Alaksen National Wildlife Area

Alaksen National Wildlife AreaPhoto: © Environment and Climate Change Canada. Alaksen National Wildlife Area

Related Documents

Description

The NWA is part of the Fraser River delta, an area of roughly 67,000 hectares (ha) recognized as an internationally important migration stop-over and wintering area for a large number of migratory birds along the Pacific coast. Consisting of a mosaic of estuarine habitats, remnant wetlands, riparian forests, agricultural areas, and urbanized zones, the delta attracts up to 1.4 million birds from Siberia to South America each year. No other site in Canada supports such a diversity and number of birds in winter, and no comparable site exists along the Pacific coast between California and Alaska.

Alaksen NWA was established in 1972. Totaling 329 ha, Alaksen NWA mainly consists of four former deltaic islands which were joined together by causeways and dykes in the earlier part of the century. Alaksen NWA contains a microcosm of habitats and wildlife presently found on the Fraser River delta. The importance of Alaksen NWA for wildlife is also recognized by its designation as a globally significant Important Bird Area, and is also part of a Ramsar site, and a Western Shorebird Reserve Network site. A section of Alaksen NWA overlaps with the George C. Reifel Migratory Bird Sanctuary (MBS).

One of the most spectacular sights at the NWA is the occurrence of Snow Geese in concentrated flocks of numbers exceeding 25,000 beginning in October! They are particularly abundant in upland fields during high tide and inclement weather events. Similarly, flocks of 15,000 or more dabbling ducks are commonly seen making use of the NWA of which Wigeon, Mallard, Northern Pintail, and Teal are the most plentiful. The diversity of habitats that occur within the boundaries of the Alaksen NWA allow for a great variety of wildlife species which are not seen

More information is provided on Alaksen NWA in the summary table below.

Planning Your Visit

A network of trails provides access for visitors to enjoy the variety and abundance of birds in both the sanctuary and the wildlife area. Walking, as well as wildlife and bird watching, are encouraged and interpretive programs are offered for groups of all ages by the British Columbia Waterfowl Society.

Note: Pets should not be brought to the sanctuary.

The Reifel Refuge portion of the George C. Reifel MBS is managed by the British Columbia Waterfowl Society under agreement with Environment and Climate Change Canada. and welcomes the public daily from 9 until 4. The rest of the Alaksen NWA is open from 8 until 4 Monday to Friday. Activities are permitted in accordance with the conservation objectives of the NWA management plan. Public notices listing the authorized activities in the wildlife area are posted at access points.

Agricultural activities are permitted here as per the management plan and are the main management tool used to provide high quality habitats for waterfowl while also preserving other types of habitat for the conservation of other wildlife.

For more information on what is permitted in NWAs, consult the NWA Management and Activities page.

Directions

Alaksen NWA overlaps with the George C Reifel Migratory Bird Sanctuary, which is currently the main area used by the public, and is located just under 10km west of Ladner in the Municipality of Delta, British Columbia (a suburb of Vancouver).

Directions from Vancouver:

Follow Highway 99 south through the Massey Tunnel, exit onto Highway 17A southbound to Ladner Trunk Road (Highway 10). Follow Ladner Trunk Road west until it bears right and turns into 47A Avenue and then bears left and turns into River Road. Next, follow River Road westward for 3 km and cross the bridge to Westham Island. Follow Westham Island Road to where it ends. Here you can either:

  • follow the sign pointing left towards the entrance gates of the sanctuary and follow the driveway 1 km to the sanctuary parking lot; or
  • go straight into the Alaksen and park in the visitors' parking lot.

GPS: 49.097981N -123.178143W

More information on access and permitting for Alaksen NWA can be obtained by contacting the Environment and Climate Change Canada regional office.

Top of Page

Map of the Area

Map showing the Alaksen NWA boundaries.

  • Alaksen Map
Long Description of Map

>Map showing the area around Westham Island at the end of the Fraser River Delta in British Columbia. The boundaries of the Alaksen and of the George C. Reifel Migratory Bird Sanctuary are indicated. The covers the northwestern side of the Westham Island as well as portions of the surrounding water.The migratory bird sanctuary overlaps the western portion of the and extends into the Strait of Georgia. Approximately a third of Westham island is covered by the . The scale on the map is in kilometers. Permanent water, roads and highways are all indicated on the map. A small inset national map situates the in Canada.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Cap Tourmente NWA can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Top of Page

Summary Table

This table provides summary information for the Alaksen NWA.
CategoryInformation
Protected Area designationNWA
Province/territoryBritish Columbia
Latitude/longitude49°06' North / 123°10' West
Size329 ha
Reason for creation of protected areaAn important migration stop-over and wintering area for large numbers of migratory birds.
Date created (Gazetted)1972 - Legal description
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Management CategoryV - Protected Landscape/ Seascape
Additional designations
Keystone or flagship speciesLesser Snow Goose, Canada Goose, American Wigeon.
Listed Species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)Western Painted Turtle, Great Blue Heron, Barn Owl.
Main habitat type70% cultivated land; 30% of mixed habitats (woodlands, wetlands, oldfields)
Invasive speciesHimalayan Blackberry, Yellow Iris, Canada Thistle, Purple Loosestrife, and Scotch Broom.
Additional linksBirds: Snow Goose, Mallard, Northern Pintail, Barn Swallow.
Main threats and challengesUrban and industrial development in the vicinity affecting the coastal estuary ecosystems.
Management AgencyEnvironment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Wildlife Service)
Public access and usageLimited in NWA.

Note: If there is a discrepancy between the information presented on this web page and any notice posted at the NWA site, the notice prevails as it is the legal instrument authorizing the activity.

Top of Page

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Prairie and Northern Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas and Stewardship Unit
5421 Robertson Road
Delta, British Columbia
V4K 3N2
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date modified:

Réserve nationale de faune Alaksen

Description | Planifiez votre visite | Emplacement de la réserve | Carte de la réserve | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Milieu humide d'eau douce entouré d'un couvert vegetal forestier Photo : © Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Réserve nationale de faune (RNF) Alaksen

Documents connexes

Description

La RNF Alaksen fait partie du delta du fleuve Fraser, une région qui couvre environ 67 000 hectares (ha). Cette région est reconnue comme une halte migratoire importante à l'échelle internationale et une aire d'hivernage pour un grand nombre d'oiseaux migrateurs le long de la côte du Pacifique. Le delta, qui est composé d'une mosaïque d'habitats estuariens, de vestiges de terres humides, de forêts riveraines, de terres cultivées et de zones urbanisées, attire jusqu'à 1,4 million d'oiseaux de la Sibérie à l'Amérique du Sud chaque année. Aucun autre site au Canada n'accueille une telle diversité et un si grand nombre d'oiseaux en hiver et aucun site comparable n'existe le long de la côte du Pacifique entre la Californie et l'Alaska.

La RNF Alaksen, qui a été créée en 1972, totalise 349 ha composés principalement de quatre anciennes îles deltaïques, réunies au cours de la première partie du siècle par des ponts jetés et des digues. Cette RNF comporte un microcosme d'habitats et d'espèces sauvages qui se trouvent présentement dans le delta du fleuve Fraser. L'importance de la faune de cette réserve est par ailleurs reconnue à l'échelle mondiale par sa désignation comme une zone importante pour la conservation des oiseaux, un site Ramsar, et fait partie du Réseau de réserves pour les oiseaux de rivage de l'hémisphère occidental. Une section de la RNF Alaksen chevauche le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) de George C. Reifel.

La présence des Oies des neiges en bandes concentrées de plus de 25 000 individus est l'une des scènes les plus spectaculaires qu'on peut y observer dès le mois d'octobre! Cette espèce est particulièrement abondante dans les champs des hautes terres pendant la marée haute et lorsque les conditions météorologiques sont défavorables. De même, il n'est pas rare de voir des bandes d'au moins 15 000 Canards barboteurs faire usage de la RNF, les espèces les plus abondantes étant le Canard d'Amérique, le Canard colvert, le Canard pilet et la Sarcelle. La diversité des habitats présents dans les limites de la RNF Alaksen permet d'abriter une grande variété d'espèces sauvages qui ne sont pas observées ailleurs dans les basses-terres continentales.

Pour plus d'information sur la RNF Alaksen, consultez le tableau sommaire ci-dessous.

Planifiez votre visite

Un réseau de sentiers permet aux visiteurs de profiter de la variété et de l'abondance d'oiseaux dans le refuge et dans la réserve d'espèces sauvages. La marche ainsi que l'observation des animaux sauvages et des oiseaux sont encouragées, et des programmes d'interprétation sont offerts aux groupes de tous âges par la British Columbia Waterfowl Society.

Note : Les animaux domestiques sont interdits dans le refuge.

Le secteur où se situe le ROM de George C. Reifel, lequel est géré par la British Columbia Waterfowl Society en vertu d'une entente avec Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, est ouvert au public tous les jours de 9 h à 16 h. Le reste de la RNF d'Alaksen est ouvert de 8 h à 16 h du lundi au vendredi. Certaines activités sont autorisées dans la mesure où elles sont conformes aux objectifs de conservations du plan de gestion de la RNF. Des avis publics énumérant les activités autorisées dans la réserve sont affichés aux points d'accès.

Les activités agricoles y sont autorisées conformément au plan de gestion et constituent le principal outil de gestion utilisé pour fournir des habitats de grande qualité à la sauvagine tout en préservant d'autres types d'habitats pour la conservation d'autres espèces sauvages.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les activités autorisées dans les RNF, consultez la page sur la gestion et les activités.

Emplacement de la réserve (accès)

La RNF d'Alaksen chevauche le ROM de George C Reifel, qui est actuellement le principal secteur utilisé par le public, et est située à moins de 10 km à l'ouest de Ladner dans la municipalité de Delta, en Colombie-Britannique (une banlieue de Vancouver).

Comment s'y rendre - Départ de Vancouver :

Suivez la route 99 en direction sud en passant par le tunnel Massey. Prenez la sortie pour l'autoroute 17A en direction sud vers le chemin Ladner Trunk (autoroute 10). Suivez le chemin Ladner Trunk en direction ouest jusqu'à ce qu'il tourne vers la droite et devienne l'avenue 47A puis tourne vers la gauche et devienne le chemin River Road. Ensuite, suivez le chemin River Road vers l'ouest pour 3 km et traversez le pont pour vous rendre à Westham Island. Suivez le chemin Westham Island jusqu'au bout. Ensuite, vous pouvez soit :

Coordonnées GPS : 49.097981N -123.178143W

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'accès et les permis dans la RNF d'Alaksen, communiquez avec le bureau régional d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada.

Carte de la réserve

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte montrant la zone autour de l'île Westham à l'embouchure du delta du fleuve Fraser en Colombie-Britannique. Les limites de la d'Alaksen et celles du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de George C. Reifel sont indiquées. La recouvre le côté nord-ouest de l'Île Westham ainsi qu'une partie des eaux environnantes. Le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs chevauche la portion ouest du refuge national de faune et s'étend jusqu'au détroit de Georgia. Environ le tiers de l'Île Westham est recouvert par la . L'échelle de la carte est en kilomètres. Les eaux permanentes, les routes ainsi que les autoroutes sont indiqués sur la carte. Un petit encart montre l'emplacement de la dans le Canada.

Cette carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne doit pas être utilisée pour définir les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer la Alaksen. Notez cependant que Google Maps est une source d'information complémentaire et ne remplace en aucun cas ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire affichant diverses données sur la Alaksen
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRNF
Province/territoireColombie-Britannique
Latitude/longitude49°06' Nord / 123°10' Ouest
Superficie349 ha
Raison pour la désignation de l'aire protégéeHalte migratoire importante et aire d'hivernage pour un grand nombre d'oiseaux migrateurs.
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1972 - Description légale
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)V - Paysage terrestre ou marin protégé
Désignations supplémentaires
Espèces vedettes ou pharesPetite oie de neiges, Bernache du Canada, Canard d'Amérique.
Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)Tortue peinte de l'Ouest, Grand héron, Effraie des clochers.
Type d'habitat principalTerres cultivées (70%), habitats mixtes (forêts, terres humides, friches agricoles) (30%)
Espèces envahissantesRonce discolore, iris Sauvage Jaune, chardon du Canada, salicaire pourpre, genêt à balai.
Liens additionnelsOiseaux: Oie des neiges, Canard colvert, Canard pilet, et Hirondelle rustique.
Défis et pressionsDéveloppement industriel et urbain dans le voisinage de la RNF qui affecte les écosystèmes estuariens côtiers.
Organisme de gestionEnvironnement et Changement climatique Canada (Service canadien de la faune)
Accès public et utilisationAccès limité à l'intérieur de la RNF.

Remarque : En cas d'incompatibilité entre les renseignements présentés sur cette page web et l'avis affiché sur le site de la RNF, l'avis prévaudra à titre d'instrument juridique autorisant l'activité.

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - Région du Pacifique et du Yukon
Service canadien de la faune
Aires protégées et unité d'intendance
5421, route Robertson
Delta (Colombie-Britannique)
V4K 3N2
Ligne sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :