Moose River Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary | Access and Activities | Map of the Area | Summary Table | Contact Information

Lesser Snow Geese in flight
Photo: © Thinkstockphotos.ca. Lesser Snow Geese in flight.

The Moose River Migratory Bird Sanctuary (MBS) is composed of two separate units at the mouth of the Moose River on the southwest side of James Bay. The lands are managed by the Province of Ontario, and the areas below the high-tide mark are managed by the Government of Nunavut. These two areas are Ship Sands Island, located along the west side of the Moose River at its mouth, and a section of mainland on the east side of the river mouth from Arnold Point (Long Point) east to Partridge Creek. The coastal boundary for both units extends 61 m offshore from the normal high-tide mark.

The downstream end (northeast) of Ship Sands Island is divided by numerous tidal creeks. Only a small portion of the extensive tidal mud flats adjoining the island is included within the sanctuary. A flooded sedge marsh begins immediately inland from the mud flats. Many pools containing marsh arrowgrass are scattered throughout this large zone of Carex sp. Along much of the shoreline, bulrush, cattail and compositae are found between the tidal flat and sedge areas.

Inland on the island, on slightly higher ground, the sedge marsh gradually grades into a grassy meadow as the soil becomes less saturated. In much of this zone, willow and alder shrubs are becoming established. Much of the upstream (southwest) half of the island is covered by forest vegetation of varying density. The main tree species present are black spruce, white spruce, tamarack and balsam poplar. Examination of past and current aerial photographs indicates that vegetation succession has been occurring. The forest and shrub zones have been expanding at the expense of sedge marsh areas.

The pattern of vegetation zones in the upstream (southwest) half of Ship Sands Island is similar to that in the downstream half; however, the flats and sedge marsh zones are much narrower. The mainland portion of the Moose River MBS is composed almost entirely of flooded sedge marsh. Tidal mud flats form the northern boundary. To the south, the broad area of sedge grades into willow thicket. In some sections of the coast, a clear distinction between willow and sedge zones is apparent. In others, fingers of willow growth extend into the sedges, while, in many areas, scattered clumps of low willow are isolated from the main zone of willow growth.

Numerous tidal creeks cut back into the MBS, and a number of freshwater creeks cross the MBS and flow into James Bay. The pattern of vegetation present in the MBS is common along most of the James Bay coast. Coastal sedge marsh is bordered on the shore by extensive tidal mud flats and on the inland side by shrub willow/spruce forest. Fens are scattered throughout the forested zones. The habitat types within the MBS are not considered unusual or of critical importance.

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary

The MBS is an important migratory staging area for the Lesser Snow Goose. The geese generally concentrate in the lower part of the Ship Sands Island during the early fall, and gradually shift upstream as the food resources of the lower area are depleted. Many geese remain in the area until ice prevents access to food. During spring, Lesser Snow Geese are most numerous during breakup when sea ice is still solid but streams and river mouths are open. The Snow Geese appear to travel north along the James Bay coast in relatively small groups.

Canada Geese also utilize the MBS, but in much smaller numbers than Lesser Snow Geese. Canada Geese tend to feed along the tide line and therefore do not rely on the coastal marsh zone to the same extent as Lesser Snow Geese. In the spring, Atlantic Brant may stop on the open waters between Arnold Point and Ship Sands Island and at the mouth of the Partridge River.

Dabbling ducks (Northern Pintail, Mallard, Green-winged Teal, American Black Duck) tend to concentrate in the open tidal marshes of the MBS during spring; however, the area is not of particular importance for nesting. Dabbling ducks moult along the whole coast of James Bay in relatively small numbers, and the MBS does not contain an unusually high concentration. During fall migration, the above-noted species of dabbling ducks frequent the coastal marshes and creeks of the MBS.

The Moose River MBS also provides habitat for migrating shorebirds such as yellowlegs and plovers. These birds may be found on tidal mud flats from mid-July until October. The MBS offers a large undisturbed area of tidal flat and coastal marsh, but the extent to which shorebirds depend on this MBS habitat is not known. Staging areas are critical to the survival of shorebirds.

Moose River MBS provides a large, undisturbed feeding and resting area for migrating geese in an area of heavy hunting pressures. Geese likely concentrate in the MBS and stay for an extended period of time because the area is protected. This benefits the geese, which are allowed to feed undisturbed.

Access and Activities

MBSs are established for the protection and conservation of migratory birds. Activities that could harm migratory birds, their nests or their eggs are prohibited.

MBSs can be and have been established on private, provincial, territorial and federally owned lands. Access to each MBS varies by site and is at the discretion of the landowner and land manager.

Where MBSs are located on federal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the management and protection of migratory birds, nests, eggs and habitat. Where MBSs are located on provincial land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests, while the chief game officer of the province is responsible for the management of habitat. Where MBSs are located on private or municipal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests. Habitat management is the responsibility of the landowner.

The standard prohibitions under the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations apply to Moose River MBS: hunting migratory birds is prohibited, and no person shall disturb, destroy or take the nest of a migratory bird or have in his or her possession a live migratory bird, or a carcass, skin, nest or egg of a migratory bird, except under the authority of a permit issued by Environment and Climate Change Canada or unless authorized by the Regulations. Possession of firearms or other hunting appliances is prohibited. Dogs and cats must not be allowed to run at large.

Access prohibitions or restrictions by the MBS landowners (the Province of Ontario, which manages the land, and the Government of Nunavut, which manages the area below the high-tide mark) may also apply.

For more information on entry, activities and permits in MBSs, please visit the Management and Activities section of the Migratory Bird Sanctuaries website. For more information on Environment and Climate Change Canada's protected areas, please contact the regional office.

For greater certainty, nothing in this document shall be construed so as to abrogate or derogate from the protection provided for existing Aboriginal or treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada by the recognition and affirmation of those rights in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

Map of the Area

Long description for the Map

Map showing the location of Moose River Migratory Bird Sanctuary with respect to Ontario, Ominik Creek, Hudson Bay and Moose River. The map shows the boundaries of the sanctuary, which is separated into two sections that cover a small portion of Hudson Bay, extending inland on either side of Moose River. The scale of the map is in tenths of a kilometer.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Moose River MBS can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Summary Table

Summary Table for Moose River Migratory Bird Sanctuary
CategoryInformation
Protected Area designationMigratory Bird Sanctuary
Province or territoryOntario
Latitude/longitude51°20' N, 80°25' W
Size in hectares (ha)2678 ha
Date created (Gazetted)1958
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) management categoryIb - Wilderness Area
Additional designations
Main habitat typeTidal mud flats (10%), coastal marsh (55%), forest interspersed with grassy meadows (35%)
Key bird speciesLesser Snow Goose and Canada Goose
Other speciesBirds: Northern Pintail, Mallard, Green-winged Teal, yellowlegs, plovers, Atlantic Brant and American Black Duck
Listed species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)None
Management agencyCanadian Wildlife Service, Ontario Region
LandownersProvince of Ontario and Government of Nunavut

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Ontario Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Ecosystem Conservation
4905 Dufferin Street
Toronto ON M3H 5T4
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date modified:

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de la rivière Moose

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs | Accès et activités | Carte du refuge | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Petites Oies des neiges en vol
Photo : © Thinkstockphotos.ca. Petites Oies des neiges en vol.

Le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) de la rivière Moose est composé de deux unités distinctes à l'embouchure de la rivière Moose sur le côté sud-ouest de la baie James. Les terres sont gérées par la province de l'Ontario, et les zones situées en dessous de la laisse de marée haute sont gérées par le gouvernement du Nunavut. Ces deux régions sont l'île Ship Sands, située le long du côté ouest de la rivière Moose à son embouchure, et une section continentale sur le côté est de l'embouchure de la rivière à partir d'Arnold Point (Long Point) à l'est de Partridge Creek. Les limites côtières pour les deux unités s'étendent à 61 mètres au large, à partir de la laisse normale de marée haute.

De nombreux ruisseaux de marée divisent l'extrémité en aval de l'île (nord-est) Ship Sands. Seule une petite portion des vastes vasières intertidales voisines de l'île fait partie du refuge. Un marais à carex inondé commence immédiatement à l'intérieur des vasières. De nombreux bassins contenant du troscart de marais sont répartis tout le long de cette grande zone d'espèces de Carex. Le long de la majeure partie du rivage, on trouve des massettes, des quenouilles et des astéracées entre l'estran et les zones de carex.

À l'intérieur des terres sur l'île, sur des terres légèrement plus élevées, le marais à carex laisse progressivement place à un pré herbeux à mesure que le sol devient moins saturé. Dans une bonne partie de cette zone, les saules et les aulnes commencent à être établis. Une bonne partie de la moitié située en amont (sud-ouest) de l'île est recouverte par de la végétation forestière de densité variable. Les principales espèces d'arbres présentes sont l'épinette noire, l'épinette blanche, le mélèze laricin et le peuplier baumier. Un examen des photographies aériennes passées et actuelles indique que le processus de succession végétale a eu lieu. Les zones de forêts et d'arbustes se sont étendues aux dépens des zones de marais à carex.

La tendance relative aux zones de végétation dans la moitié située en amont (sud-ouest) de l'île Ship Sands est similaire à celle de la moitié située en aval; toutefois, les zones de battures et de marais à carex sont beaucoup plus étroites. La partie continentale du ROM de la rivière Moose est composée presque entièrement de marais à carex inondés. Des vasières intertidales forment la limite nord. Vers le sud, la vaste zone de carex laisse progressivement place à des bosquets de saules. Dans certaines sections de la côte, on distingue clairement les zones de saules et de carex. Dans d'autres sections, des bandes de saules s'étendent dans les carex, tandis que, dans de nombreuses zones, des massifs dispersés de saules sont isolés de la zone principale de croissance des saules.

De nombreux ruisseaux de marée s'insèrent de nouveau dans le ROM, et un certain nombre de ruisseaux d'eau douce traversent le ROM et se jettent dans la baie James. La configuration de la végétation présente dans le ROM est répandue le long de la majeure partie de la côte de la baie James. Le marais à carex côtier est bordé sur la rive par de vastes vasières intertidales et sur le côté continental par une forêt d'arbustes composée de saules et d'épinettes. Les fens sont éparpillés dans l'ensemble des zones forestières. Les types d'habitats au sein du ROM ne sont pas considérés comme étant inhabituels ou d'une importance capitale.

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs

Le ROM est une importante halte migratoire pour la Petite oie des neiges. En général, les oies se rassemblent dans la partie inférieure de l'île Ship Sands au début de l'automne et se dirigent progressivement en amont lorsque les ressources alimentaires de la partie inférieure diminuent. De nombreuses oies demeurent dans la zone jusqu'à ce que la glace les empêche d'accéder à la nourriture. Au printemps, on rencontre le plus grand nombre de Petites Oies des neiges pendant la débâcle lorsque la glace de mer est toujours solide, mais lorsque les cours d'eau et les embouchures de rivières sont ouverts. Les Oies des neiges semblent se déplacer vers le nord le long de la côte de la baie James en groupes relativement petits.

Les Bernaches du Canada utilisent également le ROM, mais en nombre bien plus faible que les Petites Oies des neiges. Les Bernaches du Canada ont tendance à se nourrir le long de la ligne de marée et, par conséquent, ne dépendent pas autant de la zone de marais côtier que les Petites Oies des neiges. Au printemps, la Bernache cravant à ventre pâle peut s'arrêter sur les eaux libres entre Arnold Point et l'île Ship Sands et à l'embouchure de la rivière Partridge.

Les canards barboteurs (Canard pilet, Canard colvert, Sarcelle d'hiver, Canard noir) ont tendance à se concentrer dans les marais littoraux ouverts du ROM au cours du printemps; toutefois, le secteur n'est pas d'une importance particulière pour la nidification. Les canards barboteurs muent le long de toute la côte de la baie James en quantités relativement faibles, et le ROM n'en contient pas une concentration anormalement élevée. Au cours de la migration d'automne, les espèces de canards barboteurs susmentionnées fréquentent les marais côtiers et les ruisseaux du ROM.

Le ROM de la rivière Moose offre également un habitat pour les oiseaux de rivage migrateurs, tels que les chevaliers et les pluviers. On peut rencontrer ces oiseaux sur les vasières intertidales de la mi-juillet jusqu'en octobre. Le ROM offre une grande zone non perturbée d'estran et de marais côtiers, mais on ne sait pas dans quelle mesure les oiseaux de rivage dépendent de l'habitat de ce ROM. Les aires de repos sont essentielles à la survie des oiseaux de rivage.

Le ROM de la rivière Moose fournit une grande zone non perturbée d'alimentation et de repos pour les oies migratrices dans une zone de fortes pressions de chasse. Il est probable que les oies se concentrent dans le ROM et restent pour une longue période de temps parce que la zone est protégée. Les oies en bénéficient et peuvent ainsi se nourrir sans être dérangées.

Accès et activités

Les ROM ont pour objet la protection et la conservation des oiseaux migrateurs. Les activités qui pourraient nuire aux oiseaux migrateurs, à leurs nids ou à leurs œufs sont interdites.

Les ROM ont pu, et c'est encore le cas aujourd'hui, être créés sur des terres territoriales, fédérales et privées. Les conditions d'accès aux refuges varient d'un site à l'autre et sont établies par le propriétaire et le gestionnaire des terres.

Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial fédéral, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la gestion et de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs, de leurs nids, de leurs œufs et de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial provincial, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids, tandis que le garde-chasse en chef de la province est responsable de la gestion de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur des terres de propriété privée ou municipale, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids et la gestion de l'habitat relève du propriétaire des terres.

Les interdictions générales relatives au Règlement sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs s'appliquent à ce site : à moins de détenir un permis délivré par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ou que la réglementation l'autorise spécifiquement, la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs est interdite et nul ne peut déranger, détruire ou prendre leurs nids, et nul ne peut avoir en sa possession un oiseau migrateur vivant ou mort, ou le nid ou l'œuf d'un oiseau migrateur. La possession d'armes à feu ou d'engin de chasse est interdite et les chiens et les chats ne doivent pas être laissés en liberté.

Des interdictions ou restrictions d'accès imposées par les propriétaires fonciers du ROM (la province de l'Ontario, qui gère les terres; et le gouvernement du Nunavut, qui gère la zone située en dessous de la laisse de marée haute) peuvent aussi s'appliquer.

Afin d'obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'accès, les activités et les permis dans les ROM, veuillez consulter la section Gestion et activités du site Web Refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. Afin d'obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les aires protégées d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau régional.

Il est entendu que le présent document ne porte pas atteinte à la protection des droits existants -- ancestraux ou issus de traités -- des peuples autochtones du Canada découlant de leur reconnaissance et de leur confirmation au titre de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

Carte du refuge

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte indiquant l'emplacement du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de la rivière Moose par rapport à l'Ontario, à Ominik Creek, à la baie d'Hudson et à la rivière Moose. La carte indique les limites du refuge, qui est divisé en deux zones qui couvrent une petite partie de la baie d'Hudson, s'étendant vers l'intérieur depuis les deux côtés de la rivière. L'échelle de la carte est en dixièmes de kilomètre.

Cette carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne doit pas être utilisée pour définir les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de la rivière Moose (en anglais seulement). Notez cependant que Google Maps est une source d'information complémentaire et ne remplace en aucun cas ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de la rivière Moose
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRefuge d'oiseaux migrateurs
Province ou territoireOntario
Latitude/longitude51° 20' N, 80° 25' O
Superficie en hectares (ha)2 678 ha
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1958
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)Ib - Zone de nature sauvage
Désignations supplémentaires
Type d'habitat principalVasières intertidales (10 %), marais côtiers (55 %), forêt parsemée de prairies herbeuses (35 %)
Espèces clés d'oiseauxPetite Oie des neiges, Bernache du Canada,
Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)Aucune
Autres espècesOiseaux : Canard Pilet, Canard colvert, Sarcelle d'hiver, Chevaliers, Pluviers, Bernache cravant à ventre pâle et Canard noir
Organisme de gestionService canadien de la faune, région de l'Ontario
Propriétaire des terresProvince de l'Ontario et gouvernement du Nunavut

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - Région de l'Ontario
Service canadien de la faune
Conservation des écosystèmes
4905, rue Dufferin
Toronto (Ontario) M3H 5T4
Sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :