The Scott Islands: A Proposed Marine National Wildlife Area

Scott Island and some surrounding water
Photo: Greg Jones © Environment Canada
Triangle Island

Description

The Government of Canada is committed to designating the marine area around the Scott Islands as a protected marine area under the Canada Wildlife Act. In May 2014, funding was secured for the next five years under the National Conservation Plan to establish and manage the proposed Scott Islands marine National Wildlife Area (NWA).

The current recommended boundary for the proposed marine NWA was developed using the best available information on seabird distributions and habitat as well as consideration of socio-economic information and integrated marine planning processes for this region. The proposed marine NWA consists of approximately 11 546 km² of an exclusively marine area that does not include the terrestrial portions of the Scott Islands, which are provincial protected areas. The Scott Islands marine NWA will complement existing provincial protected area designations for the five islands that make up the Scott Islands archipelago. Lanz and Cox Islands are closest to Vancouver Island shores and were designated as a Class "A" Provincial Park in 1995. The outer three islands of Sartine, Beresford, and Triangle became provincial Ecological Reserves in 1971.

The Scott Islands and surrounding waters together make up one of the most productive and biologically diverse marine ecosystems, particularly for seabirds, on the Canadian Pacific Coast. The Scott Islands support the highest concentration of breeding seabirds in the Canadian Pacific, and are the site of the most intensive seabird research in Canada. The area is an internationally recognized Important Bird Area, hosting over one million nesting seabirds annually, and providing important ecological breeding and nesting habitat for 40% of BC’s seabirds, including 90% of Canada’s Tufted Puffins, 95% of Pacific Canada’s Common Murre, 50% of the world’s Cassin's Auklets, and 7% of the global population of Rhinoceros Auklet.

While the Islands have varying degrees of provincial protection, the marine environment surrounding the Scott Islands is not currently protected. The ocean waters provide a key foraging area for the birds that nest on the Islands, and also attract 5-10 million migratory birds annually that may travel vast distances across the Pacific to feed, including some species that have been identified as being globally at risk by the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) such as the Black-footed Albatross (near-threatened) and the Sooty Shearwater (near-threatened). Other birds in this area that are listed under Canada’s Species at Risk Act are the Short-tailed Albatross (threatened) and the Pink-footed Shearwater (threatened). Species at risk that nest elsewhere in BC and can be found in these waters are the Marbled Murrelet (threatened) and the ancient Murrelet (special concern).

In addition to its importance for seabirds, the marine area around the Scott Islands has also been identified as an Ecologically and Biologically Significant Area due to the high marine productivity and diversity of marine mammals and fish species present, and contains important habitat for several marine mammal species at risk.

Establishment Process

Tufted Puffin

Photo: Jim Lamont © Environment Canada, 2011

Tufted Puffin, Scott Islands, British Columbia.

The Scott Islands marine NWA proposal has been developed in consultation with a Steering Committee and stakeholder Advisory Group, established in 2010. The Steering Committee includes representatives from other federal departments (Fisheries and Oceans, Transport, Natural Resources), the Province of BC, and Quatsino and Tlatasikwala First Nations. The stakeholder Advisory Group includes representatives from local and regional governments, commercial fish harvesting, marine transportation and shipping, non-renewable resources, marine conservation, sport fishing and marine tourism.

The Steering Committee and Advisory Group have held numerous meetings and calls over the last five years which resulted in a common foundation of understanding about the rationale for the marine NWA, the planning process, terms of reference for the operation of both bodies, and feedback on management goals and objectives as well as on the recommended boundary.

To date, all NWAs have been established by being added to Schedule 1 of the Wildlife Area Regulations. The Scott Islands marine NWA will be established with its own set of new regulations specific to marine protection under the Canada Wildlife Act.

Management

A Management Plan for the Scott Islands marine NWA is being developed by Environment Canada in collaboration with federal, provincial and First Nations partners, and interested stakeholders. The plan includes a vision and conservation goals for the marine NWA to guide management of the area and sets out measurable conservation objectives and research priorities to mitigate and monitor human impacts. The plan will provide for ongoing protection and adaptive management of the area.

Map of the Area

Map of the Scott Islands proposed marine National Wildlife Area boundaries

Map of the Scott Islands.

Long description for the Map

Map showing an area off of the northwestern coast of Vancouver Island, British Columbia. The boundaries of Scott Islands marine National Wildlife Area are indicated. The marine National Wildlife Area follows a portion of the northwestern coast of Vancouver Island and extends out into the Pacific Ocean, covering the waters surrounding Triangle Island, Sartine Island, Beresford Island, Lanz Island and Cox Island. The scale on the map is in tens of kilometers and bathymetry is indicated in the legend in meters.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Scott Islands marine National Wildlife Area can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Related content

Contact Information

Environment Canada – Pacific and Yukon Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas & Stewardship
5421 Robertson Road
Delta, BC
V4K 3N2
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

Les îles Scott : réserve nationale de faune proposée en milieu marin

Scott Island and some surrounding water
Photo: Greg Jones © Environment Canada
Scott Islands

Description

Le gouvernement du Canada s’est engagé à désigner l’aire marine qui entoure les îles Scott comme étant une aire marine protégée en vertu la Loi sur les espèces sauvages au Canada. En mai 2014, le financement a été garanti pour les cinq prochaines années conformément au Plan national de conservation en vue de la création et de la gestion de la réserve nationale de faune (RNF) de l’aire marine protégée des îles Scott).

La limite recommandée actuellement pour la réserve nationale de faune proposée en milieu marin a été définie en utilisant les meilleurs renseignements disponibles sur les répartitions et l’habitat des oiseaux de mer, et en tenant compte des renseignements socioéconomiques et des processus intégrés de planification marine pour cette région. La réserve nationale de faune proposée en mileu marin s'étend sur une aire exclusivement marine de 11 546 km² qui n'englobe pas les parties terrestres des îles Scott qui sont des aires protégées provinciales. La RNF des îles Scott complètera les désignations provinciales protégées pour les cinq îles qui composent l’archipel des îles Scott. Les îles Lanz et Cox sont celles qui sont les plus rapprochées des côtes de l’île de Vancouver Island et ont été désignées comme étant un parc provincial de classe A en 1995. Les trois îles extérieures, Sartine, Beresford et Triangle, sont devenues des réserves écologiques provinciales en 1971.

Les îles Scott et les eaux qui les entourent constituent l’un des écosystèmes marins les plus productifs et les plus diversifiés sur le plan biologique, particulièrement en ce qui concerne les oiseaux marins, sur la côte canadienne du Pacifique. Les îles Scott accueillent la plus forte concentration d’oiseaux marins de la côte canadienne du Pacifique et elles sont le site de recherche le plus intensif sur les oiseaux marins. Cette région est reconnue mondialement comme une Zone importantes pour la conservation des oiseaux au Canada. Chaque année, elle est l’hôte de plus d’un million d’oiseaux nicheurs et offre d’importants habitats écologiques de reproduction et de nidification pour 40 % des oiseaux marins de C.-B., y compris pour 90 % des macareux huppés, 95 % des guillemots marmettes de la côte canadienne du Pacifique, 50 % des stariques de Cassin et 7 % de la population mondiale de macareux rhinocéros.

Même si les îles sont protégées par la province à divers degrés, le milieu marin qui entoure les îles Scott n’est pas protégé actuellement. Les eaux océaniques fournissent une aire d’alimentation clé aux oiseaux qui font leurs nids sur ces îles. Elles attirent également de 5 à 10 millions d’oiseaux migrateurs qui peuvent parcourir de vastes distances au-dessus du Pacifique pour se nourrir, y compris des espèces que l’Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN) a désigné comme étant en péril à l’échelle mondiale, ce qui comprend l’albatros à pieds noirs (quasi menacé) et le puffin fuligineux (quasi menacé). L’albatros à queue courte (menacé) et le puffin à pieds roses sont d’autres oiseaux de la région énumérés dans la Loi sur les espèces en péril du Canada. Le guillemot marbré (menacé) et le guillemot à cou blanc (espèce préoccupante) sont des espèces en péril qui font leurs nids ailleurs qu’en C.-B.

Outre son importance pour les oiseaux marins, l’aire marine aux alentours des îles Scott a également été désignée comme étant une aire importante sur le plan écologique et biologique en raison de la haute productivité marine et de la diversité de mammifères marins et d’espèces de poisson présentes. Elle renferme également d’importants habitats pour plusieurs espèces de mammifères marins en péril.

Processus d’établissement

Macareux huppé

Photo : Jim Lamont © Environnement Canada, 2011

Macareux huppé, Îles Scott, Colombie-Britannique.

La proposition de réserve nationale de faune en milieu marin des îles Scott été élaborée en consultation avec le Comité directeur et le Groupe consultatif multilatéral, établi en 2010. Le Comité directeur inclut des représentants d’autres ministères fédéraux (Pêches et Océans, Transport et Ressources naturelles), de la province de la C.-B. et des Premières Nations Quatsino et Tlatasikwala. Le Groupe consultatif multilatéral comprend des représentants des administrations locales et régionales, de la pêche commerciale, du transport maritime, des ressources non renouvelables, de la conservation marine, de la pêche sportive et du tourisme maritime.

Le Comité directeur et le Groupe consultatif multilatéral ont tenu de nombreuses réunions et téléconférences au cours des cinq dernières années, ce qui a mené à une compréhension commune de la raison d’être de la zone marine protégée, au processus de planification, au mandat des activités des deux organismes ainsi qu’à une rétroaction sur les buts et les objectifs de gestion et sur la limite recommandée.

À ce jour, toutes les RNF ont été créées par ajout à l’annexe 1 du Règlement sur les réserves d’espèces sauvages. La RNF des îles Scott a été créée avec son ensemble de nouveaux règlements propres à la protection des milieux marins en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces sauvages du Canada.

Gestion

Un plan de gestion pour la RNF des îles Scott est actuellement élaboré par Environnement Canada en collaboration avec des partenaires fédéraux, provinciaux et des Premières Nations ainsi que des parties intéressées. Ce plan renferme une vision et des buts de conservation pour la zone marine protégée afin de guider la gestion de la région ainsi que d’établir des objectifs de conservation et de priorités de recherche de façon à atténuer et à surveiller incidences humaines. Le plan prévoira la protection continue et la gestion adaptative de la zone.

Carte de la réserve

Carte des limites de la réserve nationale de faune des îles Scott proposée en milieu marin

Carte des îles Scott.

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte représentant une aire au nord-ouest de l’île de Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique. Les limites de la réserve de faune en milieu marin des îles Scott sont montrées. La réserve de faune en milieu marin longe la côte de l’île de Vancouver au nord-ouest et s’étend dans l’océan pacifique, couvrant les eaux qui se trouvent autour des îles Triangle, Sartine, Beresford, Lanz et Cox. L’échelle de la carte est en dizaine de kilomètres et la bathymétrie est indiquée en mètres dans la légende.

Cette carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne doit pas être utilisée pour définir les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer la réserve nationale de faune des îles Scott proposée en milieu marin. Notez cependant que Google Maps est une source d'information complémentaire et ne remplace en aucun cas ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Documents connexes

Coordonnées

Environnement Canada – Région du Pacifique et Yukon
Service canadien de la faune
Aires protegées et intendance
5421, route Robertson
Delta (Colombie-Britannique)
V4K 3N2
Ligne sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

Date de modification :