %)
Espèces clés d'oiseauxBernache du Canada, Canard noir, Grand Harle et Garrot à œil d'or
Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)Aucune
Organisme de gestionService canadien de la faune, région de l'Atlantique
Propriétaire des terresProvince de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - Région de l'Atlantique
Service canadien de la faune
Programme des zones protégées
17, allée Waterfowl
Sackville (Nouveau-Brunswick)
E4L 1G6
Sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :