Corossol Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary | Access and Activities | Map of the Area | Summary Table | Contact Information

Photo Part of Corossol Island's shoreline
Photo: Jean-François Rail © Environment and Climate Change Canada. Corossol Island's shoreline.

The Corossol Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary (MBS) is located on the North Shore in the Gulf of St. Lawrence, 10 km south of Sept-Îles, in the archipelago of the same name. The site includes Corossol Island along with all islets, rocks and waters within a 500 metre radius surrounding the island, except in the waters between Corossol and Manowin Islands, where its limit is half way between the two islands.

The MBS was established in 1937 to protect colonies of Common Eider and other seabirds during nesting season. This 364 hectare protected area consists mainly of a rocky island with an elevation of 59 metres. As with all the islands of the Sept-Îles archipelago, the rock that forms Corossol Island is composed of granite and gneiss. The island's vegetation, as is typical for the North Shore, is essentially Balsam Fir forest with mixed stands of White Birch and White Spruce, and covers up to 80% of the area. Depressions on the island allow for other wetter types of habitats where plants such as Service Berry and Balsam Fir grow. The island is bordered by a strip of rocks.

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary

The MBS provides important nesting grounds for large numbers of Common Eiders. A 2010 survey of this protected area recorded 1500 of these birds. Many other seabirds, such as Razorbills, Black Guillemots and Common Murres share the site with the Eiders. Substantial numbers of Black-legged Kittiwakes, totalling more than 1300 in 2010, flock to Corossol Island during breeding season. Other familiar species, including Double-crested Cormorants, Great Black-backed Gulls and Herring Gulls nest in large numbers on the island. The area also supports a heron colony comprising several pairs of Great Blue Heron and one of Quebec's rare colonies of Leach's Storm-petrel. The presence of numerous pairs of colonial birds reflects the importance of the MBS in this part of the North Shore.

Access and Activities

MBSs are established for the protection and conservation of migratory birds. Activities that could harm migratory birds, their nests or their eggs are prohibited.

MBSs can be and have been established on private, provincial, territorial and federally owned lands. Access to each MBS varies by site and is at the discretion of the landowner and land manager.

Where MBSs are located on federal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the management and protection of migratory birds, nests, eggs and habitat. Where MBSs are located on provincial land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests, while the chief game officer of the province is responsible for the management of habitat. Where MBSs are located on private or municipal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests. Habitat management is the responsibility of the landowner.

The standard prohibitions under the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations apply to Corossol Island MBS: hunting migratory birds is prohibited, and no person shall disturb, destroy or take the nest of a migratory bird or have in his or her possession a live migratory bird, or a carcass, skin, nest or egg of a migratory bird, except under the authority of a permit issued by Environment and Climate Change Canada or unless specifically authorized by the Regulations. Possession of firearms or other hunting appliances is prohibited, and dogs and cats must not be allowed to run at large.

Access denial or restrictions imposed by the owners of land within the MBS may also apply.

For more information on entry, activities and permits in MBSs, please visit the Management and Activities section of the Migratory Bird Sanctuaries website. For more information on protected areas managed by Environment and Climate Change Canada in Quebec, please contact the regional office.

For greater certainty, nothing in this document shall be construed so as to abrogate or derogate from the protection provided for existing Aboriginal or treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada by the recognition and affirmation of those rights in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

Map of the Area

Long description of the map

Map showing the location of Corossol Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary relative to Quebec, Pointe à la Chasse, Île Manowin, Île du Corossol, La Petite Basque, Îlets De Quen, Chenal du Milieu, Chenal de l'Ouest and the Gulf of St. Lawrence. The map shows the boundaries of the sanctuary, which covers Île du Corossal and a portion of the surrounding water. The scale of the map is in tenths of a kilometer.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Corossol Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Summary table

Summary table for Corossol Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary
CategoryInformation
Protected Area designationMigratory Bird Sanctuary
Province or territoryQuebec
Latitude/longitude50° 5' 24" N 66° 23' 8" W
Size in hectares (ha)364 ha
Date created (Gazetted)1937
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) management categoryIa - Strict Nature Reserve
Additional designationsCorossol Island Important Bird Area
Main habitat typeBalsam Fir forest with stands of White Birch and White Spruce, shrubland and peatland
Key bird speciesCommon Eider, Black-legged Kittiwake, Razorbill, Common Murre.
Other speciesBirds: Double-crested Cormorant, Great Black-backed Gull, Herring Gull, Black Guillemot, Leach's Storm-Petrel. Plants: Balsam Fir, White Birch, White Spruce, Service Berry
Listed species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)None
Management agencyCanadian Wildlife Service, Quebec Region

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Quebec Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas Unit
801-1550, avenue d'Estimauville
9250 - 49th Street
Québec, Quebec G1J 0C3
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date modified:

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'Île-du-Corossol

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs | Accès et activités | Carte du refuge | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Photo Partie du Rive de l'île du Corossol
Photo : Jean-François Rail © Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Rive de l'île du Corossol.

Le Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) de l'Île-du-Corossol se situe sur la Côte-Nord dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent, à 10 kilomètres au sud de Sept-Îles, dans l'archipel du même nom. Le site comprend l'île du Corossol de même que les îlots, les rochers et les eaux situés dans un rayon de 500 mètres autour de l'île, sauf entre cette dernière et l'île Manowin où la limite du refuge s'y situe plutôt à mi-chemin.

Le ROM a été créé en 1937 dans le but de protéger les colonies d'Eider à duvet et d'autres colonies d'oiseaux de mer en période de nidification. Cette aire protégée d'une superficie de 364 hectares se compose principalement d'une île rocheuse dont l'élévation atteint 59 mètres. Comme pour toutes les îles de l'archipel des Sept-Îles, la roche qui forme l'île du Corossol se compose de granit et de gneiss. La végétation de l'île, typique de la Côte-Nord, est constituée essentiellement d'une sapinière à bouleau à papier et à épinette blanche couvrant jusqu'à 80% de sa superficie. La présence de dépressions sur l'île donne naissance à autre type d'habitat, plus humide, où poussent notamment l'amélanchier et le sapin baumier. Une bande rocheuse borde l'île.

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs

Ce refuge est une aire de nidification importante pour un grand nombre d'Eiders à duvet. Des inventaires effectués dans ce territoire protégé en 2010 évaluaient la colonie de cette espèce à plus de 1500 individus. De nombreux autres oiseaux de mer, tels que les Petits Pingouins, les Guillemots à miroir et les Guillemots marmettes, partagent les lieux avec les Eiders. Un nombre impressionnant de Mouettes tridactyles, évalué à plus de 1300 individus en 2010, envahissent l'île du Corossol en période de nidification. D'autres espèces familières telles que le Cormoran à aigrettes, le Goéland marin et le Goéland argenté nichent aussi en abondance sur l'île. Le secteur abrite également une héronnière composée de quelques couples de Grand Héron et l'une des rares colonies d'Océanite cul-blanc au Québec. La présence de nombreux couples d'oiseaux coloniaux en période de nidification confirme l'importance de ce refuge dans cette partie de la Côte-Nord.

Accès et activités

Les ROM ont pour objet la protection et la conservation des oiseaux migrateurs. Les activités qui pourraient nuire aux oiseaux migrateurs, à leurs nids ou à leurs œufs sont interdites.

Les ROM ont pu, et c'est encore le cas aujourd'hui, être créés sur des terres de propriété privée, provinciale, territoriale ou fédérale. Les conditions d'accès aux refuges varient d'un site à l'autre et sont établies par le propriétaire et le gestionnaire des terres.

Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial fédéral, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la gestion et de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs, de leurs nids, de leurs œufs et de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial provincial, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids, tandis que le garde chasse en chef de la province est responsable de la gestion de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur des terres de propriété privée ou municipale, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids et la gestion de l'habitat relève du propriétaire des terres.

Les interdictions générales relatives au Règlement sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs s'appliquent au ROM de l'Île-du-Corossol : à moins de détenir un permis délivré par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ou que la réglementation l'autorise spécifiquement, la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs est interdite et nul ne peut déranger, détruire ou prendre leurs nids, et nul ne peut avoir en sa possession un oiseau migrateur vivant ou mort, ou le nid ou l'œuf d'un oiseau migrateur. La possession d'armes à feu ou d'engin de chasse est interdite et les chiens et les chats ne doivent pas être laissés en liberté.

Des interdictions ou des restrictions d'accès par le ou les propriétaires des terres incluses dans ce ROM peuvent également s'appliquer.

Pour obtenir plus d'information concernant l'accès, les activités interdites et les permis dans les ROM, consultez la page Gestion et activités de la section Refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. De plus amples informations sur les aires protégées administrées par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada au Québec peuvent être obtenues en communiquant avec le bureau de la région.

Il est entendu que ce document ne porte pas atteinte à la protection des droits existants -- ancestraux ou issus de traités -- des peuples autochtones du Canada découlant de leur reconnaissance et de leur confirmation au titre de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

Carte du refuge

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte indiquant l'emplacement du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'île du Corossol par rapport au Québec, à la Pointe à la Chasse, à l'île Manowin, à l'île du Corossol, à la Petite Basque, aux îlets De Quen, au Chenal du Milieu, au Chenal de l'Ouest et au golfe du Saint-Laurent. La carte indique les limites du refuge, qui renferme l'île du Corossol et une partie des eaux environnantes. L'échelle de la carte est en dixièmes de kilomètre.

Cette carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne doit pas être utilisée pour définir les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'Île-du-Corossol (en anglais seulement). Notez cependant que Google Maps est une source d'information complémentaire et ne remplace en aucun cas ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire du Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'Île-du-Corossol
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRefuge d'oiseaux migrateurs
Province ou territoireQuébec
Latitude/longitude50° 5' 24" N 66° 23' 8" O
Superficie en hectares (ha)364 ha
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1937
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)Ia - Réserve naturelle intégrale
Désignations supplémentairesZone importante pour la conservation des oiseaux de l'Île du Corossol
Type d'habitat principalSapinière à bouleau à papier et épinette blanche, arbustaie et milieux tourbeux
Espèces clés d'oiseauxEider à duvet, Mouette tridactyle, Petit Pingouin, Guillemot marmette.
Autres espècesOiseaux : Cormoran à aigrettes, Goéland marin, Goéland argenté, Guillemot à miroir, Océanite cul-blanc. Plantes: sapin baumier, bouleau à papier, épinette blanche, amélanchier
Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)Aucune
Organisme de gestionService canadien de la faune, Région du Québec

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - région du Québec
Service canadien de la faune
Unité des Aires protégées
801-1550, avenue d'Estimauville
Québec (Québec) G1J 0C3
Sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :