Hannah Bay Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary | Access and Activities | Map of the Area | Summary Table | Contact Information

Snow Geese
Photo: © Thinkstockphotos.ca. Snow Geese.

Hannah Bay Migratory Bird Sanctuary (MBS) forms the southernmost projection of James Bay. The lands are managed by the Province of Ontario, and the areas below the high-tide mark are managed by the Government of Nunavut. The MBS is located on the east side of the bay and stretches northward from the mouth of the Little Missisicabi River to East Point. The MBS extends 6.4 km west from East Point and includes open water, shoals and tidal mud flats that are part of Nunavut. In addition to the coastal area, the MBS includes sedge marshes, inland fens and spruce forest that stretch eastward to the Ontario-Quebec border. The northern boundary of the MBS is a line due eastward from East Point to the Ontario-Quebec border, while the north bank of the south branch of the Little Missisicabi River forms the southern boundary.

The Hannah Bay MBS is characterized by areas of extensive tidal mud flats and well‑developed sedge marsh interspersed with lakes and streams. The tidal mud flats, which may reach a few kilometres in width, are hard-packed silt and clay; the water in this area is brackish and turbid. Following the flats are sedge-dominated marshes with rush and bulrush on the edges, and occasional pool areas colonized by Potamogeton sp. On higher sites, needlerush and grasses are found, while cattail and mare's tail grow in the numerous shallow ponds. The deeper potholes contain a variety of submergent plants, including Myriophyllum spicatum, Potamogeton sp. Farther inland, extensive wet meadows, freshwater swamps, fens and bogs, and black spruce forest cover the area. Willow species may be found along the banks of streams such as the Little Missisicabi River.

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary

The funnel-shaped outline of Hudson and James bays causes migrating birds from the Arctic to concentrate at the southern end of James Bay each fall. Extensive tidal flats, coastal marshes and inland fens attract hundreds of thousands of ducks, geese and shorebirds each autumn. The above-noted vegetation zones are common along the southern shore of James Bay, but the coastal sedge marsh zone is considerably wider at the Hannah Bay MBS than along other sections of the shoreline.

The most common fall migrants are Lesser Snow Geese, Canada Geese, Northern Pintails, American Black Ducks, Mallards, Green-winged Teals and White-winged Scoters. Lesser Snow Geese are found in numbers reaching several thousands during the fall and spring migration through the Hannah Bay MBS (see table). In its 1982 Goose Survey, the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources recorded over 7000 Lesser Snow Geese in the MBS, which constituted one fifth of the total number counted in southern James Bay in the survey. These habitats are essential for waterfowl as feeding grounds to replenish their fat reserves in order to continue their migratory journey.

Numbers of geese observed in Hannah Bay MBS:
DateLesser Snow GeeseCanada Geese
Oct. 4–6, 197135,897
Oct. 15–18, 197164,538
Sept. 19–22, 197214,4351884
Oct. 4–10, 197228,560398

In addition to the MBS's value as a feeding and resting area for migrating geese, the coastal portion of the sanctuary is important as a moulting area for Canada Geese. During spring migration, some ducks may remain in the sanctuary on the offshore islands and the mainland, and attempt to nest. However, severe flood tides restrict the possibility of significant waterfowl production in this area. Large numbers of ducks congregate along the coastal marshes of the MBS each summer to moult. Thousands of ducks utilize the tidal flats, coastal marsh, streams and ponds during the fall migration.

Many shorebirds, including Black-bellied, Golden and Semipalmated Plovers, as well as Yellowlegs, Dunlins, Semipalmated Sandpipers, Hudsonian Godwits, Red Knots and Wilson's Snipes, pass through Hannah Bay MBS during migration.

Access and Activities

MBSs are established for the protection and conservation of migratory birds. Activities that could harm migratory birds, their nests or their eggs are prohibited.

MBSs can be and have been established on private, provincial, territorial and federally owned lands. Access to each MBS varies by site and is at the discretion of the landowner and land manager.

Where MBSs are located on federal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the management and protection of migratory birds, nests, eggs and habitat. Where MBSs are located on provincial land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests, while the chief game officer of the province is responsible for the management of habitat. Where MBSs are located on private or municipal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests. Habitat management is the responsibility of the landowner.

The standard prohibitions under the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations apply to Hannah Bay MBS: hunting migratory birds is prohibited, and no person shall disturb, destroy or take the nest of a migratory bird or have in his or her possession a live migratory bird, or a carcass, skin, nest or egg of a migratory bird, except under the authority of a permit issued by Environment and Climate Change Canada or unless authorized by the Regulations. Possession of firearms or other hunting appliances is prohibited. Dogs and cats must not be allowed to run at large.

Access prohibitions or restrictions by the MBS landowners (the Province of Ontario manages the land and the Government of Nunavut manages below the high-tide mark) may also apply.

For more information on entry, activities and permits in MBSs, please visit the Management and Activities section of the Migratory Bird Sanctuaries website. For more information on Environment and Climate Change Canada's protected areas, please contact the regional office.

For greater certainty, nothing in this document shall be construed so as to abrogate or derogate from the protection provided for existing Aboriginal or treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada by the recognition and affirmation of those rights in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

Map of the Area

Long description for the Map

Map showing the location of Hannah Bay Migratory Bird Sanctuary relative to Ontario, Quebec, Ministikamisk Peninsula, Iskoyaskweyau Point, James Bay, Hannah Bay and Missisicabi River. The map shows the boundaries of the sanctuary, which extend into James Bay and Hannah Bay and inland in Ontario to the Quebec border. The scale of the map is in kilometers.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Hannah Bay MBS can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Summary Table

Summary Table for Hannah Bay Migratory Bird Sanctuary
CategoryInformation
Protected Area designationMigratory Bird Sanctuary
Province or territoryOntario
Latitude/longitude51°20' N, 80°25' W
Size in hectares (ha)25 141 ha
Date created (Gazetted)1958
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) management categoryIb - Wilderness Area
Additional designations
Main habitat typeTidal mud flats (10%), coastal marsh (55%), forest interspersed with grassy meadows (35%)
Key bird speciesLesser Snow Goose and Canada Goose
Other speciesBirds: Northern Pintail, Mallard, Green-winged Teal, yellowlegs, plovers, Atlantic Brant and American Black Duck
Listed species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)None
Management agencyCanadian Wildlife Service, Ontario Region
LandownersProvince of Ontario and Government of Nunavut

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Ontario Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Ecosystem Conservation
4905 Dufferin Street
Toronto ON M3H 5T4
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date modified:

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de la baie Hannah

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs | Accès et activités | Carte du refuge | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Les Oies des neiges
Photo : © Thinkstockphotos.ca. Les Oies des neiges.

Le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) de la baie Hannah forme la projection à l'extrême sud de la baie James. Les terres sont gérées par la province de l'Ontario, et les zones situées en dessous de la laisse de marée haute sont gérées par le gouvernement du Nunavut. Le refuge se trouve sur le côté est de la baie et s'étend vers le nord à partir de l'embouchure de la rivière Little Missisicabi jusqu'à East Point. En outre, il s'étend sur 6,4 km à l'ouest d'East Point et comprend des eaux libres, des hauts-fonds et des vasières intertidales qui font partie du Nunavut. En plus de la zone côtière, le refuge comprend les marais à carex, des marais intérieurs et des forêts d'épinette qui s'étendent vers l'est en direction de la frontière de l'Ontario et du Québec. La limite nord du refuge est une ligne allant vers l'est en partant d'East Point jusqu'à la frontière de l'Ontario et du Québec, tandis que la rive nord du bras méridional de la rivière Little Missisicabi forme la frontière sud.

Le ROM de la baie Hannah se caractérise par des zones de vastes vasières intertidales et de marais à carex bien développés comprenant des lacs et des cours d'eau. Les vasières intertidales, qui peuvent atteindre quelques kilomètres de largeur, sont des amas secs de limon et d'argile; dans cette zone, l'eau est saumâtre et trouble. Derrière les terrains plats, on trouve des marais composés principalement de carex avec des joncs et des massettes sur les bords. Des zones occasionnelles de bassins sont colonisées par du potamot luisant (Potamogeton). Sur les sites plus élevés, on trouve du needlerush et des graminées, tandis que des quenouilles et de l'hippuride vulgaire poussent dans de nombreux étangs. Les fondrières plus profondes contiennent une variété d'espèces végétales submergées, y compris du myriophylle en épi (Myriophyllum spicatum) et du potamot luisant (Potamogeton). Plus loin à l'intérieur des terres, de vastes prés humides, des marécages d'eau douce, des tourbières oligotrophes et minérotrophes, et une forêt d'épinettes noires couvrent la zone. On peut trouver du saule (Salix) le long des berges de cours d'eau comme la rivière Little Missisicabi.

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs

La forme d'entonnoir de la baie d'Hudson et de la baie James entraîne la concentration des oiseaux migrateurs de l'Arctique à l'extrémité sud de la baie James chaque automne. De vastes estrans, marais côtiers et marais intérieurs attirent des centaines de milliers de canards, d'oies et d'oiseaux de rivage chaque automne. Les zones de végétation mentionnées précédemment sont fréquentes le long de la rive sud de la baie James, mais la zone de marais à carex côtier est considérablement plus large au niveau du ROM de la baie Hannah que le long d'autres sections du littoral.

Les oiseaux migrateurs les plus communs en automne sont la Petite Oie des neiges, la Bernache du Canada, le Canard pilet, le Canard noir, le Canard colvert, la Sarcelle d'hiver, et la Macreuse brune. Les Petites Oies des neiges se trouvent en nombres atteignant plusieurs milliers durant la migration d'automne et de printemps dans l'ensemble du ROM de la baie Hannah (voir tableau). Dans son relevé d'oies de 1982, le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario a recensé plus de 7 000 Petites Oies des neiges dans le ROM, ce qui représentait un cinquième du nombre total d'individus dénombrés au sud de la baie James dans le cadre de l'inventaire. Ces habitats sont essentiels pour la sauvagine en tant qu'aires d'alimentation, afin qu'elle puisse se réapprovisionner en réserves de gras pour poursuivre son déplacement migratoire.

Le nombre d'oies et de bernaches observées dans le ROM de la baie Hannah :
DateLesser Snow GeeseCanada Geese
Oct. 4–6, 197135 897
Oct. 15–18, 197164 538
Sept. 19–22, 197214 4351884
Oct. 4–10, 197228 560398

En plus de la valeur du ROM comme aire d'alimentation et de repos pour les oies migratrices, la partie côtière du refuge est importante comme aire de mue pour la Bernache du Canada. Au cours de la migration de printemps, certains canards peuvent demeurer dans le refuge sur les îles au large et sur le continent afin d'essayer de nicher. Toutefois, de graves inondations restreignent la possibilité d'une importante production de la sauvagine dans cette région. Un grand nombre de canards se rassemblent le long des marais côtiers du refuge chaque été pour la mue. Des milliers de canards utilisent les estrans, les marais côtiers, les ruisseaux et les étangs au cours de la migration d'automne.

De nombreux oiseaux de rivage, notamment le Pluvier argenté, le Pluvier bronzé et le Pluvier semipalmé, ainsi que le Petit chevalier, le Grand chevalier, le Bécasseau variable, le Bécasseau semipalmé, la Barge hudsonienne, le Bécasseaux maubèche, et la Bécassine de Wilson traversent le ROM de la baie Hannah pendant leur migration.

Accès et activités

Les ROM ont pour objet la protection et la conservation des oiseaux migrateurs. Les activités qui pourraient nuire aux oiseaux migrateurs, à leurs nids ou à leurs œufs sont interdites.

Les ROM ont pu, et c'est encore le cas aujourd'hui, être créés sur des terres territoriales, fédérales et privées. Les conditions d'accès aux refuges varient d'un site à l'autre et sont établies par le propriétaire et le gestionnaire des terres.

Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial fédéral, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la gestion et de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs, de leurs nids, de leurs œufs et de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial provincial, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids, tandis que le garde-chasse en chef de la province est responsable de la gestion de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur des terres de propriété privée ou municipale, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids. La gestion de l'habitat est la responsabilité du propriétaire foncier.

Les interdictions générales relatives au Règlement sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs s'appliquent au ROM de la baie Hannah : à moins de détenir un permis délivré par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ou que la réglementation l'autorise spécifiquement, la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs est interdite et nul ne peut déranger, détruire ou prendre leurs nids, et nul ne peut avoir en sa possession un oiseau migrateur vivant ou mort, ou le nid ou l'œuf d'un oiseau migrateur. La possession d'armes à feu ou d'engin de chasse est interdite et les chiens et les chats ne doivent pas être laissés en liberté.

Des interdictions ou restrictions d'accès imposées par le propriétaire foncier du ROM (la province de l'Ontario, qui gère les terres, et le gouvernement du Nunavut, qui gère la zone située en dessous de la laisse de marée haute) peuvent également s'appliquer.

Afin d'obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'accès, les activités et les permis dans les ROM, veuillez consulter la section Gestion et activités du site Web Refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. Afin d'obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les aires protégées d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau régional.

Il est entendu que le présent document ne porte pas atteinte à la protection des droits existants -- ancestraux ou issus de traités -- des peuples autochtones du Canada découlant de leur reconnaissance et de leur confirmation au titre de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

Carte du refuge

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte indiquant l'emplacement du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de la baie Hannah par rapport à l'Ontario, au Québec, à la péninsule Ministikamisk, à la pointe Iskoyaskweyau, à la baie James, à la baie Hannah et à la rivière Missisicabi. La carte indique les limites du refuge, qui s'étendent jusqu'à la baie James et à la baie Hannah et vers l'intérieur en Ontario jusqu'à la frontière du Québec. L'échelle de la carte est en kilomètres.

Cette carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne doit pas être utilisée pour définir les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de la baie Hannah (en anglais seulement). Notez cependant que Google Maps est une source d'information complémentaire et ne remplace en aucun cas ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de la baie Hannah
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRefuge d'oiseaux migrateurs
Province ou territoireOntario
Latitude/longitude51° 20' N, 79° 38' O
Superficie en hectares (ha)25,141 ha
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1939
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)Ib - Zone de nature sauvage
Désignations supplémentaires
Type d'habitat principalVasières intertidales et eaux libres (20 %), marais côtiers (25 %), forêts d'épinettes, complexes de tourbières (55 %)
Espèces clés d'oiseauxPetite Oie des neiges, Bernache du Canada, Canard pilet, Canard noir, Canard colvert, Sarcelle d'hiver et Macreuse brune
Autres espècesOiseaux : Pluvier argenté, Pluvier bronzé, Pluvier semipalmé, Petit chevalier et Grand Chevalier, Bécasseau variable, Bécasseau semipalmé, Barge hudsonienne, Bécasseau maubèche, Bécassine de Wilson
Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)Aucune
Organisme de gestionService canadien de la faune, région de l'Ontario
Propriétaires des terresProvince de l'Ontario et gouvernement du Nunavut

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - Région de l'Ontario
Service canadien de la faune
Conservation des écosystèmes
4905, rue Dufferin
Toronto (Ontario) M3H 5T4
Sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :