Big Glace Bay Lake Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary | Access and Activities | Map of the Area | Summary Table | Contact Information

Big Glace Bay Lake Migratory Bird Sanctuary
Photo: © C. MacKinnon. Big Glace Bay Lake Migratory Bird Sanctuary: outflow.

Big Glace Bay Lake Migratory Bird Sanctuary (MBS) was established in 1939 and lies just east of the town of Glace Bay, in Cape Breton County, Nova Scotia. Big Glace Bay “Lake” is actually a barrier-beach pond adjacent to the open Atlantic Ocean, and thus subject to daily tidal fluctuations. The 393-ha site is protected from the open sea by a 1.5‑km sand and gravel beach backed by salt marsh and intertidal flats. The shallow brackish-saline water supports beds of eelgrass and thus is attractive to migrating waterfowl. The upland on the east side of the “lake” is vegetated with stunted spruce, while the surrounding upland on the western side is incorporated into the town of Glace Bay and once supported a heavy water plant and thermal power generating facility.

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary

The sanctuary provides safe fall migration habitat for 100–200 American Black Ducks and several hundred Canada Geese. During winter, part of the sanctuary usually stays open, and several hundred Canada Geese and a few dozen American Black Ducks, along with 40–60 Common Goldeneye and a few Buffleheads can be observed on an average day. At least two pairs of the rare and threatened Piping Plover nest on the Glace Bay barrier beach, and several pairs of Common Terns nest on hummocks in the salt marsh. Several pairs of Willets also nest along the edge of the marshes.

Access and Activities

MBSs are established for the protection and conservation of migratory birds. Activities that could harm migratory birds, their nests or their eggs are prohibited.

MBSs can be and have been established on private, provincial, territorial and federally owned lands. Access to each MBS varies by site and is at the discretion of the landowner and land manager.

Where MBSs are located on federal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the management and protection of migratory birds, nests, eggs and habitat. Where MBSs are located on provincial land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests, while the chief game officer of the province is responsible for the management of habitat. Where MBSs are located on private or municipal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests. Habitat management is the responsibility of the landowner.

The standard prohibitions under the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations apply to Big Glace Bay Lake MBS: hunting migratory birds is prohibited, and no person shall disturb, destroy or take the nest of a migratory bird or have in his or her possession a live migratory bird, or a carcass, skin, nest or egg of a migratory bird, except under the authority of a permit issued by Environment and Climate Change Canada or unless authorized by the Regulations. Possession of firearms or other hunting appliances is prohibited. Dogs and cats must not be allowed to run at large.

Access prohibitions or restrictions by the MBS landowners (Province of Nova Scotia and Atomic Energy of Canada Limited) may also apply.

For more information on entry, activities and permits in MBSs, please visit the Management and Activities section of the Migratory Bird Sanctuaries website. For more information on Environment and Climate Change Canada's protected areas, please contact the regional office.

For greater certainty, nothing in this document shall be construed so as to abrogate or derogate from the protection provided for existing Aboriginal or treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada by the recognition and affirmation of those rights in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

Map of the Area

Long description for the Map

Map showing the location of Big Glace Bay Lake Migratory Bird Sanctuary in relation to Nova Scotia, Glace Bay, Big Glace Bay, Big Glace Bay Lake and the Cabot Strait. The map shows the boundaries of the sanctuary, which encompasses the majority of big Glace Bay Lake and a portion of the surrounding land. The scale of the map is in tenths of a kilometer.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Big Glace Bay Lake MBS can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Summary Table

Summary Table for Big Glace Bay Lake Migratory Bird Sanctuary
CategoryInformation
Protected Area designationMigratory Bird Sanctuary
Province or territoryNova Scotia
Latitude/longitude46°10' N, 59°56' W
Size in hectares (ha)393 ha
Date created (Gazetted)1939
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Management CategoryN/A
Additional designationsPart of Big Glace Bay Lake Important Bird Area
Main habitat typeGravel beach (5%), mixed woodland (23%), salt marsh (5%), shallow coastal water and eelgrass flats (67%)
Key bird speciesAmerican Black Duck, Canada Goose, Common Goldeneye, Bufflehead, Piping Plover, Common Tern and Willet
Listed species under the Species at Risk Act(SARA)Piping Plover
Management agencyCanadian Wildlife Service, Atlantic Region
LandownersProvince of Nova Scotia and Atomic Energy of Canada Limited

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Atlantic Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas Program
17 Waterfowl Lane
Sackville NB E4L 1G6
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date modified:

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Big Glace Bay

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs | Accès et activités | Carte du refuge | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Big Glace Bay
Photo : © C. MacKinnon. Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Big Glace Bay : Courant sortant.

Le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) de Big Glace Bay a été fondé en 1939 et se trouve tout juste à l'est de la ville de Glace Bay dans le comté de Cap-Breton, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Le « lac » de Big Glace Bay est en réalité un étang formé par un cordon littoral à proximité de l'océan Atlantique (pleine mer); il est donc soumis aux fluctuations quotidiennes des marées. Le site de 393 hectares est protégé contre la mer libre par une plage de sable et de gravier de 1,5 km soutenue par des marais salés et des battures. Les eaux saumâtres salines peu profondes alimentent les lits de zostères marines et sont ainsi attrayantes pour la sauvagine migratrice. Les hautes terres du côté est du « lac » sont végétalisées avec des épinettes rabougries, tandis que les hautes terres environnantes du côté ouest sont intégrées dans la ville de Glace Bay où elles alimentaient autrefois une usine d'eau lourde et une centrale thermique.

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs

Le refuge fournit un habitat de migration d'automne sécuritaire pour 100 à 200 Canards noirs et plusieurs centaines de Bernaches du Canada. Pendant l'hiver, une partie du refuge reste habituellement ouverte et accueille, sur une journée moyenne, plusieurs centaines de Bernaches du Canada et quelques douzaines de Canards noirs, ainsi que 40 à 60 Garrots à œil d'or et quelques Petits Garrots. Au moins deux paires de Pluviers siffleurs rares et menacés nichent sur le cordon littoral de Glace Bay, et plusieurs paires de Sternes pierregarins nichent sur des buttes dans les marais salés. Plusieurs couples de Chevaliers semipalmés nichent également le long des rives du marais.

Accès et activités

Les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs ont pour objet la protection et la conservation des oiseaux migrateurs. Les activités qui pourraient nuire aux oiseaux migrateurs, à leurs nids ou à leurs œufs sont interdites.

Les ROM ont pu, et c'est encore le cas aujourd'hui, être créés sur des terres territoriales, fédérales et privées. Les conditions d'accès aux refuges varient d'un site à l'autre et sont établies par le propriétaire et le gestionnaire des terres.

Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial fédéral, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la gestion et de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs, de leurs nids, de leurs œufs et de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial provincial, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids, tandis que le garde-chasse en chef de la province est responsable de la gestion de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur des terres de propriété privée ou municipale, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids et la gestion de l'habitat relève du propriétaire des terres.

Les interdictions générales relatives au Règlement sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs s'appliquent à ce site : à moins de détenir un permis délivré par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ou que la réglementation l'autorise spécifiquement, la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs est interdite et nul ne peut déranger, détruire ou prendre leurs nids, et nul ne peut avoir en sa possession un oiseau migrateur vivant ou mort, ou le nid ou l'œuf d'un oiseau migrateur. La possession d'armes à feu ou d'engin de chasse est interdite et les chiens et les chats ne doivent pas être laissés en liberté.

Des interdictions ou restrictions d'accès imposées par les propriétaires fonciers du ROM de Big Glace Bay (province de Nouvelle-Écosse - en anglais seulement et Énergie atomique du Canada Limitée - en anglais seulement) peuvent également s'appliquer.

Afin d'obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'accès, les activités et les permis dans les ROM, veuillez consulter la section Gestion et activités du site Web Refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. Afin d'obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les aires protégées d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau régional.

Il est entendu que le présent document ne porte pas atteinte à la protection des droits existants -- ancestraux ou issus de traités -- des peuples autochtones du Canada découlant de leur reconnaissance et de leur confirmation au titre de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

Carte du refuge

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte indiquant l'emplacement du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs du lac Big Glace Bay par rapport à la Nouvelle-Écosse, à Glace Bay, à Big Glace Bay, au lac Big Glace Bay et au détroit de Cabot. La carte indique les limites du refuge, qui renferme la majeure partie du lac Big Glace Bay et une parcelle des terres avoisinantes. L'échelle de la carte est en dixièmes de kilomètre.

Cette carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne doit pas être utilisée pour définir les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs du lac Big Glace Bay (en anglais seulement). Notez cependant que Google Maps est une source d'information complémentaire et ne remplace en aucun cas ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Big Glace Bay
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRefuge d'oiseaux migrateurs
Province ou territoireNouvelle-Écosse
Latitude/longitude46° 10 'N, 59° 56' O
Superficie en hectares (ha)393 ha
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1939
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)N/A
Désignations supplémentairesFait partie de la zone importante pour la conservation des oiseaux du lac Big Glace Bay
Type d'habitat principalPlage de gravier (5 %), forêt claire mixte (23 %), marais salés (5 %), eaux côtières peu profondes et herbiers à zostères (67 %)
Espèces clés d'oiseauxCanard noir, Bernache du Canada, Garrot à œil d'or, Petit Garrot, Pluvier siffleur, Sterne pierregarin et Chevalier semipalmé
Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril(LEP)Pluvier siffleur
Organisme de gestionService canadien de la faune, région de l'Atlantique
Propriétaires des terresProvince de la Nouvelle-Écosse et Énergie atomique du Canada limitée

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - Région de l'Atlantique
Service canadien de la faune
Programme des zones protégées
17, allée Waterfowl
Sackville (Nouveau-Brunswick)
E4L 1G6
Sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :