Standards and performance for Wildlife Area Regulations permits

Quality and predictability of service are legitimate expectations of Canadians when interacting with the Government of Canada. A public commitment to a measurable level of performance that clients can expect under normal circumstances (i.e., regular day-to-day operations) is referred to as a service standard.

Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC) issues a high-volume of regulatory authorizations (in the form of permits) under numerous acts and regulations. Service standards are integral to good client service and are important for effective management of performance. They help to clarify expectations (both internally and externally), drive improvement to services being provided and contribute to results-based management. In November 2013, ECCC first published service standards and performance indicators for priority and high-volume permit types. ECCC then committed to establishing service standards and performance indicators for all remaining wildlife permits in March 2014, including requests for authorization to undertake certain activities within a National Wildlife Area (NWA) issued under the Wildlife Area Regulations.

Service standards

A decision on whether the Minister will issue or refuse a permit under the Wildlife Area Regulations will be provided within the following time frame:

When incomplete applications are received, ECCC will notify the applicant and the time limit will be "paused" or "suspended" until all missing information is received. Additionally, where a National Wildlife Area Permit application involves activities that may affect a species protected by the Species at Risk Act (SARA), a 90-day service standard will apply in order to ensure consistency with the Permits Authorizing an Activity Affecting Listed Wildlife Species Regulations under SARA.

Tools to assist applicants in completing their applications for National Wildlife Area permits will be developed and published shortly. ECCC will ensure timely communication with applicants with regard to any missing information required for the assessment of their applications.

Performance target for National Wildlife Area permits

Performance information

Service performance for permits issued under the Wildlife Area Regulations is measured annually. Nationally during fiscal year 2016-17, ECCC issued 247 National Wildlife Area permits.  Statistics relating to processing times for the issuance of these permits are provided in the following tables:

Performance Information Statistics - National Wildlife Area Permits
YearsTargetResults
2014-201580% of permits issued in 40 days

80% of permits issued within 11 days

96% of permits issued within 40 days

2015-201685% of permits issued within 40 days

85% of permits issued within 13 days

98% of permits issued within 40 days

2016-201790% of permits issued within 40 days

90% of permits issued within 24 days

96% of permits issued within 40 days

2017-201890% of permits issued within 40 days

Performance data to be provided by June 1st , 2018

Performance data to be provided by June 1st , 2018

Service feedback

Any feedback on these service standards, or on any issue related to Canadian Wildlife Service permits, should be directed to ec.permisscf-cwspermit.ec@canada.ca.

Applying for a National Wildlife Area permits

For submitting an application for a permit under the Wildlife Area Regulations, please contact your regional Canadian Wildlife Service office listed on the Contact Information web page or email ec.permisscf-cwspermit.ec@canada.ca.

For more information

To learn about upcoming or ongoing consultations on proposed federal regulations, visit the Canada Gazette and Consulting with Canadians websites.

Date modified:

Normes et rendement pour les permis en vertu du Règlement sur les réserves d’espèces sauvages

La qualité et la prévisibilité du service constituent des attentes légitimes des Canadiens lorsqu'ils interagissent avec le gouvernement du Canada. Un engagement public envers un niveau mesurable de rendement auquel les clients peuvent s'attendre dans les circonstances normales (c.-à-d. des opérations quotidiennes régulières) constitue une norme de service.

Les normes de service font partie intégrante d'un bon service à la clientèle et sont importantes pour une gestion efficace du rendement. Elles aident à clarifier les attentes (aussi bien à l'interne qu'à l'externe), stimulent les améliorations apportées aux services fournis et contribuent à la gestion basée sur les résultats. Un volume élevé d'autorisations réglementaires (sous forme de permis) est délivré annuellement par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (ECCC) aux termes du Règlement sur les réserves d'espèces sauvages. En novembre 2013, ECCC a pour la première fois publié des normes de service et des indicateurs de rendement pour les permis prioritaires et ceux de volume élevé. ECCC s'est ensuite engagé à établir des normes de service et des indicateurs de rendement pour tous les autres permis de la faune en mars 2014, incluant les demandes d'autorisation pour entreprendre certaines activités dans une réserve nationale de la faune (RNF) délivrés en vertu du Règlement sur les réserves d'espèces sauvages.

Normes de services

La Ministre décidera de délivrer ou de refuser de délivrer un permis en vertu du Règlement sur les réserves d'espèces sauvages selon les échéanciers suivants :

Lorsque des demandes incomplètes sont reçues, ECCC avertit le demandeur et le délai est « mis en attente » ou « suspendu » jusqu'à ce que tous les renseignements manquants soient fournis. De plus, lorsqu'une demande de permis faite pour une réserve nationale de faune implique des activités qui pourraient toucher des espèces protégés par la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP), la norme de service applicable sera de 90 jours afin d'assurer la cohérence avec le Règlement sur les permis autorisant une activité touchant une espèce sauvage inscrite pris en vertu de la LEP.

Des outils visant à aider les demandeurs à effectuer leurs demandes de permis pour une réserve nationale de faune seront établis et publiés sous peu. ECCC assurera une communication opportune avec les demandeurs en ce qui a trait à tout renseignement manquant requis pour l'évaluation de leur demande.

Cible de rendement des permis délivrés pour les réserves nationales de faune

Renseignements sur le rendement

Le rendement du service sur les permis délivrés en vertu du Règlement sur les réserves d’espèces sauvages est mesuré de façon annuelle. Pendant l'exercice financier 2016-2017 ECCC a délivré, à l'échelle nationale, 247 permis pour les réserves nationales de faune. Les statistiques par rapport aux délais de traitement pour la délivrance de ces permis sont fournies dans les tableaux suivants :

Statistiques sur le rendement – Permis délivrés pour les réserves nationales de faune
AnnéesCibleRésultat
2014-201580% des permis sont délivrés dans 40 jours ou moins

80% des permis ont été délivrés dans 11 jours ou moins

96% des permis ont été délivrés dans 40 jours ou moins

2015-201685% des permis sont délivrés dans 40 jours ou moins

85% des permis ont été délivrés dans 13 jours ou moins

98% des permis ont été délivrés dans 40 jours ou moins

2016-201790% des permis sont délivrés dans 40 jours ou moins

90% des permis ont été délivrés dans 24 jours ou moins

96% des permis ont été délivrés dans 40 jours ou moins

2017-201890% des permis sont délivrés dans 40 jours ou moins

Renseignements sur le rendement seront fournis au plus tard le 1er juin 2018

Renseignements sur le rendement seront fournis au plus tard le 1er juin 2018

Commentaires sur les normes de service

Tout commentaire sur ces normes de service ou sur toute question liée aux permis du Service canadien de la faune doit être adressé à ec.permisscf-cwspermit.ec@canada.ca.

Demande de permis pour une réserve nationale de faune

Pour toute demande de permis délivrés en vertu du Règlement sur les réserves d’espèces sauvages veuillez communiquer avec votre bureau régional du Service canadien de la faune indiqué sur le site à la page des Ressources ou envoyez-nous un courriel à l'adresse ec.permisscf-cwspermit.ec@canada.ca.

Pour plus d'information

Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant les consultations actuelles ou à venir sur les projets de règlement fédéraux, veuillez consulter la Gazette du Canada ou le site Web Consultations auprès des Canadiens.

Date de modification :