Kentville Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary | Access and Activities | Map of the Area | Summary Table | Contact Information

Kentville Migratory Bird Sanctuary
Photo: Colin MacKinnon © Environment and Climate Change Canada. Kentville Migratory Bird Sanctuary: landscape.

Kentville Migratory Bird Sanctuary (MBS) lies just west of the town of Kentville, in Kings County, Nova Scotia, and a portion of the MBS lies within the town boundaries. This 506-ha wetland is a floodplain marsh with numerous small shallow ponds and backwaters along the meandering course of the Cornwallis River. The river varies in depth from one to three metres and is slightly brackish at the eastern end of the sanctuary, where there is a slight tidal influence. The wetland is dominated by reed-canary grass. Blue-joint, spike rush, and a wide variety of pondweeds and other aquatic plants occur within this fertile wetland. The main feature of the Kentville MBS is a 100-ha flood plain tussock marsh with numerous small shallow ponds and backwaters along the meandering course of the Cornwallis River.

The MBS is bounded on the north by Melvern Square Road and Brooklyn Street and includes a section of Canadian Forces Base Aldershot. To the south, it borders on the former main line of the Dominion Atlantic Railway, now a community walking trail. Since the establishment of the MBS, the town of Kentville has expanded. The entire southern half of the sanctuary (the portion south of the Cornwallis River) is within the town limits of Kentville and includes some small housing subdivisions and industrial facilities.

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary

This MBS is of local significance for regional waterfowl populations. Broods of American Black Duck, Blue-winged Teal and Green-winged Teal have been observed in the sanctuary marsh. The slowly meandering river and adjacent shallow ponds support an abundance of plant and animal life. Red-tailed Hawks and Northern Harriers are frequently seen foraging over the open meadow, and the woodlands adjacent to the walking trail are a favourite haunt of local bird watchers. During late summer and early fall, the MBS serves as a concentration area for waterfowl during migration, with numbers reaching several hundred on an average day.

Access and Activities

MBSs are established for the protection and conservation of migratory birds. Activities that could harm migratory birds, their nests or their eggs are prohibited.

MBSs can be and have been established on private, provincial, territorial and federally owned lands. Access to each MBS varies by site and is at the discretion of the landowner and land manager.

Where MBSs are located on federal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the management and protection of migratory birds, nests, eggs and habitat. Where MBSs are located on provincial land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests, while the chief game officer of the province is responsible for the management of habitat. Where MBSs are located on private or municipal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests. Habitat management is the responsibility of the landowner.

The standard prohibitions under the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations apply to Kentville MBS: hunting migratory birds is prohibited, and no person shall disturb, destroy or take the nest of a migratory bird or have in his or her possession a live migratory bird, or a carcass, skin, nest or egg of a migratory bird, except under the authority of a permit issued by Environment and Climate Change Canada or unless authorized by the Regulations. Possession of firearms or other hunting appliances is prohibited. Dogs and cats must not be allowed to run at large.

Access prohibitions or restrictions by the MBS landowners (Department of National Defence, Province of Nova Scotia and private) may also apply.

For more information on entry, activities and permits in MBSs, please visit the Management and Activities section of the Migratory Bird Sanctuaries website. For more information on Environment and Climate Change Canada's protected areas, please contact the regional office.

For greater certainty, nothing in this document shall be construed so as to abrogate or derogate from the protection provided for existing Aboriginal or treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada by the recognition and affirmation of those rights in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

Map of the Area

Long description for the Map

Map showing the location of Kentville Migratory Bird Sanctuary in relation to Nova Scotia and Kentville. The map shows the boundaries of the sanctuary. The scale of the map is in hundreds of meters.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Kentville MBS can also be viewed using Google Maps.Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Summary Table

Summary Table for Kentville Migratory Bird Sanctuary
CategoryInformation
Protected Area designationMigratory Bird Sanctuary
Province or territoryNova Scotia
Latitude/longitude45°05' N, 64°32' W
Size in hectares (ha)506 ha
Date created (Gazetted)1939
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) management categoryN/A
Additional designationsNone
Main habitat typeMarsh and river channel (37%), old fields (10%), open pine forest (19%), deciduous woodlands (21%), residential and industrial areas (13%)
Key bird speciesAmerican Black Duck, Blue-winged Teal and Green‑winged Teal, Red-tailed Hawk, and Northern Harrier
Other speciesPlants: Blue-joint and Spike Rush
Listed species under the Species at Risk Act(SARA)None
Management agencyCanadian Wildlife Service, Atlantic Region
LandownersDepartment of National Defence, Province of Nova Scotia and private

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Atlantic Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas Program
17 Waterfowl Lane
Sackville NB E4L 1G6
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date modified:

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Kentville

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs | Accès et activités | Carte du refuge | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Kentville
Photo : Colin MacKinnon © Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Kentville - paysage.

Le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) de Kentville se trouve juste à l'ouest de la ville de Kentville, dans le comté de Kings, en Nouvelle-Écosse, et une partie du refuge se trouve dans les limites de la ville. Ce terrain humide de 506 hectares est un marais situé dans des plaines inondables avec de nombreux petits étangs peu profonds et des eaux tranquilles le long du cours sinueux de la rivière Cornwallis. La rivière varie de un à trois mètres de profondeur et elle est légèrement saumâtre à l'extrémité est du refuge où il y a une légère influence des marées. Le terrain humide est dominé par de l'alpiste roseau. La calamagrostide du Canada, l'éléocharide de Small et une grande variété de potamots et d'autres plantes aquatiques poussent également dans cette zone humide fertile. La principale caractéristique du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Kentville est un marais gazonné dans des plaines inondables de 100 hectares avec de nombreux petits étangs peu profonds et tranquilles le long du cours sinueux de la rivière Cornwallis.

Le ROM est limité au nord par la route Melvern Square Road et la rue Brooklyn et il comprend une section de la base des Forces canadiennes d'Aldershot. Au sud, le refuge touche l'ancienne ligne principale de la Dominion Atlantic Railway, qui est désormais un sentier pédestre de la collectivité. Depuis l'établissement du refuge, la ville de Kentville s'est élargie. L'ensemble de la moitié sud du refuge (la partie au sud de la rivière Cornwallis) se trouve dans les limites de la ville de Kentville et comprend quelques petits lotissements résidentiels et installations industrielles.

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs

Ce refuge a une importance locale pour les populations de sauvagine de la région. Des nichées de Canards noirs, de Sarcelles à ailes bleues et de Sarcelles d'hiver ont été observées dans le marais du refuge. La rivière à cours lent et les étangs peu profonds adjacents abritent une abondance de vie végétale et animale. On observe souvent des Buses à queue rousse et des Busards Saint-Martin en recherche de nourriture sur des prés ouverts, et les régions boisées adjacentes au sentier pédestre constituent un lieu de prédilection pour les observateurs d'oiseaux locaux. À la fin de l'été et au début de l'automne, le ROM sert d'aire de concentration pendant la période de migration pour la sauvagine, dont la population peut atteindre plusieurs centaines d'oiseaux par jour en moyenne.

Accès et activités

Les ROM ont pour objet la protection et la conservation des oiseaux migrateurs. Les activités qui pourraient nuire aux oiseaux migrateurs, à leurs nids ou à leurs œufs sont interdites.

Les ROM ont pu, et c'est encore le cas aujourd'hui, être créés sur des terres territoriales, fédérales et privées. Les conditions d'accès aux refuges varient d'un site à l'autre et sont établies par le propriétaire et le gestionnaire des terres.

Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial fédéral, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la gestion et de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs, de leurs nids, de leurs œufs et de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial provincial, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids, tandis que le garde-chasse en chef de la province est responsable de la gestion de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur des terres de propriété privée ou municipale, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids. La gestion de l'habitat est la responsabilité du propriétaire foncier.

Les interdictions générales relatives au Règlement sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs s'appliquent au ROM de Kentville : à moins de détenir un permis délivré par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ou que la réglementation l'autorise spécifiquement, la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs est interdite et nul ne peut déranger, détruire ou prendre leurs nids, et nul ne peut avoir en sa possession un oiseau migrateur vivant ou mort, ou le nid ou l'œuf d'un oiseau migrateur. La possession d'armes à feu ou d'engin de chasse est interdite et les chiens et les chats ne doivent pas être laissés en liberté.

Des interdictions ou restrictions d'accès imposées par les propriétaires fonciers du ROM (ministère de la Défense nationale, province de la Nouvelle-Écosse (en anglais seulement), et propriétaires privés) peuvent également s'appliquer.

Afin d'obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'accès, les activités et les permis dans les ROM, veuillez consulter la section Gestion et activités du site Web Refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. Afin d'obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les aires protégées d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau régional.

Il est entendu que le présente document ne porte pas atteinte à la protection des droits existants -- ancestraux ou issus de traités -- des peuples autochtones du Canada découlant de leur reconnaissance et de leur confirmation au titre de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

Carte du refuge

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte indiquant l'emplacement du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Kentville par rapport à la Nouvelle-Écosse et à Kentville. La carte indique les limites du refuge. L'échelle de la carte est en centaines de mètres.

Cette carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne doit pas être utilisée pour définir les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Kentville (en anglais seulement). Notez cependant que Google Maps est une source d'information complémentaire et ne remplace en aucun cas ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Kentville
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRefuge d'oiseaux migrateurs
Province ou territoireNouvelle-Écosse
Latitude/longitude45° 05' N, 64° 32' O
Superficie en hectares (ha)506 ha
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1939
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)N/A
Désignations supplémentairesAucune
Type d'habitat principalMarais et chenal fluvial (37 %), anciens champs (10 %), forêts de pins ouvertes (19 %), forêts d'arbres à feuilles caduques (21 %), zones résidentielles et industrielles (13 %)
Espèces clés d'oiseauxCanard noir, Sarcelle à ailes bleues et Sarcelle d'hiver, Buse à queue rousse et Busard Saint-Martin
Autres espècesPlantes: Calamagrostide du Canada et Éléocharide de Small
Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)Aucune
Organisme de gestionService canadien de la faune, région de l'Atlantique
Propriétaires des terresMinistère de la Défense nationale, province de la Nouvelle-Écosse et propriétaires privés

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - Région de l'Atlantique
Service canadien de la faune
Programme des zones protégées
17, allée Waterfowl
Sackville (Nouveau-Brunswick)
E4L 1G6
Sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :