Estuary Islands National Wildlife Area

Description | Management | Public Services | Map of the Area | Summary Table | Contact Information

Somewhat far view of the Estuary Islands NWA islands.Photo: © Environment and Climate Change Canada. Estuary Islands National Wildlife Area, islands.

Related Documents

Description

Estuary Islands National Wildlife Area (NWA) is made up of ten rocky islands or portions of islands scattered over some 120 kilometers between Kamouraska and Rimouski in the heart of the St. Lawrence Estuary. This 404-hectare protected area was established in 1986 by Environment Canada to protect important nesting sites for migratory birds, particularly colonial seabirds and especially the Common Eider.

Its rocky islands are covered by Balsam Fir, White Birch stands and White Spruce stands and herbaceous vegetation. They are bordered by large mudflats or rocky flats that are occupied by communities of mixed algae. A hundred or more species of birds visit the NWA, a large proportion of which also nest there. The islands are also home to nearly a dozen mammal species. Species at risk frequenting the wildlife area and its surroundings include the Peregrine Falcon, Red Knot and Barrow's Goldeneye.

The wildlife area accommodates large colonies of seabirds such as the Common Eider, Razorbill, Black Guillemot, Great Blue Heron, Black-crowned Night-Heron, Black-legged Kittiwake, Double-crested Cormorant, Great Black-backed Gull, and Herring Gull. These birds are highly sensitive to human disturbance. The colony of Common Eiders on Île Bicquette counts more than 7 000 pairs, making it one of the largest colonies for that species in North America. Some of the NWA islands are also frequented by the largest colonies of Razorbills and Black Guillemots in the St. Lawrence Estuary. During migration periods, many waterfowl species, including the Brant, Snow Goose, Black Scoter, Surf Scoter, Oldsquaw and Black Duck, descend upon the islands, bordering flats and adjacent waters and can sometimes be observed in the hundreds or thousands. The most common land mammals in the wildlife area are the Muskrat, Red Fox and Snowshoe Hare. The Grey Seal and Harbour Seal are often found along the shores.

Estuary Islands National Wildlife Area is exposed to a range of threats and presents management challenges, including wildlife diseases, the disturbance of colonial birds due to predators and human activities, the presence of invasive exotic plant species, and the risk of accidental oil spills in the St. Lawrence.

More information on Estuary Islands NWA is provided in the summary table below.

Management

NWAs are protected and managed according to the Wildlife Area Regulations under the Canada Wildlife Act. The primary purpose of NWAs is the protection and conservation of wildlife and their habitats. For this purpose, and according to the legislation, Environment and Climate Change Canada can prohibit all activities in a NWA that could interfere with the conservation of wildlife. Consequently, public access and activities are prohibited in most NWAs. Nonetheless, the Ministry has the ability to authorize some activities, whether through public notice or the issuance of permits, as long as these are consistent with the management plan goals for the NWA. For more information, consult the NWAs Management and Activities section.

Due to the fragility of wildlife species and island environments, public access to Estuary Islands NWA is prohibited except for one of the islands, Le Pot du Phare. Visitors have access through the transportation service offered by Duvetnor and authorized by Environment and Climate Change Canada, from mid-July to mid-October, following the seabird nesting season.

Permits may be issued for research activities in keeping with the priorities set out in the management plan for the wildlife area or for other conservation activities such as surveys, or the enhancement or restoration of habitats.

Priority will be given to collaborative activities with local agencies and organizations to promote the protection and the conservation of wildlife species and their habitats in the NWA. For example, initiatives could be launched or continued with the following entities: universities or research centers to address gaps in scientific knowledge; the province to implement recovery measures for species at risk (particularly those falling under provincial jurisdiction); or non-governmental organizations or municipal authorities to build public awareness of the wildlife area's objectives.

More information on access and permitting for Estuary Islands NWA can be obtained by contacting the Environment and Climate Change Canada regional office.

Notice from Environment and Climate Change Canada

Download PDF version - Notice from Environment and Climate Change Canada [Estuary Islands] (PDF; 141 KB)

Environment and Climate Change Canada would like to inform the public that the Estuary Islands NWA--a string of a dozen islands located in the middle of the St. Lawrence Estuary in the municipalities of Rimouski, Saint-André and Kamouraska--is a protected area. Since its creation in 1986, the NWA has been protecting wildlife and the nesting sites of migratory birds in the area, particularly those of seabird colonies.

To protect the area, the Department is informing visitors to areas around NWA islands of their obligation to follow certain rules, as dictated by the Canada Wildlife Act and its corresponding regulations. Anyone who neglects to follow these rules or obey the laws in effect may be subject to fines and prosecution.

Nature viewing and hiking are authorized in designated areas on Le Pot du Phare island.

Without a permit issued by the Minister, it is strictly prohibited for anyone in the NWA to (see section 3.(1) of the Wildlife Area Regulations):

For complete information on all applicable regulations, please consult the Canada Wildlife Act, Wildlife Area Regulations, 1994 Migratory Birds Convention Act, and Species at Risk Act at Environment and Climate Change Canada website.

To file a complaint or report illegal activities, please contact Environment and Climate Change Canada by phone at 1-800-668-6767 or by email at enviro@info.ec.gc.ca.

This notice shall not be construed so as to abrogate or derogate from any Aboriginal, treaty or other rights of Aboriginal peoples.

Public Services

Public activities and services at Estuary Islands NWA are offered by the Société Duvetnor Ltée. These include guided hiking tours and outreach activities to build awareness of wildlife species habitat conservation. Please contact the Société Duvetnor for additional information.

Activities and Services

Special warnings

Access to islands is prohibited without a permit except for Le Pot du Phare when accompanied by a guide.

Location of wildlife area (access)

Rivière-du-Loup, Quebec.

More information on services offered to public can be obtained by contacting the Environment and Climate Change Canada regional office.

Map of the Area

Long description for the Map

Map showing the section of the St. Lawrence River situated between Saint-Alexandre-de-Kamouraska and La Malbaie. The boundaries of Estuary Islands NWA are indicated. The protected Area covers portions of several islands, including Îles de Kamouraska, Long Pèlerin, Île aux Fraises, Île du Pot du Phare, Île Blanche et Île Bicquette. The scale on the map is in kilometers. Permanent water, roads and highways are all indicated on the map. A small inset national map situates the NWA in Canada.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Estuary Islands NWA can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Summary Table

This table provides summary information for the Estuary Islands NWA
CategoryInformation
Protected area designationNational Wildlife Area
Province/TerritoryQuebec
Latitude/longitude47°35' North / 68°53' West
Size404 hectares ( about 83.5 ha of land and 320.5 ha of flats)
Reason for creation of protected areaProtection of nesting sites of importance to migratory birds, particularly colonial seabirds and especially the Common Eider
Date created (Gazetted)1986 - Legal description
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Management CategoryIa - Strict Nature Reserve: protected area set aside to protect biodiversity and also possibly geological or geomorphological features.
Additional designations

part of five Important Birds Area (IBA):

Keystone or flagship speciesCommon Eider, Razorbill
Listed Species under the Species at Risk Act SARAThree species at risk: the Peregrine Falcon (subspecies anatum/tundrius), Red Knot (subspecies rufa) and Barrow's Goldeneye (Eastern population)
Main habitat typeIslands and rocks composed of shale and quartzite are dotted with forests and stretches of herbaceous plants. Mudflats and rocky flats occupied by communities of mixed algae.
Faunistic and floristic importanceThe NWA shelters one of the largest colonies of Common Eiders in North America. It also accommodates the largest colonies of Razorbills and Black Guillemots in the St. Lawrence Estuary, notably on Le Pot du Phare and Le Long Pèlerin islands. The colony of Black-legged Kittiwakes on Le Long Pèlerin is the westernmost in Quebec.
Invasive speciesThe Reed Canary Grass, Wild Radish and Smooth Bedstraw are considered to be invasive plants in some islands of the NWA. Should it become overly abundant, the Double-crested Cormorant could be considered a nuisance species.
Additional links

Birds: Great Blue Heron, Gulls.

Mammals: Muskrat, Snowshoe Hare, and Grey Seal.

Main threats and challengesWildlife diseases, disturbance of colonial birds due to predators and human activities, invasion by exotic plant species and risk of accidental oil spills in the St. Lawrence
Management AgencyEnvironment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Wildlife Service)
Public access and usageRestricted access to Le Pot du Phare, one of Îles du Pot à l’Eau-de-Vie (Brandypot) islands; only when transported and guided by the society authorized by Environment and Climate Change Canada.

Note: If there is a discrepancy between the information presented on this web page and any notice posted at the NWA site, the notice prevails as it is the legal instrument authorizing the activity.

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Quebec Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas
801-1550 D’Estimauville Avenue
Québec (Quebec)
G1J 0C3
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Société Duvetnor
P.O. Box 305
200 Hayward Street
Rivière-du-Loup (Quebec)
G5R 3Y9
Phone number : 418-867-1660
Date modified:

Réserve nationale de faune des Îles-de-l’Estuaire

Description | Gestion | Services au public | Carte de la réserve | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Vue lointaine des îles de la RNF des Îles-de-l’Estuaire .Photo : © Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Réserve nationale de faune des Îles-de-l’Estuaire, îles.

Documents connexes

Description

La réserve nationale de faune (RNF) des Îles-de-l’Estuaire est constituée d’une dizaine d’îles ou parties d’îles rocheuses réparties sur environ 120 kilomètres, entre Kamouraska et Rimouski, au cœur de l'estuaire du fleuve Saint-Laurent. Cette aire protégée de 404 hectares a été créée en 1986 par Environnement Canada afin de protéger des sites de nidification importants pour les oiseaux migrateurs, notamment les oiseaux marins coloniaux et plus particulièrement l’Eider à duvet.

Ses îles rocheuses sont couvertes de sapinières à bouleau blanc, de pessières à épinette blanche et de végétation herbacée. Elles sont bordées de grands estrans vaseux ou rocheux occupés par des groupements d’algues variés. Une centaine d'espèces d'oiseaux, dont une grande proportion d’espèces nicheuses, fréquentent la réserve ainsi qu’une dizaine d’espèces de mammifères. Des espèces en péril fréquentent aussi la réserve et ses environs, entre autres le Faucon pèlerin, le Bécasseau maubèche et le Garrot d’Islande.

La réserve abrite d’importantes colonies d’oiseaux marins tels que l'Eider à duvet, le Petit Pingouin, le Guillemot à miroir, le Grand Héron, le Bihoreau gris, la Mouette tridactyle, le Cormoran à aigrettes, le Goéland marin et le Goéland argenté. Ces oiseaux sont très sensibles au dérangement humain. L'île Bicquette accueille plus de 7 000 couples d’Eiders à duvet, soit l’une des plus importantes colonies de l’espèce en Amérique du Nord. Certaines îles de la réserve abritent les plus grandes colonies de Petits Pingouins et de Guillemots à miroir de l'estuaire du Saint-Laurent. En périodes de migration, diverses espèces de sauvagine fréquentent les îles de la réserve, les battures ou les eaux adjacentes. Parmi ces espèces, on compte la Bernache cravant, l’Oie des neiges, la Macreuse à bec jaune, la Macreuse à front blanc, l’Harelde kakawi et le Canard noir, qui sont parfois observés par centaines ou par milliers. Les mammifères terrestres les plus communs dans la réserve sont le rat musqué, le renard roux et le lièvre d'Amérique. Le phoque gris et le phoque commun utilisent souvent les rivages.

La RNF des Îles-de-l’Estuaire est exposée à diverses menaces et présente des défis de gestion, notamment les maladies de la faune, le dérangement des oiseaux coloniaux par les prédateurs et les activités humaines, la présence d'espèces végétales exotiques envahissantes et le risque de déversements accidentels d’hydrocarbures dans le Saint-Laurent.

Pour de plus amples informations sur la RNF des Îles-de-l’Estuaire, consultez le tableau sommaire ci-dessous.

Gestion

Les RNF sont protégées et gérées conformément au Règlement sur les réserves d'espèces sauvages en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces sauvages du Canada. Le but premier des RNF est la protection et la conservation des espèces sauvages et de leur habitat. À cet effet, et selon la législation, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada a le pouvoir d'interdire toute activité dans une RNF qui pourrait nuire à la conservation des espèces sauvages. En conséquence, la plupart d'entre elles ne sont pas accessibles au public et toute activité y est interdite. Le Ministère peut cependant autoriser la tenue de certaines activités, soit par des avis publics ou par l'émission de permis, tant que ces activités sont compatibles avec les buts de conservation du plan de gestion pour la RNF. Pour plus d'information, veuillez consulter la section sur la gestion et activités de la section Web des RNF.

En raison de la fragilité des espèces sauvages et des milieux insulaires, l’accès à la RNF des Îles-de-l’Estuaire est interdit, sauf dans une des îles, soit Le Pot du Phare. Cette île est ouverte au public uniquement après la période de nidification des oiseaux marins, soit de la mi-juillet à la mi-octobre. On y accède grâce au service de transport de Duvetnor, l’organisme autorisé par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada.

Des permis pourraient être émis pour des activités de recherche qui cadrent avec les priorités établies dans le plan de gestion de la réserve ou pour des activités liées à la conservation, telles que des inventaires, des aménagements fauniques ou la restauration d’habitats.

La collaboration avec des agences et organismes du milieu sera privilégiée afin de favoriser la protection et la conservation des espèces sauvages et de leurs habitats dans la RNF. Par exemple, des collaborations pourraient être développées ou poursuivies avec des universités et des centres de recherche pour combler les lacunes des connaissances scientifiques, avec la province pour mettre en œuvre les mesures de rétablissement des espèces en péril, particulièrement celles qui relèvent de la juridiction provinciale, ou avec les organismes non-gouvernementaux et les autorités municipales pour sensibiliser la population aux objectifs de la réserve.

Pour de plus amples informations sur l'accès et l'émission de permis à la RNF des Îles-de-l’Estuaire, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada de la région.

Avis d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada

Téléchagez la version PDF - Avis d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada [Îles-de-l’Estuaire ] (PDF; 141 Ko)

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada désire informer le public que la RNF des Îles-de-l’Estuaire , qui regroupe un chapelet d'une dizaine d'îles réparties dans l'estuaire du Saint-Laurent dans les municipalités de Rimouski, de Saint-André et de Kamouraska, est un territoire protégé. Depuis sa création en 1986, la RNF a pour but de protéger la faune, les sites de nidification des oiseaux migrateurs présents sur ce territoire, particulièrement les colonies d'oiseaux marins.

Afin de protéger ce territoire, le Ministère informe les personnes qui circulent autour des diverses îles de la RNF de leur obligation de se conformer à certaines règles dictées par la Loi sur les espèces sauvages du Canada et les règlements qui en découlent. Toute personne qui omet de se conformer à ces règles ou aux lois en vigueur est passible d'une amende et de poursuites.

Les activités autorisées dans les zones aménagées à cette fin sont les activités d'observation de la nature et la randonnée pédestre sur l'île Le Pot du Phare.

À moins de détenir un permis à cet égard, délivré par le ministre, il est notamment interdit à quiconque se trouvant dans la RNF (voir paragraphe 3. (1) du Règlement concernant la gestion des réserves d'espèces sauvages)

Pour obtenir l'information complète concernant l'ensemble de la réglementation applicable, veuillez consulter la Loi sur les espèces sauvages du Canada, le Règlement sur les réserves d'espèces sauvages, la Loi de 1994 sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs et la Loi sur les espèces en péril au site d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada.

Pour formuler une plainte ou dénoncer des actes illégaux, veuillez communiquer avec Environnement et Changement climatique Canada par téléphone au 1-800-668-6767 ou par courriel à enviro@info.ec.gc.ca

Rien dans le présent avis ne porte atteinte aux droits ancestraux ni à ceux issus de traités autochtones.

Services au public

Des activités et des services sont offerts au public par la Société Duvetnor Ltée dans la RNF des Îles-de-l’Estuaire, notamment des randonnées pédestres guidées et des activités de sensibilisation à la conservation des habitats pour les espèces sauvages. Veuillez communiquer avec cet organisme pour de plus amples renseignements.

Activités et services

Mise en garde particulière

Accès interdit sur les îles sans permis sauf sur l’île Pot du Phare et accompagné d’un guide.

Emplacement de la réserve (accès)

Rivière-du-loup (Québec)

Pour obtenir de plus amples informations sur les services offerts au public, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada de la région.

Carte de la réserve

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte montrant la région du fleuve Saint-Laurent située entre Saint-Alexandre-de-Kamouraska et La Malbaie. Les limites de la RNF des Îles-de-l’Estuaire sont indiquées. L'aire protégée recouvre des parties de plusieurs îles incluant les îles de Kamouraska, Long Pèlerin, l'île aux Fraises, l'île du Pot du Phare, l'île Blanche et l'île Bicquette. L'échelle de la carte est en kilomètres. Les eaux permanentes, les routes ainsi que les autoroutes sont indiquées sur la carte. Un petit encart montre l'emplacement de la RNF dans le Canada.

Cette carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne doit pas être utilisée pour définir les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer la RNF des Îles-de-l’Estuaire . Notez cependant que Google Maps est une source d'information complémentaire et ne remplace en aucun cas ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire affichant diverses données sur la réserve nationale de faune des Îles-de-l’Estuaire
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRéserve nationale de faune
Province/territoireQuébec
Latitude/longitude47°35' Nord / 68°53' Ouest
Superficie404 hectares (environ 83,5 ha de portion terrestre et 320,5 ha de battures)
Raison pour la désignation de l'aire protégéeProtéger des sites de nidification importants pour les oiseaux migrateurs, notamment les oiseaux marins coloniaux et en particulier l’Eider à duvet.
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1986 - Description légale
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)Ia - Réserve naturelle intégrale : aire protégée mise en réserve pour protéger la biodiversité et aussi, possiblement, des caractéristiques géologiques ou géomorphologiques.
Désignations supplémentaires

Fait partie de cinq zones importantes pour la conservation des oiseaux (ZICO)

Espèces vedettes ou pharesEider à duvet, Petit Pingouin
Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)Trois espèces en péril, dont le Faucon pèlerin sous-espèce anatum et le Garrot d'Islande (population de l'Est)
Type d'habitat principalÎles et rochers composés de schiste et de quartzite sur lesquels se trouvent des forêts et des étendues de plantes herbacées. Estrans vaseux et rocheux occupés par divers groupements d’algues.
Importance de la faune et de la floreLa réserve abrite l’une des plus importantes colonies d’Eiders à duvet en Amérique du Nord. Elle accueille les plus importantes colonies de Petits Pingouins et de Guillemots à miroir de l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent, entre autres sur les îles Le Pot du Phare et Le Long Pèlerin. La colonie de Mouettes tridactyles nichant sur Le Long Pèlerin est la plus occidentale du Québec.
Espèces envahissantesL’alpiste roseau, le radis sauvage et le gaillet sont considérées comme des plantes envahissantes dans certaines îles de la réserve. Le Cormoran à aigrettes pourrait être considéré comme une espèce nuisible s’il devenait trop abondant.
Liens additionnels

Oiseaux: Grand héron, et Goélands.

Mammifères: Rat musqué, lièvre d'Amérique, et phoque gris.

Défis et pressionsLes maladies de la faune, l’impact des prédateurs et des activités humaines sur les oiseaux coloniaux, la présence d’espèces végétales envahissantes et le risque de déversements accidentels d’hydrocarbures dans le Saint-Laurent
Organisme de gestionEnvironnement et Changement climatique Canada (Service canadien de la faune)
Accès public et utilisationAccès public restreint au Pot du Phare, une des îles du Pot à l’Eau-de-Vie, avec transport et guide autorisés par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada seulement.

Remarque : En cas d'incompatibilité entre les renseignements présentés sur cette page Web et l'avis affiché sur le site de la RNF, l'avis prévaudra à titre d'instrument juridique autorisant l'activité.

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - Région du Québec
Service canadien de la faune
Aires protégées
801-1550, avenue d'Estimauville
Québec (Québec)
G1J 0C3
Numéro sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Société Duvetnor
C.P. 305
200, rue Hayward
Rivière-du-Loup (Québec)
G5R 3Y9
Tél. : 418-867-1660
Date de modification :