Anderson River Delta Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary | Access and Activities | Map of the Area | Summary Table | Contact Information

Lesser Snow Geese in Anderson River Delta Migratory Bird Sanctuary picture
Photo: © Environment and Climate Change Canada. Tundra Swans in Anderson River Delta MBS.

Anderson River Delta Migratory Bird Sanctuary (MBS) is located 160 km east of Tuktoyaktuk, Northwest Territories. The sanctuary offers a diversity of habitats ranging from coastal beaches and mud flats to tundra and open spruce forests. The lower Anderson River lies in a flood plain and flows through a series of low rolling hills covered by willows, dwarf birch and open spruce forest. Toward the coast, the flood plain widens into a delta containing many marshes and patterned ground, small lakes and ponds. A tundra landscape is found on the drier and higher areas of the delta.

The diversity of habitat found within Anderson River Delta offers nesting and feeding habitat for a variety of waterfowl and shorebirds. The main channel flowing through the delta has leveed banks covered with mats of grasses and willows. The outer delta, the newest and lowest portion of the delta, is a series of islands and mud bars frequently washed by storm surges. The hummocks and depressions of the older, middle delta contain marshes and grasslands. The inner delta is flat and is studded with lakes, lush marshy meadows and shallow sloughs. Sand and gravel beaches extend along the shallow waters of Wood Bay and continue around the southern shores of Nicholson Island. Numerous archaeological sites occur in the area; abundant wildlife and available driftwood once supported a thriving Inuvialuit community.

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary

The Anderson River Delta MBS supports a wide diversity of bird species. A total of 104 species, including 76 breeding species, use the sanctuary for different seasonal activities. The delta offers extensive feeding grounds to sandpipers, plovers, phalaropes and other shorebirds during the summer months. The presence of trees attracts species--such as warblers, thrushes, swallows and sparrows--that are at the northern limit of their range in North America. During the spring and fall, the shallow waters of Wood Bay offer feeding habitat for several thousand staging scaups, Long-tailed Ducks, White-winged Scoters and Red-breasted Mergansers.

An estimated 5% of the Canadian population of Black Brants, up to 2500 birds, nests on the outer delta. Approximately 5% of the western arctic population of Lesser Snow Geese, about 8000 birds, nests on islands in the middle delta in some years. The inner delta is used by 150 breeding and 1200 non-breeding Tundra Swans. Greater White‑fronted and Canada Geese, King Eiders, Long-tailed Ducks, Northern Pintails, Green-winged Teals, Mallards, American Wigeons, Greater Scaups, and White-winged Scoters nest in the sanctuary. Several water bodies in the sanctuary are used by large numbers of moulting waterfowl.

Water birds and shorebirds that breed in the sanctuary are Glaucous, Mew and Bonaparte's Gulls, Arctic Terns, Red-throated and Arctic Loons, Semipalmated, Golden and Black-bellied Plovers, Whimbrels, Hudsonian Godwits, Red and Red-necked Phalaropes, Wilson's Snipes, and several species of sandpiper. The endangered Eskimo Curlew formerly nested along the Anderson River; six sightings were reported between 1961 and 1964. Gyrfalcons and Peregrine Falcons nest on bluffs in the sanctuary. A high diversity of passerine species is attracted to the variety of plant communities.

Access and Activities

MBSs are established for the protection and conservation of migratory birds. Activities that could harm migratory birds, their nests or their eggs are prohibited.

MBSs can be and have been established on private, provincial, territorial and federally owned lands. Access to each MBS varies by site and is at the discretion of the landowner and land manager.

Where MBSs are located on federal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the management and protection of migratory birds, nests, eggs and habitat. Where MBSs are located on provincial land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests, while the chief game officer of the province is responsible for the management of habitat. Where MBSs are located on private or municipal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests. Habitat management is the responsibility of the landowner.

Access to Anderson River Delta MBS may be authorized as per the Migratory Birds Convention Act, 1994 and the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations. However, under the Inuvialuit Final Agreement, only Inuvialuit beneficiaries have right of access for the purpose of subsistence harvest and do not require a permit to carry out activities related to subsistence harvesting.

For all other users, the standard prohibitions under the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations apply to Anderson River Delta MBS: hunting migratory birds is prohibited, and no person shall disturb, destroy or take the nest of a migratory bird or have in his or her possession a live migratory bird, or a carcass, skin, nest or egg of a migratory bird, except under the authority of a permit issued by Environment and Climate Change Canada or unless authorized by the Regulations. Possession of firearms or other hunting appliances is prohibited. Anyone wishing to access Anderson River Delta MBS is advised to apply for a permit.

For more information on entry, activities and permits in MBSs, please visit the Management and Activities section of the Migratory Bird Sanctuaries website. For more information on Environment and Climate Change Canada's protected areas, please contact the regional office.

For greater certainty, nothing in this document shall be construed so as to abrogate or derogate from the protection provided for existing Aboriginal or treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada by the recognition and affirmation of those rights in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

Map of the Area

Long description of the map

Map showing the location of Anderson River Delta Migratory Bird Sanctuary relative to the Northwest Territories, Anderson River, Liverpool Bay and Wood Bay. The map shows the boundaries of the sanctuary, which covers a portion of Wood Bay as well as Anderson River and extends inland. The scale of the map is in kilometers.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Anderson River Delta MBS can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Summary table

Summary table for Anderson River Delta Migratory Bird Sanctuary
CategoryInformation
Protected Area designationMigratory Bird Sanctuary
Province or territoryNorthwest Territories
Latitude/longitude69°42' N, 129°00' W
Size in hectares (ha)118 417 ha
Date created (Gazetted)1961
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Management CategoryIb - Wilderness Area
Additional designationsPart of Anderson River Delta Important Bird Area
Main habitat typeOpen water and sandy beaches (12%), delta (5%), wetland (47%), shrubs (36%)
Key bird speciesBlack Brant, Lesser Snow Goose, Tundra Swan, Greater White-fronted Goose, Canada Goose, King Eider, Long-tailed Duck, Northern Pintail, Green‑winged Teal, Mallard, American Wigeon, Greater Scaup and White-winged Scoter
Other species

Birds: Glaucous Gull, Mew Gull, Bonaparte's Gull, Arctic Tern, Red-throated Loon, Arctic Loon, Semipalmated Plover, American Golden-Plover, Black-bellied Plover, Whimbrel, Red Phalarope, Red-necked Phalarope, Hudsonian Godwit, Wilson's Snipe, sandpipers, Eskimo Curlew, Gyrfalcon and Peregrine Falcon

Mammals: Grizzly Bear, Barren-ground Caribou and Moose

Listed species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)Eskimo Curlew and Peregrine Falcon
Management agencyCanadian Wildlife Service, Prairie and Northern Region
LandownersInuvialuit lands and Crown land

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Prairie and Northern Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas and Stewardship
Western Arctic Unit
P.O. Box 2310
5019 52nd Street, 4th Floor
Yellowknife NT X1A 2P7
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date modified:

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de la rivière Anderson

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs | Accès et activités | Carte du refuge | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Lesser Snow Geese in Anderson River Delta Migratory Bird Sanctuary picture
Photo : © Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Cygnes siffleurs dans le ROM du delta de la rivière Anderson.

Le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) du delta de la rivière Anderson est situé à 160 km à l'est de Tuktoyaktuk, aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Le refuge renferme une diversité d'habitats, allant de plages côtières et de vasières jusqu'à la toundra et aux forêts d'épinettes. La partie inférieure de la rivière Anderson se trouve dans une plaine inondable et traverse une série de basses collines onduleuses couvertes de saules, de bouleaux nains et d'une forêt d'épinette. La plaine inondable s'élargit en s'approchant de la côte pour devenir un delta renfermant de nombreux marais, un sol géométrique, de petits lacs et étangs. Un paysage de toundra caractérise les zones plus sèches et plus élevées du delta.

La diversité des habitats du delta de la rivière Anderson fournit des aires de nidification et d'alimentation à diverses espèces de sauvagine et d'oiseaux de rivage. Le chenal principal qui traverse le delta comporte des berges surélevées couvertes de tapis d'herbes et de saules. La zone extérieure du delta, la partie la plus nouvelle et la plus basse, est formée d'une série d'îles et de bancs de vase souvent balayés par des ondes de tempête. Les hummocks et les dépressions du plus vieux delta central contiennent des marais et des prairies. Le delta central est plat et intercalé de lacs, de prés marécageux et luxuriants et de bourbiers peu profonds. Des plages de sable et de gravier longent les eaux peu profondes de la baie Wood et se poursuivent autour des rives sud de l'île Nicholson. De nombreux sites archéologiques se trouvent dans le site; autrefois, la faune abondante et le bois de grève faisaient vivre une communauté inuvialuit florissante.

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs

Le ROM du delta de la rivière Anderson héberge une grande diversité d'espèces d'oiseaux. Un total de 104 espèces, y compris 76 espèces nicheuses, utilisent le refuge pour diverses activités saisonnières. Le delta offre de vastes aires d'alimentation aux bécasseaux, aux pluviers, aux phalaropes et à d'autres oiseaux de rivage durant les mois d'été. La présence des arbres attire certaines espèces -- notamment les parulines, les grives, les hirondelles et les bruants -- qui se trouvent à la limite nord de leur aire de répartition en Amérique du Nord. Au printemps et en automne, les eaux peu profondes de la baie Wood procurent un habitat d'alimentation et une halte migratoire à plusieurs milliers de fuligules, de Hareldes kakawis, de Macreuses brunes et de Harles huppés.

Il est estimé que 5 % de la population canadienne de Bernaches cravants noires (jusqu'à 2 500 individus) nichent en périphérie du delta. Certaines années, approximativement 5 % de la population de Petites Oies des neiges de l'Arctique de l'Ouest (environ 8 000 individus) nichent sur les îles au centre du delta. Le delta intérieur est utilisé par 150 Cygnes siffleurs reproducteurs et 1 200 Cygnes siffleurs non reproducteurs. Les Oies rieuses, les Bernaches du Canada, les Eiders à tête grise, les Hareldes kakawis, les Canards pilets, les Sarcelles d'hiver, les Canards colverts, les Canards d'Amérique, les Fuligules milouinans et les Macreuses brunes nichent dans le refuge. Plusieurs plans d'eau dans le refuge sont fréquentés par un grand nombre d'espèces de sauvagine en période de mue.

Parmi les oiseaux aquatiques et les oiseaux de rivage qui se reproduisent dans le refuge, on retrouve les Goélands bourgmestres, les Goélands cendrés, les Mouettes de Bonaparte, les Sternes arctiques, les Plongeons catmarins, les Plongeons arctiques, les Pluviers semipalmés, bronzés et argentés, les Courlis corlieux, les Barges hudsoniennes, les Phalaropes à bec large et à bec étroit, les Bécassines de Wilson et plusieurs espèces de bécasseaux. Le Courlis esquimau, espèce menacée, nichait autrefois le long de la rivière Anderson; six observations ont été signalées entre 1961 et 1964. Les Faucons gerfauts et les Faucons pèlerins nichent sur des falaises dans le refuge. La diversité de plantes attire de nombreuses espèces passériformes.

Accès et activités

Les ROM ont pour objectif la protection et la conservation des oiseaux migrateurs. Les activités pouvant nuire aux oiseaux migrateurs, à leurs nids ou à leurs œufs sont interdites.

Les ROM peuvent être, et ont été créés sur des terres de propriété privée, provinciale, territoriale et fédérale. L'accès à chacun des ROM varie selon le site et est laissé à la discrétion du propriétaire et du gestionnaire des terres.

Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire publique fédéral, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la gestion et de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs, de leurs nids, de leurs œufs et de l’habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire publique provincial, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids, tandis que le garde-chasse en chef de la province est responsable de la gestion de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur des terres de propriété privée ou municipale, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids. La gestion de l'habitat relève du propriétaire des terres.

L'accès au ROM du delta de la rivière Anderson peut être autorisé en vertu de la Loi de 1994 sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs et du Règlement sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. Toutefois, en vertu de la Convention définitive des Inuvialuit , seuls les bénéficiaires inuvialuit ont le droit d'accès aux fins de prises de subsistance et n'ont pas besoin d'un permis pour mener ce genre d'activité.

Pour tout autre utilisateur, les interdictions générales en vertu du Règlement sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs s'appliquent au ROM du delta de la rivière Anderson : la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs est interdite, et nul ne doit déranger, détruire ou enlever le nid d'un oiseau migrateur, ni avoir en sa possession un oiseau migrateur vivant, une carcasse, une peau, un nid ou un œuf d'un oiseau migrateur, à moins de détenir un permis délivré par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ou d'être autorisé par le Règlement. La possession d'armes à feu ou d'autres instruments de chasse est interdite. Toute personne souhaitant avoir accès au ROM du delta de la rivière Anderson est priée d'obtenir un permis.

Pour obtenir plus d'information concernant l'accès, les activités et les permis dans les ROM, veuillez consulter la page Gestion et activités de la section Refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs du site Web. Pour obtenir plus d'information sur les aires protégées administrées par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau régional.

Il est entendu que rien dans ce document ne doit être interprété de façon à porter atteinte à la protection des droits existants -- ancestraux ou issus de traités -- des peuples autochtones du Canada découlant de leur reconnaissance et de leur confirmation au titre de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982

Carte du refuge

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte indiquant l'emplacement du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs du delta de la rivière Anderson par rapport aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest, à la rivière Anderson, à la baie Liverpool et à la baie Wood. La carte indique les limites du refuge, qui renferme une partie de la baie Wood ainsi que la rivière Anderson, et qui s'étend vers l'intérieur de la côte. L'échelle de la carte est en kilomètres.

La présente carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne devrait pas servir à déterminer les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer le ROM du delta de la rivière Anderson. Veuillez noter que Google Maps constitue une source d'information complémentaire et ne représente ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de la rivière Anderson
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRefuge d'oiseaux migrateurs
Province ou territoireTerritoires du Nord-Ouest
Latitude/longitude69°42' N, 129°00' O
Superficie en hectares (ha)118,417 ha
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1961
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)Ib - Aire de nature sauvage
Désignations supplémentairesZone importante pour la conservation des oiseaux du delta de la rivière Anderson
Type d'habitat principalEau libre et plages de sable (12 %), delta (5 %), terres humides (47 %), arbustes (36 %)
Principales espèces d'oiseauxBernache cravant noire, Petite Oie des neiges, Cygne siffleur, Oie rieuse, Bernache du Canada, Eider à duvet, Harelde kakawi, Canard pilet, Sarcelle d'hiver, Canard colvert, Fuligule milouinan, et Grue blanche
Autres espèces

Oiseaux : Goéland bourgmestre, Goéland cendré, Mouette de Bonaparte, Sterne arctique, Plongeon catmarin, Plongeon arctique, Pluvier semipalmé, Pluvier bronzé, Pluvier argenté, Courlis corlieu, Phalarope à bec large, Phalarope à bec étroit, Barge hudsonienne, Bécasseau de Wilson, bécasseaux, Courlis esquimau, Faucon gerfaut et Faucon pèlerin

Mammifères : Grizzli, caribou de la toundra et orignal

Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril(LEP)Courlis esquimau et Faucon pèlerin
Organisme de gestionService canadien de la faune, région des Prairies et du Nord
Propriétaires fonciersTerres inuvialuit et terres de la couronne

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - Région des prairies et du Nord
Service canadien de la faune
Aires protégées et unité d'intendance
Unité arctique occidentale
C.P. 2310
5019, 52e Rue, 4e étage
Yellowknife (Territoires du Nord-Ouest) X1A 2P7
Sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :