Environment and Climate Change Canada's Approach


International Contributions

Environment and Climate Change Canada participates in various international conservation programs and conventions. For example, many of Environment and Climate Change Canada’s protected areas are internationally recognized and contribute toward Canada’s international commitments, including the following:

At the federal level, Environment and Climate Change Canada administers the 1916 Convention for the Protection of Migratory Birds, signed between Canada and the United States, one of the first international environmental treaties in North America. The Convention was amended in 1995 by the Parksville Protocol.

Environment and Climate Change Canada has also played a prominent role in the implementation of the 1992 United Nations Convention on Biological Diversity, which is aimed at the conservation of biological diversity, the sustainable use of its components, and the fair and equitable sharing of benefits arising from the use of genetic resources. One of the first actions taken by Canada under this convention was the development of the 1995 Canadian Biodiversity Strategy, an overarching framework on biodiversity conservation to enhance coordination of national efforts. Environment and Climate Change Canada’s protected areas network is integral to advancing many of the principles outlined in this strategy.

As a member of the International Union for Conservation of Nature, Environment and Climate Change Canada further contributes to a variety of projects on an on-going basis, including the World Database on Protected Areas, for which Environment and Climate Change Canada serves as the coordinator of the national reporting process on all protected areas in Canada, executed through the Canadian Council on Ecological Areas.

For more information on Canada's involvement in global conservation efforts, consult the International Programs and Conventions section under Wildlife Habitat.

Date modified:

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Contributions internationales

Environnement Canada participe à divers programmes et conventions internationaux sur la conservation. Par exemple, nombre des aires protégées d'Environnement Canada sont reconnues à l'échelle mondiale et contribuent aux engagements internationaux du Canada, dont les suivants:

Réserve nationale de faune du cap Tourmente © Andrée Mailloux, Environnement Canada

Au niveau fédéral, Environnement Canada administre la Convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs de 1916, signée entre le Canada et les États-Unis, l’un des premiers traités environnementaux internationaux conclus en Amérique du Nord. Cette Convention a été modifiée en 1995 par le Protocole de Parksville.

Environnement Canada a aussi joué un rôle déterminant dans la mise en œuvre de la Convention sur la diversité biologique des Nations Unies de 1992, laquelle vise la conservation de la diversité biologique, l’utilisation durable de ses éléments et le partage juste et équitable des avantages tirés des ressources génétiques. Une des premières mesures prises par le Canada en réponse a la convention a été le développement de la Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversité publiée en 1995, soit un cadre de travail sur la conservation de la biodiversité dans le but d’améliorer la coordination des efforts nationaux. Le réseau des aires protégées d'Environnement Canada est une partie intégrante de l’avancement de nombreux principes énoncés dans cette stratégie.

À titre de membre de l’Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature, Environnement Canada contribue également à différents projets continus, dont le World Database on Protected Areas (site en anglais seulement), pour lequel Environnement Canada agit à titre de coordonnateur pour la soumission du rapport national sur les aires protégées au Canada, un rôle que le Ministère exécute par l'entremise du Conseil canadien des aires écologiques.

Pour en savoir davantage sur la contribution du Canada aux efforts de conservation mondiaux, consultez la section sur les conventions et programmes internationaux sous la page Web de l'habitat faunique.