Watshishou Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary | Access and Activities | Map of the Area | Summary Table | Contact Information

Photo of Watshishou Migratory Bird Sanctuary
Photo: Jean-François Rail © Environment and Climate Change Canada. Watshishou Migratory Bird Sanctuary.

The Watshishou Migratory Bird Sanctuary (MBS) is located in Minganie, on the north shore of the Gulf of St. Lawrence, approximately 40 km west of Natashquan. It extends a little over 23 km along the coast and lies in part within the boundaries of the Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve. It includes the Pontbriand, Jalobert and Pashashibou Bays, all islands, islets and emergent rocks in the sector, along with offshore waters within a few kilometres from the coast. In fact, the offshore waters make up nearly 90% of the sanctuary. Other than a few mosses and lichens, there are no particular plant communities in existence within the terrestrial portion of the site, which consists mainly of rocky outcrops.

This 10 673 hectare sanctuary was established in 1925 to protect an important nesting area for Common Eider and other seabird colonies.

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary

The Watshishou MBS supports a large number of Common Eiders, the most populous species of the sanctuary. In 2010, its population was estimated at over 3000 breeding pairs. The population of this species has grown rapidly since the 1980s and there are more of these birds in the sanctuary today than when it was created.

The second most common species found in the MBS is the Double-crested Cormorant. The population of this species reached a record high of 944 pairs in 2010, a significant increase compared to the 1980s, when only 150 pairs were recorded.

The Herring Gull ranks third. During inventories carried out in 1993, 1998 and 2005, 830 to 965 of these birds were recorded. This species still had a population of nearly 600 in 2010. As for the Arctic and Common Terns, (other nesters in the sanctuary), their numbers vary greatly from year to year. The population reached numbers of 220 in 2010, whereas in 1998 only 38 individuals were observed. A record number of 1490 birds were recorded in 1965. Great Black-backed and Ring-billed Gulls also nest in the site.

Although smaller in numbers, Black Guillemots are among other species regularly seen in the MBS during breeding season. The endangered Harlequin Duck has regularly been sighted during breeding season, presumably nesting along the site's adjacent rivers, on the north shore. Canada's endangered Short-eared Owl is also believed to visit the sanctuary on occasion.

Some species of shorebirds (most commonly the Ruddy Turnstone) also use the site, especially during migration.

During migration season, the sanctuary is used by several species of loons and ducks, including Red-throated and Common Loons, American Black Ducks, Red-breasted Mergansers, as well as White-winged, Surf and Black Scoters.In the winter, the sanctuary also supports a significant number of Common Eiders originating from the coasts of Labrador and Ungava Bay.

Access and Activities

MBSs are established for the protection and conservation of migratory birds. Activities that could harm migratory birds, their nests or their eggs are prohibited.

MBSs can be and have been established on private, provincial, territorial and federally owned lands. Access to each MBS varies by site and is at the discretion of the landowner and land manager.

Where MBSs are located on federal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the management and protection of migratory birds, nests, eggs and habitat. Where MBSs are located on provincial land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests, while the chief game officer of the province is responsible for the management of habitat. Where MBSs are located on private or municipal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests. Habitat management is the responsibility of the landowner.

The standard prohibitions under the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations apply to Watshishou MBS: hunting migratory birds is prohibited, and no person shall disturb, destroy or take the nest of a migratory bird or have in his or her possession a live migratory bird, or a carcass, skin, nest or egg of a migratory bird, except under the authority of a permit issued by Environment and Climate Change Canada or unless specifically authorized by the Regulations. Possession of firearms or other hunting appliances is prohibited, and dogs and cats must not be allowed to run at large.

Access denial or restrictions imposed by the owners of land within the MBS may also apply.

For more information on entry, activities and permits in MBSs, please visit the Management and Activities section of the Migratory Bird Sanctuaries website. For more information on protected areas managed by Environment and Climate Change Canada in Quebec, please contact the regional office.

For greater certainty, nothing in this document shall be construed so as to abrogate or derogate from the protection provided for existing Aboriginal or treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada by the recognition and affirmation of those rights in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

Map of the Area

Long description for the Map

Map showing the location of Watshishou Migratory Bird Sanctuary relative to Quebec and the Gulf of St. Lawrence. The map shows the boundaries of the sanctuary, which roughly follow the shoreline and extend into the water. The scale of the map is in tenths of a kilometer.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Watshishou Migratory Bird Sanctuary can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Summary table

Summary Table for Trois-Saumons Migratory Bird Sanctuary
CategoryInformation
Protected Area designationMigratory Bird Sanctuary
Province or territoryQuebec
Latitude/longitude50° 15' 00" N 62° 30' 00" W
Size in hectares (ha)10,673 ha
Date created (Gazetted)1925
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) management categoryIa - Strict Nature Reserve
Additional designations
Main habitat typeSaline waters (90%) and rocky outcrops (10%)
Key bird speciesCommon Eider
Other speciesBirds: Double-crested Cormorant, Herring Gull , Great Black-backed Gull, Ring-billed Gull, Common Tern, Arctic Tern, Black Guillemot, Common Loon, American Black Duck, Red-breasted Merganser, White-winged Scoter, Surf Scoter and Black Scoter, Semipalmated Sandpiper and Ruddy Turnstone
Listed species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)Harlequin Duck, Short-eared owl
Management agencyCanadian Wildlife Service, Quebec Region

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Quebec Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas Unit
801-1550, avenue d'Estimauville
9250 - 49th Street
Québec, Quebec G1J 0C3
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date modified:

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Watshishou

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs | Accès et activités | Carte du refuge | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Photo de Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Watshishou
Photo : Jean-François Rail © Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Watshishou.

Le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) de Watshishou est situé en Minganie, sur la rive nord du golfe du Saint-Laurent, à environ 40 km à l'ouest de Natashquan. Il s'étend sur un peu plus de 23 km le long de la côte et se retrouve en partie à l'intérieur des limites de la réserve de parc national de l'Archipel-de-Mingan. Il inclut les baies Pontbriand, Jalobert et Pashashibou, toutes les îles, tous les îlots et les rochers émergeants de ce secteur, ainsi que les eaux sur une distance de quelques kilomètres au large. En fait, les eaux couvrent près de 90 % du territoire du refuge. Aucun groupement végétal particulier, autre que les mousses et les lichens, ne se retrouve dans la partie terrestre du refuge, plutôt constituée d'affleurements rocheux.

Ce refuge d'une superficie d'environ 10 673 hectares a été créé en 1925 pour protéger une aire de nidification importante pour des colonies d'Eider à duvet et d'autres oiseaux marins.

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs

Le ROM de Watshishou héberge un grand nombre d'Eiders à duvet, l'espèce la plus abondante de ce refuge. En 2010, on estimait la population à plus de 3000 couples nicheurs. La population de cette espèce est en forte croissance depuis les années 1980 et on y dénombre plus d'individus que lors de la création du refuge.

La deuxième espèce la plus nombreuse du refuge est le Cormoran à aigrettes. La population croissante de cet oiseau a atteint un nombre record de 944 couples en 2010. Il s'agit d'une augmentation notable comparativement aux années 80 où on comptait moins de 150 couples.

Le Goéland argenté arrive au troisième rang. Au cours des inventaires de 1993, 1998 et 2005, le nombre de cette espèce a atteint entre 830 et 965 individus. La population comptait encore près de 600 individus en 2010. Quant aux Sternes arctiques et pierregarins, qui nichent aussi dans le refuge, leur nombre est très variable d'une année à l'autre. Il s'élevait à 220 individus en 2010 alors qu'en 1998, seuls 38 individus étaient présents : un nombre record de 1490 individus avait été observé en 1965. Les Goélands marin et à bec cerclé nichent aussi sur les lieux.

Quoiqu'en plus faible nombre, le Guillemot à miroir compte aussi parmi les espèces qui sont régulièrement présentes dans ce ROM durant la saison de nidification. L'Arlequin plongeur, une espèce en péril, y est aussi aperçu régulièrement lors de cette période : il est possible qu'il niche le long des rivières adjacentes au site, sur la rive nord. Le Hibou des marais, aussi en péril, fréquenterait le refuge occasionnellement.

Des espèces de limicoles sont aussi présentes sur ce territoire, notamment lors de leur migration, la plus abondante étant le Tournepierre à collier.

En période de migration, le refuge est également fréquenté par plusieurs espèces de plongeons et de canards parmi lesquelles on retrouve le Plongeon catmarin et le Plongeon huard, le Canard noir, le Harle huppé ainsi que les Macreuses brunes, à front blanc et noires. Enfin, durant l'hiver, le refuge abrite aussi un nombre impressionnant d'Eiders à duvet provenant des côtes du Labrador et de la baie d'Ungava.

Accès et activités

Les ROM ont pour objet la protection et la conservation des oiseaux migrateurs. Les activités qui pourraient nuire aux oiseaux migrateurs, à leurs nids ou à leurs œufs sont interdites.

Les ROM ont pu, et c'est encore le cas aujourd'hui, être créés sur des terres de propriété privée, provinciale, territoriale ou fédérale. Les conditions d'accès aux refuges varient d'un site à l'autre et sont établies par le propriétaire et le gestionnaire des terres.

Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial fédéral, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la gestion et de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs, de leurs nids, de leurs œufs et de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial provincial, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids, tandis que le garde chasse en chef de la province est responsable de la gestion de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur des terres de propriété privée ou municipale, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids et la gestion de l'habitat relève du propriétaire des terres.

Les interdictions générales relatives au Règlement sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs s'appliquent au ROM de Watshishou : à moins de détenir un permis délivré par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ou que la réglementation l'autorise spécifiquement, la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs est interdite et nul ne peut déranger, détruire ou prendre leurs nids, et nul ne peut avoir en sa possession un oiseau migrateur vivant ou mort, ou le nid ou l'œuf d'un oiseau migrateur. La possession d'armes à feu ou d'engin de chasse est interdite et les chiens et les chats ne doivent pas être laissés en liberté.

Des interdictions ou des restrictions d'accès par le ou les propriétaires des terres incluses dans ce ROM peuvent également s'appliquer.

Pour obtenir plus d'information concernant l'accès, les activités interdites et les permis dans les ROM, consultez la page Gestion et activités de la section Refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. De plus amples informations sur les aires protégées administrées par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada au Québec peuvent être obtenues en communiquant avec le bureau de la région.

Il est entendu que ce document ne porte pas atteinte à la protection des droits existants -- ancestraux ou issus de traités -- des peuples autochtones du Canada découlant de leur reconnaissance et de leur confirmation au titre de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

Carte du refuge

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte indiquant l'emplacement du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Watshishou par rapport au Québec et au golfe du Saint-Laurent. La carte indique les limites du refuge, qui longent le littoral et s'étendent jusque dans les eaux du Golfe. L'échelle de la carte est en dixièmes de kilomètre.

Cette carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne doit pas être utilisée pour définir les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Watshishou. Notez cependant que Google Maps est une source d'information complémentaire et ne remplace en aucun cas ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire du Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Watshishou
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRefuge d'oiseaux migrateurs
Province ou territoireQuébec
Latitude/longitude50° 15' 00- N 62° 30' 00" O
Superficie en hectares (ha)10 673 ha
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1925
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)Ia - Réserve naturelle intégrale
Désignations supplémentaires
Type d'habitat principalEaux salées (90 %) et affleurements rocheux (10 %)
Espèces clés d'oiseauxEider à duvet
Autres espècesOiseaux : Cormoran à aigrettes, Goéland argenté, Goéland marin, Goéland à bec cerclé, Sterne pierregarin, Sterne arctique, Guillemot à miroir, Plongeon huard, Canard noir, Harle huppé, Macreuse brune, Macreuse à front blanc et Macreuse noire, Bécasseau semipalmé et Tournepierre à collier
Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)Arlequin plongeur, Hibou des marais
Organisme de gestionService canadien de la faune, Région du Québec

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - région du Québec
Service canadien de la faune
Unité des Aires protégées
801-1550, avenue d'Estimauville
Québec (Québec) G1J 0C3
Sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :