Akimiski Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary | Access and Activities | Map of the Area | Summary Table | Contact Information

Group of Lesser Snow Geese  picture
Photo: © Credence Wood. Lesser Snow Geese.

Akimiski Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary (MBS) is situated adjacent to the west coast of James Bay, with the closest community being Attawapiskat in Ontario, approximately 80 km west of the MBS. Akimiski Island is the largest island located in James Bay. Like all islands in James Bay and Hudson Bay, Akimiski is part of Nunavut. The MBS comprises about two thirds of the terrestrial island portion as well as a marine portion extending 10 km offshore in James Bay. It has a steep south shore and a gently sloping north shore with extensive mud flats and coastal marsh. These fertile flats, which support dense stands of grass and sedge, become narrower along the northeast shore where willows fringe the sedge marsh. From the north shore, sedge fens with numerous hummocks or frost palsas extend inland. Muskeg occurs from the top of the south bank as far north as the sedge meadows. The southeastern part of the island near Cape Duncan is characterized by sedge flats and open ponds. Several small islands occur offshore from Cape Duncan. Offshore waters here contain eelgrass beds. The coastal marshes interspersed with beach ridges, extensive mud flats and eelgrass beds make the MBS attractive to migratory birds during the spring and autumn migrations as well as during the breeding season.

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Historically, up to 250 000 Lesser Snow Geese and several thousand Cackling Geese, which breed on Baffin Island, used the MBS during spring and fall migrations. More recently, fewer than 20 000 Lesser Snow Geese have been recorded in spring. About 1 000–2 000 pairs of Lesser Snow Geese nest in the coastal marsh and in the sedge-willow fringe at the edge of the sedge meadow along the northern coast, extending west of the MBS boundary. Canada Geese from the Southern James Bay population nest throughout the island, with highest densities on coastal marsh near the willow fringe, but also on the permafrost hummocks and spruce islands in the inland sedge fens. These habitats of short grasses and sedges provide brood-rearing areas that are important for growing goslings. Other waterfowl that use the sanctuary for nesting, moulting and/or staging are American Black Duck, Mallard, Northern Pintail, Green-winged Teal, Ring-necked Duck, Black Scoter and Red-breasted Merganser. Atlantic Brant are also abundant each spring, their numbers having been estimated at about 10 000.

Common Eider, Herring Gull and Arctic Tern nest on the small islands near Cape Duncan. Large numbers of Black Scoter (approximately 20 000–30 000, primarily males) congregate off the northeastern and southeastern coastline of the island for wing feather moult during late summer. Although the northwest and north coast of the island (which is not within the MBS) are considered the most important areas for shorebirds, large concentrations of over 20 species of migrant shorebirds also use the MBS and other coastal areas on the island. Semipalmated and White-rumped Sandpipers are particularly abundant migrants. Small numbers of Marbled Godwit nest along the north coast and to a lesser extent in the interior sedge meadows; these are part of a disjunct James Bay population, and the nearest other breeding grounds are on the prairies. Semipalmated Plovers also nest on the north shore of the island.

Access and Activities

MBSs are established for the protection and conservation of migratory birds. Activities that could harm migratory birds, their nests or their eggs are prohibited.

MBSs can be and have been established on private, provincial, territorial and federally owned lands. Access to each MBS varies by site and is at the discretion of the landowner and land manager.

Where MBSs are located on federal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the management and protection of migratory birds, nests, eggs and habitat. Where MBSs are located on provincial land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests, while the chief game officer of the province is responsible for the management of habitat. Where MBSs are located on private or municipal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests. Habitat management is the responsibility of the landowner.

The standard prohibitions under the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations apply to Akimiski MBS: hunting migratory birds is prohibited, and no person shall disturb, destroy or take the nest of a migratory bird or have in his or her possession a live migratory bird, or a carcass, skin, nest or egg of a migratory bird, except under the authority of a permit issued by Environment and Climate Change Canada or unless authorized by the Regulations. Possession of firearms or other hunting appliances is prohibited. Dogs and cats must not be allowed to run at large.

For more information on entry, activities and permits in MBSs, please visit the Management and Activities section of the Migratory Bird Sanctuaries website. For more information on Environment and Climate Change Canada's protected areas, please contact the regional office.

For greater certainty, nothing in this document shall be construed so as to abrogate or derogate from the protection provided for existing Aboriginal or treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada by the recognition and affirmation of those rights in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

Map of the Area

Long description for the Map

Map showing the location of Akimiski Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary relative to Nunavut, Akimiski Island and James Bay. The map shows the boundaries of the sanctuary, which covers a portion of Akimiski Island and the surrounding waters of James Bay. The scale of the map is in kilometers.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Akimiski MBS can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Summary table

Summary Table for Akimiski Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary
CategoryInformation
Protected Area designationMigratory Bird Sanctuary
Province or territoryNunavut
Latitude/longitude53°02' N, 81°15' W
Size in hectares (ha)353 421 ha (including a marine portion of 147 232 ha)
Date created (Gazetted)1941
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Management CategoryIb - Wilderness Area
Additional designationsPart of Akimiski Island Important Bird Area
Main habitat typeTidal mud flats and open water (40%), sedge meadow, muskeg, spruce forest
Key bird speciesAmerican Black Duck, Arctic Tern, Black Scoter, Atlantic Brant, Canada Goose, Green-winged Teal, Herring Gull, Lesser Snow Goose, Mallard, Marbled Godwit, Northern Pintail, Red-breasted Merganser, Ring-necked Duck, Semipalmated Plover, Semipalmated Sandpiper, White-rumped Sandpiper, White-winged Scoter, Cackling Goose and Common Eider
Other speciesNone
Listed species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)Mammals: Polar Bears and Belugas likely use the marine portion of the MBS.
Management agencyCanadian Wildlife Service, Prairie and Northern Region
LandownersCrown land

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Prairie and Northern Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas and Stewardship
Eastern Arctic Unit
P.O. Box 1714
Iqaluit NU X0A 0H0
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date modified:

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'île Akimiski

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs | Accès et activités | Carte du refuge | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Photo de Petites Oies des neiges
Photo : © Credence Wood. Petites Oies des neiges.

Le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) de l'île Akimiski est situé à proximité de la côte ouest de la baie James. La communauté la plus près est Attawapiskat en Ontario, qui se trouve à environ 80 km à l'ouest du ROM. Akimiski est la plus grande île de la baie James. Comme toutes les îles de la baie James et de la baie d'Hudson, Akimiski fait partie du Nunavut. Le ROM englobe environ deux tiers de la portion d'île terrestre ainsi qu'une portion marine qui s'étend à 10 km au large de la côte de la baie James. L'île est composée d'une rive sud abrupte, d'une rive nord légèrement pentue ainsi que de grandes étendues de vasières et un marais côtier. Ces vasières fertiles, composées de peuplements denses d'herbe et de carex, se rétrécissent le long de la rive nord-est où les saules bordent le marais de carex. Des tourbières à carex dotées de nombreux hummocks ou de palses s'étendent de la rive nord vers l'intérieur de l'île. Le muskeg se forme en haut de la berge sud et remonte vers le nord jusqu'aux marais de carex. La partie sud-est de l'île près du cap Duncan se caractérise par des basses terres de carex et des bassins ouverts. Plusieurs petites îles se trouvent au large du cap Duncan. Dans cette section, les eaux côtières contiennent des lits de zostères. Les marais côtiers, qui sont intercalés de cordons littoraux, de vastes vasières et de lits de zostères, font que le ROM attire les oiseaux migrateurs durant la migration printanière et automnale de même que durant la saison de reproduction.

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs

Par le passé, jusqu'à 250 000 Petites Oies des neiges et plusieurs milliers de Bernaches de Hutchins nichant sur l'île de Baffin ont utilisé le ROM durant la migration printanière et automnale. Plus récemment, moins de 20 000 Petites Oies des neiges ont été répertoriées au printemps. Environ 1 000 à 2 000 couples de Petites Oies des neiges nichent dans le marais côtier et dans la lisière de carex-saule en bordure du pré de carex qui longe la côte nord et s'étend vers l'ouest des limites du ROM. Les Bernaches du Canada de la population du sud de la baie James nichent dans l'île entière. La majorité de celles-ci se rassemblent dans les marais côtiers près de la lisière de saules, mais aussi sur les hummocks glacés et sur les îles d'épinettes dans les tourbières basses à carex. Ces habitats de prairies basses et de carex représentent d'importantes aires d'élevage pour les oisons. Parmi d'autres espèces de sauvagine qui utilisent le refuge pour la nidification, la mue et/ou comme halte migratoire, on retrouve les Canards noir, colvert et pilet, la Sarcelle d'hiver, le Fuligule à collier, la Macreuse à bec jaune et le Harle huppé. Les Bernaches cravants de l'Atlantique y sont également présentes en abondance chaque printemps, leur nombre étant estimé à environ 10 000.

L'Eider à duvet, le Goéland argenté et la Sterne arctique nichent dans les petites îles près du cap Duncan. Un grand nombre de Macreuses à bec jaune (environ 20 000 à 30 000) se rassemblent au large des côtes nord-est et sud-ouest de l'île pour la mue du plumage des ailes à la fin de l'été. Bien que les côtes nord-ouest et nord de l'île (qui ne font pas partie du ROM) sont considérées comme les zones les plus importantes pour les oiseaux de rivage, de grandes concentrations de plus de 20 espèces d'oiseaux de rivage migrateurs utilisent également le ROM et d'autres zones côtières de l'île. Les Bécasseaux semipalmés et à croupion blanc figurent parmi les plus abondants des migrateurs. Un petit nombre de Barges marbrées nichent le long de la côte nord et un nombre moins important nichent dans les prés de carex dans la partie intérieure de l'île; ces espèces font partie d'une population isolée de la baie James qui nichent ici, car les autres aires de nidification les plus proches se trouvent dans les prairies. Les Pluviers semipalmés nichent également sur la rive sud de l'île.

Accès et activités

Les ROM ont pour objectif la protection et la conservation des oiseaux migrateurs. Les activités pouvant nuire aux oiseaux migrateurs, à leurs nids ou à leurs œufs sont interdites.

Les ROM peuvent être, et ont été créés sur des terres de propriété privée, provinciale, territoriale et fédérale. L'accès à chacun des ROM varie selon le site et est laissé à la discrétion du propriétaire et du gestionnaire des terres.

Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire publique fédéral, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la gestion et de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs, de leurs nids, de leurs œufs et de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire publique provincial, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids, tandis que le garde-chasse en chef de la province est responsable de la gestion de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur des terres de propriété privée ou municipale, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids. La gestion de l'habitat relève du propriétaire des terres.

Les interdictions générales en vertu du Règlement sur les oiseaux migrateurs s'appliquent au ROM de l'île Akimiski : la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs est interdite, et nul ne doit déranger, détruire ou enlever le nid d'un oiseau migrateur, ni avoir en sa possession un oiseau migrateur vivant, une carcasse, une peau, un nid ou un œuf d'un oiseau migrateur, à moins de détenir un permis délivré par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ou d'être autorisé par le Règlement. La possession d'armes à feu ou d'autres instruments de chasse est interdite. Il est interdit de permettre aux chiens et aux chats de courir en liberté

Pour obtenir plus d'information concernant l'accès, les activités et les permis dans les ROM, veuillez consulter la page Gestion et activités de la section Refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs du site Web. Pour obtenir plus d'information sur les aires protégées administrées par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau régional.

Il est entendu que rien dans ce document ne doit être interprété de façon à porter atteinte à la protection des droits existants -- ancestraux ou issus de traités -- des peuples autochtones du Canada découlant de leur reconnaissance et de leur confirmation au titre de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

Carte du refuge

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte indiquant l'emplacement du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'île Akimiski par rapport au Nunavut, à l'île Akimiski et à la baie James. La carte indique les limites du refuge, qui renferme une partie de l'île Akimiski et les eaux avoisinantes de la baie James. L'échelle de la carte est en kilomètres.

La présente carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne devrait pas servir à déterminer les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer le ROM de l'île Akimiski. Veuillez noter que Google Maps constitue une source d'information complémentaire et ne représente ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'île Akimiski
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRefuge d'oiseaux migrateurs
Province ou territoireNunavut
Latitude/longitude53°02' N, 81°15' O
Superficie en hectares (ha)353 421 ha (y compris une portion marine de 147 232 ha)
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1941
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)Ib - Aire de nature sauvage
Désignations supplémentairesZone importante pour la conservation des oiseaux de l'île Akimiski
Type d'habitat principalVasières intertidales et eau libre (40 %), pré de carex, muskeg, forêt d'épinette
Principales espèces d'oiseauxCanard noir, Sterne arctique, Macreuse à bec jaune, Bernache cravant de l'Atlantique, Bernache du Canada, Sarcelle d'hiver, Goéland argenté, Petite Oie des neiges, Canard colvert, Barge marbrée, Canard pilet, Harle huppé, Fuligule à collier, Pluvier semipalmé, Bécasseau semipalmé, Bécasseau à croupion blanc, Macreuse brune, Bernache de Hutchins et Eider à duvet
Autres espècesAucune
Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)Mammifères : Les Ours blancs et les bélugas utilisent probablement la portion marine du ROM.
Organisme de gestionService canadien de la faune, région des Prairies et du Nord
Propriétaires fonciersTerres de la couronne

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - Région des Prairies et du Nord
Service canadien de la faune
Aires protégées et unité d'intendance
Unité arctique orientale
C.P. 1714
Iqaluit (Nunavut) X0A 0H0
Sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :