Acts and Regulations


Legislative and regulatory direction for the creation of protected areas by Environment Canada is provided under the acts and regulations indicated below:

Acts

Canada Wildlife Act (CWA) – The CWA, passed in 1973, empowers the Minister of the Environment to acquire lands to create National Wildlife Areas, in order to establish, manage and protect wildlife areas, and to enable wildlife research activities as well as the conservation and interpretation of wildlife. The Act’s purpose is to preserve habitats that are critical to migratory birds and other wildlife species, particularly those that are at risk.

Migratory Birds Convention Act (MBCA) – The 1994 MBCA was originally passed in 1917 in order to implement the Migratory Birds Convention of 1916, signed between Great Britain (on behalf of Canada) and the United Sates. The MBCA aims to protect and conserve migratory birds as populations and individuals, their nests, and the habitat necessary for their survival. The Act provides for regulations to prohibit the taking, injuring, destruction or disturbing of migratory birds, their eggs and nests, within any prescribed protected area. That provision forms the basis for establishing sanctuaries for migratory birds and for enacting regulations to control and administer such sanctuaries.

The Parksville Protocol is an amendment to the 1916 Migratory Birds Convention. It was signed on December 14, 1995, between Canada and the United States. The amendment came into force in October, 1999, resulting in the addition of the Protocol to the Migratory Birds Convention Act’s schedule. The Protocol improves the Convention by enhancing conservation efforts to provide for and protect the habitat necessary for migratory birds, and includes an updated list of migratory birds under the Convention's Article I. The Protocol further recognizes and endorses Aboriginal traditional harvesting rights, and clarifies and expands some of Environment Canada’s obligations in relation to migratory birds (Article II to V of the Convention).

Species At Risk Act (SARA) – SARA, passed by Parliament in 2002, aims to prevent “ … wildlife species from being extirpated or becoming extinct, to provide for the recovery of wildlife species that are extirpated, endangered or threatened as a result of human activity and to manage species of special concern to prevent them from becoming endangered or threatened.” As such, SARA strengthens the CWA for creating National Wildlife Areas to also protect wildlife habitat and empowers the Minister to “ … establish codes of practice, national standards or guidelines with respect to the protection of critical habitat.” For more information on initiatives and programs related to species at risk, consult the Environment Canada web section on Species at Risk.

Canadian Environmental Assessment Act (CEAA) - The 1995 CEAA ensures that rigorous environmental assessment is performed for projects carried out by the federal government or Crown corporations where the assessment includes public consultation. With respect to Environment Canada’s protected areas, such assessment is conducted to evaluate a proposed project’s potential impacts on the protected area.

Oceans Act - Passed in 1997, the Act addresses Canadian authority over economic zones in Canada’s coastal regions. The Act also tasks the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans to lead and coordinate the development of a national network of marine protected areas on behalf of the government of Canada.

Regulations

Wildlife Area Regulations (WAR) – These 1977 regulations identify prohibited activities in National Wildlife Areas listed under Schedule 1, i.e., activities that could be harmful to species or their habitat--unless a permit has been issued to authorize the activity. The Regulations are regularly amended to incorporate new protected areas as well as any changes regarding listed National Wildlife Areas, including revisions of a National Wildlife Area’s boundaries.

Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations (MBSR) - The 1994 regulations prescribe areas for sanctuaries and their governance, and identify prohibited disturbances of migratory birds, their eggs, and their nests within a Migratory Bird Sanctuary. The Regulations also prohibit disturbances of migratory birds’ habitat in Migratory Bird Sanctuaries established on federal lands, unless a permit has been issued for the activity. The MBSR can be amended to incorporate new protected areas and any changes regarding listed sanctuaries, such as the revision of a protected area boundary.

Migratory Birds Regulations (MBR) - The 1917 MBR implement the MBCA according to its prescribed prohibitions against the harming of migratory birds, their nests and their eggs, including the deposit of harmful substances in any waters or any area frequented by migratory birds. The MBR also provide for the issuance of permits or authorizations for certain activities according to specified criteria and conditions. The Regulations are amended on a regular basis to reflect hunting restrictions. For more information on policies and regulations related to migratory birds, please visit the Environment Canada web section on Migratory Birds.

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Lois et règlements


Le cadre législatif et réglementaire autorisant la création d’aires protégées par Environnement Canada est prévu dans les lois et règlements présentés ci-dessous.

Lois

Loi sur les espèces sauvages du Canada (LESC) – La LESC, adoptée en 1973, autorise le ministre de l’Environnement à acquérir des terres pour créer des réserves nationales de faune, dans le but d’établir, gérer et protéger des réserves de faune et de permettre des activités de recherche, de conservation et d'interprétation de la faune. La loi a pour but de protéger les habitats essentiels aux oiseaux migrateurs ou à d'autres espèces sauvages, particulièrement celles qui sont en péril. 

Loi sur la Convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs (LCOM) – La LCOM de 1994 a été adoptée à l’origine en 1917 pour mettre en œuvre la Convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs de 1916, signée entre la Grande-Bretagne (au nom du Canada) et les États-Unis. La LCOM vise à protéger et conserver les populations et individus d’oiseaux migrateurs, leurs nids et l’habitat nécessaire à leur survie. La loi prévoit des règlements à l’interdiction de prendre, de blesser, de détruire ou de déranger les oiseaux migrateurs, leurs œufs et leurs nids, et ce, dans toute aire protégée prescrite. Cette disposition permet la création de refuges pour les oiseaux migrateurs ainsi que l’édiction de règles pour le contrôle et l’administration de ces refuges.

Le Protocole de Parksville est une modification à la Convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs de 1916. Il a été signé le 14 décembre 1995, entre le Canada et les États-Unis. Entrée en vigueur en octobre 1999, le Protocol fût annexé à la Loi sur la Convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs. Le Protocole améliore la Convention renforçant les efforts de conservation pour les oiseaux migrateurs d’abord par la planification et la protection de leur habitat nécessaire, ainsi que par la mise à jour de la liste des oiseaux migrateurs visés par la loi (Article I de la Convention). Le Protocole reconnaît également et entérine les droits traditionnels de cueillette des Autochtones, de même que clarifie et augmente certaines des responsabilités d'Environnement Canada rattachées aux oiseaux migrateurs (Article II à V de la Convention).

Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) – La LEP, adoptée par le Parlement en 2002, vise à prévenir « … la disparition -- de la planète ou du Canada seulement -- des espèces sauvages, à permettre le rétablissement de celles qui, par suite de l’activité humaine, sont devenues des espèces disparues du pays, sont en voie de disparition ou menacées, et à favoriser la gestion des espèces préoccupantes pour éviter qu’elles ne deviennent des espèces en voie de disparition ou menacées ». De ce fait, la LEP donne du poids à la LESC pour ce qui est de la création de réserves nationales de faune, pour qu'elles protègent également les habitats d'espèces sauvagese, et autorise le ministre à « … élaborer des codes de pratique et des normes ou directives nationales en matière de protection de l’habitat essentiel ». Pour en savoir davantage sur les initiatives et programmes rattachés aux espèces en péril, consultez la page Web d'Environnement Canada sur les espèces en péril.

Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale (LCEE) – La LCEE de 1995 veille à ce qu’une évaluation environnementale rigoureuse soit effectuée pour tout projet mené et/ou autorisé par le gouvernement fédéral ou des sociétés d’État. Cette évaluation prévoit aussi un processus de consultation publique. En ce qui concerne les aires protégées d’Environnement Canada, une telle évaluation est menée pour évaluer les répercussions potentielles d’un projet proposé sur l'aire protégée.

Loi sur les océans– Adoptée en 1997, cette loi traite du pouvoir du Canada sur les zones économiques situées dans les régions côtières du pays. La loi accorde également la tâche au ministre des Pêches et des Océans de diriger et coordonner l’élaboration d’un réseau national de zones de protection marine au nom du gouvernement du Canada.

Règlements

Règlement sur les réserves d’espèces sauvages (RRES) – Ce règlement de 1977 identifie les activités interdites dans les réserves nationales de faune de l’Annexe 1, soit des activités pouvant être nuisibles pour les espèces ou leur habitat, à moins qu’un permis n’ait été délivré pour autoriser l’activité. Le règlement est régulièrement modifié afin d'ajouter de nouvelles reserves ou d'inscrire tout changement concernant une réserve existante comme une révision de ses limites.

Règlement sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs (RROM) – Ce règlement adopté en 1994 prescrit les zones réservées comme refuges et leur intendance, et interdit la perturbation des oiseaux migrateurs, de leurs œufs et de leurs nids dans un refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs. Le règlement interdit également de perturber l’habitat des oiseaux migrateurs dans les refuges d’oiseaux migrateurs établis sur des terres fédérales, et à moins qu’un permis ait été obtenu. Il est possible de modifier le RROM pour y ajouter de nouvelles aires protégées ainsi que tout changement effectué sur un refuge inscrit comme la modification de ses limites.

Règlement sur les oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) – Ce règlement de 1917 met en œuvre la LCOM interdisant toutes activités pouvant nuire aux oiseaux migrateurs, à leurs nids et à leurs œufs, dont le dépôt de substances nocives dans les eaux ou toute autre zone fréquentée par des oiseaux migrateurs. Le ROM prévoit également l'émission de permis ou d'autorisations pour certaines activités, selon des critères et conditions précis. Ce règlement est régulièrement modifié entre autre pour y inscrire des restrictions de chasse. Pour en savoir davantage sur les politiques et règlements liés aux oiseaux migrateurs, veuillez consulter la page Web sur les oiseaux migrateurs d’Environnement Canada.