St. Joseph's Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary | Access and Activities | Map of the Area | Summary Table | Contact Information

Lesser Scaup in flight
Photo: © Thinkstockphotos.ca. Female Common Merganser.

St. Joseph Island is located at the west end of the North Channel of Lake Huron. The Migratory Bird Sanctuary (MBS) is situated at the southern tip of the island, which is managed by the Parks Canada Agency as a National Historic Site. The offshore areas are managed by the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources. The boundary of the MBS extends to the International Boundary with the United States on the St Mary’s River.

A dense hardwood forest with scattered conifers covers most of the mainland portion of the MBS. Dominant trees are red maple, red oak, beech, yellow birch, white birch, black ash, hemlock, black spruce, white spruce and eastern white cedar. This forest habitat is common in the St. Joseph Island area. A cleared area of about 2 ha at the southwest point contains the ruins of Fort St. Joseph as well as a Parks Canada Agency office and interpretation centre. Scattered clumps of eastern white cedar are located around the grassy knoll containing the old fort.

The shorelines of four small bays are composed of a fringe of bulrush (Scirpus sp.) marsh, backed by a narrow zone of Phragmites sp. Inland from this zone is a bayberry/alder shrub strip. Sections of the shoreline not fringed with Scirpus are stony. A very large marsh is located on the St. Marys River shoreline of St. Joseph Island north of the MBS. This wetland area, important to waterfowl and other wetland-dependent migratory birds, stretches from the MBS boundary north to Hay Point and Munuscong Lake. The general area is composed of open river, interspersed emergent vegetation, lakes and swamps.

The MBS also includes Pirate Island offshore from La Pointe. A number of other islands, including Janden Island, are located just to the east of the MBS.

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary

The St. Joseph’s Island MBS was established in 1951 to protect migratory birds from the extensive hunting occurring in the area at the time. It provides protection to both diving and marsh ducks such as American Black Ducks, scaups, and Common and Red-breasted Mergansers, which frequent the water and marsh areas of the MBS in large numbers during the migration season. A few species also breed in the area.

Access and Activities

MBSs are established for the protection and conservation of migratory birds. Activities that could harm migratory birds, their nests or their eggs are prohibited.

MBSs can be and have been established on private, provincial, territorial and federally owned lands. Access to each MBS varies by site and is at the discretion of the landowner and land manager.

Where MBSs are located on federal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the management and protection of migratory birds, nests, eggs and habitat. Where MBSs are located on provincial land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests, while the chief game officer of the province is responsible for the management of habitat. Where MBSs are located on private or municipal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests. Habitat management is the responsibility of the landowner.

The standard prohibitions under the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations apply to St. Joseph Island MBS: hunting migratory birds is prohibited, and no person shall disturb, destroy or take the nest of a migratory bird or have in his or her possession a live migratory bird, or a carcass, skin, nest or egg of a migratory bird, except under the authority of a permit issued by Environment and Climate Change Canada or unless authorized by the Regulations. Possession of firearms or other hunting appliances is prohibited. Dogs and cats must not be allowed to run at large.

Access prohibitions or restrictions by the MBS landowners (the Parks Canada Agency and the Province of Ontario) may also apply.

For more information on entry, activities and permits in MBSs, please visit the Management and Activities section of the Migratory Bird Sanctuaries website. For more information on Environment and Climate Change Canada's protected areas, please contact the regional office.

For greater certainty, nothing in this document shall be construed so as to abrogate or derogate from the protection provided for existing Aboriginal or treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada by the recognition and affirmation of those rights in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

Map of the Area

Long description of the map

Map showing the location of St. Joseph’s Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary relative to Ontario, St. Joseph's Island, Janden Island, Potagannissing Bay and the U.S. border. The map shows the boundaries of the sanctuary, which covers a portion of Potagannissing Bay and extends inland onto St. Joseph's Island. The scale of the map is in hundreds of meters.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. St. Joseph Island MBS can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Summary Table

Summary table for Joseph's Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary
CategoryInformation
Protected Area designationMigratory Bird Sanctuary
Province or territoryOntario
Latitude/longitude46°04' N, 83°55' W
Size in hectares (ha)983 ha
Date created (Gazetted)1951
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) management categoryII - National Park
Additional designationsFort St. Joseph National Historic Site
Main habitat typeForest (40%), open lake (50%), lakeshore marsh (8%), fort/interpretation site (2%)
Key bird speciesAmerican Black Duck, Common Merganser, Red-breasted Merganser, scaups, Black Tern, Herring Gull and Bald Eagle
Listed species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)None
Management agencyCanadian Wildlife Service, Ontario Region
LandownersParks Canada Agency and Province of Ontario

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Ontario Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Ecosystem Conservation
4905 Dufferin Street
Toronto ON M3H 5T4
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date modified:

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'île Saint-Joseph

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs | Accès et activités | Carte du refuge | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Petit Fuligule en vol.
Photo : © Thinkstockphotos.ca. Grand Harle femelle.

L'île Saint-Joseph est située à l’extrémité ouest de North Channel, dans le lac Huron. Le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) est situé à la pointe sud de l'île, qui est gérée par Parcs Canada comme un site historique national. Les zones situées au large sont gérées par le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario. Les limites du ROM s'étendent jusqu'à la frontière internationale avec les États-Unis sur la rivière St. Mary’s.

Une forêt de feuillus denses avec des conifères parsemés couvre la majorité de la partie continentale du ROM. Les arbres dominants sont l'érable rouge, le chêne rouge, le hêtre, le bouleau jaune, le bouleau à papier, le frêne noir, la pruche du Canada, l'épinette noire, l'épinette blanche et le thuya occidental. Cet habitat forestier est courant dans la région de l'île Saint-Joseph. Une zone dégagée d'environ 2 hectares située à la pointe sud-ouest contient les ruines du Fort-St. Joseph ainsi qu'un bureau de Parcs Canada et un centre d'interprétation. On trouve des massifs dispersés de thuyas autour de la butte herbeuse où se trouve le vieux fort.

Les rives de quatre petites baies sont composées d'une lisière de marais de Scirpus, derrière laquelle se trouve une zone étroite de Phragmites. Vers l'intérieur de cette zone, on trouve une bande arbustive de myriques de Pennsylvanie et d'aulnes. Les parties du littoral qui ne sont pas couvertes de Scirpus sont rocailleuses. Un très grand marais est situé sur la rive de la rivière St. Marys de l'île Saint-Joseph, au nord du ROM. Cette zone de terres humides, importante pour la sauvagine et d'autres oiseaux migrateurs dépendant des terres humides, s'étend de la limite nord du ROM à Hay Point et au lac Munuscong. L'ensemble de la région est composé d'une rivière ouverte, de végétation émergente clairsemée, de lacs et de marécages.

Le ROM comprend également les eaux du large de l'île Pirate depuis La Pointe. Un certain nombre d'autres îles, y compris l'île Janden, sont situées juste à l'est du ROM.

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs

Le ROM de l'île Saint-Joseph a été établi en 1951 afin de protéger les oiseaux migrateurs de la chasse intensive qui a eu lieu dans la région à l’époque. Il protège les canards plongeurs et de marais, tels que le Canard noir, les Fuligules, le Grand Harle et le Harle huppé, qui fréquentent en grand nombre les eaux et les marais du ROM pendant la saison de migration. Quelques espèces nichent également dans la région.

Accès et activités

Les ROM ont pour objet la protection et la conservation des oiseaux migrateurs. Les activités qui pourraient nuire aux oiseaux migrateurs, à leurs nids ou à leurs œufs sont interdites.

Les ROM ont pu, et c’est encore le cas aujourd’hui, être créés sur des terres territoriales, fédérales et privées. Les conditions d’accès aux refuges varient d’un site à l’autre et sont établies par le propriétaire et le gestionnaire des terres.

Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial fédéral, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la gestion et de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs, de leurs nids, de leurs œufs et de l’habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial provincial, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids, tandis que le garde-chasse en chef de la province est responsable de la gestion de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur des terres de propriété privée ou municipale, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids. La gestion de l'habitat est la responsabilité du propriétaire foncier.

Les interdictions générales relatives au Règlement sur les refuges d’oiseaux migrateurs s’appliquent à ce site : à moins de détenir un permis délivré par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ou que la réglementation l'autorise spécifiquement, la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs est interdite et nul ne peut déranger, détruire ou prendre leurs nids, et nul ne peut avoir en sa possession un oiseau migrateur vivant ou mort, ou le nid ou l'œuf d'un oiseau migrateur. La possession d’armes à feu ou d'engin de chasse est interdite et les chiens et les chats ne doivent pas être laissés en liberté.

Des interdictions ou restrictions d'accès imposées par les propriétaires fonciers du ROM (Parcs Canada et la province de l'Ontario) peuvent également s'appliquer.

Afin d’obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’accès, les activités et les permis dans les ROM, veuillez consulter la section Gestion et activités du site Web Refuges d’oiseaux migrateurs. Afin d’obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les aires protégées d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau régional.

Il est entendu que le présent document ne porte pas atteinte à la protection des droits existants -- ancestraux ou issus de traités -- des peuples autochtones du Canada découlant de leur reconnaissance et de leur confirmation au titre de l’article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

Carte du refuge

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte indiquant l'emplacement du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'île Saint-Joseph par rapport à l'Ontario, à l'île Saint-Joseph, à l'île Janden, à la baie Potagannissing et à la frontière américaine. La carte indique les limites du refuge, qui couvre une partie de la baie Potagannissing et s'étend vers l'intérieur sur l'île Saint-Joseph. L'échelle de la carte est en centaines de mètres.

Cette carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne doit pas être utilisée pour définir les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'île Saint-Joseph (en anglais seulement). Notez cependant que Google Maps est une source d’information complémentaire et ne remplace en aucun cas ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'île Saint-Joseph
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRefuge d'oiseaux migrateurs
Province ou territoireOntario
Latitude/longitude46° 04' N, 83° 55' O
Superficie en hectares (ha)983 ha
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1951
Catégorie de gestion de l' Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)II - Parc national
Désignations supplémentairesLieu historique national du Canada Fort-St. Joseph
Type d'habitat principalForêt (40 %), lac ouvert (50 %), marais de rivage lacustre (8 %), fort/site d'interprétation (2 %)
Espèces clés d'oiseauxCanard noir, Grand Harle, Harle huppé, Fuligules, Guifette noire, Goéland argenté et Pygargue à tête blanche
Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)Aucune
Organisme de gestionService canadien de la faune, région de l'Ontario
Propriétaire des terresParcs Canada et province de l'Ontario

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - Région de l'Ontario
Service canadien de la faune
Conservation des écosystèmes
4905, rue Dufferin
Toronto (Ontario) M3H 5T4
Sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :