Prince Edward Point National Wildlife Area

Cobble beachPhoto: Jeff Robinson © Environment and Climate Change Canada. Prince Edward Point National Wildlife Area - Lake Ontario - beac.

Related Documents


Prince Edward Point National Wildlife Area (NWA) is located about 20 kilometres (km) southeast of Picton, Ontario, along the northeast shore of Lake Ontario. Since the mid-1960s, this section of the Long Point Peninsula has been recognized as an important area for migratory birds. The geographic location and diversity of habitats causes a spectacular number of migratory passerine birds to concentrate at the tip of the peninsula. Also, large numbers of diurnal and nocturnal raptors pass through the area during spring and fall migration. There is no other location on the Canadian side of Lake Ontario where birds are known to occur in such high densities during migration. More than 300 species of birds have been recorded on the point, including songbirds, waterfowl, owls and hawks. In 1998, Prince Edward Point was designated part of the Prince Edward County South Shore Important Bird Area (IBA) by Bird Life International.

The Prince Edward Point NWA occupies the eastern end of this peninsula, consisting of 520 hectare (ha) of forest, grassland, and wetland habitats. This NWA was established in 1978 and is named after Prince Edward Point, at the eastern end of the peninsula. Due to the tremendous number of migratory birds that pass through the area, the Prince Edward Point Bird Observatory, a non-profit organization, was established as a Canadian Migration Monitoring Network station in 1995 within the NWA. Every year, the Prince Edward Point Bird Observatory bands migratory songbirds (passerine birds), raptors and owls under permits from the Canadian Wildlife Service and Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry (OMNRF).

Thirty-one species at risk, listed under the federal Species at Risk Act (SARA) have been recorded within the NWA. For listed avian species at risk, including the Whip-poor-will, Red-headed Woodpecker and Least Bittern, the NWA serves both as an area of respite during migration and as breeding habitat. Numerous snake species can also be found in the NWA. In addition, Prince Edward Point NWA is an important staging area for migrating bats and Monarchs.

Most of the lands within the NWA are undergoing natural succession from former pasture to a mix of thickets and successional woodlands. Since the NWA is one link in a chain of essential migratory habitats, the conservation of key elements of the broader connecting landscape is of concern.

More information on Prince Edward Point NWA is provided in the summary table below.

Top of Page

Planning Your Visit

Prince Edward Point is a beautiful place to spend a day. Pack a picnic, swim at one of several small unsupervised gravel beaches or launch your boat in the harbour at the end of Long Point Road. You can also explore the small network of hiking trails to enjoy the sights and sounds of the local wildlife and their habitat. Or, for something more interactive, contact the Prince Edward Point Bird Observatory, which offers public programming in the spring and fall.

Public Facilities: public washroom, parking area, dock/wharf and boat ramp/launch (day use only).

Access to Prince Edward Point NWA is seasonally restricted and activities are permitted in accordance with the conservation goals of the NWA management plan. Public notices listing the authorized activities are posted at access points.

For more information on what is permitted in NWAs, consult the NWA Management and Activities page.


From Belleville:
Follow Highway 62, also known as Bay Bridge Road (located between Toronto and Kingston on Highway 401), south. This is a picturesque drive through Prince Edward County. Stay left to continue on Highway 33. At the town of Bloomfield, continue onto Bloomfield Main Street (Highway 33). At the roundabout take the 2nd exit to continue onto Highway 33 (Loyalist Parkway). Once you reach Picton, turn right onto Bridge Street and right onto Union Street / County Road 8, then right onto County Road 17 and left onto County Road 16. Finally turn right onto County Road 13 which will take you onto Long Point Road and into the NWA.

GPS coordinates for entering the NWA: 43.937294,-76.908577

Note: Certain areas of the NWA may be closed to the public during spring and fall bird migration.

More information on access and permitting for Prince Edward Point NWA can be obtained by contacting the Environment and Climate Change Canada regional office.

Top of Page

Map of the Area

  • Prince Edward Point NWA
Long description for the Map

Map showing the region south of Prince Edward Bay in Lake Ontario. The boundaries of the Prince Edward Point NWA are indicated. The NWA covers almost entirely the last 3 km of land including Point Traverse and Prince Edward Point. A road near the end of the point is excluded from the wildlife area. There is also a small portion of land on the north side that is excluded from the NWA. The scale on the map is in kilometers. Permanent water, roads and highways are all indicated on the map. A small inset national map situates the NWA in Canada.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Prince Edward Point NWA can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Top of Page

Summary Table

This table provides summary information for the Prince Edward Point NWA
Protected Area designationNWA
Latitude/longitude43°94' North / 76°89' West
Size522.6 hectares
Reason for Creation of protected areaSignificant numbers of migratory birds stopover during spring and fall migration (songbirds, waterfowl, raptors), supports rich and diverse breeding bird species, provides habitat for species at risk, diversity of habitats including; upland, forest, grassland, coastal and inland wetlands, barrier beach, cobble beach, limestone cliffs, pond and Lake Ontario.
Date created (Gazetted)1978 - Legal description
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Management CategoryIV - Habitat/Species Management Area
Additional designations
Keystone or flagship speciesYellow-rumped Warbler, Northern Saw Whet Owl, Monarch Butterfly, Eastern Garter Snake.
Listed Species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)

31 species of birds at risk recorded as migrants at Prince Edward Point. Seven species at risk breed within the NWA including:

Main habitat typeShorelines, grassland, wetlands and forest.
Invasive speciesDog Strangling Vine/Pale Swallowwort, Prickly Ash, Garlic Mustard, Lilac, Red Cedar.
Additional links

Birds: Henslow's Sparrow, Common Loon, Loggerhead Shrike, and Grebe.

Amphibians: Western Chorus Frog.

Main threats and challengesInvasive and exotic plants, feral domestic animal species, development pressures (marinas, waterfront residential areas, wind power installations.
Management AgencyEnvironment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Wildlife Service)
Public access and usage

Public access is allowed for interpretation and limited recreation on designated trails and roads, day use only (hiking, wildlife viewing, picnicking, photography, skiing, snowshoeing) via main entrance on Long Point Road. Access to Point Traverse (Long Point) Harbour can be gained from the NWA via a boat launch for fishing (no lead sinkers) and recreational boating opportunities in Lake Ontario.

Facilities include: public parking lot, designated hiking trail, public boat launch, and washroom.

A permit is required for all research and activities outside of designated areas.

Note: If there is a discrepancy between the information presented on this web page and any notice posted at the NWA site, the notice prevails as it is the legal instrument authorizing the activity.

Top of Page

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Ontario Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas and Stewardship Unit
4905 Dufferin Street
Toronto, Ontario
M3H 5T4
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Date modified:

Réserve nationale de faune de la Pointe-du-Prince-Édouard

Plage de cailloux. Photo : Jeff Robinson © Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Réserve nationale de faune de la Pointe-du-Prince-Édouard - Lac Ontario - plag.

Documents connexes

Plan de gestion (proposition) (PDF; 2,56 Mo) (HTML) Les commentaires sur ce plan de gestion peuvent être envoyés à Environnement et Changement climatique Canada par courriel, par téléphone, ou par écrit. Les coordonnées sont disponibles à la fin de la page Web. Période de consultation : 31 janvier 2017 - 31 mars 2017. Environnement et Changement climatique Canada a tenu une séance d’information le 24 août 2016 à Picton, en Ontario, concernant le plan de gestion proposé pour la réserve nationale de faune de la Pointe-du-Prince-Édouard. La présente version affichée du plan de gestion ne tient pas compte des renseignements et des commentaires recueillis au cours de cette séance. Au terme de la période de consultation de 60 jours, le Ministère examinera et prendra en considération tous les commentaires reçus afin de rédiger la version définitive du plan de gestion.

Description

La réserve nationale de faune (RNF) de la Pointe-du-Prince-Édouard est située à environ 20 kilomètres (km) au sud de Picton, en Ontario, sur la rive nord du lac Ontario. Depuis le milieu des années 1960, cette section de la péninsule de la pointe Long est reconnue comme une aire importante pour les oiseaux migrateurs. La situation géographique et la diversité des habitats qu'on y retrouve attirent un nombre remarquable de passereaux migrateurs, qui se regroupent à la pointe de la péninsule. En outre, un grand nombre de rapaces diurnes et nocturnes passent à travers la région lors des migrations du printemps et de l'automne. Aucun autre endroit du côté canadien du lac Ontario n'accueille une telle concentration d'oiseaux pendant la migration. Plus de 300 espèces d'oiseaux ont été recensées sur la pointe, dont des oiseaux chanteurs, des oiseaux aquatiques, des hiboux et des faucons. En 1998, la pointe Prince Edward a été désignée comme faisant partie de la Zone importante pour la conservation des oiseaux (ZICO) de la rive sud du comté de Prince Edward établie par Bird Life International.

La RNF de la Pointe-du-Prince-Édouard occupe l'extrémité orientale de la péninsule et couvre 518 hectares d'habitats constitués de forêts, de prairies et de terres humides. Cette RNF a été établi en 1978 et doit son nom à Prince Edward Point situé à l'extrémité est de la péninsule. En raison du très grand nombre d'oiseaux migrateurs qui traversent la zone, le Prince Edward Point Bird Observatory, un organisme à but non lucratif, a été établi comme station du Réseau canadien de surveillance des migrations en 1995 dans la RNF. Chaque année, le Prince Edward Point Bird Observatory bague des oiseaux migrateurs chanteurs (passereaux), des rapaces et des hiboux en vertu de permis du Service canadien de la faune et du ministère des Richesses naturelles et des Forêts de l'Ontario (MRNFO).

21 espèces en péril figurant dans la liste fédérales de la Loi sur des espèces en périls (LEP) ont été recensées dans la RNF. Pour les espèces aviaires en péril, dont l'Engoulevent bois-pourri, le Pic à tête rouge et le Petit Blongios, la RNF sert à la fois de halte migratoire et d'aire de reproduction. De nombreuses espèces de serpents s'y retrouvent aussi. De plus la RNF de la Pointe-du-Prince-Édouard est également une halte importante pour les chauves-souris et le monarque.

La plupart des terres dans la RNF sont en cours de transition naturelle, d'anciens pâturages à un mélange de taillis et de terres boisées en stade de succession. Comme cette RNF constitue un maillon dans une chaîne d'habitats essentiels pour les oiseaux migrateurs, la conservation des éléments essentiels des sites environnants représente une source de préoccupation.

Pour plus d'information sur la RNF de la Pointe-du-Prince-Édouard, consultez le tableau sommaire ci-dessous.

Planifiez votre visite

La Pointe-du-Prince-Édouard est un endroit magnifique pour y passer la journée. Amenez un pique-nique, baignez-vous à l'une des nombreuses petites plages en gravier sans-surveillance ou mettez votre bateau à l'eau dans le port au bout de la route Long Point. Vous pouvez également explorer le petit réseau de sentiers de randonnée afin de profiter de la vue et des sons de la faune local ainsi que de leur habitat. Sinon, pour quelque chose de plus interactif, contactez le Prince Edward Point Bird Observatory, qui offre des activités publiques au printemps et à l'automne.

Installations publiques : toilettes, aire de stationnement, quai et rampe de mise à l'eau (utilisable le jour seulement).

L'accès à la RNF de la Pointe-du-Prince-Édouard est restreint de façon saisonnière et les activités sont permises conformément avec les buts de conservation du plan de gestion de la RNF. Des avis publics indiquant les activités permises sont affichés aux différents points d'accès.

Pour plus d'information sur ce qui est permis dans les RNFs, consultez la page de Gestion et d'Activités de la RNF.

Emplacement de la réserve (accès)

À partir de Belleville :
Prendre l'autoroute 62 sud, aussi connu comme la route de Bay Bridge (située entre Toronto et Kinston sur l'autoroute 401). Ceci est une promenade pittoresque à travers la région de Prince Edward. Gardez la gauche afin de continuer sur l'autoroute 33. À la ville de Bloomfield, continuez sur la rue principale de Bloomfield (autoroute 33). Au rond-point, prenez la 2e sortie et continuez sur l'autoroute 33 (Loyalist Parkway). Une fois rendu à Picton, tournez à droit sur la rue Bridge, ensuite, tournez à droite sur la rue Union/route de comté 8, puis à fauche sur la route de comté 16. Finalement, tournez à gauche sur la route de comté 13 qui vous mènera à la rue Long Point et dans la RNF.

Coordonnées géographiques de l'entrée : 43.937294,-76.908577

Note : Certaines zones de la RNF peuvent être fermés au public durant les migrations de printemps et d'automne des oiseaux.

De plus amples informations sur l'accès et l'émission de permis pour la RNF de la Pointe-du-Prince-Édouard peuvent être obtenues en contactant le bureau d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada de la région.

Carte de la réserve

  • RNF de la Pointe-du-Prince-Édouard
Description longue pour la Carte

Carte montrant la région sud de la baie de Prince Edward dans le lac Ontario. Les limites de la RNF de la Pointe-du-Prince-Édouard sont indiquées. La RNF recouvre presque entièrement les trois derniers kilomètres de terre incluant Point Traverse et Prince Edward Point. Une route à proximité de l'extrémité de la pointe est exclue de la réserve de faune. Il y a également une petite portion de terre sur le côté nord qui est exclue de la RNF. L'échelle de la carte est en kilomètres. Les eaux permanentes, les routes ainsi que les autoroutes sont indiquées sur la carte. Un petit encart montre l'emplacement de la RNF dans le Canada.

Cette carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne doit pas être utilisée pour définir les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer sur la RNF de la Pointe-du-Prince-Édouard. Notez cependant que Google Maps est une source d'information complémentaire et ne remplace en aucun cas ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire affichant diverses données sur la RNF de la Pointe-du-Prince-Édouard
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRNF
Province/territoireOntario
Latitude/longitude43°94' Nord / 76°89' Ouest
Superficie518 hectares
Raison pour la désignation de l'aire protégéeEscale pour un nombre importants d'oiseaux migrateurs durant les migration du printemps et de l'automne. (oiseaux chanteurs, sauvagine, rapace). Supporte une grande diversité d'espèce d'oiseaux nicheurs. Fournit des habitats pour des espèces en péril. Diversité des habitats, incluant des hautes-terres, des forêts, des prairies, des terres humides côtières et continentales, des cordons littoraux, des plage de galets, des falaises de calcaire, des étangs et le lac Ontario.
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1978 - Description légale
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour laconservation de la nature(UICN)IV - Aire de gestion des habitats ou des espèces
Désignations supplémentaires
Espèces vedettes ou pharesParuline à croupion jaune, Petite Nyctale, papillon monarque, couleuvre rayée.
Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)

31 espèces d'oiseaux migratrices en péril utilisent la RNF ainsi que le papillon monarque. De plus, sept espèces en péril résident sur la RNF :

Type d'habitat principalRivages, prairies, terres humides, forêts.
Espèces envahissantesDompté-venin, clavalier d'Amérique, Alliaire officinale, lilas, cèdre rouge.
Liens additionnels

Oiseaux : Bruant de Henslow, Plongeon huard, Pie-grièche migratrice et Grèbes.

Amphibiens et reptiles : Rainette faux-grillon de l'ouest.

Défis et pressionsEspèces exotiques envahissantes. Animaux d'espèces domestiques errants ou devenus sauvages, pressions du développement urbain (marinas, développement résidentiel sur le bord de l'eau, éoliennes).
Organisme de gestionEnvironnement et Changement climatique Canada (Service canadien de la faune)
Accès public et utilisation

Durant la journée, l'accès est autorisée à des fins d'interprétation et d'activités récréatives (promenade, observation de la faune, pique-nique, ski et raquette) mais seulement sur les sentiers et chemins désignés à partir de l'entrée principale sur Long Point Road. L'accès au havre de Traverse Point (Long Point) peut être utilisé à partir de la RNF, via une rampe de mise à l'eau, pour aller à la pêche (sans plomb) et pour de la navigation récréative dans le lac Ontario.

Les installations comprennent: stationnement publique, sentier de randonnée désigné, rampe de mise à l'eau publique et des toilettes.

Un permis est requis pour toute les activités et recherches réalisées en dehors des zones désignées.

Remarque : En cas d'incompatibilité entre les renseignements présentés sur cette page web et l'avis affiché sur le site de la RNF, l'avis prévaudra à titre d'instrument juridique autorisant l'activité.

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - Région d'Ontario
Service canadien de la faune
Aires protégées et unité d'intendance
4905, rue Dufferin
Toronto, (Ontario)
M3H 5T4
Ligne sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Consultations publiques - Aires Protégées
Environnement et Changement climatique Canada
15e étage, Place Vincent-Massey
351, boulevard Saint-Joseph
Gatineau, QC
K1A 0H3
Courriel : ec.ap-consultations-pa.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :