Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

National Wildlife Areas

Snow Geese, Alaksen National Wildlife Area, BC © Amy Thede. Environment Canada

There are currently 54 National Wildlife Areas across Canada (some located in regions that include relatively undisturbed ecosystems) containing nationally significant habitats for animals or plants. Environment Canada's National Wildlife Areas protect approximately 1 million hectares of habitat with close to half of that area protecting marine habitat.

According to the Canada Wildlife Act, National Wildlife Areas are created and managed for the purposes of wildlife conservation, research, and interpretation. Environment Canada uses an ecosystem approach to manage and plan for National Wildlife Areas.

Aerial view of Cap Jourimain National Wildlife Area, New-Brunswick © Canadian Wildlife Service

Established through the Wildlife Area Regulations, National Wildlife Areas can only be designated on lands owned by the federal government. Where lands are not federally owned, Environment Canada may enter into an agreement with the landowner to establish and cooperatively manage a wildlife area, which would not be designated under the Regulations. Partnerships can be created with the provinces, Aboriginal groups and private land owners through programs such as the Habitat Stewardship Program for Species at Risk and the Habitat Joint Ventures.

The Wildlife Area Regulations identify prohibited and permitted activities in National Wildlife Areas. All National Wildlife Areas are listed under Schedule 1 of the Regulations.

For more information on the designation and management of National Wildlife Areas, consult the Selection Criteria and Management and Activities sections. For legislation and policies, consult the Reference Documents section.

Réserves nationales de faune

Oies des neiges, Réserve nationale de faune d’Alaksen, C.-B. © Amy Thede. Environnement Canada

Il existe actuellement 54 réserves nationales de faune au Canada (certaines sont situées dans des régions dont les écosystèmes sont relativement intacts), qui abritent des habitats d’animaux ou de plantes importants au pays. Les réserves nationales de faune d'Environnement Canada protègent environ 1 million d'hectares d'habitat, dont près de la moitié protège l'habitat marin.

Selon la Loi sur les espèces sauvages du Canada, les réserves nationales de faune sont créées et gérées pour assurer la conservation, la recherche et l'interprétation des espèces sauvages. Environnement Canada applique une approche écosystémique pour la gestion et planification des réserves nationales de faune.

Vue aérienne de la réserve nationale de faune de Cap-Jourimain,  Nouveau-Brunswick © Service canadien de la faune

Établies en vertu du Règlement sur les réserves d'espèces sauvages, les réserves nationales de faune peuvent uniquement être désignées sur des terres appartenant au gouvernement fédéral. Si les terres n'appartiennent pas au gouvernement fédéral, Environnement Canada peut conclure une entente avec le propriétaire sur l'établissement et la gestion conjointes d’une réserve de faune, laquelle ne pourrait pas être désignée en vertu du Règlement. À ce titre, des partenariats peuvent être forgés avec les provinces, des groupes autochtones et des propriétaires de terres privées dans le cadre d'initiatives comme le Programme d'intendance de l'habitat pour les espèces en péril et le Plan conjoint des habitats.

Le Règlement sur les réserves d'espèces sauvages indique les activités interdites et permises dans les réserves nationales de faune. Toutes les réserves nationales de faune figurent à l’Annexe 1 du Règlement.

Pour en savoir davantage sur la désignation et la gestion de réserves nationales de faune, consultez les pages Web des critères de sélection et des activités de gestion. Pour connaître les lois et politiques, consultez la section des documents de référence.