Chantry Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary | Access and Activities | Map of the Area | Summary Table | Contact Information

Chantry Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary: landscape
Photo: Doug Sweiger © Environment and Climate Change Canada. Chantry Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary: landscape.

Chantry Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary (MBS) is located in Lake Huron, about 1 km offshore from the town of Southampton. The island is owned by the Department of Fisheries and Oceans and has been leased to the Municipality of Saugeen Shores. The island itself is approximately 18 ha in size, but the MBS boundary extends 183 m offshore from the normal high-water mark. At that offshore boundary, the water depth is about 20 m.

The east side of Chantry Island consists of a beach ridge fronted by a cobblestone beach 7 m in width. The ridge is approximately 3 m high and extends the full north-south length of the island. Smaller ridges are oriented perpendicular to this main ridge and run toward the west side of the island.

The main beach ridge is densely vegetated with black willow, poplar, basswood, some maple, choke cherry, red elderberry and red-osier dogwood. To the west of the lighthouse, and on ground slightly lower than the beach ridge, a dense growth of white ash projects to the west, while some red oaks are also present here. An eastern white cedar/tamarack complex is located on the north side of this predominantly ash bush. The low ridges that run east-west are sparsely treed.

The west side of the island is flat and consists of several rocky bays and ponds. These open areas grade into a wet meadow zone that appears to be flooded regularly by wind tides. The wet meadow, composed of sedges and grasses, slopes gently to the east where it merges with the treed zone. Dense growths of lilacs are found around the lighthouse and the two old stone buildings. Herbaceous cover on the beach ridge includes clintonia, wild cucumber, herb Robert and grasses.

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Chantry Island was originally proposed as an MBS because of its gull and heron colonies. At that time, Herring Gulls were likely the most common nesting bird; however, as is the case in most of the Great Lakes, the Ring-billed Gull population has increased substantially, and the population size has surpassed that of the Herring Gulls. The most recent surveys of nesting birds found nests of 201 Herring Gulls, 40 Great Egrets, 6 Great Blue Herons and 1000 Double-crested Cormorants; Ring-billed Gull nests were not counted but were numerous.

The wet meadow zone and the shallow ponds and bays on the west side of Chantry Island are utilized by nesting waterfowl and migrating shorebirds.

Access and Activities

MBSs are established for the protection and conservation of migratory birds. Activities that could harm migratory birds, their nests or their eggs are prohibited.

MBSs can be and have been established on private, provincial, territorial and federally owned lands. Access to each MBS varies by site and is at the discretion of the landowner and land manager.

Where MBSs are located on federal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the management and protection of migratory birds, nests, eggs and habitat. Where MBSs are located on provincial land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests, while the chief game officer of the province is responsible for the management of habitat. Where MBSs are located on private or municipal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests. Habitat management is the responsibility of the landowner.

The standard prohibitions under the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations apply to Chantry Island MBS: hunting migratory birds is prohibited, and no person shall disturb, destroy or take the nest of a migratory bird or have in his or her possession a live migratory bird, or a carcass, skin, nest or egg of a migratory bird, except under the authority of a permit issued by Environment and Climate Change Canada or unless authorized by the Regulations. Possession of firearms or other hunting appliances is prohibited. Dogs and cats must not be allowed to run at large.

Access to the island during the bird breeding season is limited through an agreement between Environment and Climate Change Canada and the Marine Heritage Society, which provides guided tours of the restored lighthouse structures.

Other access prohibitions or restrictions by the MBS landowner (Municipality of Saugeen Shores) may also apply.

For more information on entry, activities and permits in MBSs, please visit the Management and Activities section of the Migratory Bird Sanctuaries website. For more information on Environment and Climate Change Canada's protected areas, please contact the regional office.

For greater certainty, nothing in this document shall be construed so as to abrogate or derogate from the protection provided for existing Aboriginal or treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada by the recognition and affirmation of those rights in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

Map of the Area

Long description for the Map

Map showing the location of Chantry Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary relative to Ontario, Southhampton, McNab Point, Chantry Island, Saugeen River and Lake Huron. The map shows the boundaries of the sanctuary, which covers Chantry Island as well as a small amount of surrounding water. The scale of the map is in hundreds of meters.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Chantry Island MBS can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Summary Table

Summary Table for Chantry Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary
CategoryInformation
Protected Area designationMigratory Bird Sanctuary
Province or territoryOntario
Latitude/longitude44°29' N, 81°24' W
Size in hectares (ha)18 ha
Date created (Gazetted)1957
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN)management categoryIa - Strict Nature Reserve
Additional designationsChantry Island Important Bird Area
Main habitat typeBeach (3%), woodland (hardwood, some cedar) (10%), open ponds and bays (3%), wet meadow (17%), open lake (67%)
Key bird speciesHerring Gull, Ring-billed Gull, Black-crowned Night-Heron, Great Blue Heron, Double-crested Cormorant and Great Egret
Listed species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)None
Management agencyCanadian Wildlife Service, Ontario Region
LandownersDepartment of Fisheries and Oceans, Province of Ontario, and Municipality of Saugeen Shores

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Ontario Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Ecosystem Conservation
4905 Dufferin Street
Toronto ON M3H 5T4
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date modified:

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'île Chantry

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs | Accès et activités | Carte du refuge | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'île Chantry – Paysage
Photo : Doug Sweiger © Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'île Chantry : Paysage.

Le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) de l'île Chantry est situé dans le lac Huron, à environ 1 km au large des côtes de la ville de Southampton. L'île appartient à Pêches et Océans Canada et a été louée à la municipalité de Saugeen Shores. L'île elle-même a une superficie d'à peu près 18 hectares, mais la limite du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs s'étend jusqu'à 183 mètres de la rive à partir de la ligne normale des hautes eaux. À cette limite au large des côtes, la profondeur de l'eau est d'environ 20 mètres.

Le côté est de l'île Chantry est composé d'une crête de plage devant laquelle se trouve une plage de galets de 7 mètres de largeur. La crête est d'environ 3 mètres de haut et s'étend sur toute la longueur nord-sud de l'île. Des crêtes plus petites sont orientées perpendiculairement à la crête principale et traversent le côté ouest de l'île.

La principale crête de plage est densément végétalisée avec des saules noirs, des peupliers, des tilleuls d'Amérique, des érables, des cerisiers de Virginie, des sureaux rouges, et des cornouillers stolonifères. À l'ouest du phare et sur un sol légèrement inférieur à la crête de plage, on trouve une dense population de frênes blancs d'Amérique vers l'ouest ainsi que des chênes rouges. Un complexe de thuyas occidentaux et de mélèzes laricins est situé sur le côté nord de cette frênaie (principalement). Les crêtes inférieures qui s'étendent d'est en ouest sont faiblement arborées.

Le côté ouest de l'île est plat et est composé de plusieurs baies rocheuses et étangs. Ces aires ouvertes sont en pente et sont limitées par une zone de prairie humide qui semble être inondée régulièrement par la montée de niveau due au vent. La prairie humide, composée de carex et graminées, est légèrement inclinée vers l'est où elle se mêle à la zone arborée. De denses populations de lilas se trouvent autour du phare et des deux anciens bâtiments en pierre. La couverture herbacée sur la crête de plage comprend des clintonies, des concombres sauvages, des géraniums de Robert, et des graminées.

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs

L'île Chantry a été initialement proposée comme refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs en raison de ses colonies de goélands et de hérons. À cette période, les Goélands argentés étaient les oiseaux y nichant le plus régulièrement, cependant, comme c'est le cas dans la plupart des Grands Lacs, la population de Goélands à bec cerclé a connu une très forte croissance, et la taille de la population a dépassé celle du Goéland argenté. Les relevés les plus récents d'oiseaux nicheurs indiquent 201 nids de Goélands argentés, 40 nids de Grandes aigrettes, 6 nids de Grands Hérons et 1000 nids de Cormorans à aigrettes; les nids de Goélands à bec cerclé n'ont pas été pris en compte, mais étaient nombreux.

La zone de prairie humide, les étangs peu profonds et les baies du côté ouest de l'île Chantry sont utilisés par des espèces de sauvagine nicheuse et des oiseaux de rivage migrateurs.

Accès et activités

Les ROM ont pour objet la protection et la conservation des oiseaux migrateurs. Les activités qui pourraient nuire aux oiseaux migrateurs, à leurs nids ou à leurs œufs sont interdites.

Les ROM ont pu, et c'est encore le cas aujourd'hui, être créés sur des terres territoriales, fédérales et privées. Les conditions d'accès aux refuges varient d'un site à l'autre et sont établies par le propriétaire et le gestionnaire des terres.

Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial fédéral, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la gestion et de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs, de leurs nids, de leurs œufs et de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial provincial, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids, tandis que le garde-chasse en chef de la province est responsable de la gestion de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur des terres de propriété privée ou municipale, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids et la gestion de l'habitat relève du propriétaire des terres.

Les interdictions générales relatives au Règlement sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs s'appliquent au refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'Île Chantry: à moins de détenir un permis délivré par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ou que la réglementation l'autorise spécifiquement, la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs est interdite et nul ne peut déranger, détruire ou prendre leurs nids, et nul ne peut avoir en sa possession un oiseau migrateur vivant ou mort, ou le nid ou l'œuf d'un oiseau migrateur. La possession d'armes à feu ou d'engin de chasse est interdite et les chiens et les chats ne doivent pas être laissés en liberté.

L'accès à l'île est restreint durant la saison de reproduction des oiseaux par une entente entre Environnement et Changement climatique Canada et la Marine Heritage Society (en anglais seulement), qui offre des visites guidées de site du phare restauré.

D'autres interdictions ou restrictions d'accès imposées par le propriétaire foncier du ROM (municipalité de Saugeen Shores (en anglais seulement)) peuvent également s'appliquer.

Afin d'obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'accès, les activités et les permis dans les ROM, veuillez consulter la section Gestion et activités du site Web Refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. Afin d'obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les aires protégées d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau régional.

Il est entendu que le présent document ne porte pas atteinte à la protection des droits existants -- ancestraux ou issus de traités -- des peuples autochtones du Canada découlant de leur reconnaissance et de leur confirmation au titre de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

Carte du refuge

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte du Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'île Chantry par rapport à l'Ontario, à Southampton, à la pointe McNab, à l'île Chantry, à la rivière Saugeen et au lac Huron. La carte indique les limites du refuge, qui couvre l'île Chantry ainsi qu'une petite partie des eaux environnantes. L'échelle de la carte est en centaines de mètres.

Cette carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne doit pas être utilisée pour définir les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'île Chantry (en anglais seulement). Notez cependant que Google Maps est une source d'information complémentaire et ne remplace en aucun cas ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'île Chantry
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRefuge d'oiseaux migrateurs
Province ou territoireOntario
Latitude ou longitude44° 29 'N, 81° 24' O
Superficie en hectares (ha)18 ha
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1957
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)Ia - Réserve naturelle intégrale
Désignations supplémentairesZone importante pour la conservation des oiseaux de l'île Chantry
Type d'habitat principalPlage (3 %), forêt (bois dur et quelques cèdres) (10 %), étangs ouverts et baies (3 %), prairie humide (17 %), lac ouvert (67 %)
Espèces clés d'oiseauxGoéland argenté, Goéland à bec cerclé, Bihoreau gris , Grand Héron, Cormoran à aigrettes et Grande aigrette
Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)Aucune
Organisme de gestionService canadien de la faune, région de l'Ontario
Propriétaires des terresPêches et Océans Canada, province de l'Ontario et municipalité de Saugeen Shores

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - Région de l'Ontario
Service canadien de la faune
Conservation des écosystèmes
4905, rue Dufferin
Toronto (Ontario) M3H 5T4
Sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :