Amherst Point Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary | Access and Activities | Map of the Area | Summary Table | Contact Information

Amherst Point Migratory Bird Sanctuary
Photo: © Environment and Climate Change Canada. Amherst Point Migratory Bird Sanctuary: landscape.

Amherst Point Migratory Bird Sanctuary (MBS) lies five km southwest of Amherst at the head of the Bay of Fundy. It was established in 1947 with the agreement of the landowners. However, to afford permanent habitat protection, the land was later acquired by the Canadian Wildlife Service (1973–1974) and designated as a component of the Chignecto National Wildlife Area. The landscape is a mosaic of ponds, marshes, forests and old farm fields. Past geological events are responsible for the conical depressions called "sinkholes" that occur in the gypsum deposits underlying the area. The ponds that have formed in many of the sinkholes are consequently rich in minerals.

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary

The wetlands at Amherst Point MBS are among the most productive in the province of Nova Scotia, as a wide variety of aquatic avifauna use the site during spring, summer and fall. More than 200 species of birds that have been observed at Amherst Point MBS are found there regularly. The diversity and richness of its habitats and the strategic location of the sanctuary on a much-used migration route account for its unusual attractiveness and importance to birds. Waterfowl and other marshbirds are particularly abundant and include most species commonly found in the Atlantic provinces. American Black Duck, Northern Pintail, Green-winged Teal, Blue-winged Teal, American Wigeon, Northern Shoveler, Ring-necked Duck, Pied-billed Grebe, American Bittern and Sora nest in the sanctuary.

The sanctuary's wildlife values are most strikingly exemplified by the occurrence of various unusual waterfowl and marshbirds. Gadwall, Virginia Rail, Common Gallinule, American Coot and Black Tern have all nested there regularly in the past few years. Stray European waterfowl and several southern waders have also appeared. Many of these species have also been reported at other locations in the Atlantic provinces; however, the sanctuary hosts an unusually large number of species of limited occurrence and distribution in the region. The sanctuary also provides habitat for an impressive variety of hawks, owls and songbirds. Because of its location, the sanctuary attracts large numbers of migrants, and many of the region's early spring arrivals first appear at Amherst Point. The diverse landscape also provides nesting habitat for many of those species as well as a few that remain all year.

Access and Activities

MBSs are established for the protection and conservation of migratory birds. Activities that could harm migratory birds, their nests or their eggs are prohibited.

MBSs can be and have been established on private, provincial, territorial and federally owned lands. Access to each MBS varies by site and is at the discretion of the landowner and land manager.

Where MBSs are located on federal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the management and protection of migratory birds, nests, eggs and habitat. Where MBSs are located on provincial land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests, while the chief game officer of the province is responsible for the management of habitat. Where MBSs are located on private or municipal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests. Habitat management is the responsibility of the landowner.

Public access to Amherst Point MBS is not restricted. Trails are maintained to facilitate public use. The standard prohibitions under the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations apply to this site: hunting migratory birds is prohibited, and no person shall disturb, destroy or take the nest of a migratory bird or have in his or her possession a live migratory bird, or a carcass, skin, nest or egg of a migratory bird, except under the authority of a permit issued by Environment and Climate Change Canada or unless authorized by the Regulations. Possession of firearms or other hunting appliances is prohibited. Dogs and cats must not be allowed to run at large. The site is also protected as a National Wildlife Area and is administered under the Wildlife Area Regulations of the Canada Wildlife Act.

For more information on entry, activities and permits in MBSs, please visit the Management and Activities section of the Migratory Bird Sanctuaries website. For more information on Environment and Climate Change Canada's protected areas, please contact the regional office.

For greater certainty, nothing in this document shall be construed so as to abrogate or derogate from the protection provided for existing Aboriginal or treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada by the recognition and affirmation of those rights in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

Map of the Area

Long description for the Map

Map showing the location of Amherst Point Migratory Bird Sanctuary in relation to Nova Scotia, Amherst, Amherst point, the Maccan River, the Cumberland Basin as well as the John Lusby Marsh National Wildlife Area and the Chignecto National Wildlife Area. The map shows the boundaries of the sanctuary, which overlaps the majority of the Chignecto National Wildlife Area. The scale of the map is in tenths of a kilometer.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Amherst Point MBS can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Summary Table

Summary Table for Île aux Canes Migratory Bird Sanctuary
CategoryInformation
Protected Area designationMigratory Bird Sanctuary
Province or territoryNova Scotia
Latitude/longitude45°48' N, 64°16' W
Size in hectares (ha)433 ha
Date created (Gazetted)1947
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Management CategoryIV - Habitat/Species Management Area
Additional designations
Main habitat typeCattail marsh and bog (27%), controlled water-level impoundments (33%), open water (6%), mixed forest (24%), open upland fields (10%)
Key bird speciesAmerican Black Duck, Northern Pintail, Green-winged Teal, Blue‑winged Teal, American Wigeon, Northern Shoveler, Ring-necked Duck, Pied-billed Grebe, American Bittern, Sora, Gadwall, Virginia Rail, Common Gallinule, American Coot and Black Tern
Other speciesPlants: Rich plant diversity associated with the underlying gypsum deposits
Listed species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)None
Management agencyCanadian Wildlife Service, Atlantic Region
LandownersCanadian Wildlife Service and private

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Atlantic Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas Program
17 Waterfowl Lane
Sackville NB E4L 1G6
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date modified:

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs d'Amherst Point

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs | Accès et activités | Carte du refuge | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs d'Amherst Point
Photo : © Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs d'Amherst Point : Paysage.

Le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) d'Amherst Point est situé à 5 km au sud-ouest d'Amherst à la tête de la baie de Fundy. Il a été établi en 1947 avec l'accord des propriétaires fonciers. Cependant, afin de permettre la protection permanente de l'habitat, le terrain a plus tard été acquis par le Service canadien de la faune (1973-1974) et a été désigné comme une composante de la réserve nationale de faune de Chignectou. Le paysage est une mosaïque d'étangs, de marais, de forêts et d'anciens champs agricoles. Des phénomènes géologiques antérieurs ont causé les dépressions coniques appelées « dolines » qui se sont produites dans les dépôts de gypse sous-jacents à la zone. Les étangs qui se sont formés dans nombre de ces dolines sont par conséquent riches en minéraux.

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs

Les terres humides du ROM d'Amherst Point comptent parmi les plus productives dans la province de la Nouvelle-Écosse, étant donné qu'une avifaune aquatique très diverse utilise le site durant le printemps, l'été et l'automne. Plus de 200 espèces d'oiseaux qui ont été observées au refuge s'y trouvent régulièrement. La diversité et la richesse de ses habitats ainsi que son emplacement stratégique sur un itinéraire migratoire très fréquenté contribuent à son attrait inhabituel et à son importance pour les oiseaux. La sauvagine et d'autres oiseaux de marais sont particulièrement abondants et incluent la plupart des espèces que l'on trouve fréquemment dans les provinces de l'Atlantique. Le Canard noir, le Canard pilet, la Sarcelle d'hiver, la Sarcelle à ailes bleues, le Canard d'Amérique, le Canard souchet, le Fuligule à collier, le Grèbe à bec bigarré, le Butor d'Amérique et la Marouette de Caroline nichent dans le refuge.

Divers oiseaux de marais et espèces de sauvagine inhabituels bénéficient aussi du refuge faunique, ajoutant de la valeur au site. Le Canard chipeau, le Râle de Virginie, la Gallinule poule-d'eau, la Foulque d'Amérique et la Guifette noire y ont tous niché régulièrement au cours des dernières années. Des espèces de sauvagine européennes errantes et plusieurs échassiers du sud sont également apparus dans le refuge. Bon nombre de ces espèces ont également été signalées à d'autres endroits dans les provinces de l'Atlantique; toutefois, le refuge abrite un nombre exceptionnellement élevé d'espèces ayant une présence et une répartition limitées dans la région. Le refuge fournit également un habitat à une impressionnante variété de rapaces diurnes, de hiboux et d'oiseaux chanteurs. En raison de son emplacement, le refuge attire un grand nombre d'oiseaux migrateurs, et on peut observer à Amherst Point les premières arrivées d'oiseaux migrateurs de la région au début du printemps. Les différents paysages fournissent également un habitat de nidification à de nombreuses de ces espèces ainsi qu'à quelques-unes qui restent dans la région tout au long de l'année.

Accès et activités

Les ROM ont pour objet la protection et la conservation des oiseaux migrateurs. Les activités qui pourraient nuire aux oiseaux migrateurs, à leurs nids ou à leurs œufs sont interdites.

Les ROM ont pu, et c'est encore le cas aujourd'hui, être créés sur des terres territoriales, fédérales et privées. Les conditions d'accès aux refuges varient d'un site à l'autre et sont établies par le propriétaire et le gestionnaire des terres.

Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial fédéral, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la gestion et de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs, de leurs nids, de leurs œufs et de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial provincial, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids, tandis que le garde-chasse en chef de la province est responsable de la gestion de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur des terres de propriété privée ou municipale, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids et la gestion de l'habitat relève du propriétaire des terres.

L'accès public au refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs d'Amherst Point n'est pas restreint. Les sentiers sont entretenus afin de faciliter leur utilisation par le public. Les interdictions générales relatives au Règlement sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs s'appliquent à ce site : à moins de détenir un permis délivré par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ou que la réglementation l'autorise spécifiquement, la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs est interdite et nul ne peut déranger, détruire ou prendre leurs nids, et nul ne peut avoir en sa possession un oiseau migrateur vivant ou mort, ou le nid ou l'œuf d'un oiseau migrateur. La possession d'armes à feu ou d'engin de chasse est interdite et les chiens et les chats ne doivent pas être laissés en liberté. Le site est également protégé en tant que réserve nationale de faune, et il est administré en vertu du Règlement sur les réserves d'espèces sauvages de la Loi sur les espèces sauvages au Canada.

Afin d'obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'accès, les activités et les permis dans les ROM, veuillez consulter la section Gestion et activités du site Web Refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. Afin d'obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les aires protégées d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau régional.

Il est entendu que le présent document ne porte pas atteinte à la protection des droits existants -- ancestraux ou issus de traités -- des peuples autochtones du Canada découlant de leur reconnaissance et de leur confirmation au titre de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

Carte du refuge

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte indiquant l'emplacement du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs d'Amherst Point par rapport à la Nouvelle-Écosse, à Amherst, à Amherst Point, à la rivière Maccan, au bassin de Cumberland ainsi qu'à la Réserve nationale de faune du marais John Lusby et à la Réserve nationale de faune de Chignecto. La carte indique les limites du refuge, qui chevauche la majeure partie de la Réserve nationale de faune de Chignecto. L'échelle de la carte est en dixièmes de kilomètre.

Cette carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne doit pas être utilisée pour définir les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs d'Amherst Point (en anglais seulement). Notez cependant que Google Maps est une source d'information complémentaire et ne remplace en aucun cas ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs d'Amherst Point
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRefuge d'oiseaux migrateurs
Province ou territoireNouvelle-Écosse
Latitude/longitude45° 48 'N, 64° 16' O
Superficie en hectares (ha)433 ha
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1947
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)IV - Aire de gestion des habitats ou des espèces
Désignations supplémentaires
Type d'habitat principalTourbière et marais dominé par les quenouilles (27 %), niveaux d'eau contrôlés par des ouvrages de retenue (33 %), eaux libres (6 %), forêt mixte (24 %), champs ouverts des hautes terres (10 %)
Espèces clés d'oiseauxCanard noir, Canard pilet, Sarcelle d'hiver, Sarcelle à ailes bleues, Canard d'Amérique, Canard souchet, Fuligule à collier, Grèbe à bec bigarré, Butor d'Amérique, Marouette de Caroline, Canard chipeau, Râle de Virginie, Gallinule poule-d'eau et Guifette noire
Autres espècesPlantes : Riche diversité de plantes associée aux dépôts de gypse sous-jacents.
Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)Aucune
Organisme de gestionService canadien de la faune, région de l'Atlantique
Propriétaires des terresService canadien de la faune et propriétaires privés

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - Région de l'Atlantique
Service canadien de la faune
Programme des zones protégées
17, allée Waterfowl
Sackville (Nouveau-Brunswick)
E4L 1G6
Sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :