Nicolet Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary | Access and Activities | Map of the Area | Summary Table | Contact Information

Photo of Areal view of Nicolet Migratory Bird Sanctuary
Photo: Christine Lepage © Environment and Climate Change Canada. Areal view of Nicolet Migratory Bird Sanctuary.

The Nicolet Migratory Bird Sanctuary (MBS) is located on the north shore of the St. Lawrence River, west of the city of Nicolet. Bordering Lake Saint-Pierre, the sanctuary stretches along this widening of the River from Île Moras to the east all the way to la Longue Pointe in the west. This low elevation site extends over 2.5 kilometres in width and is almost entirely water-logged during spring flooding. The MBS encompasses the property of the Department of National Defence.

The sanctuary was established in 1982 to protect waterfowl. This 2937 hectare protected area is characterized by a series of different habitats, changing from wet grasslands to swamps and marshes as the land nears the water. Consisting primarily of river bulrush, the marsh near the lake remains submerged at all times. Beyond this permanently flooded zone, the area becomes gradually dryer as summer approaches, giving way to a plant-rich herbaceous meadow of Bluejoint Grass, Reed Canarygrass and Tufted Vetch. The shrub layer is formed of Silver Maple, Speckled Alder and willows. In 1988, Ducks Unlimited developed a 140 hectare marsh within the boundaries of the sanctuary in order to improve the waterfowl habitat.

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary

The Nicolet MBS is an important staging area for waterbirds and also a prime location for waterfowl nesting along the St. Lawrence. In the spring, the entire flooded area attracts an impressive number of geese, as well as a large number and a great diversity of dabbling ducks. During fall migration, over 8000 dabbling ducks use the sanctuary as a staging area, as do Canada Geese and several other species of waterbirds.

During nesting season, several species of ducks, including Wood Duck, American Black Duck, Mallard, Northern Pintail, Northern Shoveler, Gadwall, American Wigeon, Redhead, Ring-necked Duck, Green-winged Teal, Blue-winged Teal and Ruddy Duck all share the sanctuary. Other bird species seen in the summer season are Killdeer, Least Bittern, Spotted Sandpiper, Common Snipe, Black Tern, American Bittern, Swamp Sparrow, Sora, Common Yellowthroat and Wilson's Phalarope.

Access and Activities

MBSs are established for the protection and conservation of migratory birds. Activities that could harm migratory birds, their nests or their eggs are prohibited.

MBSs can be and have been established on private, provincial, territorial and federally owned lands. Access to each MBS varies by site and is at the discretion of the landowner and land manager.

Where MBSs are located on federal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the management and protection of migratory birds, nests, eggs and habitat. Where MBSs are located on provincial land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests, while the chief game officer of the province is responsible for the management of habitat. Where MBSs are located on private or municipal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests. Habitat management is the responsibility of the landowner.

The standard prohibitions under the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations apply to Nicolet MBS: hunting migratory birds is prohibited, and no person shall disturb, destroy or take the nest of a migratory bird or have in his or her possession a live migratory bird, or a carcass, skin, nest or egg of a migratory bird, except under the authority of a permit issued by Environment and Climate Change Canada or unless specifically authorized by the Regulations. Possession of firearms or other hunting appliances is prohibited, and dogs and cats must not be allowed to run at large.

Access denial or restrictions imposed by the owners of land within the MBS may also apply.

For more information on entry, activities and permits in MBSs, please visit the Management and Activities section of the Migratory Bird Sanctuaries website. For more information on protected areas managed by Environment and Climate Change Canada in Quebec, please contact the regional office.

For greater certainty, nothing in this document shall be construed so as to abrogate or derogate from the protection provided for existing Aboriginal or treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada by the recognition and affirmation of those rights in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

Map of the Area

Long description of the map

Map showing the location of Nicolet Migratory Bird Sanctuary relative to Quebec, Île Moras, Rivière Nicolet and Lac Saint-Pierre. The map shows the boundaries of the sanctuary, which covers a portion of Lac Saint-Pierre and extends inland. The scale of the map is in kilometers.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Nicolet Migratory Bird Sanctuary can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Summary table

Summary table for Nicolet Migratory Bird Sanctuary
CategoryInformation
Protected Area designationMigratory Bird Sanctuary
Province or territoryQuebec
Latitude/longitude46 °12' 00" N 72° 40' 00" W
Size in hectares (ha)2937 ha
Date created (Gazetted)1982
International Union for Conservation of Nature(IUCN) management categoryIa - Strict Nature Reserve
Additional designations
Main habitat typeSeries of different habitats: aquatic, river bulrush marsh, swamp, woodland and wet grassland
Key bird speciesLeast Bittern, Sora, Ruddy Duck and Common Gallinule
Other speciesBirds: Canada Goose, Wood Duck, American Black Duck, Mallard, Northern Pintail, Northern Shoveler, Gadwall, American Wigeon, Redhead, Ring-necked Duck, Green-winged Teal, Blue-winged Teal, Killdeer, Spotted Sandpiper, Wilson's Snipe, Wilson's Phalarope, Black Tern, American Bittern, Swamp Sparrow, and Common Yellowthroat Amphibians and reptiles: SnappingTurtle, Leopard Frog and Green Frog. Mammals: Raccoon, Muskrat, Snowshoe Hare, Red Squirrel, Northern Flying Squirrel, White-tailed Deer Plants: River Bulrush, Reed Canarygrass,
Red Ash, Bluejoint Grass, Tufted Vetch, Silver Maple, Speckled Alder and Willow spp.
Listed species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)Least Bittern
Management agencyCanadian Wildlife Service, Quebec Region

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Quebec Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas Unit
801-1550, avenue d'Estimauville
9250 - 49th Street
Québec, Quebec G1J 0C3
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date modified:

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Nicolet

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs | Accès et activités | Carte du refuge | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Photo of Vue aérienne du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Nicolet
Photo : Christine Lepage © Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Vue aérienne du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Nicolet.

Le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) de Nicolet se situe sur la rive sud du fleuve Saint-Laurent, à l'ouest de la ville de Nicolet. Localisé en bordure du lac Saint-Pierre, le refuge étire ses limites le long de cet élargissement du fleuve à partir de l'île Moras, à l'est, jusqu'à la Longue Pointe à l'ouest. Étant de basse altitude et d'une largeur approximative de 2,5 kilomètres, le site se trouve presque totalement inondé en périodes de crues printanières. Ce ROM englobe la propriété du ministère de la Défense nationale.

Ce refuge a été créé en 1982 dans le but de protéger la sauvagine. D'une superficie de 2937 hectares, cette aire protégée se caractérise par une succession graduelle d'habitats, passant des prairies humides à des marécages et des marais plus on s'approche de l'eau. Dominé par le scirpe fluviatile, le marais à proximité du lac demeure submergé en tout temps. Au-delà de cette zone constamment inondée, le secteur s'assèche graduellement l'été venu et laisse place à une herbaçaie composée de diverses espèces floristiques telles que le calamagrostide du Canada, le phalaris roseau et la vesce jargeau. L'érable argenté, l'aulne rugueux et les saules forment la strate arbustive. À l'intérieur des limites du refuge, Canards illimités a aménagé en 1988 un marais d'une superficie de 140 hectares dans le but d'améliorer l'habitat de la sauvagine.

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs

Le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) de Nicolet constitue une importante halte migratoire pour les oiseaux aquatiques, de même qu'un endroit de prédilection pour la nidification de la sauvagine le long du Saint-Laurent. Au printemps, l'étendue de la zone inondée attire une quantité impressionnante de bernaches et d'oies de même qu'un bon nombre et une grande diversité de canards barboteurs. Lors de la migration automnale, plus de 8000 canards barboteurs utilisent ce refuge comme halte de repos, tout comme la Bernache du Canada et plusieurs autres espèces d'oiseaux aquatiques.

En période de nidification, plusieurs espèces de canards comme le Canard branchu, noir, colvert, pilet, souchet, chipeau et d'Amérique, le Fuligule à tête rouge, le Filigule à collier, la Sarcelle d'hiver, la Sarcelle à ailes bleues ainsi que l'Érismature rousse se partagent le refuge. D'autres espèces d'oiseaux comme le Pluvier kildir, le Petit Blongios, le Chevalier grivelé, la Bécassine des marais, la Guifette noire, le Butor d'Amérique, le Bruant des marais, la Marouette de Caroline, la Paruline masquée ou encore le Phalarope de Wilson peuvent aussi être observées dans le refuge en période estivale.

Accès et activités

Les ROM ont pour objet la protection et la conservation des oiseaux migrateurs. Les activités qui pourraient nuire aux oiseaux migrateurs, à leurs nids ou à leurs œufs sont interdites.

Les ROM ont pu, et c'est encore le cas aujourd'hui, être créés sur des terres de propriété privée, provinciale, territoriale ou fédérale. Les conditions d'accès aux refuges varient d'un site à l'autre et sont établies par le propriétaire et le gestionnaire des terres.

Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial fédéral, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la gestion et de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs, de leurs nids, de leurs œufs et de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial provincial, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids, tandis que le garde chasse en chef de la province est responsable de la gestion de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur des terres de propriété privée ou municipale, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids et la gestion de l'habitat relève du propriétaire des terres.

Les interdictions générales relatives au Règlement sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs s'appliquent au ROM de Nicolet : à moins de détenir un permis délivré par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ou que la réglementation l'autorise spécifiquement, la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs est interdite et nul ne peut déranger, détruire ou prendre leurs nids, et nul ne peut avoir en sa possession un oiseau migrateur vivant ou mort, ou le nid ou l'œuf d'un oiseau migrateur. La possession d'armes à feu ou d'engin de chasse est interdite et les chiens et les chats ne doivent pas être laissés en liberté.

Des interdictions ou des restrictions d'accès par le ou les propriétaires des terres incluses dans ce ROM peuvent également s'appliquer.

Pour obtenir plus d'information concernant l'accès, les activités interdites et les permis dans les ROM, consultez la page Gestion et activités de la section Refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. De plus amples informations sur les aires protégées administrées par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada au Québec peuvent être obtenues en communiquant avec le bureau de la région.

Il est entendu que ce document ne porte pas atteinte à la protection des droits existants -- ancestraux ou issus de traités -- des peuples autochtones du Canada découlant de leur reconnaissance et de leur confirmation au titre de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

Carte du refuge

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte indiquant l'emplacement du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Nicolet par rapport au Québec, à l'île Moras, à la rivière Nicolet et au lac Saint-Pierre. La carte indique les limites du refuge, qui renferme une partie lac Saint-Pierre et s'étend vers l'intérieur de la côte. L'échelle de la carte est en kilomètres.

Cette carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne doit pas être utilisée pour définir les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Nicolet. Notez cependant que Google Maps est une source d'information complémentaire et ne remplace en aucun cas ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire du Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Nicolet
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRefuge d'oiseaux migrateurs
Province ou territoireQuébec
Latitude/longitude46 °12' 00" N 72° 40' 00" O
Superficie en hectares (ha)2937
Date de création (publication dans laGazette du Canada)1982
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature(UICN)Ia - Réserve naturelle intégrale
Désignations supplémentaires
Type d'habitat principalSuccession de plusieurs habitats : milieu aquatique, marais à scirpe fluviatile, marécage, arboraie et prairie humide
Espèces clés d'oiseauxPetit Blongios, Marouette de Caroline, Érismature rousse et Gallinule d'Amérique
Autres espècesOiseaux : Bernache du Canada, Canard branchu, Canard noir, Canard colvert, Canard pilet, Canard souchet, Canard chipeau, Canard d'Amérique, Fuligule à tête rouge, Fuligule à collier, Sarcelle d'hiver, Sarcelle à ailes bleues, Pluvier kildir, Chevalier grivelé, Bécassine de Wilson, Phalarope de Wilson, Guifette noire, Butor d'Amérique, Bruant des marais, et Paruline masquée Amphibiens/Reptiles : tortue serpentine, grenouille léopard et grenouille verte Mammifères : raton laveur, rat musqué, lièvre d'Amérique, écureuil roux, grand polatouche et
cerf de Virginie Plantes : scirpe fluviatile, phalaris roseau,
frêne de Pennsylvanie, calamagrostide du Canada, vesce jargeau, érable argenté, aulne rugueux et saule spp.
Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)Petit Blongios
Organisme de gestionService canadien de la faune, Région du Québec

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - région du Québec
Service canadien de la faune
Unité des Aires protégées
801-1550, avenue d'Estimauville
Québec (Québec) G1J 0C3
Sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :