Seymour Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary | Access and Activities | Map of the Area | Summary Table | Contact Information

Ivory Gulls nesting at Seymour Island MBS
Photo : © Mark Mallory. Ivory Gulls nesting at Seymour Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary.

Seymour Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary (MBS), established in 1975, is located 30 km north of Bathurst Island within the Berkeley group of Islands in the Qikiqtaaluk region of Nunavut. Although the MBS includes the island, the majority of the sanctuary is marine habitat, the boundaries extending 3.2 km from the high-water line. The polynyas that form in nearby Penny Strait provide access to open water foraging areas for wildlife breeding at Seymour Island; however, the island remains ice-locked for much of the year.

Seymour Island, a tiny reef-like projection among the ice pack in the Berkley Group of islands, is less than 3 km long and has a maximum elevation of 28 m above sea level. This mostly barren island consists of a series of raised cobble beaches covered by or adjacent to fractured rock. The sparse vegetation, largely lichens and mosses, covers less than 1% of the island. Only nine species of vascular plants have been recorded. Several freshwater ponds occur in the southwest portion. In the winter, high ice ridges form on the north and south coast as well as on parts of the west coast.

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Seymour Island MBS supports the most important and largest known colony in Canada of the rare Ivory Gull (150 breeding pairs in 1976; generally < 50 pairs annually since 2002), an endangered species listed under the Species at Risk Act. This means that up to 20% of the known breeding population occurs in the Canadian Arctic. In 2011, researchers determined that Ivory Gulls nesting on Seymour Island may sometimes nest on northwestern Devon Island, suggesting an interchange occurs between sites, perhaps in response to predation or annual conditions. Other smaller breeding colonies are found along the coasts of Ellesmere and Devon islands. The gulls are present on Seymour Island from late May to September, and nest in groups on the raised beaches where fractured rubble shelters the downy young from wind and predators. The sheltered bays and freshwater ponds on the island are used as feeding areas. Colonies are usually found in remote ice-bound locales where few other animal species live. Local populations and breeding success may fluctuate considerably from year to year. Ivory Gulls may sometimes react unfavourably to human disturbance, possibly by abandoning their nests or by destroying their eggs and young.

More than 30 species of other birds have been observed using the island. Other recorded nesters are Glaucous Gull, Snow Bunting, King Eider and Atlantic Brant. Nesting Brant and Ivory Gulls often work together to help keep predators away. Predators include the Arctic Fox, Polar Bear, Long-tailed Jaeger, Snowy Owl and Thayer's Gull.

Evidence of three transient mammals has been recorded on Seymour Island for Polar Bear, Arctic Fox and Peary Caribou. Collared Lemmings are also present, but their numbers fluctuate widely over time. The presence of bears and foxes may completely disrupt breeding activities in the Ivory Gull colony, predation having been associated with fluctuating breeding success.

Access and Activities

MBSs are established for the protection and conservation of migratory birds. Activities that could harm migratory birds, their nests or their eggs are prohibited.

MBSs can be and have been established on private, provincial, territorial and federally owned lands. Access to each MBS varies by site and is at the discretion of the landowner and land manager.

Where MBSs are located on federal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the management and protection of migratory birds, nests, eggs and habitat. Where MBSs are located on provincial land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests, while the chief game officer of the province is responsible for the management of habitat. Where MBSs are located on private or municipal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests. Habitat management is the responsibility of the landowner.

Access to Seymour Island MBS may be authorized as per the Migratory Birds Convention Act, 1994 and the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations. However, under the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement and Inuit Impact and Benefit Agreement for National Wildlife Areas and Migratory Bird Sanctuaries in the Nunavut Settlement Area, only Nunavut beneficiaries have right of access for the purpose of subsistence harvest and do not require a permit to carry out activities related to subsistence harvesting.

For all other users, the standard prohibitions under the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations apply to Seymour Island MBS: hunting migratory birds is prohibited, and no person shall disturb, destroy or take the nest of a migratory bird or have in his or her possession a live migratory bird, or a carcass, skin, nest or egg of a migratory bird, except under the authority of a permit issued by Environment and Climate Change Canada or unless authorized by the Regulations. Possession of firearms or other hunting appliances is prohibited. Anyone wishing to access Seymour Island MBS must apply for a permit.

For more information on entry, activities and permits in MBSs, please visit the Management and Activities section of the Migratory Bird Sanctuaries website. For more information on Environment and Climate Change Canada's protected areas, please contact the regional office.

For greater certainty, nothing in this document shall be construed so as to abrogate or derogate from the protection provided for existing Aboriginal or treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada by the recognition and affirmation of those rights in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

Map of the Area

Long description for the Map

Map showing the location of Seymour Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary relative to Nunavut, Bathhurst Island, Helena Island, Sherard Osborn Island, Cameron Island, Seymour Island, Sir William Parker Strait, May inlet and Erskine Inlet. The map shows the boundaries of the sanctuary, which covers Seymour Island and a portion of the surrounding waters.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Seymour Island MBS can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Summary table

Summary Table for Seymour Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary
CategoryInformation
Protected Area designationMigratory Bird Sanctuary
Province or territoryNunavut
Latitude/longitude76°48' N, 101°16' W
Size in hectares (ha)5302 ha (island size): 172 ha terrestrial and 5130 ha marine
Date created (Gazetted)1975
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Management CategoryIa - Strict Nature Reserve
Additional designations
Main habitat typeOpen water (95%), cobble beaches, fractured rock, freshwater ponds
Key bird speciesIvory Gull
Other species

Birds: Glaucous Gull, Snow Bunting, King Eider, Atlantic Brant, Long-tailed Jaeger, Snowy Owl and Thayer's Gull

Mammals: Arctic Fox, Polar Bear, Peary Caribou and Collared Lemming

Listed species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)Ivory Gull and Polar Bear
Management agencyCanadian Wildlife Service, Prairie and Northern Region, in collaboration with the Resolute Co-Management Committee of Resolute Bay
LandownersCrown land

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Prairie and Northern Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas and Stewardship
Eastern Arctic Unit
P.O. Box 1714
Iqaluit NU X0A 0H0
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date modified:

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'île Seymour

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs | Accès et activités | Carte du refuge | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Mouettes blanches nichant au ROM de l'île Seymour
Photo : © Mark Mallory. Mouettes blanches nichant au Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'île Seymour.

Créé en 1975, le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) de l'île Seymour est situé à 30 km au nord de l'île Bathurst dans l'archipel de Berkeley dans la région de Qikiqtaaluk, au Nunavut. Bien que le ROM renferme l'île, la majeure partie du refuge est composée d'habitat marin, dont les limites s'étendent à 3,2 km de la ligne des hautes eaux . Les polynies qui se forment dans le détroit de Penny, situé à proximité, permettent à la faune d'accéder à des aires d'alimentation et de reproduction dans les eaux libres de l'île Seymour; toutefois, l'île demeure emprisonnée par la glace pour la majeure partie de l'année.

L'île Seymour, une sorte de très petit récif qui se projette dans la banquise de l'archipel de Berkley, est moins de 3 km de long et atteint une élévation maximale de 28 km au-dessus du niveau de la mer. Cette île principalement constituée de terres stériles comprend une série de plages de galets surélevées recouvertes de roches fracturées ou situées près de celles-ci. La végétation éparse, composée principalement de lichens et de mousses, couvre moins de 1 % de l'île. Seulement neuf espèces de plantes vasculaires y ont été répertoriées. Plusieurs étangs d'eau douce se forment dans la partie sud-ouest de l'île. En hiver, des crêtes de glace élevées se forment sur les côtes nord et sud ainsi que sur certaines parties de la côte ouest.

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs

Le ROM du lac Seymour abrite la plus importante colonie de Mouettes blanches connue au Canada (150 couples nicheurs en 1976; en moyenne < 50 couples par année depuis 2002), espèce en péril inscrite sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Cela signifie que jusqu'à 20 % de la population nicheuse connue se retrouvent dans l'Arctique canadien. En 2011, des chercheurs ont déterminé que les Mouettes blanches nichant sur l'île Seymour peuvent parfois nicher sur l'île Devon au nord-ouest, ce qui porte à croire qu'elles partagent leur temps entre ces deux îles, possiblement en raison de la prédation ou des conditions annuelles. D'autres plus petites colonies se retrouvent le long des côtes des îles Devon et Ellesmere. Les mouettes sont présentes sur l'île Seymour entre la fin mai et le mois de septembre et nichent en groupes sur les plages surélevées où les roches fracturées servent à protéger les jeunes oiseaux duveteux du vent et des prédateurs. Les baies protégées et les étangs d'eau douce sur l'île servent d'aires d'alimentation. Les colonies se trouvent normalement dans des endroits isolés par la glace que peu d'autres espèces animales habitent. Les populations locales et le succès de la reproduction peuvent varier considérablement d'année en année. Les Mouettes blanches peuvent parfois réagir négativement à la perturbation humaine en abandonnant leurs nids ou en détruisant leurs œufs et leurs petits.

Plus de 30 autres espèces d'oiseaux ont été observées sur l'île. Parmi les autres oiseaux nicheurs répertoriés, on compte le Goéland bourgmestre, le Plectrophane des neiges, l'Eider à tête grise et la Bernache cravant de l'Atlantique. Les Bernaches cravants et les Mouettes blanches nicheuses travaillent souvent ensemble pour éloigner les prédateurs. Parmi les prédateurs, on retrouve le renard arctique, l'ours blanc, la Labbe à longue queue, le Harfang des neiges et le Goéland de Thayer.

Des signes indiquant la présence de trois mammifères transitoires, dont l'ours blanc, le renard arctique et le caribou de Peary, ont été observés sur l'île Seymour. Des lemmings variables y sont également présents, mais leur nombre varie grandement d'année en année. La présence d'ours et de renards peut perturber complètement les activités de reproduction chez la Mouette blanche, la prédation ayant été associée à la fluctuation du succès de la reproduction.

Accès et activités

Les ROM ont pour objectif la protection et la conservation des oiseaux migrateurs. Les activités pouvant nuire aux oiseaux migrateurs, à leurs nids ou à leurs œufs sont interdites.

Les ROM peuvent être, et ont été créés sur des terres de propriété privée, provinciale, territoriale et fédérale. L'accès à chacun des ROM varie selon le site et est laissé à la discrétion du propriétaire et du gestionnaire des terres.

Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire public fédéral, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la gestion et de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs, de leurs nids, de leurs œufs et de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire public provincial, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids, tandis que le garde-chasse en chef de la province est responsable de la gestion de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur des terres de propriété privée ou municipale, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids. La gestion de l'habitat relève du propriétaire des terres.

L'accès au Refuge d'oiseaux de l'île Seymour peut être autorisé en vertu de la Loi de 1994 sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs et du Règlement sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. Toutefois, en vertu de l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut et de l'Entente sur les répercussions et les avantages pour les Inuits pour les réserves nationales de faune et de refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs dans la région du Nunavut, seuls les bénéficiaires du Nunavut ont le droit d'accès aux fins de prises de subsistance et n'ont pas besoin d'un permis pour mener ce genre d'activité.

Pour tout autre utilisateur, les interdictions générales en vertu du Règlement sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs s'appliquent au ROM de l'île Seymour : la chasse aux oiseaux est interdite, et nul ne doit déranger, détruire ou enlever le nid d'un oiseau migrateur, ni avoir en sa possession un oiseau migrateur vivant, une carcasse, une peau, un nid ou un œuf d'un oiseau migrateur, à moins de détenir un permis délivré par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ou d'être autorisé par le Règlement. La possession d'armes à feu ou d'autres instruments de chasse est interdite. Toute personne souhaitant avoir accès au ROM de l'île Seymour est priée d'obtenir un permis.

Pour obtenir plus d'information concernant l'accès, les activités et les permis dans les ROM, veuillez consulter la page Gestion et activités de la section Refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs du site Web. Pour obtenir plus d'information sur les aires protégées administrées par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau régional.

Il est entendu que rien dans ce document ne doit être interprété de façon à porter atteinte à la protection des droits existants -- ancestraux ou issus de traités -- des peuples autochtones du Canada découlant de leur reconnaissance et de leur confirmation au titre de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

Carte du refuge

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte indiquant l'emplacement du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'île Seymour par rapport au Nunavut, à l'île Bathurst, à l'île Helena, l'île Sherard Osborn, à l'île Cameron, à l'île Seymour, au détroit de Sir William Parker, au bras May et au bras Erskine. La carte indique les limites du refuge, qui renferme l'île Seymour et une partie des eaux environnantes.

La présente carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne devrait pas servir à déterminer les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer le ROM de l'île Seymour. Veuillez noter que Google Maps constitue une source d'information complémentaire et ne représente ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'île Seymour
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRefuge d'oiseaux migrateurs
Province ou territoireNunavut
Latitude/longitude76°48' N, 101°16' O
Superficie en hectares (ha)5302 ha (superficie de l'île) : 172 ha d'habitat terrestre et 5130 ha d'habitat marin
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1975
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)Ia - Réserve naturelle intégrale
Désignations supplémentaires
Type d'habitat principalEau libre (95 %), plages de galets, roches fracturées, étangs d'eau douce
Principales espèces d'oiseauxMouette blanche
Autres espèces

Oiseaux : Goéland bourgmestre, Plectrophane des neiges, Eider à tête grise, Bernache cravant de l'Atlantique Labbe à longue queue, Harfang des neiges et Goéland de Thayer

Mammifères : Renard arctique, Ours blanc, Caribou de Peary et Lemming

Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)Mouette blanche et Ours blanc
Organisme de gestionService canadien de la faune, région des Prairies et du Nord en collaboration avec le Comité de cogestion de Resolute à Resolute Bay.
Propriétaires fonciersTerres de la couronne

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - Région des Prairies et du Nord
Service canadien de la faune
Aires protégées et unité d'intendance
Unité arctique orientale
C.P. 1714
Iqaluit (Nunavut) X0A 0H0
Sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :