Management and Activities

Introduction

Management of National Wildlife Areas is undertaken to maintain the ecological integrity of the site for the benefit of migratory birds, species at risk, and other wildlife of national importance. Guided by the Wildlife Area Regulations, National Wildlife Areas are managed according to the conservation objectives as set out in each site management plan.

Although each protected area is managed individually in accordance with the specific characteristics of the site and local area, all National Wildlife Areas share the same overall management strategy, which is “to protect and maintain habitat vital for wildlife and to improve habitat when necessary for wildlife use.”

What is a Management Plan?

Management plans provide the framework in which management decisions are made. They are utilized by Environment and Climate Change Canada staff to guide decision making on the monitoring of wildlife, the maintenance and improvement of wildlife habitat, the enforcement of regulations, the maintenance of facilities, and permitting.

Each National Wildlife Area management plan specifies activities that are allowed, including those that may be undertaken by permit only. Where measures are carried out for the conservation of wildlife, they must be consistent with any law respecting wildlife in the province or territory in which the protected area is situated.

Management plans are elaborated in consultation with Aboriginal peoples, stakeholders and the public, and must respect Aboriginal rights and allowable practices specified under land claims agreements.

Activities and Entry

For the benefit of wildlife and its environment, human activities are controlled and their impact minimized in National Wildlife Areas through the implementation of the Wildlife Area Regulations. These regulations set out activities that are prohibited [subsection 3(1)] in National Wildlife Areas.  Although access to National Wildlife Areas is not restricted, the regulations provide authority to the Minister to prohibit entry into National Wildlife Areas by posting a notice at the entrance to the area.

Prohibited Activities and Authorizations

Activities in a National Wildlife Area are authorized where notices have been posted at the entrance to or boundary of the area, or published in local newspapers. Prohibited activities in all National Wildlife Areas include:

  • hunting or fishing
  • possession of firearms or other hunting devices
  • possession of any wildlife or carcass, nest, or eggs
  • damaging, destroying or removing a plant
  • carrying on any agricultural activity
  • allowing any domestic animal to run at large
  • destroying or molesting any wildlife, carcasses, nests or eggs
  • cutting, picking, removing or willfully damaging any vegetation
  • disturbing or removing soil, sand, gravel or other material
  • removing, defacing, damaging or destroying any artifact, natural object, building, fence, poster sign or other structure
  • recreational activities such as camping, swimming, picnicking or having campfires
  • using a boat, aircraft or other vehicle
  • any commercial or industrial activity
  • dumping or depositing any rubbish, waste material, or substance that would degrade or alter the quality of the environment
  • entry into any National Wildlife Area where notice prohibiting such entry has been given 

Under certain conditions, the activities listed above may be authorized through a permit issued by the Minister. Guided by the Environment and Climate Change Canada protected areas permitting policy, authorizations and permits may be issued only if the Minister is of the opinion that the activity:

  • is scientific research relating to wildlife or habitat conservation;
  • will not interfere with the conservation of wildlife; or
  • is consistent with the purpose for which the National Wildlife Area was established or the most recent management plan for the area.

Additional terms and conditions governing the activity may be added to the permit or notice to protect and minimize the impact of the proposed activity on wildlife and their habitat. In addition, depending on the type of activity, other federal or provincial permits may be required.

Contact Information

For more information on National Wildlife Areas please contact the Environment and Climate Change Canada office assigned to your province or territory as per the list below. Please note that all requests must be made in writing through the Inquiry Center, email or to one of the following addresses:

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Atlantic RegionFootnote 1
Canadian Wildlife Service
17 Waterfowl Lane
Sackville, New Brunswick  
E4L 1G6

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Quebec Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
1550 avenue d’Estimauville
Québec, Quebec
G1J 5E9

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Ontario Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
4905 Dufferin Street
Downsview , Ontario
M5H 5T4

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Prairie and Northern Region Footnote 2
Eastgate Offices
9250 – 49th Street
Edmonton , Alberta
T6B 1K5

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Pacific and Yukon Region Footnote 3
Canadian Wildlife Service
5421 Robertson Road
Delta, British Columbia
V4K 3N2

Top of Page

Date modified:

Gestion et activités


Introduction

Insigne du huard bleu indiquant les limites d’une réserve nationale de faune d’Environnement Canada © Service canadien de la faune

Les réserves nationales de faune sont gérées pour conserver l'intégrité écologique du site pour le bénéfice des oiseaux migrateurs, des espèces en péril et d’autres espèces sauvages d’importance nationale. Conformément au Règlement sur les réserves d'espèces sauvages, les réserves nationales de faune sont gérées selon les objectifs de conservation établis dans le plan de gestion de chaque site.

Bien que chaque aire protégée soit gérée individuellement en fonction des caractéristiques spécifiques du lieu et de la région avoisinante, toutes les réserves nationales de faune partagent la même stratégie générale de gestion, soit « protéger et conserver les habitats fauniques vitaux et, au besoin, les améliorer en vue de leur utilisation par les espèces sauvages ».

En quoi consiste un plan de gestion?

Les plans de gestion procurent le cadre au sein duquel les décisions en matière de gestion sont prises. Ils sont utilisés par le personnel d’Environnement Canada pour éclairer la prise de décisions sur la surveillance des espèces sauvages, l’entretien et l'amélioration de l’habitat de la faune, l'exécution des règles, l'entretien des installations et l’émission de permis.

Échantillonnage d’eau, Rivière Nisutlin, Réserve nationale de faune du delta de la rivière Nisutlin, Yukon © Debbie van de Wetering, Environnement Canada

Chaque plan de gestion de réserve nationale de faune précise les activités autorisées, dont celles qui ne peuvent être menées qu’en possession d'un permis seulement. Pour toutes mesures prises en vue de la conservation des espèces, ces dernières doivent être conformes aux lois sur la protection de la faune en vigueur dans la province ou le territoire dans lequel l’aire protégée est située.

Les plans de gestion sont établis en consultation avec les peuples Autochtones, les divers intervenants et le public, et doivent respecter les droits des autochtones et les pratiques admissibles au titre des accords sur les revendications territoriales.

Activités et accès

Pour protéger la faune et son environnement, la mise en œuvre du Règlement sur les réserves d'espèces sauvages permet le contrôle des activités humaines de manière à réduire au minimum leurs répercussions dans les réserves nationales de faune. Ce règlement établit les activités interdites [paragraphe 3(1)] dans les réserves nationales de faune. Bien que l’accès à ces réserves ne soit pas restreint, le Règlement autorise le ministre à interdire l'accès aux réserves nationales de faune en affichant un avis à l'entrée de celle-ci.

Activités interdites et autorisations

Les activités autorisées dans une réserve nationale de faune figurent sur des avis affichés à l'entrée de la réserve, ou à ses limites, ou encore publiés dans les journaux locaux. Voici les activités interdites dans toutes les réserves nationales de faune:

  • chasser ou pêcher;
  • avoir en sa possession une arme à feu ou tout autre appareil ou instrument qui pourrait servir à la chasse;
  • avoir en sa possession une espèce sauvage, carcasses, des nids ou des œufs;
  • endommager, détruire ou enlever une plante;
  • se livrer à des activités agricoles;
  • laisser un animal domestique en liberté;
  • abattre ou molester une espèce sauvage, détruire ou déranger des carcasses, des nids ou des œufs;
  • couper, recueillir, retirer ou endommager intentionnellement toute végétation;
  • déranger ou enlever de la terre, du sable, du gravier ou tout autre matériau;
  • enlever, altérer, endommager ou détruire tout artefact, article naturel, édifice, clôture, affiche, enseigne ou autre structure;
  • des activités récréatives comme camper, nager, pique-niquer ou faire des feux;
  • utiliser une embarcation, un aéronef ou un autre véhicule;
  • toute activité commerciale ou industrielle;
  • jeter ou laisser des détritus, des déchets ou des substances susceptibles de diminuer la qualité de l’environnement naturel;
  • accéder à une réserve nationale de faune en ignorant les interdictions d’y enter.

Sous  certaines conditions, les activités susmentionnées pourraient être autorisées par un permis émis par le ministre. S'appuyant sur la politique relative à la délivrance de permis pour les aires protégées d'Envrionnement Canada, les autorisations et les permis peuvent être émis uniquement si le ministre est d’avis que l’activité:

  • relève d'une recherche scientifique rattachée à la conservation d’espèces sauvages ou de leur habitat;
  • ne va pas nuire à la conservation des espèces sauvages; ou
  • est conforme à la raison pour laquelle la réserve nationale de faune a été établie ou s’inscrit dans le plan de gestion le plus récent de la réserve.

Des conditions additionnelles pourraient être ajoutées au permis ou à l’avis pour  protéger la faune et son habitat et pour atténuer l’impact que l’activité proposée pourrait avoir sur ces derniers. De plus, selon le type d’activité, d’autres permis fédéraux ou provinciaux peuvent être requis.

Coordonnées

Pour en savoir davantage sur les réserves nationales de faune, communiquez avec le bureau d’Environnement Canada de votre province ou territoire, aux coordonnées fournies ci-dessous. Veuillez noter que toutes les demandes doivent être formulées par écrit soit à l'informathèque, par courriel ou à l’une des adresses suivantes:

Environnement Canada – Région de l’Atlantique *
Service canadien de la faune
17, Waterfowl Lane
Sackville (Nouveau-Brunswick)
E4L 1G6

Environnement Canada – Région du Québec
Service canadien de la faune
1550, avenue d’Estimauville
Québec (Québec)
G1J 5E9

Environnement Canada – Région de l'Ontario
Service canadien de la faune
4905 Dufferin Street
Downsview (Ontario)
M5H 5T4

Environnement Canada – Région des Prairies et du Nord **
Service canadien de la faune
4999, 98e Avenue
Edmonton (Alberta)
T6B 2X3

Environnement Canada – Région du Pacifique et du Yukon ***
Service canadien de la faune
5421, route Robertson
Delta (Colombie-Britannique)
V4K 3N2


* La région de l’Atlantique comprend le Nouveau-Brunswick, la Nouvelle-Écosse, l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

** La région des Prairies et du Nord comprend l’Alberta, le Manitoba, la Saskatchewan, les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et le Nunavut.

*** La région du Pacifique et du Yukon comprend la Colombie-Britannique et le Yukon.