Selection Criteria


Introduction

Northern Gannets, Bonaventure Island and  Percé Rock Migratory Bird Sanctuary © JF Rail, Environment Canada

The designation of a Migratory Bird Sanctuary begins with the evaluation of an area against a set of criteria that will lead to the nomination of a site as a candidate Migratory Bird Sanctuary. Unlike a National Wildlife Area, a Migratory Bird Sanctuary can be established on private, provincial, territorial or federal land. In addition, Migratory Bird Sanctuaries should be reviewed every five years to determine if they continue to meet the criteria described below.

With all Migratory Bird Sanctuaries listed under the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations' Schedule, an amendment of the Regulations is required for the establishment of a new sanctuary, any boundary modifications made, or the cancellation of a sanctuary.

Criteria for Candidate Migratory Bird Sanctuaries

An area will be considered suitable for the establishment of a Migratory Bird Sanctuary if it meets one or more of the following criteria:

1. It supports populations that are concentrated, for any part of the year, in order to meet one or several essential needs; as such, the area figures prominently in the requirement for the management of regional populations of migratory birds.

2. The area is vulnerable to area-specific threats. As a significant portion of the populations could be affected, threats may include intensive hunting, exploration, development, etc. Such key habitat sites could include areas for nesting, moulting, wintering or staging.

3. It supports populations that occupy habitats of restricted geographical area and that are vulnerable to human disturbance. Areas that support threatened, endangered or rare species are examples.

4. It regularly supports at least 1% of a population of one species or subspecies. In Nunavut, the Northwest Territories and Yukon (north of the Arctic Circle for Yukon), national population totals (when known) will be used as benchmarks. South of the Arctic Circle (including southern Yukon), the provincial or regional population status of featured species will be used.

Sélection et gestion des sanctuaires


Critères de sélection

Introduction

La désignation d’un site en tant que refuge d’oiseaux migrateurs commence par l’évaluation de la zone selon des critères qui conduiront à la nomination du site au titre de candidat comme refuge d’oiseaux migrateurs. À l’opposé d’une réserve nationale de faune, un refuge d’oiseaux migrateurs peut être établi sur une terre de propriété privée,  provinciale, territoriale ou fédérale. Les refuges d’oiseaux migrateurs devraient être passés en revue tous les cinq ans pour déterminer s’ils continuent de rencontrer les critères décrits ci-dessous.

Puisque tous les refuges d‘oiseaux migrateurs figurent à l’Annexe du Règlement sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs, il faut apporter une modification au Règlement pour l’établissement d’un nouveau refuge, pour tout changement aux limites d’un refuge ou l’abolition d’un refuge.

Critères pour une zone candidate au titre de refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs

Une zone sera considérée convenable pour l'établissement d’un refuge d’oiseaux migrateurs si elle satisfait à un ou plusieurs des critères suivants:

  1. Elle abrite des populations qui s’y concentrent, pour toute partie de l’année, pour satisfaire à un ou plusieurs de leurs besoins essentiels; dans cette mesure, ce site est important pour la gestion des populations régionales d’oiseaux migrateurs.
  2. Elle est vulnérable à des menaces particulières à cette zone. Étant donné qu’une partie importante des populations pourrait être touchée, ces menaces peuvent inclure, entre autres, la chasse intensive, l'exploration et le développement. Ces habitats essentiels peuvent comprendre les sites de nidification, de mue et d’hivernation ou de halte migratoire.
  3. Elle abrite des populations qui occupent des habitats dont l'aire géographique est restreinte et qui sont vulnérables aux perturbations causées par les humains. Les zones qui accueillent des espèces menacées, en voie de disparition ou rares en sont des exemples.
  4. Elle abrite régulièrement au moins 1 % des individus de la population d’une espèce ou d’une sous-espèce. Au Nunavut, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Yukon (au nord du cercle arctique pour le Yukon), les populations nationales totales (si elles sont  connues) seront utilisées en tant que données de référence. Au sud du cercle arctique (dont le sud du Yukon), l’état de la population provinciale ou régionale d’espèces concernées sera utilisé.
Date de modification :