Haley Lake Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary | Access and Activities | Map of the Area | Summary Table | Contact Information

Haley Lake Migratory Bird Sanctuary
Photo: © Environment and Climate Change Canada. Haley Lake Migratory Bird Sanctuary: landscape.

Established in 1980, Haley Lake Migratory Bird Sanctuary (MBS) is located in Shelburne County, approximately midway between Port Hebert Harbour and the Sable River estuary. Typical of most lakes of the granite-based southern uplands of Nova Scotia, Haley Lake is shallow and rocky. Several prominent rock outcroppings surrounded by gravel bars lie within the 95-ha lake. Its waters and substrate of low nutrient content are incapable of supporting more than scattered plant life. Its shores of large granite boulders are encroached upon by thick shrub growths of sweet gale and speckled alder, and to the east and west of the lake, the land rises abruptly and encloses the lake with prominent woodland ridges.

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Haley Lake MBS supports concentrated numbers of American Black Duck and Canada Geese during the fall migration, providing a loafing and preening area. During the early fall period, Canada Geese and American Black Duck fly into Haley Lake from the surrounding saltwater harbours and estuaries. The principal flight times into the lake are during rising tides, when feeding sites in the harbour become inundated. Waterfowl spend most of their time preening and resting on the rock ledges in the lake and on the granite boulders along the shores.

The lake also affords the waterfowl fresh water and gravel. Haley Lake has for a number of years been one of the principal freshwater lakes in the area to be frequented by fall flights of Canada Geese and American Black Ducks. Records indicate that at any one time, up to 1000 birds may be present, depending on the tide and weather conditions. A small colony of Great Blue Herons nests on two of the rocky ledges within the lake. The colony has been in existence since at least 1944 and is the only known instance of ground-nesting herons in the Maritimes.

Access and Activities

MBSs are established for the protection and conservation of migratory birds. Activities that could harm migratory birds, their nests or their eggs are prohibited.

MBSs can be and have been established on private, provincial, territorial and federally owned lands. Access to each MBS varies by site and is at the discretion of the landowner and land manager.

Where MBSs are located on federal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the management and protection of migratory birds, nests, eggs and habitat. Where MBSs are located on provincial land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests, while the chief game officer of the province is responsible for the management of habitat. Where MBSs are located on private or municipal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests. Habitat management is the responsibility of the landowner.

The standard prohibitions under the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations apply to Haley Lake MBS: hunting migratory birds is prohibited, and no person shall disturb, destroy or take the nest of a migratory bird or have in his or her possession a live migratory bird, or a carcass, skin, nest or egg of a migratory bird, except under the authority of a permit issued by Environment and Climate Change Canada or unless authorized by the Regulations. Possession of firearms or other hunting appliances is prohibited. Dogs and cats must not be allowed to run at large.

Access prohibitions or restrictions by the MBS landowner (Province of Nova Scotia) may also apply.

For more information on entry, activities and permits in MBSs, please visit the Management and Activities section of the Migratory Bird Sanctuaries website. For more information on Environment and Climate Change Canada's protected areas, please contact the regional office.

For greater certainty, nothing in this document shall be construed so as to abrogate or derogate from the protection provided for existing Aboriginal or treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada by the recognition and affirmation of those rights in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

Map of the Area

Long description of the map

Map showing the location of Haley Lake Migratory Bird Sanctuary in relation to Nova Scotia, Timber Island Brook and Haley Lake. The map shows the boundaries of the sanctuary, which encompasses Haley lake and a tiny portion of surrounding land. The scale of the map is in hundreds of meters.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Haley Lake MBS can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Summary Table

Summary table for Haley Lake Migratory Bird Sanctuary
CategoryInformation
Protected Area designationMigratory Bird Sanctuary
Province or territoryNova Scotia
Latitude/longitude43°50' N, 65°00' W
Size in hectares (ha)95 ha
Date created (Gazetted)1980
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Management CategoryIa - Strict Nature Reserve
Additional designationsPart of Nova Scotia South Shore (Port Joli Sector) Important Bird Area
Main habitat typeOpen water (99.5%), rocky ledges (0.5%)
Key bird speciesAmerican Black Duck, Canada Goose and Great Blue Heron
Listed species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)None
Management agencyCanadian Wildlife Service, Atlantic Region
LandownerProvince of Nova Scotia

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Atlantic Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas Program
17 Waterfowl Lane
Sackville NB E4L 1G6
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date modified:

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs du lac Haley

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs | Accès et activités | Carte du refuge | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs du lac Haley
Photo : © Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs du lac Haley - paysage.

Établi en 1980, le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) du lac Haley est situé dans le comté de Shelburne, environ à mi-chemin entre Port L'Hebert Harbour et l'estuaire de la rivière Sable. Typique de la plupart des lacs des hautes terres de granite au sud de la Nouvelle-Écosse, le lac Haley est peu profond et rocailleux. Plusieurs affleurements rocheux proéminents entourés par des bancs de gravier se trouvent dans ce lac de 95 hectares. Les eaux du lac et son substrat de faible teneur en éléments nutritifs ne peuvent supporter plus que des végétaux dispersés. Des arbustes épais de myrique baumier et d'aulne rugueux empiètent sur les rives du lac composées de gros rochers de granite, et à l'est et à l'ouest du lac, la terre s'élève brusquement et ceinture le lac avec des crêtes boisées proéminentes.

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs

Le ROM du lac Haley abrite des groupes de Canards noirs et de Bernaches du Canada au cours de la migration d'automne, en leur fournissant une aire de repos et un endroit pour effectuer le lissage des plumes. Durant le début de l'automne, les Bernaches du Canada et les Canards noirs se rendent au lac Haley à partir des havres et des estuaires d'eau salée environnants. Ces oiseaux volent principalement vers le lac durant la montée des marées lorsque les sites d'alimentation dans le havre sont inondés. La sauvagine passe la plupart de son temps à se lisser les plumes et à se reposer sur les corniches rocheuses dans le lac et sur les rochers de granite le long des rives.

Le lac offre également à la sauvagine de l'eau douce et du gravier. Pendant un certain nombre d'années, le lac Haley a été l'un des principaux lacs d'eau douce dans la zone où volaient des oies et des Canards noirs durant l'automne. Les relevés indiquent que jusqu’au 1000 oiseaux peuvent être présents à n'importe quel moment au refuge, en fonction de la marée et des conditions météorologiques. Une petite colonie de Grands Hérons niche sur deux des corniches rocheuses dans le lac. Cette colonie existe depuis au moins 1944 et elle est la seule colonie connue de hérons nichant à terre dans les Maritimes.

Accès et activités

Les ROM ont pour objet la protection et la conservation des oiseaux migrateurs. Les activités qui pourraient nuire aux oiseaux migrateurs, à leurs nids ou à leurs œufs sont interdites.

Les ROM ont pu, et c'est encore le cas aujourd'hui, être créés sur des terres territoriales, fédérales et privées. Les conditions d'accès aux refuges varient d'un site à l'autre et sont établies par le propriétaire et le gestionnaire des terres.

Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial fédéral, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la gestion et de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs, de leurs nids, de leurs œufs et de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial provincial, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids, tandis que le garde-chasse en chef de la province est responsable de la gestion de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur des terres de propriété privée ou municipale, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids. La gestion de l'habitat est la responsabilité du propriétaire foncier.

Les interdictions générales relatives au Règlement sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs s'appliquent au ROM du Lac Haley : à moins de détenir un permis délivré par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ou que la réglementation l'autorise spécifiquement, la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs est interdite et nul ne peut déranger, détruire ou prendre leurs nids, et nul ne peut avoir en sa possession un oiseau migrateur vivant ou mort, ou le nid ou l'œuf d'un oiseau migrateur. La possession d'armes à feu ou d'engin de chasse est interdite et les chiens et les chats ne doivent pas être laissés en liberté.

Des interdictions ou restrictions d'accès imposées par le propriétaire foncier du ROM (province de la Nouvelle-Écosse - en anglais seulement) peuvent également s'appliquer.

Afin d'obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'accès, les activités et les permis dans les ROM, veuillez consulter la section Gestion et activités du site Web Refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. Afin d'obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les aires protégées d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau régional.

Il est entendu que le présent document ne porte pas atteinte à la protection des droits existants -- ancestraux ou issus de traités -- des peuples autochtones du Canada découlant de leur reconnaissance et de leur confirmation au titre de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

Carte du refuge

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte indiquant l'emplacement du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs du lac Haley par rapport à la Nouvelle-Écosse, à Timber Island Brook et au lac Haley. La carte indique les limites du refuge, qui renferme le lac Haley et une très petite parcelle des terres avoisinantes. L'échelle de la carte est en centaines de mètres.

Cette carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne doit pas être utilisée pour définir les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs du lac Haley (en anglais seulement). Notez cependant que Google Maps est une source d’information complémentaire et ne remplace en aucun cas ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs du lac Haley
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRefuge d'oiseaux migrateurs
Province ou territoireNouvelle-Écosse
Latitude/longitude43° 50' N, 65° 00' O
Superficie en hectares (ha)95 ha
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1980
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)Ia - Réserve naturelle intégrale
Désignations supplémentairesFait partie de la zone importante pour la conservation des oiseaux de la rive sud (secteur de Port Joli) de la Nouvelle-Écosse
Type d'habitat principalEau libre (99,5 %), corniches rocheuses (0,5 %)
Espèces clés d'oiseauxCanard noir, Bernache du Canada et Grand Héron
Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)Aucune
Organisme de gestionService canadien de la faune, région de l'Atlantique
Propriétaire des terresProvince de la Nouvelle-Écosse

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - Région de l'Atlantique
Service canadien de la faune
Programme des zones protégées
17, allée Waterfowl
Sackville (Nouveau-Brunswick)
E4L 1G6
Sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :