Île aux Canes Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary | Access and Activities | Map of the Area | Summary Table | Contact Information

Male Common Eider
Photo: © Thinkstockphotos.ca. Male Common Eider.

Île aux Canes Migratory Bird Sanctuary (MBS) is located in the District of Strait of Belle Isle, off the northeast coast of Newfoundland, and is locally known as Green Island. It includes all the water surrounding the island, the small inlets and rocks. Marsh cordgrass and cow-parsnip are the major vegetation species on the island. The upland area supports predominantly low-growing ericaceous shrubs such as crowberry that tolerate acidic soil.

Except for the southeast side, the island is low-lying and slopes very gradually towards the sea. The low-lying portion makes up 60% of the total area and has an overburden of rich organic matter. Surrounding waters are quite shallow, with depths generally less than 5 m, and there are numerous shoals, submerged rocks and islets. The intertidal and subtidal zones constitute ideal feeding habitats for Common Eider in that they support a variety of marine invertebrates that serve as important food for young birds.

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Île aux Canes MBS supports nesting colonies of Common Eider, which require isolated locations. These birds normally nest on offshore islands that limit their geographical distribution. Together with Shepherd Island, Île aux Canes MBS is one of the largest breeding sites for the Common Eider in insular Newfoundland.

This MBS, along with nearby Shepherd Island, is the only site where the number of breeding pairs of Common Eider has been increasing in recent years, although predation by fox and Polar Bear has recently been a problem. Numbers of nests increased from 12 in 1975 to 350 in 1988, and again to the present estimate of 1291 in 2001. The gently sloping bedrock "ramps" allow easy access for flightless young birds, and the area has an abundance of marine invertebrates, including blue mussels, periwinkles, whelks and amphipods. Surrounding shoals also reduce wave energy on waters where the young birds first feed. There would appear to be a potential carrying capacity of up to 5000 nests according to the Protection Plan for Green and Shepherd Islands (1988).

Access and Activities

MBSs are established for the protection and conservation of migratory birds. Activities that could harm migratory birds, their nests or their eggs are prohibited.

MBSs can be and have been established on private, provincial, territorial and federally owned lands. Access to each MBS varies by site and is at the discretion of the landowner and land manager.

Where MBSs are located on federal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the management and protection of migratory birds, nests, eggs and habitat. Where MBSs are located on provincial land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests, while the chief game officer of the province is responsible for the management of habitat. Where MBSs are located on private or municipal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests. Habitat management is the responsibility of the landowner.

The standard prohibitions under the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations apply to Île aux Canes MBS: hunting migratory birds is prohibited, and no person shall disturb, destroy or take the nest of a migratory bird or have in his or her possession a live migratory bird, or a carcass, skin, nest or egg of a migratory bird, except under the authority of a permit issued by Environment and Climate Change Canada or unless authorized by the Regulations. Possession of firearms or other hunting appliances is prohibited. Dogs and cats must not be allowed to run at large.

Access prohibitions or restrictions by the MBS landowner (Province of Newfoundland and Labrador) may also apply.

For more information on entry, activities and permits in MBSs, please visit the Management and Activities section of the Migratory Bird Sanctuaries website. For more information on Environment and Climate Change Canada's protected areas, please contact the regional office.

For greater certainty, nothing in this document shall be construed so as to abrogate or derogate from the protection provided for existing Aboriginal or treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada by the recognition and affirmation of those rights in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

Map of the Area

Long description for the Map

Map showing the location of the Île aux Canes Migratory Bird Sanctuary in relation to Newfoundland, Bell Island, Île aux Canes and the Labrador Sea. The map shows the boundaries of the sanctuary, which covers Île aux Canes as well as a portion of the surrounding waters in the Labrador Sea. The scale of the map is in hundreds of meters.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Île aux Canes MBS can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Summary Table

Summary Table for Île aux Canes Migratory Bird Sanctuary
CategoryInformation
Protected Area designationMigratory Bird Sanctuary
Province or territoryNewfoundland and Labrador
Latitude/longitude50°42' N, 55°36'40" W
Size in hectares (ha)162 ha
Date created (Gazetted)1991
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Management CategoryIa - Strict Nature Reserve
Additional designationsPart of Bell Island South Coast Important Bird Area
Main habitat typeThe island is low-lying, sloping very gradually into the sea, and makes up 60% of the total area. It has an overburden of rich organic matter. Surrounding waters are quite shallow, with depths generally less than 5 m, and there are numerous shoals, submerged rocks and islets, with intertidal and subtidal zones.
Key bird speciesCommon Eider
Listed species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)None
Management agencyCanadian Wildlife Service, Atlantic Region
LandownerProvince of Newfoundland and Labrador

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Atlantic Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas Program
17 Waterfowl Lane
Sackville NB E4L 1G6
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date modified:

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'Île aux Canes

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs | Accès et activités | Carte du refuge | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Eider à duvet mâle
Photo : © Thinkstockphotos.ca. Eider à duvet mâle.

Le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) de l'île aux Canes est situé dans le district du détroit de Belle-Isle au large de la côte nord-est de Terre-Neuve. L'île est également connue sous le nom de l'île Green à l'échelle locale. Il comprend l'ensemble des eaux ainsi que de petits ruisseaux et des roches. La spartine de marais et la berce laineuse sont les principales espèces végétales dans le refuge. La zone de hautes terres comporte principalement des plantes basses éricacées qui tolèrent des conditions de croissance acides, en particulier la camarine noire.

À l'exception du côté sud-est, l'île est de faible altitude et s'incline très graduellement dans la mer. La partie de faible altitude constitue 60 % de la superficie totale et comprend un mort-terrain riche en matière organique. Les eaux environnantes sont relativement peu profondes, avec des profondeurs généralement inférieures à 5 mètres, et on trouve de nombreux hauts-fonds, des roches submergées et des îlots. Les zones intertidales et subtidales constituent des habitats d'alimentation idéals pour l'Eider à duvet dans la mesure où elles assurent la subsistance d'une variété d'invertébrés marins qui servent de nourriture importante aux jeunes oiseaux.

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs

Le ROM de l'île aux Canes abrite des colonies de nidification d'Eider à duvet qui requièrent des endroits isolés. Ces oiseaux nichent généralement sur des îles au large qui limitent leur répartition géographique. Avec l'île Shepherd, le ROM de l'île aux Canes est l'un des plus importants sites de reproduction pour l'Eider à duvet sur l'île de Terre-Neuve.

Le ROM de l'île aux Canes ainsi que l'île Shepherd voisine constituent le seul site où le nombre de couples reproducteurs d'Eiders à duvet a augmenté au cours des dernières années, bien que la prédation par des renards et des ours soit un problème récent. Le nombre de nids a augmenté, passant de 12 en 1975 à 350 en 1988, puis il a de nouveau cru pour atteindre 1291 en 2001. Les rampes rocheuses légèrement inclinées permettent un accès facile pour les jeunes oiseaux qui ne volent pas, et la région a une abondance d'invertébrés marins tel que de moules bleues, de bigorneaux, de buccins et d'amphipodes. Les hauts-fonds environnants réduisent également l'énergie des vagues sur les eaux où les jeunes oiseaux se nourrissent en premier. Les hauts-fonds semblent présenter une capacité potentielle d'accueil allant jusqu'à 5000 nids selon le Plan de protection pour l'île Green et l'île Shepherd (1988).

Accès et activités

Les ROM ont pour objet la protection et la conservation des oiseaux migrateurs. Les activités qui pourraient nuire aux oiseaux migrateurs, à leurs nids ou à leurs œufs sont interdites.

Les ROM ont pu, et c'est encore le cas aujourd'hui, être créés sur des terres territoriales, fédérales et privées. Les conditions d'accès aux refuges varient d'un site à l'autre et sont établies par le propriétaire et le gestionnaire des terres.

Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial fédéral, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la gestion et de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs, de leurs nids, de leurs œufs et de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial provincial, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids, tandis que le garde-chasse en chef de la province est responsable de la gestion de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur des terres de propriété privée ou municipale, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids. La gestion de l'habitat est la responsabilité du propriétaire foncier.

Les interdictions générales relatives au Règlement sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs s'appliquent au ROM de l'île aux Canes : à moins de détenir un permis délivré par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ou que la réglementation l'autorise spécifiquement, la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs est interdite et nul ne peut déranger, détruire ou prendre leurs nids, et nul ne peut avoir en sa possession un oiseau migrateur vivant ou mort, ou le nid ou l'œuf d'un oiseau migrateur. La possession d'armes à feu ou d'engin de chasse est interdite et les chiens et les chats ne doivent pas être laissés en liberté.

Des interdictions ou restrictions d'accès imposées par le propriétaire foncier du ROM (province de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador - en anglais seulement) peuvent également s'appliquer.

Afin d'obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'accès, les activités et les permis dans les ROM, veuillez consulter la section Gestion et activités du site Web Refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. Afin d'obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les aires protégées d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau régional.

Il est entendu que le présent document ne porte pas atteinte à la protection des droits existants -- ancestraux ou issus de traités -- des peuples autochtones du Canada découlant de leur reconnaissance et de leur confirmation au titre de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

Carte du refuge

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte indiquant l'emplacement du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'île aux Canes par rapport à Terre-Neuve, à l'île Bell, à l'île aux Canes et à la mer du Labrador. La carte indique les limites du refuge, qui couvre l'île aux Canes ainsi qu'une partie des eaux environnantes de la mer du Labrador. L'échelle de la carte est en centaines de mètres.

Cette carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne doit pas être utilisée pour définir les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'île aux Canes (en anglais seulement). Notez cependant que Google Maps est une source d'information complémentaire et ne remplace en aucun cas ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'Île aux Canes
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRefuge d'oiseaux migrateurs
Province ou territoireTerre-Neuve-et-Labrador
Latitude/longitude50° 42' N, 55° 36' 40˝ O
Superficie en hectares (ha)162 ha
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1991
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)Ia - Réserve naturelle intégrale
Désignations supplémentairesFait partie de la Zone importante pour la conservation des oiseaux sur la côte sud de l'île Bell
Type d'habitat principalL'île est de faible altitude, s'incline très graduellement dans la mer, et constitue 60 % de la superficie totale. Elle comporte un mort-terrain riche en matières organiques. Les eaux environnantes sont relativement peu profondes, avec des profondeurs généralement inférieures à 5 m, et on trouve de nombreux hauts-fonds, des roches submergées et des îlots avec des zones intertidales et subtidales.
Espèces clés d'oiseauxEider à duvet
Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)Aucune
Organisme de gestionService canadien de la faune, région de l'Atlantique
Propriétaire des terresProvince de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - Région de l'Atlantique
Service canadien de la faune
Programme des zones protégées
17, allée Waterfowl
Sackville (Nouveau-Brunswick)
E4L 1G6
Sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :