Rideau Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary | Access and Activities | Map of the Area | Summary Table | Contact Information

Mallard in flight
Photo: © Thinkstockphotos.ca. Mallard in flight.

The Rideau Migratory Bird Sanctuary (MBS) includes a section of the Rideau River and Rideau Canal (the canal waterway follows the river) that begins within the Village of Merrickville and extends west and then southwest to cover a distance of 5.6 km by water. The waterway is managed by the Parks Canada Agency and the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources, while the upland area includes various public and private owners.

Along the first 2.4 km, on either side of the river, there are extensive marshes composed of cattails and wild rice with broadleaf emergent aquatic plants, as well as floating, free-floating and submerged vegetation. Behind these marsh areas are swamps. Alder and tamarack grow in these sites, and moss and sedges cover the ground. As the soil becomes less saturated, eastern white cedar grow in dense stands.

The remainder of the river is open, and few submerged aquatic plants are encountered. Scattered clumps of emergent plants grow close to the shores, which are dry and are extensively developed as cottage and residential developments. The remainder of the terrestrial part of the sanctuary is composed of privately owned farmlands and upland woodlots (sugar maple, basswood and elm).

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary

The Rideau MBS provides suitable habitat for waterfowl staging owing to the abundance of aquatic plants that provide both shelter and food. On any single day during fall migration, up to 1000 Canada Geese and 1000 ducks-mainly dabblers such as Mallards, American Black Ducks and Blue-winged Teals, as well as Ring-necked Ducks-gather in the sanctuary. The MBS also provides waterfowl that are staging on the Rideau River with an undisturbed refuge during the hunting season.

Access and Activities

MBSs are established for the protection and conservation of migratory birds. Activities that could harm migratory birds, their nests or their eggs are prohibited.

MBSs can be and have been established on private, provincial, territorial and federally owned lands. Access to each MBS varies by site and is at the discretion of the landowner and land manager.

Where MBSs are located on federal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the management and protection of migratory birds, nests, eggs and habitat. Where MBSs are located on provincial land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests, while the chief game officer of the province is responsible for the management of habitat. Where MBSs are located on private or municipal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests. Habitat management is the responsibility of the landowner.

The standard prohibitions under the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations apply to Rideau MBS: hunting migratory birds is prohibited, and no person shall disturb, destroy or take the nest of a migratory bird or have in his or her possession a live migratory bird, or a carcass, skin, nest or egg of a migratory bird, except under the authority of a permit issued by Environment and Climate Change Canada or unless authorized by the Regulations. Possession of firearms or other hunting appliances is prohibited. Dogs and cats must not be allowed to run at large.

Access prohibitions or restrictions by the MBS landowners (private, the Parks Canada Agency, the Province of Ontario and the Corporation of the Village of Merrickville) may also apply.

For more information on entry, activities and permits in MBSs, please visit the Management and Activities section of the Migratory Bird Sanctuaries website. For more information on Environment and Climate Change Canada's protected areas, please contact the regional office.

For greater certainty, nothing in this document shall be construed so as to abrogate or derogate from the protection provided for existing Aboriginal or treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada by the recognition and affirmation of those rights in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

Map of the Area

Long description for the Map

Map showing the location of Rideau Migratory Bird Sanctuary relative to Ontario, Merrickville and the Rideau River. The map shows the boundaries of the sanctuary, which run along the Rideau River and extend inland from both shores. The scale of the map is in tenths of a kilometer.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Rideau MBS can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Summary Table

Summary Table for Rideau Migratory Bird Sanctuary
CategoryInformation
Protected Area designationMigratory Bird Sanctuary
Province or territoryOntario
Latitude/longitude44°54' N, 75°52' W
Size in hectares (ha)752 ha
Date created (Gazetted)1957
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) management categoryN/A
Additional designations
Main habitat typeMarsh (10%), swamp (10%), upland forest (10%), crop and hay land (40%), open water (30%)
Key bird speciesCanada Goose, Mallard, American Black Duck, Blue-winged Teal and Ring-necked Duck
Listed species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)None
Management agencyCanadian Wildlife Service, Ontario Region
LandownersCorporation of the Village of Merrickville, Parks Canada Agency, Province of Ontario and private

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Ontario Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Ecosystem Conservation
4905 Dufferin Street
Toronto ON M3H 5T4
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date modified:

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Rideau

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs | Accès et activités | Carte du refuge | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Canard colvert en vol
Photo : © Thinkstockphotos.ca. Canard colvert en vol.

Le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) de Rideau comprend une section de la rivière Rideau et du canal Rideau (le cours d'eau du canal suit la rivière) qui commence au sein du village de Merrickville (Ontario) et s'étend vers l'ouest, puis vers le sud-ouest sur une distance de 5,6 km par l'eau. La voie navigable est gérée par Parcs Canada et le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario, alors que la zone des hautes terres a différents propriétaires privés et publics.

Dans les 2,4 premiers kilomètres, d'un côté ou de l'autre de la rivière, on trouve de grands marais composés de massettes et de riz sauvage avec des végétations émergentes de feuillus, ainsi que de la végétation immergée, flottant librement et flottante. On trouve des marécages derrière ces zones de marais. Aulnes et mélèzes laricins poussent dans ces sites, et de la mousse et du carex couvrent le sol. Au fur et à mesure que le sol devient moins saturé, on trouve des peuplements denses de thuyas occidentaux.

Le reste de la rivière est ouvert, et on trouve peu de plantes aquatiques submergées. Des massifs dispersés poussent près des rives, lesquelles sont sèches et servent largement à l'aménagement de résidences et de chalets. Le reste de la partie terrestre du refuge est composé de terres agricoles et de boisés en milieu sec privés (érables à sucre, tilleuls d'Amérique et ormes).

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs

Le ROM de Rideau sert de halte migratoire pour la sauvagine en raison de l'abondance de plantes aquatiques qui procurent une couverture végétale et de la nourriture. N'importe quel jour durant la migration d'automne, jusqu'à 1000 Bernaches du Canada et 1000 canards, principalement barboteurs tels que le Canard colvert, le Canard noir et la Sarcelle à ailes bleues, ainsi que le Fuligule à collier, se regroupent dans le refuge. En plus, ce ROM fournit un refuge non perturbé pour la sauvagine se rassemblant sur la rivière Rideau pendant la saison de chasse.

Accès et activités

Les ROM ont pour objet la protection et la conservation des oiseaux migrateurs. Les activités qui pourraient nuire aux oiseaux migrateurs, à leurs nids ou à leurs œufs sont interdites.

Les ROM ont pu, et c'est encore le cas aujourd'hui, être créés sur des terres territoriales, fédérales et privées. Les conditions d'accès aux refuges varient d'un site à l'autre et sont établies par le propriétaire et le gestionnaire des terres.

Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial fédéral, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la gestion et de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs, de leurs nids, de leurs œufs et de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial provincial, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids, tandis que le garde-chasse en chef de la province est responsable de la gestion de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur des terres de propriété privée ou municipale, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids. La gestion de l'habitat est la responsabilité du propriétaire foncier.

Les interdictions générales relatives au Règlement sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs s'appliquent à ce site : à moins de détenir un permis délivré par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ou que la réglementation l'autorise spécifiquement, la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs est interdite et nul ne peut déranger, détruire ou prendre leurs nids, et nul ne peut avoir en sa possession un oiseau migrateur vivant ou mort, ou le nid ou l'œuf d'un oiseau migrateur. La possession d'armes à feu ou d'engin de chasse est interdite et les chiens et les chats ne doivent pas être laissés en liberté.

Des interdictions ou restrictions d'accès imposées par les propriétaires fonciers du ROM (privés, Parcs Canada , la province de l'Ontario et la Corporation of the Village of Merrickville) peuvent également s'appliquer.

Afin d'obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'accès, les activités et les permis dans les ROM, veuillez consulter la section Gestion et activités du site Web Refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. Afin d'obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les aires protégées d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau régional.

Il est entendu que le présent document ne porte pas atteinte à la protection des droits existants - ancestraux ou issus de traités - des peuples autochtones du Canada découlant de leur reconnaissance et de leur confirmation au titre de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

Carte du refuge

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte indiquant l'emplacement du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Rideau par rapport à l'Ontario, à Merrickville et à la rivière Rideau. La carte indique les limites du refuge, qui longent la rivière des Outaouais et s'étendent vers l'intérieur depuis les deux rives. L'échelle de la carte est en dixièmes de kilomètre.

Cette carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne doit pas être utilisée pour définir les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Rideau (en anglais seulement). Notez cependant que Google Maps est une source d'information complémentaire et ne remplace en aucun cas ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Rideau
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRefuge d'oiseaux migrateurs
Province ou territoireOntario
Latitude/longitude44° 54 'N, 75° 52' O
Superficie en hectares (ha)752 ha
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1957
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)N/A
Désignations supplémentaires
Type d'habitat principalMarais (10 %), marécage (10 %), forêts sèches (10 %), terres de cultures et de foin (40 %), eaux libres (30 %)
Espèces clés d'oiseauxBernache du Canada, Canard colvert, Canard noir, Sarcelle à ailes bleues et Fuligule à collier
Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)Aucune
Organisme de gestionService canadien de la faune, région de l'Ontario
Propriétaires des terresCorporation of the Village of Merrickville, Parcs Canada, province de l'Ontario et privés

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - Région de l'Ontario
Service canadien de la faune
Conservation des écosystèmes
4905, rue Dufferin
Toronto (Ontario) M3H 5T4
Sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :