Upper Canada Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary | Access and Activities | Map of the Area | Summary Table | Contact Information

Upper Canada Migratory Bird Sanctuary: landscape.
Photo: © Environment and Climate Change Canada, 2014. Upper Canada Migratory Bird Sanctuary: landscape.

The Upper Canada Migratory Bird Sanctuary (MBS) is located along the St. Lawrence River 30 km upstream of Cornwall, and extends offshore to the international border. The site is managed by the St. Lawrence Parks Commission and the Province of Ontario. It includes the Crysler Farm Battlefield Park, Upper Canada Village, a marina, an airfield, a golf course, nature trails, and camping and picnic sites. Several islands are located within the sanctuary: Morrison, Nairne, Ault and some smaller ones. The southern half of Ault Island is not part of the sanctuary. Across the St. Lawrence River, the State of New York manages the Wilson Hill Wildlife Management Area, thus creating with Upper Canada MBS a very extensive conservation complex.

A large part of the sanctuary is covered by woodlots (in particular, sugar maple stands), and parks consisting mainly of open grassy areas. There are some wet habitats where species such as willows, elm and ash grow. The exposed shores are sandy or rocky, while artificially protected shores (in the areas where the causeways join the islands) are bordered by wetland vegetation. As a whole, the Upper Canada MBS displays diverse upland flora, and wetland areas that form good waterfowl staging habitat.

Some areas have been developed for the use of Canada Geese. A pen with 2 artificial ponds hosts the geese when they come to feed. In some areas, corn and buckwheat are grown as feeding crops for migratory birds. At Ault Island and on the mainland, goose-nesting islands have been built on 20 ponds and dugouts.

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Before the creation of the Upper Canada MBS, Canada Geese were kept year-round and were fed on the site. As a result of their presence and the availability of food, migrant Canada Geese were attracted in increasing numbers to this staging area. In the fall of 1963, a maximum of 980 geese were counted, 900 of which were migrants. In 1964, the numbers were still increasing, and on October 20, 1400 Canada Geese were staging in the sanctuary during migration. Currently, numbers of staging migrant geese reach as high as 8000 per season, in addition to the 3000 locally nesting birds and their broods that nest in the sanctuary and surrounding agricultural land. Similar high numbers of birds nest and stage 5 km away in the Wilson Hill Wildlife Management Area. The numbers of breeding geese have become so high that control measures have had to be implemented.

Many other waterfowl occur in the Upper Canada MBS, including Mallards, American Black Ducks, Wood Ducks and Blue-winged Teals. Common Mergansers and other diving ducks may be seen, and aquatic birds such as cormorants, Great Blue Herons and Belted Kingfishers are common in the area. The largest numbers of ducks are seen staging during spring and fall migration when the birds gather on the protected channels (between the mainland and the islands) to feed and rest. Few ducks nest in the MBS, and past attempts to increase their productivity (e.g., through Mallard nesting platforms and Wood Duck boxes) were unsuccessful.

The Upper Canada MBS holds the largest banding station on the Atlantic Flyway. Some 6000 to 7000 geese are banded each year, as are 1200 to 1500 ducks. The combination of the Upper Canada MBS and the N.Y. State Wildlife Management Area enables waterfowl to gather in large protected areas and to make local movements without being disturbed during the hunting season. As a result, this area is safe for staging waterfowl.

Access and Activities

MBSs are established for the protection and conservation of migratory birds. Activities that could harm migratory birds, their nests or their eggs are prohibited.

MBSs can be and have been established on private, provincial, territorial and federally owned lands. Access to each MBS varies by site and is at the discretion of the landowner and land manager.

Where MBSs are located on federal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the management and protection of migratory birds, nests, eggs and habitat. Where MBSs are located on provincial land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests, while the chief game officer of the province is responsible for the management of habitat. Where MBSs are located on private or municipal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests. Habitat management is the responsibility of the landowner.

The standard prohibitions under the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations apply to Upper Canada MBS: hunting migratory birds is prohibited, and no person shall disturb, destroy or take the nest of a migratory bird or have in his or her possession a live migratory bird, or a carcass, skin, nest or egg of a migratory bird, except under the authority of a permit issued by Environment and Climate Change Canada or unless authorized by the Regulations. Possession of firearms or other hunting appliances is prohibited. Dogs and cats must not be allowed to run at large.

Access prohibitions or restrictions by the MBS landowners (the St. Lawrence Parks Commission and the Province of Ontario) may also apply.

For more information on entry, activities and permits in MBSs, please visit the Management and Activities section of the Migratory Bird Sanctuaries website. For more information on Environment and Climate Change Canada's protected areas, please contact the regional office.

For greater certainty, nothing in this document shall be construed so as to abrogate or derogate from the protection provided for existing Aboriginal or treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada by the recognition and affirmation of those rights in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

Map of the Area

Long description of the map

Map showing the location of Upper Canada Migratory Bird Sanctuary relative to Ontario, the St. Lawrence River and the U.S. border. The map shows the borders of the sanctuary, which is split into several pieces along the coast of the St. Lawrence River. The scale of the map is in tenths of a kilometer.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Upper Canada MBS can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Summary Table

Summary table for Upper Canada Migratory Bird Sanctuary
CategoryInformation
Protected Area designationMigratory Bird Sanctuary
Province or territoryOntario
Latitude/longitude44°57' N, 75°03' W
Size in hectares (ha)2601 ha
Date created (Gazetted)1961
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) management categoryIII - Natural Monument or Feature
Additional designationsNone
Main habitat typeOpen water (50%), wetland (10%), upland forest (15%), crop and hay land and parks (25%)
Key bird speciesCanada Goose
Other speciesBirds: Mallard, American Black Duck, Wood Duck, Blue-winged Teal, Common Merganser, Double-crested Cormorant, Great Blue Heron and Belted Kingfisher
Listed species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)None
Management agencyCanadian Wildlife Service, Ontario Region
LandownersSt. Lawrence Parks Commission and Province of Ontario

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Ontario Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Ecosystem Conservation
4905 Dufferin Street
Toronto ON M3H 5T4
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date modified:

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs du Haut-Canada

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs | Accès et activités | Carte du refuge | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs du Haut-Canada – paysage
Photo : © Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, 2014. Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs du Haut-Canada - paysage.

Le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) du Haut-Canada est situé le long du fleuve Saint-Laurent à 30 km en amont de Cornwall, et s'étend au large des côtes de la frontière internationale. Le site est géré par la Commission des parcs du Saint-Laurent et la province de l'Ontario. Il comprend le parc commémoratif de la Bataille-de-la-Ferme-Crysler, le Upper Canada Village, une marina, un terrain d'aviation, un terrain de golf, des sentiers naturels, et des sites de camping et de pique-nique. Plusieurs îles sont situées au sein du refuge, notamment les îles Morrison, Nairne, Ault et certaines îles plus petites. La moitié sud de l'île Ault ne fait pas partie du refuge. De l'autre côté du fleuve Saint-Laurent, l'État de New York gère la Wilson Hill Wildlife Management Area, créant ainsi avec le ROM du Haut-Canada un très vaste complexe de conservation.

Une grande partie du refuge est couverte de terrains boisés (en particulier, des érablières), et de parcs composés principalement de zones herbeuses ouvertes. Il existe des habitats humides dans lesquels poussent des espèces telles que le saule, le frêne et l'orme. Les rives exposées sont sablonneuses ou rocheuses, tandis que les rives protégées artificiellement (dans les zones où les ponts-jetées rejoignent les îles) sont bordées par de la végétation de terres humides. De manière générale, le ROM du Haut-Canada abrite une flore de terres sèches variée et des zones humides qui constituent un bon habitat de rassemblement pour la sauvagine.

Certaines zones ont été aménagées pour la Bernache du Canada. Un enclos avec deux étangs artificiels accueille les Bernaches lorsqu'elles viennent se nourrir. Dans certaines zones, on cultive le maïs et le sarrasin qui servent de cultures d'alimentation pour les oiseaux migrateurs. Sur l'île Ault et sur le continent, les îles de nidification des oies ont été construites sur 20 étangs et fosses-réservoirs.

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs

Avant la création du ROM du Haut-Canada, les Bernaches du Canada étaient conservées toute l'année et nourries sur place. En raison de leur présence et de la disponibilité de la nourriture, plus de Bernaches du Canada migrantes ont été attirées vers cette halte migratoire. En automne 1963, on a dénombré au total 980 oies dont 900 étaient des oiseaux migrateurs. En 1964, les chiffres ont continué d'augmenter et, le 20 octobre, 1400 Bernaches du Canada ont fait une halte migratoire dans le refuge. À l'heure actuelle, 8000 oies migratrices utilisent le refuge comme halte migratoire par saison, en plus des 3000 oiseaux nicheurs à l'échelle locale et de leurs couvées qui nichent dans le refuge et dans les terres agricoles environnantes. Autant d'oiseaux nichent et se rassemblent 5 km plus loin dans la Wilson Hill Wildlife Management Area. Le nombre d'oies nicheuses est devenu tellement élevé que des mesures de contrôle ont dû être mises en œuvre.

De nombreuses autres espèces de sauvagine se trouvent dans le ROM du Haut-Canada, y compris le Canard colvert, le Canard noir, le Canard branchu et la Sarcelle à ailes bleues. On peut voir des Grands Harles et d'autres canards plongeurs, et les oiseaux aquatiques, comme le Cormoran, le Grand Héron et le Martin-pêcheur d'Amérique, sont courants dans la région. On peut observer le plus grand nombre de canards en halte migratoire pendant la migration printanière et automnale lorsque les oiseaux se rassemblent sur les chenaux protégés (entre la partie continentale et les îles) afin de se nourrir et de se reposer. Quelques canards nichent dans le ROM et les tentatives visant à accroître leur productivité (p. ex., par l'entremise de plateformes de nidification pour les Canards colverts et de nichoirs pour les Canards branchus) ont échoué.

Le ROM du Haut-Canada contient la plus grande station de baguage sur la voie migratoire de l'Atlantique. Quelques 6 000 à 7 000 oies sont baguées chaque année, ainsi que 1 200 à 1 500 canards. La combinaison du ROM du Haut-Canada et la Wildlife Management Area de l'État de New York permet à la sauvagine de se rassembler dans de grandes zones protégées et de se déplacer localement sans être perturbées pendant la saison de chasse. Par conséquent, cette région est sécuritaire pour le rassemblement de la sauvagine.

Accès et activités

Les ROM ont pour objet la protection et la conservation des oiseaux migrateurs. Les activités qui pourraient nuire aux oiseaux migrateurs, à leurs nids ou à leurs œufs sont interdites.

Les ROM ont pu, et c'est encore le cas aujourd'hui, être créés sur des terres territoriales, fédérales et privées. Les conditions d'accès aux refuges varient d'un site à l'autre et sont établies par le propriétaire et le gestionnaire des terres.

Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial fédéral, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la gestion et de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs, de leurs nids, de leurs œufs et de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial provincial, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids, tandis que le garde-chasse en chef de la province est responsable de la gestion de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur des terres de propriété privée ou municipale, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids. La gestion de l'habitat est la responsabilité du propriétaire foncier.

Les interdictions générales relatives au Règlement sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs s'appliquent à ce site : à moins de détenir un permis délivré par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ou que la réglementation l'autorise spécifiquement, la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs est interdite et nul ne peut déranger, détruire ou prendre leurs nids, et nul ne peut avoir en sa possession un oiseau migrateur vivant ou mort, ou le nid ou l'œuf d'un oiseau migrateur. La possession d'armes à feu ou d'engin de chasse est interdite et les chiens et les chats ne doivent pas être laissés en liberté.

Des interdictions ou restrictions d'accès imposées par les propriétaires fonciers du ROM (la Commission des parcs du Saint-Laurent et la province de l'Ontario) peuvent également s'appliquer.

Afin d'obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'accès, les activités et les permis dans les ROM, veuillez consulter la section Gestion et activités du site Web Refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. Afin d'obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les aires protégées d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau régional.

Il est entendu que le présent document ne porte pas atteinte à la protection des droits existants -- ancestraux ou issus de traités -- des peuples autochtones du Canada découlant de leur reconnaissance et de leur confirmation au titre de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

Carte du refuge

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte indiquant l'emplacement du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs du Haut-Canada par rapport à l'Ontario, au fleuve Saint-Laurent et à la frontière américaine. La carte indique les limites du refuge, qui est divisé en plusieurs zones le long du fleuve Saint-Laurent. L'échelle de la carte est en dixièmes de kilomètre.

Cette carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne doit pas être utilisée pour définir les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs du Haut-Canada (en anglais seulement). Notez cependant que Google Maps est une source d’information complémentaire et ne remplace en aucun cas ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs du Haut-Canada
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRefuge d'oiseaux migrateurs
Province ou territoireOntario
Latitude/longitude44° 57' N, 75° 03' O
Superficie en hectares (ha)2 601 ha
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1961
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)III - Monument ou élément naturel
Désignations supplémentairesAucune
Type d'habitat principalEau libre (50 %), terres humides (10 %), forêt sèche (15 %), terres de cultures et de foin, et parcs (25 %)
Espèces clés d'oiseauxBernache du Canada, Canard colvert, Canard noir, Canard branchu, Sarcelle à ailes bleues, Grand Harle, Cormoran à aigrettes, Grand Héron et Martin-pêcheur d'Amérique
Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)Aucune
Organisme de gestionService canadien de la faune, région de l'Ontario
Propriétaire des terresCommission des parcs du Saint-Laurent et province de l'Ontario

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - Région de l'Ontario
Service canadien de la faune
Conservation des écosystèmes
4905, rue Dufferin
Toronto (Ontario) M3H 5T4
Sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :