New Brunswick

In New Brunswick, approximately 0.23 million hectares (3.1% of the province as of 2010) are designated as protected. Environment and Climate Change Canada maintains 8 protected areas in New Brunswick, including 5 National Wildlife Areas (NWAs) and 3 Migratory Bird Sanctuaries (MBSs), comprising over 7 thousand hectares of the province's protected lands and waters.

Map of Environment and Climate Change Canada's Protected Areas in New Brunswick

Map showing the number of protected areas in New Brunswick. (2) Inkerman MBS (1) Grand Manan MBS (3) Machias Seal Island MBS (3) Portobello Creek NWA (2) Portage Island NWA (4) Shepody NWA (5) Tintamarre NWA (1) Cape Jourimain NWA

Long description for the Map

Map showing the number of Environment and Climate Change Canada's protected areas in New Brunswick, a total of 8 divided among 5 National Wildlife Areas (NWAs) and 3 Migratory Bird Sanctuaries (MBSs).

Learn more about New Brunswick...

List of Protected Areas in New Brunswick

The tables below contain information about the NWAs and MBSs shown on the map above. In addition to the name, year of establishment, and size of each protected area, the tables indicate how these sites fit into national and international networks of conservation areas. The following entities may be noted:

Ramsar: Wetland of International Importance

Important Bird Area (IBA)

Western Hemisphere Shorebird Reserve Network (WHSRN)

Biosphere reserve of the The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) Man and Biosphere Programme (MAB)

National Wildlife Areas

New Brunswick
NWA NameYear establishedSize in hectares
Cape Jourimain NWA1980654
Portage Island NWA1979349
Portobello Creek NWA19952,154
Shepody NWA19801,018
Tintamarre NWA19771,638

Migratory Bird Sanctuaries

New Brunswick
MBS NameYear establishedSize in hectares
Grand Manan MBS1931433
Inkerman MBS199816
Machias Seal Island MBS19441,046

Access and Permitting

Although access to NWAs is not restricted, the primary purpose of these areas is to protect and conserve wildlife and their habitats, and therefore most NWAs are not equipped with facilities to accommodate public visitation. Unless otherwise posted, all recreational activities are prohibited within NWAs.

Although access to most MBSs is not restricted either, the primary intent of these sanctuaries is to protect migratory birds, and therefore hunting, as well as disturbing or molesting migratory birds, their eggs, nests or habitat, is prohibited.

A permit may be obtained from the Minister of the Environment authorizing the conduct of certain activities in an NWA or MBS, if the Minister or delegate is of the opinion that the proposed activity:

  • will not interfere with the conservation of wildlife; or
  • is consistent with the purpose for which the protected area was established; and
  • is consistent with the management plan for the protected area.

Contact Information

Additional information on entry, prohibited activities and permits in Environment and Climate Change Canada's protected areas is provided on the Management and Activities web pages of the NWAs and MBSs. For more information on Environment and Climate Change Canada's protected areas in New Brunswick, please contact the regional Environment and Climate Change Canada office:  

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Atlantic Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas and Stewardship
17 Waterfowl Lane
Sackville, New Brunswick (NB)
E4L 4N1
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca

Top of Page

Date modified:

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Nouveau-Brunswick

Au Nouveau-Brunswick, environ 0,23 millions d'hectares de terrain (3,1 % de la province en 2010) sont protégés. Environnement Canada régit 8 aires protégées au Nouveau-Brunswick, soit 5 réserves nationales de faune (RNF) et 3 refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM), lesquels totalisent plus de 7 milles hectares des terres et eaux protégées de la province.

Carte des aires protégées d'Environnement Canada au Nouveau-Brunswick

Carte les aires protégées dans la province du Nouveau-Brunswick. (2) ROM d'Inkerman (1) ROM de Grand Manan (3) ROM de l'Île Machias Seal (3) RNF de Portobello Creek (2) RNF de l'Île Portage (4) RNF de Shepody (5) RNF de Tintamarre (1) RNF de Cap-Jourimain

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte géographique montrant les aires protégées d’Environnement Canada dans la province du Nouveau-Brunswick totalisant 8, lesquelles sont divisées en 5 réserves nationales de faune (RNF) et 3 refuges d’oiseaux migrateurs (ROM).

National Wildlife Areas
Réserves nationales de faune (5)

Migratory Bird Sanctuaries
Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs (3)

Liste des aires protégées au Nouveau-Brunswick

Les tableaux ci-dessous renferment des renseignements sur les RNF et les ROM illustrés sur la carte qui précède. En plus de fournir le nom, l'année d'établissement et la taille de chacune des aires protégées, les tableaux indiquent comment ces sites s’intègrent à certains réseaux d’aires de conservation nationaux et internationaux. Les entités suivantes peuvent être mentionnées:

Ramsar : Zones humides d'importance internationale
ZICO : Zone importante pour la conservation des oiseaux
RRORHO : Réseau de réserves pour les oiseaux de rivage de l’hémisphère occidental (en anglais seulement)
MAB : Réserve de la biosphère du Programme sur l'homme et la biosphère de l'UNESCO

Ce tableau fournit l'information sur les réserves nationales de faune. Elle fournit le nom de la réserve, l'année de création, la taille en hectares et des notes.

Réserves nationales de faune
No.NomAnnée de créationTaille en hectaresNotes
1RNF de Cap-Jourimain1980662-
2RNF de l'Île Portage1979349-
3RNF de Portobello Creek19952 154
4RNF de Shepody19801 069
5RNF de Tintamarre19771 941-
-Total:-6 175-

Ce tableau fournit l'information sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. Elle fournit le nom du refuge, l'année de création, la taille en hectares et des notes.

Refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs
No.NomAnnée de créationTaille en hectaresNotes
1ROM de Grand Manan1931433
2ROM d'Inkerman199816
3ROM de l'Île Machias Seal19441 046
-Total:-1 495-

 

Accès et obtention de permis

Bien que l'accès aux RNF ne soit pas restreint, ces endroits visent la protection et la conservation des espèces sauvages et de leurs habitats. Par conséquent, la plupart des RNF ne disposent pas d’installations pour recevoir les visiteurs. À moins d’avis contraires affichés, toute activité récréative est interdite dans les RNF.

Bien que l'accès à la plupart des ROM ne soit pas non plus restreint, ces refuges visent avant tout la protection des oiseaux migrateurs. Par conséquent, il est interdit de chasser les oiseaux migrateurs, de les déranger ou de les maltraiter, ainsi que de malmener leurs œufs, leurs nids ou leur habitat.

Il est possible d'obtenir, auprès du ministre de l'Environnement, un permis autorisant la tenue de certaines activités dans une RNF ou un ROM, si le ministre ou un délégué estime que l'activité proposée :

  • ne nuira en rien à la conservation des espèces sauvages; ou
  • est conforme aux objectifs pour lesquels l'aire protégée a été établie; et
  • est conforme au plan directeur de l'aire protégée.

Coordonnées

Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements sur l'accès, les activités interdites et l’obtention de permis pour les aires protégées d'Environnement Canada, visitez la section Gestion et activités des pages Web des réserves nationales de faune et des refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. Pour en savoir plus sur les aires protégées d'Environnement Canada au Nouveau-Brunswick, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau régional du Ministère:

Environnement Canada – Région de l'Atlantique
Service canadien de la faune
Aires protégées et intendance
17, rue Waterfowl
Sackville (Nouveau-Brunswick)
E4L 4N1
Ligne sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca